Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Plum shortage no kidding I hear there is a plum shortage now. No need to panic do ok.

• 20-10-2020 10:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 15,556 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

Yes so have you noticed a lack of Plums in the shops. There was none in my local Aldi, Lidl or Tesco today.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,400 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I always carry a couple around with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

I bet you get to use that "get your gums around my plums" line a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

AMKC wrote: »
    There was none in my local Aldi, Lidl or Tesco today.

You must have some craving for plums if you tried 3 different shops.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

v01abzJjCSwQ.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 13,354 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I’m after eating one now, just in case they run out.

Seamai wrote: »
    I bet you get to use that "get your gums around my plums" line a lot.

Nahh that's what wine gums are for.

Me: Do you wine gums?

Her: Yes, yes I do.

Me: Well wine your gums around that!!!

cj maxx wrote: »
    I’m after eating one now, just in case they run out.

Give it 6 to 8 hours and it will be running out (of you)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,556 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

You must have some craving for plums if you tried 3 different shops.

I tell ye. Decided ah feck it after that there must be a shortage.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 146 ✭✭salamiii

your about 6 months late

there has been a shortage for 6 months

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

salamiii wrote: »
    your about 6 months late

Would be that be when they started making the puddings ?

I think there’s a shortage of fresh figs, too.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

If this news is getting you down and you want to stay on the level, please call 1800-PLUM.

That's the plum line...

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,135 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

There were no shortage of plums or greengages at my local farmers market last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nexytus

jester77 wrote: »
    There were no shortage of plums or greengages at my local farmers market last week.

Bsatards. They've cornered the plum market.

jester77 wrote: »

What about the fresh figs?

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

As of last week my mother informed me she had the grand total of 16 pounds of plums either baked, made into jam, pureed or prepped and frozen, if things get tight she could be sitting on a nice little nest egg

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Plum crazyyy...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

salamiii wrote: »
    your about 6 months late

There used to be a shortage.
    There is still one now, but there used to be one too.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Bunnypaws

The quality of plums this year is incredible I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

There's a lot of damsons in distress this year...

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Bunnypaws

Me too! My car is full of stones.
    Is it OK to throw them out the window?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,556 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I think there’s a shortage of fresh figs, too.

Awe don't say that. I do love my figs. Lidl still got plenty last day I was in anyway
    Bunnypaws wrote: »
    Me too! My car is full of stones.
    Is it OK to throw them out the window?

Sure just aim down so you fo not hit anyone else's window

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Had a dream last night that I had some plums after reading this thread
    Got some recently and didn't notice any shortage

• Registered Users Posts: 13,735 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I was reading about a cabbage/kim chi shortage in South Korea earlier. These are the end times.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Bunnypaws wrote: »
    The quality of plums this year is incredible I think
    How did you gauge that ?

I was reading about a cabbage/kim chi shortage in South Korea earlier. These are the end times.
    For the sake of public morale we should prune negative comments.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Have two plum trees in the garden. First time ever, not a single fruit on the trees this year. Dont know why. Maybe frost killed the flower or a unseasonal storm took them before pollination. Either way, no fruit this year !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

Somewhat similar. Two plum trees but very little fruit thus year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nexytus

plummeting.