Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What vitamins do yee take

• 26-05-2020 12:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭

Getting older now lads(mid 30s old), never took Vitamins apart from whats in food in the last 15 years I'd say.

Readin up on it theres a few we should be takin just for healthy living.

What vitamins if any are yee taking daily and are they beneficial?

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭crossmolinalad

Im 58 and just only take vitamins out of fruit and vegetables
    Rest is Bs except if the doctor says so and she says no you don't need it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭xabi

Waste of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Any of ye use Udos Oil in capsules or liquid? Buddy Of mine swears by them.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Snorlaxx wrote: »
    Getting older now lads(mid 30s old), never took Vitamins apart from whats in food in the last 15 years I'd say.

Magnesium and zinc on occasion, with vitamin D on the regular. Looking at my diet I'm pretty covered for the rest. D is an issue in our indoor lives and high latitudes and hard to get enough by diet alone.
    Im 58 and just only take vitamins out of fruit and vegetables
    Rest is Bs except if the doctor says so and she says no you don't need it
    Your average doctor/GP has remarkably little expertise in nutrition and vitamins etc and unless you're very depleted and obviously so their advice isn't always optimum. That's why dietitians exist(nutritionists are much less regulated and any eejit can set up as one).

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

Vitamin D, 10000 iu and 400iu of magnesium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

I take D.

But having just read this, I'm more confused than ever!

https://www.bbc.com/future/article/20181010-do-vitamin-d-supplements-work

• Registered Users Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Any of ye use Udos Oil in capsules or liquid? Buddy Of mine swears by them.

To do what exactly?

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

Cod liver oil. It's utterly fantastic, and highly recommended.

Vitamin D, and C.. but then, I live in a high pollution zone, so actual sunlight isn't particularly a good source. And while fruit is an important source, the quality of fruit in many countries is debatable due to the chemicals used.

Supplements can be very useful if you do some research as to what your body is lacking in.

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭Snorlaxx

The main ones people seem to be taking are:
    • B12 - I Might get enough from Meat and Dairy
    • Folic Acid - I Eat enough Bread, pasta and cereal
    • Omega-3 - I dont eat enough fish, once every 3 weeks mayve
    • Omega-6 - Dont get enough O6 Fats
    • Selenium - I Might get enough from Meat and Dairy
    • Vitamin B - I Might get enough from Meat and Dairy
    • Vitamin C – Don't eat enough of Rich Vitamin C foods
    • Vitamin D - Possibly get enough from food
    • Vitamin E - Don't eat enough of Rich Vitamin E foods
    • Zinc - Possibly get enough from food

• Registered Users Posts: 32,803 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Snorlaxx wrote: »

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    I wish I was as old as you.

As for the vitamin/supplement thing, I would think in general that a lot of it is money wasted.

IF you eat healthily and a balanced diet you probably don't need much supplementing it. But I guess for us deprived of sun perhaps some Vit D is doing no harm.

I have tried many over the years and to be honest I don't know if they worked or not. It really is impossible to tell. Take something like a multi-vit from Seven Seas for example. Do you genuinely think you will feel better for taking it?

I have been working shift for 25 years and as such would always have sleep and tiredness issues. I think good sleep is far more important than taking a pile of vitamins, it has a massive effect on my mood for one, if you are tired and exhausted, its hard not to be cranky! (thats what I tell the OH anyway).

But over the years I have tried most things, and probably Vit D and some iron might be only ones I'd stick to.

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭Snorlaxx

NIMAN wrote: »
    I have tried many over the years and to be honest I don't know if they worked or not. It really is impossible to tell. Take something like a multi-vit from Seven Seas for example. Do you genuinely think you will feel better for taking it?

And thats the milliondollar question.
    Do I need it to feel more better than I am, or do I just think I need it cos some random articles are telling me I should be taking it.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,803 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Its a billion pound industry, so its all in the marketing I guess.

Bottom line is, its very hard to say you feel better when taking them. Maybe you're eating better, getting more exercise, sleeping better etc and its not the vitamins at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

I have haemochromatosis (to much Iron) which is toxic for your liver, so I have to be careful to avoid supplements with Iron and to much VitC it helps with the adsorption of Iron. It also causes chronic fatigue and my consultant said to try cod liver oil. I've had my Vid D checked and it's on the low side of normal but was low at on point I took a prescribed Vit D.

Because of Covid I've never taken so many vitamins in my life Lidl do a box of 30 for men and women, no Iron so it suits me and is cheap as chips that's what I'm taking.

The best think you can do for your self is get your blood done once a year, 30 quid to see the nurse get a fasting iron panel test as part of it.

Haemochromatosis is genetic and it's very common in Ireland but often goes undiagnosed till it's to late thankfully mine was caught in time.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Ive yet to take a Vitamin where I have noticed a difference, that being said I do take a few, Vit D for the sun this year has been a priority but generally Magnesium , some fish oils and some heart health ones K3 and COQ10 , then MSM and Selenium. Most are cheap except the COQ10.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭dashoonage

B12 and whiskey

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Wibbs wrote: »
    Your average doctor/GP has remarkably little expertise in nutrition and vitamins etc and unless you're very depleted and obviously so their advice isn't always optimum. That's why dietitians exist(nutritionists are much less regulated and any eejit can set up as one).

Yeah, absolutely this. It's just not something that's really thought in medical school. Of course they'll know about acute illnesses caused by severe vitamin deficiencies (stuff like scurvy etc.) and stuff about what vitamins are important for sufferers of chronic conditions.

For your average person who's relatively healthy, it just isn't something that regular doctors (outside of specialist dietitians) are going to have studied about as part of their med degree or on their training scheme.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭zweton

Cod liver oil. It's utterly fantastic, and highly recommended.

Vitamin D, and C.. but then, I live in a high pollution zone, so actual sunlight isn't particularly a good source. And while fruit is an important source, the quality of fruit in many countries is debatable due to the chemicals used.

Supplements can be very useful if you do some research as to what your body is lacking in.

best way to find out what your body is lacking? a regular bloods wont go into the detail you need right?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 36,787 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I like the taste of Seven Seas but other than the odd bottle of that I wouldn't bother. I think it's a highly dubious industry.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Fluffy101

The majority of otc vitamins aren't worth 2 cents. Majority are poor grade with poor bioavailability. Your 10e pack of 500iu d3 for example... lucky if you absorb 10iu.

I had to take a number of vits a few years back due to a medical condition. The specialist and consultants laughed when i mentioned store vitimans. Had to get them all on prescription and not cheap either!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

I take multiplus Sona.

Big yokes but no taste.

I see it as it props up the bits you missed in diet. If it does nothing your not losing

• Registered Users Posts: 9,475 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

D in the winter.

I'm lucky enough to have the time, money and inclination to have a varied diet of fish, meat, fruit & veg that sustains me & family well enough. However, I do appreciate that not everyone has good access to proper nutrition and not everyone is time rich and some people work a lot of hours in awkward food situations (motorbike courier for instance) so I'm not going to be a food wanker.

Vitamins are necessary in some cases. A second class substitute, but a necessary one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭zweton

Anyone used Udos choice ? Comes in oil or capsule.

Might give it a go and see.

Very rarely take any. And even then I tend to only use it to make water more interesting. Like one of those soluble tablets that you are meant to use one a day? I might put a quarter of one into water once a week. Just because the flavour and the fizz are nice.

I changed my diet over a decade ago and put one or two very simple guiding rules on how and what I eat. Do not think I have had so much as a sniffle since. Though whether that is a good thing or not I have been paranoid recently since Covid19.

I am not sure it means I have a really strong immune system that fights off things so well that I never got sick once - or have I just been lucky and I have not had an immune system that has actually been tested much - and if I do catch something like C19 is it going to absolutely ravage my weak ass system.

Given how often I am around people - kids - dead things - gardens - and so on I am hoping it is the former.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 Thaaas Rite

Iodine supplement, zinc, magnesium and D.