Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
02-06-2020, 11:08   #1
Casati
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,629
New 086 or 087 number?

How do I get a new 086 number - do Three issue them? Also are 087 still Vodafone only? Need to get new prepay number as cheap/ easy as possible and prefer 087 or 086 prefix
Casati is offline  
Advertisement
02-06-2020, 11:10   #2
pyramuid man
Registered User
 
pyramuid man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,167
Vodafone is 087 so if you get a new number with them, it will be an 087 number. Dont think you can get an 086 number anymore.
pyramuid man is offline  
02-06-2020, 11:24   #3
Casati
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,629
Thanks a lot, Vodafone it is so
Casati is offline  
02-06-2020, 11:31   #4
sugarman
Registered User
 
sugarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casati View Post
Thanks a lot, Vodafone it is so
Why do you care so much about the prefix? Vodafone are the most expensive of the lot if youre looking for something cheap.
sugarman is offline  
02-06-2020, 11:34   #5
Atlantic Dawn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 54,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugarman View Post
Why do you care so much about the prefix? Vodafone are the most expensive of the lot if youre looking for something cheap.
Probably wants phone number to look more professional. The 089 and 083 have a bang of burner phone attached to them.
Atlantic Dawn is offline  
(3) thanks from:
Advertisement
02-06-2020, 11:35   #6
Mr.S
Moderator
 
Mr.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17,611
New Three Business accounts are usually 086.

Vodafone issue 087 numbers.
Mr.S is offline  
Thanks from:
02-06-2020, 11:45   #7
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 449
If you ring your local shop three possibly might give you one. Worth a try.
snoopboggybog is offline  
02-06-2020, 12:11   #8
sugarman
Registered User
 
sugarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantic Dawn View Post
Probably wants phone number to look more professional. The 089 and 083 have a bang of burner phone attached to them.
sugarman is offline  
02-06-2020, 12:28   #9
Casati
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantic Dawn View Post
Probably wants phone number to look more professional. The 089 and 083 have a bang of burner phone attached to them.
That’s it exactly, sorry probably not a good reason- I’ll likely port it into a cheaper contract either way
Casati is offline  
Advertisement
02-06-2020, 12:31   #10
Mr.S
Moderator
 
Mr.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugarman View Post
It's a fair point, number snobbery does exist. If you are getting something printed or displayed online etc, I'd go with one of the legacy numbers.
Mr.S is offline  
02-06-2020, 12:32   #11
ReginaldSmythV
Registered User
 
ReginaldSmythV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugarman View Post
Why do you care so much about the prefix? Vodafone are the most expensive of the lot if youre looking for something cheap.
They’re the only one with coverage that isn’t dirt, though that isn’t the reason here.
ReginaldSmythV is online now  
02-06-2020, 12:50   #12
Casati
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReginaldSmythV View Post
They’re the only one with coverage that isn’t dirt, though that isn’t the reason here.
I’ve been with them for years and the service is good but I’ve heard that Three and the likes of Virgin who use Three are good too

Re the prefix I think it’s fair to say that almost all of the work contacts I have are 086/087 so suppose I don’t want my number to stand out - I will be using it for work
Casati is offline  
02-06-2020, 12:52   #13
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casati View Post
I’ve been with them for years and the service is good but I’ve heard that Three and the likes of Virgin who use Three are good too

Re the prefix I think it’s fair to say that almost all of the work contacts I have are 086/087 so suppose I don’t want my number to stand out - I will be using it for work
Just get a pay as you go sim and then transfer the number to what network suits whether its pay as you go or contract.

Again Three may provide you with an 086 sim if you ask them.
snoopboggybog is offline  
02-06-2020, 21:28   #14
leche solara
Registered User
 
leche solara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,998
Postmobile will also issue an 087 prefix and use the Vodafone network
leche solara is offline  
04-06-2020, 23:39   #15
Ah-Watch
Registered User
 
Ah-Watch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,486
As others have said 087 is Vodafone or Postphone. 086 is only issued to Business customers on Three and you won't get one on a prepaid new connection with Three. +1 on the 087 or 086 prefix. They look more professional than 083 or 089 and even 085. They were always the burner "chips"
Ah-Watch is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet