Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**The wtf plumbing thread**

• Registered Users Posts: 11,710 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

wiz569 wrote: »
    Its down the side of the cylinder in the hot press I think?

ah right I see now. The photo was taken horizontal instead of vertical - now I see it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭blackbox

A fix for an overflowing cistern:

Overflow_800.jpg

blackbox wrote: »

Overflow_800.jpg

I knew someone who lived a house like that once , but the overflow went into the bath instead - it works when it needs to and stops the cold frosty air coming in from outside - but that was a good invention where the new cisterns have internal overflow into the bowl these days

• Registered Users Posts: 12,695 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

but that was a good invention where the new cisterns have internal overflow into the bowl these days

As long as the toilet isn’t blocked too

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    As long as the toilet isn’t blocked too

oh yeah - well it can always overflow over the edge of the pan LOL :D ... see its always got somewhere else to go :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭blackbox

blackbox wrote: »

Overflow_800.jpg

If you look closely, the water would have to flow uphill (higher than the rim of the cistern) to get out the overflow pipe. I guess it had been dripping from the overflow onto the floor. This was a fix for a ballcock fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

My copper cylinder developed a leak and I have now DIY replaced it with a stainless steel one.

I would say 10-15% of the volume of the old cylinder is taken up with limescale.

Hard-Water.jpg

Hard-Water-2.jpg

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

cnocbui wrote: »
    My copper cylinder developed a leak and I have now DIY replaced it with a stainless steel one.

I would say 10-15% of the volume of the old cylinder is taken up with limescale.
    Wow! You will need some sort of treatment for your water. Have you considered that you might need a sacrificial anode with that new cylinder.

So that we wont be pulling the WTF thread off topic, if you want to discuss this further, please make a new post.

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

Good luck changing this pump. Fitted behind a stove. I shjt you not

That will be fun in the future. We’ll have on here giving out about lazy plumbers not wanting small simple jobs. 😬 eek

Wearb wrote: »
    That will be fun in the future. We’ll have on here giving out about lazy plumbers not wanting small simple jobs. 😬 eek

I only discovered it because I was taking the stove out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭agusta

i tend to keep a new standard efficiency wilo pump in the van that i use in extreme situations like in the picture.Just change the pump head

agusta wrote: »
    i tend to keep a new standard efficiency wilo pump in the van that i use in extreme situations like in the picture.Just change the pump head

I don’t think it would’ve been possible to even change the head

• Registered Users Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Tom44

Garage was extended years ago!!!

Tom44 wrote: »

It would keep the mice out :)

Tom44 wrote: »

474394.jpg

ha! - hope they had a working Carbon Monoxide alarm in the extension or left a window or door open at all times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭jhenno78

Wearb wrote: »
    It would keep the mice out :)

It wouldn't, but it'd make them an awful lot easier to catch.

Plastic plug in this pump since 2009. Only a small kerosene leak, and the hose joined into the wrong side

• Registered Users Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Unashamedly stolen from YLYL
    inforfun wrote: »
    Expert workmanship

IMG

• Registered Users Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

And one from today...
    This is not the home owners handiwork!!
    This is why some DIY'ers should stay well away from plumbing.
    Standard H.W. cylinder and expansion pipe to storage tank fitted with a non-return valve (at least it was in the correct direction and working!!) and a 3 bar pressure relief valve.
    Why, what the Arrrrgh! :D :pac:

484903.jpg

484902.jpg

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Unashamedly stolen from YLYL

be grand for the yellow shtuff .....

cnwxfDh.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Plastic plug in this pump since 2009. Only a small kerosene leak, and the hose joined into the wrong side

Very common unfortunately

• Registered Users Posts: 6,171 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Uziemienie.jpg

Not plumbing, but still

Uziemienie.jpg

Not plumbing, but still

Haha, class - What on Earth!! (see what I did there?)

- thats it there need to be a wtf electrical thread on boards.ie .. (if there isnt one already)

• 503358.jpg503359.jpg

503360.jpg503361.jpg

I thought that was a funny design until I realised what was going on .
    I take it all the pipework going to it would be broken ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭Cerco

Did they not pump clean water back in after removing sludge?
    I thought it was essential to do that to prevent tank collapsing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Tails142

Yeah that is uplift from pumping out of the tank and then it basically floats on the water table of the ground

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

whats the timeframe for this to happen

• whats the timeframe for this to happen
    Tank was cleaned yesterday, at some unknown time it floated up was first noticed in the morning.