Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
25-04-2010, 10:45   #1
runswithascript
Registered User
 
runswithascript's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,628
Unlocking Nexus One

I'm browsing eBay for a Nexus One and wondering if I can unlock one tied into a contract from overseas or do I need to make sure I buy a SIM free one?
runswithascript is offline  
Advertisement
25-04-2010, 12:47   #2
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,982
Moved from Nets & Comms
rmacm is offline  
25-04-2010, 12:59   #3
blaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 584
Nexus One is never locked, even if bought on a contract.
blaz is offline  
25-04-2010, 17:55   #4
runswithascript
Registered User
 
runswithascript's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,628
I'm curious as this seller lists the phone as "WORKS IN AUSTRALIA BUT NOT WITH MY CONTRACT".
runswithascript is offline  
25-04-2010, 18:22   #5
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17,683
thread moved to andriod sub-forum.
Random is offline  
Advertisement
25-04-2010, 18:34   #6
Brian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by LA3G View Post
I'm curious as this seller lists the phone as "WORKS IN AUSTRALIA BUT NOT WITH MY CONTRACT".
I think that's because the network he is on uses different bands to the cellular radio in the Nexus One.
Brian is offline  
25-04-2010, 18:41   #7
runswithascript
Registered User
 
runswithascript's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baza210 View Post
I think that's because the network he is on uses different bands to the cellular radio in the Nexus One.
Will all Nexus One phones work in Ireland/Europe or do I need to watch out for specific bands?
runswithascript is offline  
25-04-2010, 18:45   #8
blaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 584
Short answer: yes, every version (except the upcoming CDMA version for Verzion and Sprint) will work in Ireland.

Long version: All current Nexus One will work in 2G (GSM/EDGE) practically everywhere in the world, as they are quad-band. For 3G, there are two versions, one that supports 900/1700/2100 MHz, another that supports 850/1900/2100 MHz. Ireland uses 2100 MHz for 3G, so both work. AT&T in the US uses 850/1900 while T-Mobile in the US uses 1700, that's why there are two versions. The 850/1900 version is better because more countries outside of Europe use 850/1900 3G frequencies (for example parts of South America), while 1700 is only used by T-Mobile in US and Rogers in Canada.
blaz is offline  
25-04-2010, 18:56   #9
runswithascript
Registered User
 
runswithascript's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaz View Post
Long version: All current Nexus One will work in 2G (GSM/EDGE) practically everywhere in the world, as they are quad-band. For 3G, there are two versions, one that supports 900/1700/2100 MHz, another that supports 850/1900/2100 MHz. Ireland uses 2100 MHz for 3G, so both work. AT&T in the US uses 850/1900 while T-Mobile in the US uses 1700, that's why there are two versions. The 850/1900 version is better because more countries outside of Europe use 850/1900 3G frequencies (for example parts of South America), while 1700 is only used by T-Mobile in US and Rogers in Canada.
Thanks.
runswithascript is offline  
Advertisement
25-04-2010, 22:31   #10
runswithascript
Registered User
 
runswithascript's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaz View Post
Short answer: yes, every version (except the upcoming CDMA version for Verzion and Sprint) will work in Ireland.

Long version: All current Nexus One will work in 2G (GSM/EDGE) practically everywhere in the world, as they are quad-band. For 3G, there are two versions, one that supports 900/1700/2100 MHz, another that supports 850/1900/2100 MHz. Ireland uses 2100 MHz for 3G, so both work. AT&T in the US uses 850/1900 while T-Mobile in the US uses 1700, that's why there are two versions. The 850/1900 version is better because more countries outside of Europe use 850/1900 3G frequencies (for example parts of South America), while 1700 is only used by T-Mobile in US and Rogers in Canada.
And when somebody replies to me "GSM 900 and 1800 bands 3G networks" when asked whether 900/1700/2100 MHz or 850/1900/2100 MHz does this mean it's the former or is his answer totally irrelevant?

The item is listed:

Network Type: EDGE, GSM 1800, GSM 1900, GSM 850, GSM 900, HSDPA, HSUPA, UMTS

but I cannot discern from that which of the two 3G options you mentioned it is?
runswithascript is offline  
26-04-2010, 00:22   #11
Brian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,580
Both GSM versions of the Nexus One work in Ireland.
Brian is offline  
26-04-2010, 08:01   #12
blaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by LA3G View Post
And when somebody replies to me "GSM 900 and 1800 bands 3G networks" when asked whether 900/1700/2100 MHz or 850/1900/2100 MHz does this mean it's the former or is his answer totally irrelevant?
Then he is probably American and confused There is no such thing as "GSM 3G".

Quote:
Network Type: EDGE, GSM 1800, GSM 1900, GSM 850, GSM 900, HSDPA, HSUPA, UMTS

but I cannot discern from that which of the two 3G options you mentioned it is?
The above info doesn't tell you. It tells you that it is 2G quad-band (850/900/1800/1900), that it supports EDGE, that it supports 3G (UMTS) and that is has high-speed 3G download (HSDPA) and upload (HSUPA). It doesn't tell you what frequencies the 3G part uses, but as I said, all version of the Nexus One support 2100 MHz for 3G, which is what is used in Ireland.
blaz is offline  
26-04-2010, 09:25   #13
runswithascript
Registered User
 
runswithascript's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baza210 View Post
Both GSM versions of the Nexus One work in Ireland.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaz View Post
It doesn't tell you what frequencies the 3G part uses, but as I said, all version of the Nexus One support 2100 MHz for 3G, which is what is used in Ireland.
Yes, this I am aware of because I did read that when it was posted initially but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by blaz View Post
The 850/1900 version is better because more countries outside of Europe use 850/1900 3G frequencies (for example parts of South America), while 1700 is only used by T-Mobile in US and Rogers in Canada.
I also read the 850/1900/2100 MHz will work in more places and I want to make sure I get that version for travelling and resale value

I saw one go for €404 new today and I've only been monitoring the market a day.

Thanks for the extra info.
runswithascript is offline  
26-04-2010, 09:35   #14
runswithascript
Registered User
 
runswithascript's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,628
Listed on one of the sellers page already asked by another buyer:

Quote:
Q: Hi, 1. Is that T-Mobile or at&t version of the phone (meaning what 3G bands are supported)?
Quote:
A: Hi! Some answers to your questions. 1. The phone was a gift from Google so I don't know if it's a T-mobile or AT&T version.
Surely there must be some way to easily discern this?
runswithascript is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet