Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

French author, 50, says he's incapable of loving a woman of 50

• 08-01-2019 3:32pm

obviously most men prefer younger women but this guy got some serious reaction against him for stating his preference. what do you think?

justified? or just older women threatened that they are sexually irrelevant?

A popular French author and television presenter has caused outrage after claiming he was “incapable” of loving a woman aged over 50.

Yann Moix, 50, told a glossy magazine: “Come on now, let’s not exaggerate! That’s not possible … too, too old.”

In the interview with Marie-Claire magazine’s French edition, Moix, the author of several prize-winning novels, added that women in their 50s were “invisible” to him.

“I prefer younger women’s bodies, that’s all. End of. The body of a 25-year-old woman is extraordinary. The body of a woman of 50 is not extraordinary at all,” he said.

Moix has won several literary prizes including the prestigious Prix Goncourt for a first novel and the Prix François Mauriac from the Académie Française for his 1996 debut work Jubilations Vers le Ciel, has directed three films and is the host of a popular TV talkshow.

His comments caused outrage on social media.

The journalist and writer Colombe Schneck, aged 52, published a photo of a backside on her Instagram account. “Voila, the buttocks of a woman aged 52…what an imbecile you are, you don’t know what you’re missing, you and your tiny, paunchy brain.”

Feminist author Mona Chollet said Moix was a “sad sire”, while Laura Hulley, from the political section of the British Embassy in Paris, tweeted: “Happy new year, sexists everywhere!”

Former first lady Valerie Trierweiler tweeted here about Moix in the context of the fourth anniversary of the terrorist attack on satirical newspaper Charlie Hebdo.

French MP Olivia Gregoire, a spokeswoman for Macron’s La République en Marche (LREM) party, tweeted: “Very classy Yann Moix. Very very classy. But like stupidity and vulgarity have no age, it’s reassuring in his case as I doubt many women want (these qualities).”

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

i think he was very articulate and honest.

It's amazing how everyone is entitled to their opinion on not allowing other people have an opinion.

Good for him I say. And I will get on with my life without being offended.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

His president will keep the oul wans busy.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

On one hand it's not wrong for someone to say that they are attracted to a particular type. On the other hand saying that women over 50 were invisible is a bit of a dick move. there's more to a woman than their age/appearance.

I'd view it the same way if he'd said women with small breasts are invisible to him. He's very shallow.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Meh, it's his personal taste, don't see why it's worthy of a debate. He prefers women in their 20's, fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

Have to agree with him when he says:

“I prefer younger women’s bodies, that’s all. End of. The body of a 25-year-old woman is extraordinary. The body of a woman of 50 is not extraordinary at all,”

I'd rather be feeling some nice melons compared to some prunes.

Gravelly wrote: »
    His president will keep the oul wans busy.

it's rumoured that he likes the lads really.

glasso wrote: »
    it's rumoured that he likes the lads really.

Heard that alright - if so, yer man will have a clear field altogether as the prez will keep the oul wans and the young lads out of the game.

here's the wan who posted her arse btw. hard to tell if it's a decent one. judicious angle

DwQUnqfX4AEr1FM.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Muckka

I myself prefer to be single, I think I'm Asexual.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,261 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Hands up who's heard of Yann Moix before today?

Hands up who's heard of him now?

I'd say Monsiour Moix is feeling very pleased with his day's work.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Meh, it's his personal taste, don't see why it's worthy of a debate. He prefers women in their 20's, fair enough.

Can't be saying things like that, we needed to get offended on behalf of these women, getting offended on behalf of others is vital in these challenging times.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,088 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I don't think they will be beating his door down, whether he thinks he is capable of loving them or not.
    Can't find any info on any relationships he has ever had.

Hands up who's heard of Yann Moix before today?

Did he play outhalf for Biarritz back in '96?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

Grayson wrote: »
    On one hand it's not wrong for someone to say that they are attracted to a particular type. On the other hand saying that women over 50 were invisible is a bit of a dick move. there's more to a woman than their age/appearance.

I'd view it the same way if he'd said women with small breasts are invisible to him. He's very shallow.
    Yeah their cooking ability is also important.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'm amazed this is news. He's just expressing his own personal taste in women.

I hope he's okay with being deemed unlovable too. Plenty of people in the age group he's attracted to wouldn't be remotely interested in a guy as old or older than their dad.

He's entitled to his preferences, but how you state them (if you really must) can make you sound like a boor.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I'm surprised the British embassy had an opinion on this, and that opinion was "sexism" even though there's no sexism.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

If a famous woman in her 50's said the same they'd be celebrated for expressing their sexual desires and anyone that criticized the comments would be told that they were just intimidated by strong women.

Candie wrote: »
    I hope he's okay with being deemed unlovable too. Plenty of people in the age group he's attracted to wouldn't be remotely interested in a guy as old or older than their dad.

He's entitled to his preferences, but how you state them (if you really must) can make you sound like a boor.

I've a feeling that if his new found fame helps him get the leg over a couple of 20-somethings, he won't give a ****e if the rest of the world hates him.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Gravelly wrote: »
    Can't be saying things like that, we needed to get offended on behalf of these women, getting offended on behalf of others is vital in these challenging times.

I am one of those women, well near enough. I would bet my house he'd be repulsed by me and that's ok. I'm secure enough to know my worth isn't determined by whether or not some random person would shag me. We all have our own personal preferences don't we?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

A (presumably)rich French author. Yea no 25 year old academic type will be interested in him. Come on now, be reasonable.

In some other quotes he acknowledges that he wouldn't consider himself to be a catch either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

French culture, movies and literature often promote the older man younger woman scenario.

Wonder how much of that is a true reflection.

I'm surprised the British embassy had an opinion on this, and that opinion was "sexism" even though there's no sexism.

Middle-aged male saying anything that's not utterly sycophantic about women = sexism.

If he's white, they'll probably shoehorn racism in there too.

If a famous woman in her 50's said the same they'd be celebrated for expressing their sexual desires and anyone that criticized the comments would be told that they were just intimidated by strong women.

You gotta love how you saw an opportunity for some wimmin bashing in even this subject.

French culture, movies and literature often promote the older man younger woman scenario.

Wonder how much of that is a true reflection.

totally normal in some societies.

very frowned upon in Ireland I would say is the common reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

He’s in fairly good nick for 50.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭conorhal

Like Germaine Greer for example?
    https://www.theguardian.com/books/2003/oct/11/highereducation.news2

"The first thing that strikes you about Germaine Greer's new book 'The Boy' is just how lovely it is; page after page of sheeny illustrations of fine, languid boys as seen by artists from Praxiteles to Annie Leibovitz. But this is much more than a great coffee table book. In it, Greer is asking us to celebrate the evanescent loveliness of boys, but to do so in a very serious way."

eviltwin wrote: »
    I am one of those women, well near enough. I would bet my house he'd be repulsed by me and that's ok. I'm secure enough to know my worth isn't determined by whether or not some random person would shag me. We all have our own personal preferences don't we?

I'm married to a woman not too far off it too, and I'd imagine she wouldn't give two f**ks what some (probably mediocre) French author thinks of her. If only everyone was like that, we wouldn't have all the secondary offense we have today.