Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Alan Farrell TD, and his "unusual" personal injury claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Oh dear Alan,
    Minister Charlie Flanagan plans to blitz insurance fraud with new Garda unit to tackle conmen
    Deputy Flanagan was speaking at Insurance Ireland’s fifth fraud conference in the National Convention Centre in Dublin as the country recovers from Hurricane Ophelia and braces itself for Storm Brian this weekend.

The damage from Ophelia is only now being assessed, but claims are set to run into hundreds of millions of euro.

The country’s misfortune could present rich pickings for potential fraudsters and Mr Flanagan is announcing the new initiative to tackle the conmen - with the aim of bringing down premiums for the rest of us.
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/minister-charlie-flanagan-plans-blitz-11377574

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Oh dear Alan,

Ah sweet jaysus.......

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Oh dear Alan,

Relax, the law is only for the plebs.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Is that you Alan?

Why did the cruel barbers posts get snipped?

Everyone of them on this thread it would seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Shyster.

That's the word that comes to mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

i still cant see what actual damage was caused. even the parking sensors look fine.

I thought I spotted it, but it turned out to be a hair on the screen.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,700 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

This is a man who sits on the Public Accounts Committee.
    Liam Lawlor did too.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Insurance fraud in my eyes.FG love a bit of white collar crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

smurgen wrote: »
    Insurance fraud in my eyes.FG love a bit of white collar crime.

Is this like the way Alan Farrell forgot to tell the committee that the wiman he was proposing handung over his counciller seat to was his wife - he was just using her maiden name.

Or when she was 6 months pregnant he decided the only person in Ireland suitable to be his secretary was her - and then employed someone else on the taxpayers bill while she went off on maternity pay?

Or how he has the hand out for his no questions asked taxpayer handout of 'unvouched expenses' which is equivalent to two years taxed salary for the working poor - no question of this being addressed by FG committees. Only another 2 1/2 k - was the close to.milluon we have paid him and his brother and family not enough Alan?

Did.his wife ever declare those little jobs she used do while she was unemployed

• Registered Users Posts: 32,986 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

So how come he still got 2.5k?

NIMAN wrote: »

Because no matter what, he wasn't to blame for the accident. He only exaggerated the extent of his injuries.

Fcuked up, I know - but that's why insurance companies charge what they charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Even the TDs are scamming the system. Christ almighty taxpayers and good law abiding citizens are being shafted afrom all angles, one being ridiculous nonsensical car insurance prices.

Farrell is a fcuking mornin. Ive noticed he is very confrontational on twitter when his bull**** has been called out in the past.

This is a man who sits on the Public Accounts Committee.

That is precisely the sort of person politicians want on the PAC. They don't want somebody watching over them who refuses to milk the system. Anybody ever see John McGuinness's expenses?

PAC chief and his wife flew business class at €9200 cost to taxpayer.

'It was a different country then' - John McGuinness defends expenses

Dáil chief's son paid €30k but had no desk

And felicitously we have this:

McGuinness must clarify whether he signed off on son’s €71k expenses bill
    Fine Gael TD for Dublin North, Alan Farrell, has called on Fianna Fáil TD and Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee, John McGuinness, to clarify whether he signed off on the €71,353 in overtime, mileage and subsistence claimed by his son, Cllr Andrew McGuinness, when he worked in his father’s Ministerial office at the Department of Enterprise from 2007 to 2009. This included €30,000 in overtime payments in 2008 alone, as reported in today’s Irish Independent.

“I am keen to know whether John McGuinness signed off on payments of €71,353 in expenses for his son, Andrew during a two year period when he was a Junior Minister at the Department of Enterprise, Jobs and Innovation. Deputy McGuinness’ son was in receipt of these earnings at a time when 90,000 private sector workers were losing their job each year.

“I would also like to know how Andrew McGuinness worked enough hours to earn €30,000 in overtime payments in one year on his salary of €42,000. He has been given the opportunity to account for this and has failed to do so.

Solution: Here, Alan, just to shut you up we'll give you a position on PAC.

ford2600 wrote: »

Do TD have to run stuff like this before their party before going ahead? FG are obsessed with PR, they can't be happy

https://mobile.twitter.com/AlanFarrell/status/1016264920588062721

Some of them tweets are gold.
    Bumped into my nieces in between meetings at the Bundestag.
    https://t.co/Q0340AKf48

Second reply in.
    "bumped into"?
    Hope they don't sue you for soft-tissue damage ��
    https://t.co/7UECSvWx6t https://t.co/rykMpZ0QUZ

I think this might follow Alan's career around now for the foreseeable. The lure of easy money was just irresistible it would seem.

Also.

Fine Gael TD Alan Farrell blasts compo culture in schools… as he himself sues for €15,000 following car crash

Claims such as this case being discussed on news talk now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Somehow the people of Dublin Fingal gave this guy 6000+ votes. Hard to fathom.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

People are stupid

• Registered Users Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭jmreire

NIMAN wrote: »

That was because once an award is made.....even a €10, then the legal costs are automatically covered too !!! And they would be a damn sight more than €2'500.
    Now if the Judge had dismissed the claim...would be a different story. Just another sample of all that is rotten in the Country.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

And they point the finger at Lowry and Healy Rae supporters. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Zebra3 wrote: »
    And they point the finger at Lowry and Healy Rae supporters. :rolleyes:

As a kerryman who went to college in Cork & the states and has now lived in Dub for nearly 10 years - it is safe to say that there are stupid people everywhere

• Registered Users Posts: 8,268 ✭✭✭jmreire

As a kerryman who went to college in Cork & the states and has now lived in Dub for nearly 10 years - it is safe to say that there are stupid people everywhere

100% true !!! :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: