Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
20-07-2020, 23:38   #1
wally1990
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 972
Can you put an SSD in this?

Apologies, Im not great at the old upgrading of laptops so need advice and help

I own this laptop below for basic admin duties but since covid I am remote working using amazon workspace and sometimes amazon GUAWs (Web based client) and Microsoft teams(which is killing my laptop slowing it right down). and a voip system

This laptop has been factory reset but I want to make it that bit faster and I'm wondering is it possible to put an SSD into it?

I don't have the money to upgrade my laptop so trying to think of cheaper alternative options

If SSD is not possible then maybe a Ram upgrade!?

I would be bringing it to a store OR asking someone who is fairly handy to do it for me (paid of course)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Toshiba-Sat.../dp/B00LZWCGWW

Last edited by wally1990; 20-07-2020 at 23:48.
wally1990 is offline  
Advertisement
20-07-2020, 23:41   #2
snoopsheep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,847
https://www.crucial.com/compatible-u...pscfcq-007005)


very quick search(maybe not exact exact model) suggests yes
snoopsheep is online now  
20-07-2020, 23:46   #3
snoopsheep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,847
up to 8gb ram can go in also

should be a handy enough job, a youtube video no doubt exists that would cover it

backing up/mirroring is almost the complicated bit tbh, have you much stuff you need to bring or by any chance would a clean reinstall work
snoopsheep is online now  
20-07-2020, 23:48   #4
wally1990
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopsheep View Post
up to 8gb ram can go in also

should be a handy enough job, a youtube video no doubt exists that would cover it

backing up/mirroring is almost the complicated bit tbh, have you much stuff you need to bring or by any chance would a clean reinstall work
Nothing at all, any files or programs I have are replaceable and I only did a clean reset/reinstall recently

Prob a stupid question but is it normally better to do a Ram upgrade or SSD?

Not sure how much costs I'm looking at (I know it will depends on the ram etc) but I could spend around the 150 mark
wally1990 is offline  
21-07-2020, 00:01   #5
snoopsheep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,847
depends on what actual issues you are running into but as a rule i think hdd to ssd is usually the single quickest win you can do for something like this

its a no brainer, tbh

when things are really crawling have you opened yr task/resource manager and seen what is juddering? that might save you upgrading ram at this stage if budget was a major concern

4gb is quite low but your use case and processor are hardly big pullers, you might be ok in the short term- ive a small unit for the tv and i put 8gb ram into it along with an ssd in a similar vein a few years ago and ill be damned if i ever saw it go over the 4gb usage since

if you wanted another year out of it id prob get in the extra ram tho
snoopsheep is online now  
Advertisement
21-07-2020, 00:05   #6
snoopsheep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,847
crucial site, as a rough guide, yank dollars, says two sticks of 4gb and a 500gb ssd comes in around 120 bucks, so your budget would cover you to get it all done id say
snoopsheep is online now  
21-07-2020, 09:23   #7
K.O.Kiki
Registered User
 
K.O.Kiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 16,819
The CPU is what's killing it though (Intel Celeron N2830, 2core/2thread @ 2.16GHz).
You're removing a bottleneck but it's like putting lipstick on a pig.
K.O.Kiki is offline  
22-07-2020, 08:49   #8
ED E
Registered User
 
ED E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33,764
Ive put SSDs in similarly underpowered systems before. Made barely any difference.


Quote:
handy to do it for me (paid of course)
Lets say a €50 ssd and €30 in labor. Thats already spending twice what the laptop is worth. That chip sucked in 2014 when it was released, its weaker than a midrange smartphone today. Speak to your employer about providing the tools you need to do your job.
ED E is offline  
(2) thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet