Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
30-03-2009, 20:11   #31
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ginja Ninja View Post
Thanks for the sticky-ness,expect a LOT of random questions[probably from me]
like: if a ball is kicked[I.e jones last weekend] and bounces over the bar is it counted as a score?obviously you would need the perfect bounce and the ball coming down from outer space for the exact momentum to clear the bar but IF
No, once the ball has touched the ground or a team-mate, the score will not be allowed.
mikedragon32 is offline  
Advertisement
31-03-2009, 11:07   #32
Tim Robbins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikedragon32 View Post
No, once the ball has touched the ground or a team-mate, the score will not be allowed.
That's correct. From law book.

9.A.2. KICK AT GOAL - SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES
(a) If after the ball is kicked, it touches the ground or any team mate
of the kicker, a goal cannot be scored.
(b) If the ball has crossed the cross bar a goal is scored, even if the
wind blows it back into the field of play.
(c) If an opponent commits an offence as the kick at goal is being
taken, but neverthless the kick is successful, advantage is played
and the score stands.
(d) Any player who touches the ball in an attempt to prevent a penalty
goal being scored is illegally touching the ball.
Tim Robbins is offline  
01-04-2009, 18:02   #33
Stealdo
Registered User
 
Stealdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Robbins View Post
(d) Any player who touches the ball in an attempt to prevent a penalty
goal being scored is illegally touching the ball.

That's an interesting one Tim - do you reckon that includes a player standing 10 metres back from a low kick who puts his hands up to block it? (a la Gaelic Football or Aussie Rules)?
Stealdo is offline  
01-04-2009, 19:19   #34
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,416
Yes. It also prohibits a "line out" style lift to catch a ball before it goes over the crossbar.
mikedragon32 is offline  
02-04-2009, 14:47   #35
Stealdo
Registered User
 
Stealdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikedragon32 View Post
Yes. It also prohibits a "line out" style lift to catch a ball before it goes over the crossbar.
yeah, knew that, but I always would have thought that if a guy is standing back the required 10m with his feet on the ground and a kick at goal is low enough for him to reach he'd be entitled to play it. Probably another ill considered consequence of change to prevent the case you mention.

I was watching the BBC GS special online yesterday and was surprised to hear Paddy Wallace say that having seen the replays he didn't think Barnes should have given a penalty against him at the end of the game against Wales. I thought it was a clear cut case. Ruck had formed, he played the ball with his hands. Anyone got any other opinions?

The way I see it AWJ is tackled in midfield, Wallace attempts to get to the ball, is on his feet, but by the time he get his hands on it there are two Welsh players on their feet, bound to him so a ruck has formed and he has to keep his hands away from it. I can't really see an argument against it. Anyone got any opinions on that?
Stealdo is offline  
Advertisement
02-04-2009, 22:51   #36
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,416
None from me. Clear cut penalty imo.
mikedragon32 is offline  
06-04-2009, 17:50   #37
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 90
Line out Question!

Have had alot of conflicting refs with this one

Jummy jumpers pretending to jump with a slight hop waiting 3 seconds then going up . Some refs allow it other dont.
robgloster is offline  
06-04-2009, 19:25   #38
Downtime
Registered User
 
Downtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,491
If it is forcing the opposition to jump/lift early then it is a management issue. it is illegal under law 19.9 (i).

Jumping or supporting before the ball is thrown. A player must not
jump for the ball or support any player before the ball has left the hands
of the player throwing it in. Penalty: Free Kick on the 15-metre line

Referees should try an mange it first by stopping the line out and addressing the issue. if it reoccurs then free kick.
Downtime is offline  
06-04-2009, 19:30   #39
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downtime View Post
If it is forcing the opposition to jump/lift early then it is a management issue. it is illegal under law 19.9 (i).

Thank you that was exactly the aim of our lineout to get them to jump early
robgloster is offline  
Advertisement
13-04-2009, 11:53   #40
pdelahunty
Registered User
 
pdelahunty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 64
I agree

It should probably be penalised as crossing but it just goes to show what a player he is that he would think to do something like that - quality
pdelahunty is offline  
14-04-2009, 00:05   #41
Gelio
Registered User
 
Gelio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Robbins View Post
And it must be moving. If you have one foot in touch and just pick up a static ball it doesn't count.
What if its rolling?
Gelio is offline  
14-04-2009, 00:23   #42
Podge_irl
Registered User
 
Podge_irl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajeffares View Post
What if its rolling?
That's fine. If you pick up a rolling ball with one foot over the dead ball line then it counts as the ball having gone dead.
Podge_irl is offline  
14-04-2009, 00:27   #43
Gelio
Registered User
 
Gelio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Podge_irl View Post
That's fine. If you pick up a rolling ball with one foot over the dead ball line then it counts as the ball having gone dead.

Thanks, Handy to know
Gelio is offline  
14-04-2009, 19:22   #44
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Podge_irl View Post
That's fine. If you pick up a rolling ball with one foot over the dead ball line then it counts as the ball having gone dead.
If this is about the Munster v Ospreys game, Williams actually grabbed the ball before he touched the line with his foot (on the line is over the line). Barnes called correctly. Not too long afterwards, Howlett did the exact same (touched the line after taking the ball) and Barnes (and asst ref) called incorrectly.
The Wallabies were robbed in the second Bledisloe in this respect when Ashley-Cooper set himself up to gather the ball after his foot was in place over the touch around 10m out from his own line. Instead of getting throw in the lineout, it was given to the All Blacks who won the lineout and then two rucks later went over for the try.
Serenity Now! is offline  
16-04-2009, 03:48   #45
daveharnett
Registered User
 
daveharnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serenity Now! View Post
If this is about the Munster v Ospreys game, Williams actually grabbed the ball before he touched the line with his foot (on the line is over the line). Barnes called correctly.
I'd make a tiny quibble with that.

1: Williams grabs the (just) rolling ball in the goal area.
2: Williams puts a foot on the dead ball line.
3: Williams touches the ball down.

Barnes awarded a drop out because williams touched the ball down. Technically, he should have awarded the drop out because williams carried it dead.

Even when he's right he's wrong
daveharnett is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet