Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Paul Weller

**** him, good enough for him.

I don't see why, but there should definitely be a serious clampdown.

I can't see why it would be so difficult to pass a law that states, if child porn turns up on a server owned by "X" then X is guilty of distributing child porn unless they can prove they took every reasonable and available step to block it in the first instance, and remove it in the second instance, should they have honestly failed to block it.

We asked the 12 year old what age she was and she said 18 is just not going to cut it. If you are happily profiting from selling this shít you are a fúcking scumbag, and should be treated as such, end of story! Same thing if you are buying it.

Any underage person supplying onlyfans or porn hub with images/video should be prosecuted also

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

Any underage person supplying onlyfans or porn hub with images/video should be prosecuted also

I was under the impression that this is the law. Even an underage person sending/sharing/selling photos of themselves, even to a partner, is effectively distributing child porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,304 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

**** him, good enough for him.

I don't see why, but there should definitely be a serious clampdown.

I can't see why it would be so difficult to pass a law that states, if child porn turns up on a server owned by "X" then X is guilty of distributing child porn unless they can prove they took every reasonable and available step to block it in the first instance, and remove it in the second instance, should they have honestly failed to block it.

We asked the 12 year old what age she was and she said 18 is just not going to cut it. If you are happily profiting from selling this shít you are a fúcking scumbag, and should be treated as such, end of story! Same thing if you are buying it, viewing it, trading it or whatever.

Any thoughts on how this is to be implemented? Are the hosting company to examine every image uploaded and decide the age of the person in any pornographic images?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Any thoughts on how this is to be implemented? Are the hosting company to examine every image uploaded and decide the age of the person in any pornographic images?

I've had to provide photo ID to use certain apps before, does anyone know if Onlyfans etc. also require this to set up an account?

Edit: It seems they do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭montyrebel

i hope all those women reporting to the gardai have their taxes up to date from this paid work

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I've never understood it as a business model since you're competing with zettabytes of free content from more than two decades of online porn, but then I've never understood paying for porn in general for this reason, and obviously plenty of people still do it. So I must be missing something?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,678 ✭✭✭hynesie08

So, I might get slaughtered for asking this, but was there any actual proof of this "leak" or will it turn out to be another urban legend like the ucd 200?

montyrebel wrote: »
    i hope all those women reporting to the gardai have their taxes up to date from this paid work

I assume they're using their declared income to pay for every piece of media they consume, because otherwise they'd be hypocrites......

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

If need be, yes. Or some other way, it's really up to them to find some way to comply with the law, not for the law to find a way to comply with their business.

Why should some company be allowed to peddle underage porn just because it would take a bit of effort to not peddle it?

You've to prove your age for all sorts of things. 13 year olds can't just rock up to O'Briens and buy a bottle of Tequilla, and if it turns out that O'Briens just can't be arsed checking on peoples ages, there will be serious repercussions for them.

Can someone explain to me how there was a centralised repository of private pics and videos or whatever that thousands of women only shared with their boyfriends that suddenly got released?

Something doesn't add up. I'm an old guy in IT, I understand the IT side but am clueless about this OnlyFans stuff.

Because most people don't "buy" a server, they use a cloud hosting service. These services could have a million or more clients, or billions in the case of Amazon.

Also the server could be in Outer Mongolia paid for with bitcoin or something. Very hard to trace and enforce. Not saying we shouldn't try, absolutely we should, but it isn't as easy as you seem to think.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,381 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Because most people don't "buy" a server, they use a cloud hosting service. These services could have a million or more clients, or billions in the case of Amazon.

Also the server could be in Outer Mongolia paid for with bitcoin or something. Very hard to trace and enforce. Not saying we shouldn't try, absolutely we should, but it isn't as easy as you seem to think.
    None of these services (Amazon) and the likes, should be accepting payments in bitcoing and/or provisioning services to individuals or companies they cannot verify the identity/bona fides of.
    Reputible providers (including Amazon as far as I am aware) do have requirements in place to make sure the identies of their customers are known to them.

But you are correct, these things are not as easily policied/enforced as many would think, which does of course not mean that more could be done.
    It has to be a "global" effort to imrpove things but that is a very difficult thing to do.

Can someone explain to me how there was a centralised repository of private pics and videos or whatever that thousands of women only shared with their boyfriends that suddenly got released?

Something doesn't add up. I'm an old guy in IT, I understand the IT side but am clueless about this OnlyFans stuff.

I believe it's image farming, using either app permissions or just people trusting repairmen with their passwords......

As for something not adding up, I agree, admittedly I live in a fairly insular bubble, but I've seen nor heard a single thing about this until now. I'm hesitant to say it's an attempt to get revenge porn laws pushed through. But I wouldn't be surprised if this all mysteriously dissappears as soon as they do.......

• Registered Users Posts: 35,568 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Except that's not what happened.

Private, intimate photos of her when she was under age, or a child, were leaked without her permission. Her OF site came later.

But thanks for making excuses for the lads jerking off to child pornography.

That's some knowledge of the events mate.

As for bit in bold, what de fck are you on about. Any kid who gets on OF's and produces and distributes CP on a commercial scale and sells it's to those purchasing it puts other kids in danger.
    They're breaking the law, and should also be getting a visit from the guards.

montyrebel wrote: »

Yep , and any under age person who willingly got on OFs and willingly produced and distributed Cp should face action too.
    Lessons need to be learned, make an example

hynesie08 wrote: »
    I'm hesitant to say it's an attempt to get revenge porn laws pushed through. But I wouldn't be surprised if this all mysteriously dissappears as soon as they do.......

This is the forum you want for that.

https://touch.boards.ie/forum/576

That's some knowledge of the events mate.

As for bit in bold, what de fck are you on about. Any kid who gets on OF's and produces and distributes CP on a commercial scale and sells it's to those purchasing it puts other kids in danger.
    They're breaking the law, and should also be getting a visit from the guards.

The knowledge of events is from her tweets. Interesting though that you didn't question any of the knowledge of events of the lads piling on to blame the under age girls.

This leak doesn't relate to OF material, as explained above.

This is the forum you want for that.

https://touch.boards.ie/forum/576

Cool story bro, of course there's no history of these large file shares turning out to be false are there.....

https://www.her.ie/life/ucd-student-paper-refuse-to-publish-correction-following-ucd200-scandal-279888

Do you have evidence these servers exist????

If need be, yes. Or some other way, it's really up to them to find some way to comply with the law, not for the law to find a way to comply with their business.

Why should some company be allowed to peddle underage porn just because it would take a bit of effort to not peddle it?

You've to prove your age for all sorts of things. 13 year olds can't just rock up to O'Briens and buy a bottle of Tequilla, and if it turns out that O'Briens just can't be arsed checking on peoples ages, there will be serious repercussions for them.

When you rock up to the offy, there is a human involved. If you're suggesting human intervention in every upload, you can close down pretty much every online service.

And then there is the matter of encryption, where the host literally cannot see the content they are hosting.

Solving these matters is a bit beyond the scope of the lads on boards.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Cool story bro, of course there's no history of these large file shares turning out to be false are there.....

https://www.her.ie/life/ucd-student-paper-refuse-to-publish-correction-following-ucd200-scandal-279888

Do you have evidence these servers exist????

Ha, ha, ha, you're hilarious. No one incriminated themselves so you're convinced it never happened.

Would you like to buy this bridge?

The knowledge of events is from her tweets. Interesting though that you didn't question any of the knowledge of events of the lads piling on to blame the under age girls.

This leak doesn't relate to OF material, as explained above.

I know ZERO of the leaks, and never subbed to OF's and never will. Simple fact is, and it's a fact, OF's is full of 1000's upon 1000's of underage people. Not just in Ireland, but everywhere, places in South America like Columbia , Venezuela, where 1 dollar is a fortune have huge amounts people on there, a lot of them underage.
    It's wrong of you to say that not one leaked photos is from OF's from someone who maybe wasn't of age to be on there.
    We don't know that, but it's likely.

Ha, ha, ha, you're hilarious. No one incriminated themselves so you're convinced it never happened.

Would you like to buy this bridge?

Wouldn't I be more likely to buy the bridge if I just believed things without question?

Believe it or not, asking for proof of the story isn't misogyny, or gullibility, it's just that, asking for proof.

What does Leaked even mean, in this case no one will ever see them. Of course they could pop up anywhere any time on the web, but even then it would have to be in a dark place.

I know ZERO of the leaks, and never subbed to OF's and never will. Simple fact is, and it's a fact, OF's is full of 1000's upon 1000's of underage people. Not just in Ireland, but everywhere, places in South America like Columbia , Venezuela, where 1 dollar is a fortune have huge amounts people on there, a lot of them underage.
    It's wrong of you to say that not one leaked photos is from OF's from someone who maybe wasn't of age to be on there.
    We don't know that, but it's likely.

I didn't say 'not one of '. I was referring to the particular case noted in the tweet above.

So have you any thoughts on the private Discord group of lads sharing nudes, some of which are private photos of children?

I didn't say 'not one of '. I was referring to the particular case noted in the tweet above.

So have you any thoughts on the private Discord group of lads sharing nudes, some of which are private photos of children?

Darn, I don't even know what a ''discord '' is . What is that?

Dude I have a k800i phone for last 13 years.

I don't think it would be easy at all. It would be easy to pass the law, is what i said. I'm sure it would be a mammoth undertaking, but that doesn't mean we should just not bother trying.

I don't claim to have the answer, but i'd be fairly certain that someone does, some Mark Zuckerberg type figure for example, but they have decided it's prohibitively expensive for them to actually do it out of the goodness of their hearts. They need to be nudged in the right direction.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,153 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Just flicking through the stations and see Mattie McGrath talking about this, or something like this, in the Dail on oireachtas TV, hard to make out what he's saying...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,519 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Just flicking through the stations and see Mattie McGrath talking about this, or something like this.

Were his pictures leaked too??

Jaysus, lets hope not:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I always say as long as it's between consenting adults get on with it.