Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things Cat Trialvilly Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

All my devices are acting up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭mikemac2

People who crush bread in the shop.

And then often they walk off and do not buy any ?!?

Deserved to be barred tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

My OH is really good in the kitchen. Cannot fault him at all in that regard and he would probably cook more than me in the average week. He can prepare the most amazing meals and they always taste so much better than mine because he puts in more time and effort, little touches etc. However, once everything is ready to be served, he seems to slow right down.

All of the components of the meal will be cooked and ready at the same time, but he will then start faffing around with things, serving everything up really slowly, arranging the stuff nicely on the plate. God forbid you talk to him at this critical point - he will just stop what he is doing and stand there chatting, spatula in hand while everything goes cold. Nine times out of ten what was a perfect meal will need to be thrown into the microwave and ruined.

I can't say anything because he goes to so much effort, but it really TAs me :(

TL:DR Other half serves the food he cooks too slowly and I get mad because I am spoiled and ungrateful!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,271 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I’ve a sneaky suspicion some people are coming from outside the 2k radius as well. A lot of faces I’ve never seen.

A 4k diameter (which is what you are describing here) is an absolutely massive area unless you are living somewhere remote. Where I live that area would cover probably more than 70,000 people.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

When you introduce somebody to something you like, a hobby/thread, and they take all the enjoyment out of it.
    And you only have yourself to blame.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    A 4k diameter (which is what you are describing here) is an absolutely massive area unless you are living somewhere remote. Where I live that area would cover probably more than 70,000 people.

They are absolutely not from around here. I live in a pretty rural area and twice in the last week I’ve seen travellers arrive in with their massive greyhounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Hmm I understand why this is annoying but helping someone doesn’t give someone a free pass to be an absolute dick. I’ve had friends who helped me in one of the worst moments of my life however would remind me constantly I had no family and would suggest I could not have a traditional wedding, or should not meet a partners family as I could not bring the same to the (top) table. Loyalty is a two way street and one good turn doesn’t mean your street is a cul de sac... hope that makes sense.
    Yeah that makes sense and I agree with you. I was more referring to people you go out of your way to help but they will turn their back on you without a second's hesitation. Or to simplify it, cúnts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Antares35 wrote: »
    TL:DR Other half serves the food he cooks too slowly and I get mad because I am spoiled and ungrateful!
    Antares I mean this in a good way but thank you for your funny grumpy posts here, they make me smile or laugh so much! :D
    You are approaching your one thousandth post so please make it a good one.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

They are absolutely not from around here. I live in a pretty rural area and twice in the last week I’ve seen travellers arrive in with their massive greyhounds.

Do they not fall under the 'where I lay my hat is home' exemption?

Guy Person wrote: »
    Antares I mean this in a good way but thank you for your funny grumpy posts here, they make me smile or laugh so much! :D
    You are approaching your one thousandth post so please make it a good one.

TA the pressure! :eek:

TA stalking a relative on facebook and she has this big post up (not a paragraph to be seen, you'd swear they were taxed) about how she had to self-isolate and her son had to do the same because his partner is working on the front line, then she got the virus and then something else on top of that, insert some bullsh*t nonsense about how the trees are still blooming, nature prevails etc. (I'm sure the deceased will take comfort in the increasing bumble bee population and realise their deaths were not in vain :rolleyes:), and general blah blah humblebrag/ look how wonderful my life is etc.

I can cope with all of that except - she is also living quite close to me and I know she has been out and about and has had her grandchildren over to visit!

Silly, hypocritical, tree-hugging, attention -seeking and insufferable woman. :(

(I don't like her)

• Registered Users Posts: 40,060 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

people who walk in the middle of the pavement and will not budge if somebody is walking towards them.

oh and the two chumps behind me in the queue for Dunnes Stores today. They were so close they could have read the phone in my hand. I had to glare at them twice before they got the hint to feck off back a few feet

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

people who walk in the middle of the pavement and will not budge if somebody is walking towards them.

oh and the two chumps behind me in the queue for Dunnes Stores today. They were so close they could have read the phone in my hand. I had to glare at them twice before they got the hint to feck off back a few feet

Well dont be looking at pornhub in public then.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 40,060 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

dubstarr wrote: »
    Well dont be looking at pornhub in public then.:D

i can honestly say i have never looked at pornhub

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭4Ad

Perfect running weather and my knee is acting up again and now have lower back pain (new niggle for me)
    I also cant stay out ot the bread bin..no willpower when it comes to bread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭I Am Nobody

When you order a skip for a Spring clean, and certain neighbours treat it as a free for all.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Got up because I was wide awake but then realised I finished the last interesting looking book last night.

I tried one but it was yet another set in grey dreary poverty stricken 19c London. Workhouse and all. Misery porn.

TA by the couple on Facebook advertising in a group, offering $1,000 to medical professionals to procure a pair of coronavirus test kits the poster and his partner can use at home. He has a face mask on in his photo and a special email set up with "coronavirus " in the address. Weird creepy obsessive ugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

The fact that Gemma O'Doherty exists.

An extremely irritating person....but I seriously think she may have mental
    Health issues.

My other TA...who doesn’t love to hear the birds singing....but FFS, not
    At 6am.....and he is still going! If that’s a mating call he’ll be be fit for sweet FA
    When she finally shows interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    An extremely irritating person....but I seriously think she may have mental
    Health issues.

My other TA...who doesn’t love to hear the birds singing....but FFS, not
    At 6am.....and he is still going! If that’s a mating call he’ll be be fit for sweet FA
    When she finally shows interest.

Dublin airport bitch slapped her on Twitter as well re incoming flights over Easter.
    I don't think the mental health issues are her issue...she's just a nasty little woman who needs a visit from the Gardai

• Registered Users Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Despite many many reminders about cross contamination, this am I find a plastic container of mince defrosting on the top shelf of the fridge.

Ta2, cause I couldn't wait in the sun yes for long enough I couldn't get into the best supermarket for my allergy busting foods, so I was forced to buy a bigger bag of leafy veg that I needed. The only shelf with the space to hold it is right underneath the thawing and no doubt leaky mince.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

They closed down the weird towel wearing bald men thread before we found out what the heck was going on. Now we'll never bleedin find out :(

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,209 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

"You'll have to speak up, I'm wearing a towel."

New Home wrote: »
    "You'll have to speak up, I'm wearing a towel."
    And standing outside that house?
    I thought you lot only came out at night :P

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,209 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

PleasepleasepleasepleasePLEASE tell me you got the reference, come on!!

I have an odd "disease" you might say - an empathy for inanimate objects. So, I can't separate a 6 pack of cans into say 5 and 1 in the fridge, because the sixth might be lonely. Sometimes even leaving litter behind in a bin makes me feel bad, because I am "abandoning" it. I've learned to live with it, and usually a good (silent!) telling off will snap me out of it.

However, this misplaced empathy combined with my pregnancy hormones caused me to reach an all time low last night. I cried putting coal on the fire, when one piece bravely jumped back out to "save himself" from the fires of hell :o

Who needs these thoughts?! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I’ll tell you one that gets on my nerves is people who get a free shopping trolley or one of them weird basket trolleys in a supermarket and when they have their shopping loaded into a car they hide the trolley behind the boot and then drive off,leaving it there for some poor fcuker to crash into.
    Lazy,good for nothing gombeens they are.
    I was sitting in the car lately looking from me and I seen this exact same thing done by someone no less than our local public health nurse.the same one who goes around checking up on the new baby’s when they go home.
    Chronic fcukin laziness

New Home wrote: »
    PleasepleasepleasepleasePLEASE tell me you got the reference, come on!!

RD RR

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

Antares35 wrote: »
    I have an odd "disease" you might say - an empathy for inanimate objects. So, I can't separate a 6 pack of cans into say 5 and 1 in the fridge, because the sixth might be lonely. Sometimes even leaving litter behind in a bin makes me feel bad, because I am "abandoning" it. I've learned to live with it, and usually a good (silent!) telling off will snap me out of it.

However, this misplaced empathy combined with my pregnancy hormones caused me to reach an all time low last night. I cried putting coal on the fire, when one piece bravely jumped back out to "save himself" from the fires of hell :o

Who needs these thoughts?! :eek:

I have the exact same thing! I can’t pick up something off a shelf and then put it back because it’ll feel bad :o

TA’d at people who don’t even leave you on read, they leave you on delivered. It’s been two days, I’m not expecting a reply, you might as well just open it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

TA people using others to validate themselves or prove something to their ex spouses. People are not toys to be picked up at whim and thrown away when the novelty wears off.

Very TA I just cant focus on a reply to a message I really want to reply to. Im a terror for not replying but if I reply when in a preoccupied mindset I say the wrong thing or can't express what I want to say. I end up being an erratic correspondent, often not replying at all. Vicious circle as I then feel guilty and stressed and can't focus at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,024 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I had a friend who was always complaining about her unreliable car. I was wondering was it electrics, etc.
    The issue was she had to get tyres, breaks, etc done for the NCT.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

When you take something out of the freezer, passing ages later and see the door never shut properly and things have started to go soft.

Likewise with the oven, go to take out food, and door wasn't shut properly, and is only defrosting...

Guess who had to wait way too long for a ****ty quick frozen pizza, cos just wanted something handy.