Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
24-07-2020, 14:43   #1
Robert ninja
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,521
Upgrade or Replace for new GPUs?

Current build
CPU i7-4770k (OC to 4GHz)
GPU RX 480 4GB
RAM 16GB
PSU beQuiet! 700W
MOBO MSI Z87-G43
3 SSDs
1 HDD
1 DVD

I'm waiting for new GPUs and 9th gen consoles to drop before I upgrade and I'm just a bit worried that the age of my system might not make it worth investing anything else into it, especially if I consider VR a few years from now (after graduation).

It holds up fine for productivity (to my standard) and I mostly play older games which it blasts through but it's definitely struggling with modern games while I stream to the point I'm lowering some of them to 720p (although I do blame the absolute state of the game industry for that). I was considering just a GPU upgrade as I read the 5700 has a good encoder and I do use my current GPU's encoder with FFMPEG/VAAPI . I know it's always better to start a new build but if all I really need is a new GPU and possibly a new AMD CPU I'd like to wring even more out of this if I can. The system has served me really well so far and despite my gunk gable management and tower placement I've never had thermal issues.


Also any advice on general upgrades/replacements is welcome. Have at it.
Robert ninja is online now  
Advertisement
24-07-2020, 14:45   #2
Samuel T. Cogley
Registered User
 
Samuel T. Cogley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8,632
Wait for the new GPUs to drop and pick up a second hand bargain. Just make sure it works before buying!

Didn't Gamersnexus do a piece on tour CPU recently. Might be worth a watch.
Samuel T. Cogley is offline  
Thanks from:
24-07-2020, 14:47   #3
K.O.Kiki
Registered User
 
K.O.Kiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 16,819
Start with a GPU upgrade - for your use case I'd go Nvidia to avail of NvEnc streaming: https://www.igorslab.de/en/nvidias-n...-netflix-vmaf/
K.O.Kiki is offline  
Thanks from:
24-07-2020, 17:16   #4
Robert ninja
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by K.O.Kiki View Post
Start with a GPU upgrade - for your use case I'd go Nvidia to avail of NvEnc streaming: https://www.igorslab.de/en/nvidias-n...-netflix-vmaf/
It may come down to price:performance. Nvidia usually have the highest FPS but I've found that you pay more than the fps gain you actually get. The open amdgpu drivers have also been extremely reliable for me on this linux system and practically all of nvidia's features they never even bother releasing outside of windows so I kinda dropped them for that. Didn't help that the last card I got from em' bricked a week after its warranty

I was hoping just a stronger AMD card would handle ffmpeg/vaapi on OBS better. Right now it just drains my system too much if I try to play the latest games @ 1440p with OBS churning.

Glad to know that you think just a GPU upgrade is viable though.
Robert ninja is online now  
24-07-2020, 17:41   #5
Robert ninja
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuel T. Cogley View Post
Didn't Gamersnexus do a piece on tour CPU recently. Might be worth a watch.
Thanks! Gonna give it a watch with dinner.

Edit: Based on that video, I think I'll be using this CPU until I need an entirely new system... or it melts. There were significant gains with the newer CPUs demonstrated but none of the FPS gains seemed worth money. Paying €300 for about 40% more FPS... meh. I'll put that kind of money aside for a new system. GPU seems to be where its at for possible upgrade on this system.

Last edited by Robert ninja; 24-07-2020 at 21:14.
Robert ninja is online now  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
25-07-2020, 13:26   #6
grogi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuel T. Cogley View Post
Wait for the new GPUs to drop and pick up a second hand bargain. Just make sure it works before buying!

Didn't Gamersnexus do a piece on tour CPU recently. Might be worth a watch.
They did. The conclusions were that unless your GPU is faster than 970, it is still great CPU, especially after a bit of oc.
grogi is offline  
Thanks from:
25-07-2020, 19:29   #7
Robert ninja
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,521
^
https://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compar...480/2577vs3634

Basically the same so it's staying. Waiting for consoles and next cards to drop so it seems. Probably sell the whole system for a few hundred and put it towards a new build then.
Robert ninja is online now  
25-07-2020, 23:34   #8
EoinHef
Registered User
 
EoinHef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4,767
Get that CPU overclocked a bit more if you have a cooler capable of it
EoinHef is online now  
26-07-2020, 02:04   #9
wotzgoingon
Registered User
 
wotzgoingon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by EoinHef View Post
Get that CPU overclocked a bit more if you have a cooler capable of it
I was just about to post the same. It was in my head to post it while I was reading through the comments and then came to yours.

You can get that to 4.4-4.6 easily. I'd say go with 4.4GHz to be safe.

Tbh I'm surprised you have it overclocked so low.
wotzgoingon is offline  
Advertisement
26-07-2020, 12:49   #10
Robert ninja
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,521
It used to BSOD whenever I overclocked it even the tiniest bit on windows. Now that I don't use windows anymore I put it on 4 and its been fine for years so I guess I should try push it a little more. I'll let ya know how it goes.

update:
4.4 consistently caused crashes on load but 4.3 survived a full 8 thread stress for 20s and some OBS recording test. I'll keep an eye on temps next gaming session.

Last edited by Robert ninja; 26-07-2020 at 13:28.
Robert ninja is online now  
26-07-2020, 13:46   #11
EoinHef
Registered User
 
EoinHef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4,767
Are you just changing the multiplier or are you setting the voltage aswell?

You might need just a tad more voltage for 4.4ghz
EoinHef is online now  
26-07-2020, 14:39   #12
Robert ninja
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,521
Yes I did but I suppose I could tinker more. It's silicon lottery so I might've just gotten one that can't get past .3
Robert ninja is online now  
26-07-2020, 16:56   #13
EoinHef
Registered User
 
EoinHef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4,767
That can happen,I had a 3570k that I couldn't get past 4.3ghz.

1.3v would be about the max I'd put through that CPU. I have read of people getting 4.5ghz with 1.2v but those people won the silicon lottery

Just as an add on,im currently running a 9700K at 5ghz,im not really sure id trust that to stream and still give me the framerates id be looking for. I think ryzen with all the cores they are offering should be where you look next for sure.

GPU is definitely wait and see what the new gen brings but you know that already.

Last edited by EoinHef; 26-07-2020 at 18:57.
EoinHef is online now  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet