Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

battle of at tiri.

• 08-07-2010 12:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭

ok, the battle of at tiri. another one of the many unkown about battles/conflicts the irish defence forces were involved in while peacekeeping.

im a member of the reserves, and have a HUGE interest in the irish DF, particularaly its history. as im studying history in nuig.

but i just cant find any reliable sources... (probably as the irish DF dont glorify war, because we exist to stop it),.. i just cant find anything about the battle of at tiri that seams reliable! and i dont know anyone that was on unifil at that time.

anyone have any form of info on what happened there, please fly it my way.
    and explain where the info came from.

from the mixed up muck i have read on the internet, im not sure how the incident started, but it seams like the IDF and DFF started the incident, and were offensive against the unifil lads. i have also found out that an irish aml-90 engaged a DFF halftrack and destroyed it.

anyway, as you can see, i dont have all the info, and some of it may be off.

so as i said, fly it my way ;)

thanks! P2bC

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 don18

my dad fought at the battle of tiri

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭private2bcadet

don18 wrote: »

any info?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭tac foley

Sir - I assume you mean AT-Tiri?

http://forum.irishmilitaryonline.com/archive/index.php/t-840.html

The second post is the log of the incident.

tac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭private2bcadet

tac foley wrote: »
    Sir - I assume you mean AT-Tiri?