Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Socialist throws a smoothie on Varadkar

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

If you have no argument, resort to childish actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

I heard it was piss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 396 ✭✭Open the Pubs

A lot of Saoradh members were recently arrested and jailed in the North for terrorism and New IRA involvement. 9 of them I believe. It was a joint operation between PSNI, MI5 and Gardaí. Not sure what Varadkar would have to do with any of that though or why they would target him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Hurrache wrote: »
    The people doing that didn't hide behind a mask and run away. Where was that idiot during his time as Taoiseach during one of his many public engagements, where there'd be other people around?

If your gonna throw something on someone why would you do it while other people were around and you’d more chance of being caught, that would be idiotic.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,375 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I thought Leo would be more of a tea man.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

If the attacker was on the right It would probably be viewed as a racist homophobic attack....

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

quokula wrote: »
    Big difference between smashing hot coffee (if it was actually hot?) right into someone's face at close range, and flinging a bit of milkshake onto their suit.
    Both are equally stupid.

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    It was a milkshake, which I consider different as it's not going to cause injury...

We’ve nothing to say what this was bar a thread headline. He doesn’t react as if it’s scalding coffee.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭This is it

What a gobshyte :rolleyes:

quokula wrote: »
    Big difference between smashing hot coffee (if it was actually hot?) right into someone's face at close range, and flinging a bit of milkshake onto their suit.

Look at his reaction. There’s no way it was hot.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Nice to see that some people have changed their minds about the throwing of liquids on people you disagree with as amounting to an assault as not so long ago the same people had felt the throwing milk shakes at same was hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭quokula

is_that_so wrote: »
    Both are equally stupid.

Yes but one has the potential to cause injury and one doesn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,522 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

We’ve nothing to say what this was bar a thread headline. He doesn’t react as if it’s scalding coffee.

Need not have been scalding.

Overheal wrote: »
    Need not have been scalding.

He doesn’t even react as if it’s tepid. He’s lucky it wasn’t nepalm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

If it was hot, I'd love to know where she bought it. Some people have no idea how hard it is to even get a lukewarm cup of coffee.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,523 ✭✭✭SteM

If your gonna throw something on someone why would you do it while other people were around and you’d more chance of being caught, that would be idiotic.

It's an idiotic act either way, whether there are people around or not. Does she actually think he's going to change because some stupid bint thought it'd cool to record herself throwing something at him?

He doesn’t even react as if it’s tepid. He’s lucky it wasn’t nepalm.

Do you have a long library of people having tepid liquid thrown on them to contrast to? Getting really nitpicky about an assault tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,438 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Wasn't milkshake, apparently was hot coffee

If it was coffee or indeed the claimed urine or any other noxious substance?
    I hope the assailant feels the full weight of a lengthy prison sentence.

This isn't protest, this isn't discourse, it's dangerous and childish nonsense.

We are lucky enough to live in a fairly well balanced political system. One that affords easy public access to our elected officials, and one where protest isn't a criminal or civil offence.

If one's political argument is throwing liquid on a TD?
    One may need to read up on what actual protest and struggle is.
    Who takes an overtly "political" and certainly offensive action like that, and then runs away!?!

I am no fan of FG, or Leo! But there must have been an instant of sheer terror as that liquid approached him, that surely wasn't warranted by any of his own actions.

Lock this bint up!

Overheal wrote: »
    Do you have a long library of people having tepid liquid thrown on them to contrast to? Getting really nitpicky about an assault tbh.

Assault hahahaha

?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Billcarson

Disgraceful to waste a nice cup of coffee on that p***k

• Registered Users Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Where was the security? Could have had a knife...

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

SteM wrote: »
    It's an idiotic act either way, whether there are people around or not. Does she actually think he's going to change because some stupid bint thought it'd cool to record herself throwing something at him?
    I doubt she thinks he'll change, that's pretty evidently not possible. She just wanted to do it and it probably made her feel good. If we were all a bit more assertive maybe politicians would think twice about fucking us over day in day out.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Does anyone have an actual idea who this person is/represents or is it all just conjecture? It looks like a kid with a skateboard doing it for a dare.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,699 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Republican scum doing what they know best.

It's really cowardly, probably thought she would get plaudits from the left on twitter. Where is Varadkars security? Does he have any at all, if not he may need some if this continues.

The tanaiste does not have security

• Registered Users Posts: 17,375 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

banie01 wrote: »
    If it was coffee or indeed the claimed urine or any other noxious substance?
    I hope the assailant feels the full weight of a lengthy prison sentence.

This isn't protest, this isn't discourse, it's dangerous and childish nonsense.

We are lucky enough to live in a fairly well balanced political system. One that affords easy public access to our elected officials, and one where protest isn't a criminal or civil offence.

If one's political argument is throwing liquid on a TD?
    One may need to read up on what actual protest and struggle is.
    Who takes an overtly "political" and certainly offensive action like that, and then runs away!?!

I am no fan of FG, or Leo! But there must have been an instant of sheer terror as that liquid approached him, that surely wasn't warranted by any of his own actions.

Lock this bint up!

You want a prison sentence for someone throwing coffee on someone else. What if someone threw coffee over you, do you think they’d go to prison.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,233 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Hold on, isn’t this hilarious?? People on here though so when it was Farage etc.

That was hilarious though. Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Anyone with a skateboard who is older than 12 should be arrested on principle.

The absolute state of her, I bet she’s successful in her endeavours

• Registered Users Posts: 28,775 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Why would you have someone slightly offside videoing it, unless you wanted it to go viral, with all the chances of being caught that that entails?

Further martyrdom?