Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest scandal in your workplace (Mod Note in OP)

• 15-09-2019 3:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

What was the biggest scandal ever in your workplace?

Don't have any but during my moms teaching days, almost all the foreign white teachers teaching Maths and English in Tanzania had fake degrees, the college just assumed cause they spoke English and where white they were qualified. Many students failed until they were asked to leave.

Mod - By all means share your anecdotes and stories.

DO NOT name and shame the companies or places involved.

We don't want any libel or slander issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,939 ✭✭✭✭looksee

In fairness that's probably a bit of an overstatement. Fifty years ago British and Irish teaching in East Africa went through the UK Foreign Affairs (or whatever it was called then). It required proper qualifications and a formal interview. I was there living in a teachers' hostel and subsequently in a secondary school and there was no issue whatsoever with qualifications. If it was less than maybe 30 ago things might have changed, or there might have been some sort of 'private school' scam going on, but in general in the 70s and 80s it was all above board.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Walking into work and there's police filming everything in the office as the boss gets led out in handcuffs for trying to import 15 kilos of coke.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭piplip87

Girl I worked with was been plaughed on Facebook on Instagram twitter by multiple accouns, she blocked all accounts sending her **** videos. Was getting calls at night with a fella **** down the phone. Gardai where called and it was traced back to the fella she sat beside in work.

Another guy got hammered at the Christmas party. Went on a grouping, using slurs against African and gay co-workers. Didn't work out so bad for him. Was suspended with pay for 3 months while the investigation took place.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭brianblaze

An entire branch of an outlet in a company I worked for were fired for using customer details for fraud. Both personal ID copies and credit card information.

The company messed up the disciplinary process and had to give them their jobs back after a week.

Whoops

• Registered Users Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

The Phantom Sh*tter, without a doubt. I've been lucky I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

oh so many.

someone defrauded the company out of tens of thousands in OT he didnt work. He was not sacked. Why? because that would have highlighted the incompetence and total lack of oversight by his bosses.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭steves2

I work in the public sector, I can definitely attest that many mistakes go unpunished due to the managers not wanting to highlight that it happened on their watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

steves2 wrote: »
    I work in the public sector, I can definitely attest that many mistakes go unpunished due to the managers not wanting to highlight that it happened on their watch.
    its rampant in the semi states too

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭md23040

A female worker gave the boss a blow job in the toilets of the office during a party at work. The boss told the financial controller and an external CEO in a sister organization. It got out in the rumor mill and the next day the worker put in a complaint to HR. The day after an inquest by the financial controller and CEO was held with all workers in the department questioned as to who started these false and malicious allegations. It was like something out of David Brent and the office.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

steves2 wrote: »

One that I have been hit with when coming up with a new idea that could have saved us a decent chunk of cash over a number of years was - “if we do this now then they’ll question why we weren’t doing it all along” - idea was never implemented.

Biggest scandal is just a load of in-office affairs- I was totally oblivious to it goin in for a long time until someone pointed them out to me and now they seem to be going on literally everywhere

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Worked in a pub in London in the 80’s while in college over there. Place was raided one day by the police and they found a load of guns underneath the floorboards in a room upstairs. Turns out the owner was a big ‘RA man.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,350 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Not really a scandal but a bloke I worked with was shot dead by Gardai during a bank robbery.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Not really a scandal but a bloke I worked with was shot dead by Gardai during a bank robbery.

Are you Steve Buscemi - Mr pink?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,350 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Are you Steve Buscemi - Mr pink?

Clowns to the left of me,
    Jokers to the right, here I am,
    Stuck in the middle with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,317 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Girl in work had a sex tape leaked. Not just the tape but screen grabs with her Facebook profile showing that it was her (same jewellery) in the video and her name and where she worked. It done the rounds on WhatsApp and I only got wind of it when friend of one of the work lads recognised the company name and messaged him.

Absolutely awful, I felt so bad for her.

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

The Phantom Sh*tter, without a doubt. I've been lucky I guess.

Ah yes I had forgotten about that. I presume this was the one in Waterford?

Or has our Phantom Sh*tter moved on and repeated the trick in pastures new?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭patrickc

I worked in a fast food place in the early 00's, the tills were down money regularly and we were getting blamed for it, turned out it was the manager taking money when cashing up. He was caught after robbing 10k in total.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,135 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

When I was a young lad I had a part-time job in a large chain clothing store where it was discovered that one of the cash-office staff had been stealing money for years. She was made sign a confession and shown the door and the manager was let go but no charges were ever filed.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Chet T16 wrote: »
    Girl in work had a sex tape leaked. Not just the tape but screen grabs with her Facebook profile showing that it was her (same jewellery) in the video and her name and where she worked. It done the rounds on WhatsApp and I only got wind of it when friend of one of the work lads recognised the company name and messaged him.

Absolutely awful, I felt so bad for her.

Was she good looking?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Got to my office one morning and it was cordoned off as some lad shot in the head the night previous (day off work)

Someone taking a dump on the bathroom floor in the disabled toilet.

One girl caught riding two lads from the office in toilets on a half day saturday shift (Cleaner caught them and told me but said nowt to bosses) She was a decent looking mare too. I tried my hand a few times with her but no luck.

All different jobs

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Married IT manager wearing the face off a very young and very drunk colleague publicly at the staff Christmas party.

Colleague getting hammered and telling a senior staff member and office wanker exactly what people thought of him (she was a hero tbh)

Manager stealing commission from sales from junior staff for years- he got fired for that one.

Rather tame really I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,177 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Person taking money from petty cash to pay for horses - got rid of, but given a good reference.
    Another person in the same office caught doing the same - also got rid of.

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... "

• Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

A girl I know had to update firmware on a system that was rarely worked on in a comms room which was effectively deserted (ie no staff at desks there ever etc) except for a 24 hour security desk.

She got a green light from HQ to carry out this work at 4am on a Saturday.

Basically she walked in on the Security Guard with his pants around his ankles **** furiously to internet porn.

Neither said anything and she never reported him......She just thought it was all a bit lousy for him...... :)

PS I suppose I should go search out the " worlds best jobs" thread and post this there too?

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Innervision

I worked in a large supermarket back in my college days and a young checkout guy was found to be stealing people's credit card information. He was one of these people with a super photographic memory and when people would hand him their cards he'd be able to memorise all the details with a quick glance. As far as I remember he waited til the busy Christmas season to do it and then only used to put small enough online purchases on each one so it took ages for it to come to light.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,135 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Neyite wrote: »
    Colleague getting hammered and telling a senior staff member and office wanker exactly what people thought of him (she was a hero tbh)
    I've seen that one a few times!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,144 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Working in a pub and the rumour was a member of staff was riding the manageress now and again.
    I had to defend her honour as I was usually the last one there. And I didn't see anything :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I worked in one of the big 4, where there was headline news of a top 10 list of the hot chicks in the office being circulated via email. Names of top brass on the email chain. Was still talked about years later. Nothing of note in my new office

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

In the former State airline, quite a few of the loaders and caterers have been busted for stealing high value goods from the aircraft trolleys, either at the catering building or from the trollies. More than a few have been busted for stealing and keeping found objects, such as passenger phones and laptops. Others were busted for stealing from baggage in the hold. Apart from that, the well known person smuggling affair.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

We're too boring to have any scandals.

Other than the Holocaust thing. But that was a bit before my time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

One clown managed to get rid of paid optional overtime for the whole company. He was always signing himself in as working all Saturday, a true Stakhanovite in hours without the results to match. After years of this and some suspicions Management checked CCTV which showed him walking in to his desk to turn on his PC and then walking out to take golf clubs out of the boot of his car and hailing a taxi to the links. Coming back hours later he'd just log off and stroll out. He'd been doing this every saturday for years. Company kept it secret, stopped him from getting any further promotions and just removed paid optional overtime for everyone.

One of the big betting chains had a full company christmas party where the founder would be at a random table to show his man-of-the-people credentials. This seriously rough one allocated the seat next to him showed up while off her biscuit on yokes and drink and just acted like a disgrace all night. He took it surprisingly well and her "career" continued undamaged.