Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Is Ireland as bad as some people make it out to be?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

aido79 wrote: »
    Yes that's exactly right. I lived in Ireland previously for 28 years and am well aware that it rains there and there is a massive difference in weather between Australia and Ireland 😀
    On the subject of health. Is it worth getting health insurance?

If you are going to uproot your family and dramatically change your wife and childrens lives you should really be doing more serious and in depth research than whimsically asking key questions like this. You do know that you cannot claim on insurance for your first 2 years of paying for it -and that typically any previously existing condition will more than likely be entirely excluded?So you and your family and children will be at the mercy of the dysfunctional health 'system' where routine matters and non immediatelt lifetgreatening medical 'emergencies' are discarded into a waiting list system where the average first visit to a consultant for diagnosis or follow up can be and routinely is about 2 years?As a student you may not be in strong position to pay medical bills or any arising costs - like the e500 + for a private MRI or CAT scan as well as the routine schedules of e200 per trip to visit a consultant or the e50 's needed to your doctor for referals to see the consultants etc - the cash cow of illness in Ireland. And thats if its simething straightforward where it is obvious what is wrong and no tests need to be done - deep pockets or a long wait needed there.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,282 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Yes that's exactly right. I lived in Ireland previously for 28 years and am well aware that it rains there and there is a massive difference in weather between Australia and Ireland 😀

I would if I were you, I have it for my family 2+2 think it’s about 250 a month but obviously there are cheaper and more expensive ones available. Possibly not as needed for the kids though. You should get a few quotes to get an idea, there’s 3 or 4 main ones, I’m with Laya myself.
    If you have a major illness like cancer funnily the public is pretty good it’s more for getting things like scans that it comes in handy.
    What are you hoping to get into with the mechatronics? I was only looking at an online course on it the other day.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 5,374 Mod ✭✭✭✭aido79

If you are going to uproot your family and dramatically change your wife and childrens lives you should really be doing more serious and in depth research than whimsically asking key questions like this. You do know that you cannot claim on insurance for your first 2 years of paying for it -and that typically any previously existing condition will more than likely be entirely excluded?So you and your family and children will be at the mercy of the dysfunctional health 'system' where routine matters and non immediatelt lifetgreatening medical 'emergencies' are discarded into a waiting list system where the average first visit to a consultant for diagnosis or follow up can be and routinely is about 2 years?As a student you may not be in strong position to pay medical bills or any arising costs - like the e500 + for a private MRI or CAT scan as well as the routine schedules of e200 per trip to visit a consultant or the e50 's needed to your doctor for referals to see the consultants etc - the cash cow of illness in Ireland. And thats if its simething straightforward where it is obvious what is wrong and no tests need to be done - deep pockets or a long wait needed there.

I think you need to change your health care insurance if you unable to claim on your insurance within the first 2 years. This may help:
    https://www.hia.ie/consumer-information/waiting-periods/new-customer-waiting-periods
    Most seem to have a 3 to 6 month waiting period.

Let me worry about doing my research. I was just asking for opinions on whether health insurance is worth paying for. You gave a detailed response but didn't answer my question but thanks anyway.

The health system was bad when I left Ireland so I'm not surprised by any of what you say.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭august12

Yes, worth it given our health system at present, if you are over 35, there is a % loading for each year over, but if you purchase health cover within the first nine months of returning, then I think this loading does not apply, there is a waiting period then before cover kicks in, it is weeks rather than years, unless you had a pre existing condition but I think you are covered immediately for accidents and emergencies, am open to correction on this.
    The big advantage of private cover is access to specialists rather than waiting years through public health system.

If your heart is set on returning, then follow your gut feeling, you will regret it later in life if you at least don't give it a try, it may work out for you, it may not, there are advantages to returning, it's not all doom and gloom, same as other countries have their positive and negatives.

salmocab wrote: »
    I would if I were you, I have it for my family 2+2 think it’s about 250 a month but obviously there are cheaper and more expensive ones available. Possibly not as needed for the kids though. You should get a few quotes to get an idea, there’s 3 or 4 main ones, I’m with Laya myself.
    If you have a major illness like cancer funnily the public is pretty good it’s more for getting things like scans that it comes in handy.
    What are you hoping to get into with the mechatronics? I was only looking at an online course on it the other day.

Thanks I'll have a look at Laya and get some other quotes too.

I have done an advanced diploma in industrial automation previously and think there is a good future in automation and mechatronics. I also have a diploma in electronics as well as being an electrician and am far more interested in the technical side of things hence why I want to move away from being an electrician.
    Which course were you looking at if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,324 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

We do have a bit of a national hobby of complaining about the country, regardless of whether we're on the up or on the down.

If you're sorted for accommodation, and you won't have a nightmare commute, you're a long way down the tracks to reasonable comfort.

Thanks I'll have a look at Laya and get some other quotes too.

I have done an advanced diploma in industrial automation previously and think there is a good future in automation and mechatronics. I also have a diploma in electronics as well as being an electrician and am far more interested in the technical side of things hence why I want to move away from being an electrician.
    Which course were you looking at if you don't mind me asking?

Think it was Sligo IT. I’m mooching about looking at different courses thinking of doing something related to my current job without committing to a 3 year degree as I’m not sure I have that in me.
    Although my head is frizzled from looking at things that I could be wrong about that particular course.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,664 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

I have been living in Australia for the last 10 years but am planning on moving back to Ireland next year.
    From reading the news there seems to all sorts of crisis going on...health, housing etc.
    I will be moving back with my wife and 2 kids and am an electrician. I own a house there so I won't be affected by the housing crisis?
    I generally take most things on Facebook with a pinch of salt but the amount of negative comments on articles from Rte or other news sites makes Ireland seem like some third world economy. Are these comments being made by people who can never be satisfied no matter what is done by the government or is it the view of the majority of the population?
    I'm trying to keep an open mind but the negativity has me a bit worried.

The housing problem isn't helped by people in your situation returning, 20,000 (net) people coming last year and mostly be Irish people who jumped ship and now coming back.

But overall everything is grand, yes issues with health, housing and so on but nothing new. One change you might notice is the increase in snowflakes around and those who want everything for free while working people foot the bill!

Think it was Sligo IT. I’m mooching about looking at different courses thinking of doing something related to my current job without committing to a 3 year degree as I’m not sure I have that in me.
    Although my head is frizzled from looking at things that I could be wrong about that particular course.

I vaguely remember looking at a mechatronics course in Sligo. I've done the online study thing before while working fulltime and it was tough going without kids. With kids now I don't think I'd be able for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Christ yes. In fact if you don’t you get penalised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Why would he need to do in depth research when you are here to tell him the facts?

I vaguely remember looking at a mechatronics course in Sligo. I've done the online study thing before while working fulltime and it was tough going without kids. With kids now I don't think I'd be able for it.

Yeah I can actually get a bit done in work on nights and weekends when it’s quiet so that’s the only reason I’m consider it, have a 5 month old and a 3 year old so it wouldn’t be possible on my own time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

His request is perfectly sane. He is reading a lot of negativity about Ireland abd wants to know how true it is.

This isn’t social media.

I know Aido has been around the political threads, has seen all the negative comments and has an idea of conditions here re employment, housing and health.
    His thread starter is just an invitation of a new discussion of old rehash really, he has I think read all the answers he got on here before.
    This is not social media? What is it?
    Anyway, Aido, I wish you and your family well no matter what you do, I feel you have your head well screwed on and will make a success of whatever you turn your hand to, best wishes from me.

Edward M wrote: »
    I know Aido has been around the political threads, has seen all the negative comments and has an idea of conditions here re employment, housing and health.
    His thread starter is just an invitation of a new discussion of old rehash really, he has I think read all the answers he got on here before.
    This is not social media? What is it?
    Anyway, Aido, I wish you and your family well no matter what you do, I feel you have your head well screwed on and will make a success of whatever you turn your hand to, best wishes from me.

Since your join date is 4 months after I last posted in a political thread I going to assume you had another account previous to this one.
    I do have an idea of the conditions in Ireland from family back there and following the news but sometimes it's nice to get other people's opinions on what it feels like to live there especially from people who may have made a similar choice.
    I wouldn't class this as social media. It's a discussion forum.
    Thanks for the good wishes.

Yeah I can actually get a bit done in work on nights and weekends when it’s quiet so that’s the only reason I’m consider it, have a 5 month old and a 3 year old so it wouldn’t be possible on my own time

It might work for you then if you can do that. I definitely couldn't have done any of my study or assignments during work and it just took up so much of my free time. I'd be threatened with divorce if I mentioned online study again 😀

• Registered Users Posts: 6,657 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

If you have mental health problems in this country just get out of here. Get the hell out, its extremely toxic that way and we have men and women (mostly men though) killing themselves left right and centre every day of the week and for what? Not being man enough not having the "right" life, even in 2018 these false Gods are killing our young men who feel that they would rather die than live in Ireland. Something about this is extremely fcuked up and the saddest thing is nobody in power gives a flying fcuk and no funding is given to any organization who are trying to help people in despair.

In Ireland its either you are a perfect individual or you are nothing. I know other countries have high suicide rates but we are a small country with a lot going for us yet our culture is toxic to young people.

Since your join date is 4 months after I last posted in a political thread I going to assume you had another account previous to this one.
    I do have an idea of the conditions in Ireland from family back there and following the news but sometimes it's nice to get other people's opinions on what it feels like to live there especially from people who may have made a similar choice.
    I wouldn't class this as social media. It's a discussion forum.
    Thanks for the good wishes.

We won't get into social media argument, I have been on before, never banned though, just that someone hacked my computer before, changed my name.
    How do you expect to find things here when you come back, I'd be interested to hear your thoughts, just if you are basing conditions on what you read on social media or do you follow journalistic publications here or TV news perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭2 Scoops

If bad means one of the best countries to live in the world, then yes, it's bad.

Some serious cop on is needed, you could have been born in a bad part of Africa or Iraq or some other hell hole, have some gratitude for the cards you were dealt.

A thread title asking about specific problems wouldn't attract responses like this, but I suppose it's in trendy thing to bash the emerald Isle.

Edward M wrote: »
    We won't get into social media argument, I have been on before, never banned though, just that someone hacked my computer before, changed my name.
    How do you expect to find things here when you come back, I'd be interested to hear your thoughts, just if you are basing conditions on what you read on social media or do you follow journalistic publications here or TV news perhaps?

I wouldn't be making the move unless I thought I could make it work. From what I hear electricians are in demand so I don't see employment being a problem. I have a place to live and probably if I didn't have that my plans would be a little bit different.
    I'm basing none of my decisions on social media as it's mostly a whingefest when it comes to anything political or economic with the majority of comments coming from people with very little political or economic knowledge.
    I'm just trying to get a general feel for what it is like to live in Ireland these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭pgj2015

it is a great country in some ways and I wouldn't live anywhere else but the thing I hate about it is the over relaxed attitude of a lot of its people, most Irish people think rules are meant to be broken for example parking in disabled car spaces when not disabled, laws are often not enforced, you have people wandering the streets with 100 + convictions. we do not protest enough about important things such as the fact we are being fleeced by the insurance companies the last few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

If you have mental health problems in this country just get out of here. Get the hell out, its extremely toxic that way and we have men and women (mostly men though) killing themselves left right and centre every day of the week and for what? Not being man enough not having the "right" life, even in 2018 these false Gods are killing our young men who feel that they would rather die than live in Ireland. Something about this is extremely fcuked up and the saddest thing is nobody in power gives a flying fcuk and no funding is given to any organization who are trying to help people in despair.

In Ireland its either you are a perfect individual or you are nothing. I know other countries have high suicide rates but we are a small country with a lot going for us yet our culture is toxic to young people.
    Australian suicide rates : 11.8 per 100k
    Ireland suicide rates: 11.7 per 100k
    The guy is asking for serious advice about a potential life changing decision. The least we can do is get facts right before mentioning serious topics like suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

It annoys me that people always complain about problems in Ireland as if they are unique to Ireland. For example look at litter people often complain that Ireland is covered in litter particularly litter in urban areas and fly tipping. Go to most other European cities and you will find litter. Ok Dublin isin't exactly Singapore, Zurich or Stockholm but those places tend to be the exception and not the rule go to places like Paris, Rome, London, Madrid and Berlin they all have similar level of litter to Dublin if not more. I have driven and the continent and seen plenty of fly tipping in the countryside too.

I think people might be setting the bar a little high when comparing Ireland socially to places like Sweden, Denmark, Switzerland, Norway and Finland which tend to be the exception and not the rule.

I wouldn't be making the move unless I thought I could make it work. From what I hear electricians are in demand so I don't see employment being a problem. I have a place to live and probably if I didn't have that my plans would be a little bit different.
    I'm basing none of my decisions on social media as it's mostly a whingefest when it comes to anything political or economic with the majority of comments coming from people with very little political or economic knowledge.
    I'm just trying to get a general feel for what it is like to live in Ireland these days.

That's fair enough.
    But there's whingers everywhere.
    My take,on Ireland is my honest opinion, not based on any political persuasion.
    The economy seems good, but mostly Dublin driven, if you live in a rural location you will probably have to commute, be prepared for that, because if you're going to try to work through your studies then you will have to be prepared for long days.
    As you know I'm sure, our progression is based on FDI and if Trumps America and brexit go badly for us then our situation will change and not for the better I feel.
    The govt is doing OK economically, but is mired in several controversies, health, housing and an ongoing tribunal over garda behaviour and how much ministers are involved or had knowledge of these behaviours.
    We could likely be facing an election soon and if govt changes and Sinn Fein hold a balance of power and can manage to get in to govt with some of their policies being implemented, then that could bring big change too.
    Nothing is certain, but realistically looking as of now, your move home with the advantages you have, you should not only be fine, but prosper here, and I hope that's the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭mrhoppy

Automation/ mechatronic engineering.

Same thing. Ireland has no substantial mechanical manfacturing industry, Germany’s the place to go for that

mrhoppy wrote: »
    Same thing. Ireland has no substantial mechanical manfacturing industry, Germany’s the place to go for that

It seems to be a case of anywhere except Ireland for you.
    I'm not interested in working in mechanical manufacturing and even if I did I don't have any mechanical experience or qualifications so no point in going to Germany.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,468 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Ireland is grand if you’ve the earning power.

For someone returning property prices are “challenging”, as will car insurance be tough.
    You really need private healthcare.

But, if you have the earning power to cover these and have money left over to live then Ireland is a great place to live.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I have been living in Australia for the last 10 years but am planning on moving back to Ireland next year.
    From reading the news there seems to all sorts of crisis going on...health, housing etc.
    I will be moving back with my wife and 2 kids and am an electrician. I own a house there so I won't be affected by the housing crisis?
    I generally take most things on Facebook with a pinch of salt but the amount of negative comments on articles from Rte or other news sites makes Ireland seem like some third world economy. Are these comments being made by people who can never be satisfied no matter what is done by the government or is it the view of the majority of the population?
    I'm trying to keep an open mind but the negativity has me a bit worried.

Be careful, think about coming back to the kip.

You are out of Ireland 10 years - so expect to pay 2.5k+ for car insurance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Cina

Ireland is one of the world's best countries to live in, pretty much every metric out there will show that. We should be thankful we live somewhere like here, instead we moan like the privileged gits we are. Just cause we're not Denark, Canada, or Australia (which our people can easily emigrate to anyway) doesn't mean we're not a great place.

Our health system could be better, our cost of living could be lower (Dublin especially has become absurdly expensive now, worse than London) and we could have better public transport services, but other than that, there's really not much to moan about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Is Ireland as bad as some people make it out to be?

No, it's not.

I'm out foreign for work at the moment for a few months. 4th continent in 5 years for me.
    I love travelling, I love going to new places, I love the fact that I can currently drive 15 minutes and see some of the most interesting charismatic mega-fauna on the planet and some of the most incredible landscapes I've ever seen...

but I cannot fooking wait to get home.

Ireland's a fantastic place to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

Sure maybe all the moaners and Irish lack of blind "we're number one" patriotism that you see in some other countries means we can see and attempt to correct the faults, isn't a bad thing.

Incidentally, I've lived in France - similarly full of moaners! England too. Yet they're both extremely developed countries.

Also the Scandinavian countries in some respects are remarkably self critical and full of pragmatic moaners.

I'd read the independent analysis of a country - genuine facts and figures and objective opinions before I would take social media commentary as useful.

Ireland has got an ability to be robustly self critical and increasingly, air it's dirty linen in public, in a way that many countries don't. We can be the polar opposite to the Americans and some other nationalities about that and do have a tendency to perhaps wallow in bouts national self criticism at times.

What's changing in Ireland is the moaning is increasing leading to things being done to create change. I find there's a growing genuine ability to get things moving here coupled with a more diverse political system growing transparency and it's become something that's is very positive in Irish society.

One of the huge positives is you don't generally have to deal with toxic American, British or French style partisan politics here. It's more about consensus building these days due to the voting system being totally proportional.

You just need to channel the moaners energy into something positive.

It's not perfect and it definitely has a few significant organisational issues in access to healthcare. However, I think most countries have some problems - very few are getting absolutely everything right all the time.

What I am growing to appreciate a lot in Ireland is that there's an ability to address and tease out problems without causing a political mess like Trump or Brexit. We've a very grown up capability to discuss divisive topics in a sane and sensible way.

We've rocked though a major economic crisis without going off the rails entirely and also just had a referendum and debate on what was a highly contentious issue - abortion without really having any political instability or serious nastiness.

My view of Ireland is it's a very stable and increasingly sensible northern European country with quite a lot of positives going for it.