Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Choke Hazard -

• 05-07-2008 10:51am
    Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭

4047534328a6434007985l.gif
    CHOKE HAZARD

Formed in the depths of November 2007, Choke Hazard play an eclectic mix of fist-pumping rock, heavy grunge and smooth funk. Made up of CBC Monkstown lads Barry McNamara on lead and rhythm guitar, Dónal Kennedy on bass and Dónal "Deej" Woods on drums, the band have been furiously writing and rehearsing great rock songs since their inception, while playing numerous live shows, including in the prestigious Pavilion Theater in Dun Laoghaire. Visit their Bebo page to become a fan, and listen to their recordings (2 so far, audio quality low but above average for home recording) or just leave a comment. They're also on MySpace so you really have no excuse! Also to any gig organizer s: CH are a great live band with huge on stage charisma, and unlike most rock bands make performances fun and lively instead of dark and depressing. And finally they are in NO WAY an emo band. Keep on Chokin' \m/

Name: CHOKE HAZARD
    HOMETOWN: DUN LAOGHAIRE
    STYLE: HARD ROCK/GRUNGE/FUNK
    INFLUENCES: EVERYTHING FROM METALLICA AND DREAM THEATER, TO NIRVANA AND THE FOO FIGHTERS, TO TENACIOUS D AND MUSICALS
    DEMO AND GIGS: BOTH, SOON!
    LINKS!:BEBO BAND PAGE
    MYSPACE MUSIC PAGE

368952786a6432652396l.jpg

Thanks for reading folks :D

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Joe_Dull

There's a BRAND NEW song on the Choke Hazard bebo! It's called Falling, and it's a soft acoustic number, with backing on violin. It also features an incredible vocal performance by Barry so it's well worth a look!

Listen here: http://chokehazard.bebo.com/
    Or here: http://www.myspace.com/chokehazardband/

Choke Hazard are playing Oxjam in the Ambassador Theatre on October 18th along with other local bands including the incredible San Salvador, The Dynamicks, mind-blowing Little Green Cars, Silkeborg, Razor Stilletos, Dot.Dot.Dot, Sweet Descent, United Cru, Funky Thursday and perhaps more.

It promises to be a stellar night of energy and great music - so basically ditch any other overpriced overhyped concerts and have a night out to remember with a few mates without the huge price tag

Price etc. soon and don't forget proceeds go to Oxfam

CHOKE HAZARD + CO HEADLINERS, AMBASSADOR THEATRE, 18TH OCTOBER

Just a quick update, tickets will be €15 on sale from September 1st - purchasing methods will be in another post as soon as we find out

Choke Hazard have two brand new songs on their Bebo and Myspace
    -Whispers in the Wind, a rocky twin acoustic number
    -Midnight, funk with a sprinkling of rock
    Have a listen and tell us what you think, cheers

(From our Bebo)

GETTING TICKETS FOR OXJAM

OK folks this is it - your chance to help us get as many CH fans as possible in the Ambassador on the 18th of October!
    Buying tickets couldn't be easier...

Go to this address: (http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/18004114A9AD3A5B?artistid=959178&majorcatid=10001&minorcatid=1)

OR

Search "Oxjam" on http://www.ticketmaster.ie/

Easy as that!

DETAILS:

They're on sale from Ticketmaster so you know there's nothing dodgy going on ;)

They're €15 plus booking fee

Show starts at half 2

There's a choice of sitting or standing

We're gonna get 8 or 9 songs

It's gonna be a fantastic show so get your tickets NOW

I mean now, by the way - there are loads of more popular bands playing but we really want to see people singing along in the crowd :)

xxx Choke Hazard xxx

VENUE:
    Oil Can Harry's
    32 Lower Mount Street
    (Really easy to get to from Pearse Dart Station, via Merrion Square North or Grand Canal Station)

DETAILS:
    Over 20 Bands - 2 Stages
    10.30 am - late

CHOKE HAZARD + LITTLE GREEN CARS + BISCUIT OR CAKE + THE EXCEPTION + Aurora Project + Anguished + The Workz + Gypsies on the Autobahn + MANY more

We're playing at 2pm for half an hour if you want to come along then, or make a day of it popping in and out.

Tickets are €12 directly from the band, PM me and we'll make sure you get one (or leave a comment, Bebo or Myspace)

AS IF all that wasn't enough...the price includes CRISPS & DRINKS

Yes you read that right,
    CRISPS & DRINKS

(from our Bebo)

Go to a newsagent's right now and buy Hotpress. Turn to page 50. It's us! :O :O
    Despite no mention of us in the article we do have the BIGGEST picture of all on the Oxjam page! Woo!

Speaking of OXJAM...

- WE ARE PLAYING AT 6:45 (that's a quarter to seven to you)
    - We are playing Suicide Smile, My Itchy Itchy Eye, Midnight and a surprise

Now, about that new recording. It's for the 2fm School of Rock competition where we could win €10000 (drool) and has a long history we won't get into. I may sound a bit tired singing, and this is because of the endless attempts we made at recording it.
    All's well that ends well though and hopefully the judges will like it

Finally we had an amazing time at Oil Can Harry's on Saturday and would like to thank everyone who came to support us and the sound guy for not kicking us out after 6 songs

Oh yeah, GO TO OXJAM!

(New recording also on our MySpace)

Oxjam was a huge success, with a lot being raised for Oxfam. Videos of our performance can be found on YouTube

DATE: 5 November 2008 at 4:00 PM
    VENUE: Concert Hall, Loreto Dalkey
    TIME: 4 - 7pm
    PRICE: €8

DETAILS: This is another Oxjam gig in aid of Oxfam, we're collecting names (around 30, leave a reply or PM) of people who can go, and you just pay on the night. The lineup is really great (Charlie's Lego,San Salvador, Little Green Cars and the stunning Fraction Kids), plus it's for a good cause.

BANDS: CHOKE HAZARD, CHARLIE'S LEGO, SAN SALVADOR!!, FRACTION KIDS, LITTLE GREEN CARS, The Deveres, Golden Delicious, Apache Casino, Jack of Speed

Just a few updates.
    We're playing Oil Can Harry's once again this weekend:
    Oil Can Harry's
    Lower Mount St
    Dublin 2
    (near Pearse St or Grand Canal)

Details
    **We're on at 3.20** but be there early to catch Charlie's Lego, Out of Nowhere and Apache Casino - other bands include Biscuit or Cake.

We'll be playing 2 new songs for the first time and of course there'll be a FREE DRINK and CRISPS - what more could you want?

Tickets are €12 from us, or you can pay at the door, just make sure you say you're there to see us.

We're also lined up to play the Annual Superheroes' Ball in January and The Button Factory or Vicar Street in February - should be recording soon too.

It's been a while, but we have a busy weekend ahead of us.

BLASTBEAT HEAT

Venue: Old Wesley Rugby Club (Wezz)
    Date: This Friday January 23rd
    Time: 6.30 pm
    Price: €10
    Bands: Choke Hazard, The Relaters, Little Green Cars + more

We're playing to win the heat, so we hope to see you there for support.

THE ANNUAL SUPERHEROES' BALL

Venue: The Academy
    Date: This Saturday January 24th
    Time: 7pm
    Price: €15 on Ticketmaster or at the door
    Bands: Choke Hazard, JADED SUN, Travega, Dynamicks, Little Green Cars + more

We've organised this gig ourselves, in aid of Cancer Research, and we really want people to turn out and make some money for charity. More info on the Bebo page

Thanks, see you at one or both! :D

I'd just like to say a huge thank you to everyone who came to the Annual Superheroes' Ball - we completely sold out and made €8000 for Cancer Research :D

VENUE: Thomas House, Thomas Street (opposite Vicar St), Dublin 8
    DATE: This Saturday 7th of February
    TIME: After 12 noon
    PRICE: €10 from me, €12 at the door
    BANDS: CHOKE HAZARD, Faces for Radio, New Ideas and many more

We're getting a half-hour set so hopefully you can make it down for a decent dose of chokage.

See you there! :D

This is the Altitude Gig, with all profits going to the poor of Peru

VENUE: The Village, 26 Wexford St, Dublin 2
    DATE: Sunday 8th of March
    TIME: Doors 12.45, we're on at 1.30
    PRICE: €8 from us or at the door
    BANDS: CHOKE HAZARD, Silkeborg, Little Green Cars, The Dynamicks, Nightbox, Bowlegged + more

We're getting a meaty 25-minute set to rock you ****less - hope to see you there! :D

Dock

VENUE: Eamon Doran's, Crown Alley, Temple Bar
    DATE: Sunday 1st of March
    TIME: We're playing at 1pm
    PRICE: €10

Hope you can make it!
    Dock

VENUE: The Village, Wexford Street (beside Whelans)
    DATE: Sunday 8th of March
    TIME: Doors 12.45, we're on at 1.30
    PRICE: €8
    BANDS: Faces for Radio, Choke Hazard, The Details, Harrows, Nightbox, THE DYNAMICS, SILKEBORG + LITTLE GREEN CARS
    DETAILS: All proceeds are going towards St. Killians's Project Peru, helping the poor out there.

Hope you can make it, especially for such a great case :)

Dock

VENUE: St. Andrew's College, Blackrock
    DATE: Wednesday 1st of April
    TIME: 6pm
    PRICE: €4 for students
    CAUSE: All proceeds are going towards the Andrew's Uganda Fund

Also we've a bit of other news - heading into Dun Laoghaire CFE to record the same morning, so hopefully we'll have tons of new tracks for you before the week's out :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Pawsome

THESE GUYS ****ING ROCK! :D

Keep it up boys,

Paul,
    Prowler

Cheers Paul! Prowler are guitar gods among men - bow down mere mortals :eek:

Gig time, and we'd love EVERYONE to make it to this one

RUMBLE IN THE LOFT
    VENUE: The Purty Loft, Dun Laoghaire (above the Purty Kitchen)
    DATE: This Saturday 11th of April
    TIME: 3pm start
    BANDS: CHOKE HAZARD, The Little Green Cars, Silkeborg & Bowlegged

Hope to see you there :)

Dock

VENUE: Burn Beach Club, Blake's Corner, Stillorgan
    DOORS: 3.45pm - DOORS CLOSE @ 5.30pm
    BANDS: 10 bands including CHOKE HAZARD are competing to win the BATTLE OF THE BANDS until 9, when BLUE SYNDROME will headline

We'd really love to have decent support and hopefully win the BOTB so if you're around please come along! :D

Dock

Somehow we managed to beat incredible competition and win the first Battle of the Bands to be hosted in Burn Beach Club! If the prizes turn out to be real we've won

- Slots on 'Open Mic' on FM104, UCD's Belfield FM and Balcony TV
    - Management for a year
    - Support slots for big bands including the Coronas and the Blizzards
    - A promo package

Sweet! :D

Thanks a million to the organisers, the judges and everyone who came - we really owe you

Dock

If you're around UCD tomorrow (Thursday 30th) tune in to 97.3 FM - we're getting an interview and playing four rarely-heard acoustic numbers on Belfield FM

See you in radio land :)

Dock

We're very sorry to announce that Barry has quit the band, for various reasons. Because there were only 3 of us to begin with, me and Deej can see no way of continuing with Choke Hazard. We're weighing up our options about replacing him or maybe forming an entirely new group but safe to say this will take a lot of time and thought.

The last 20 months have been an incredible experience - we've built an amazing and enthusiastic fan base from scratch, and we want to thank every one of you. To all the bands who gave us a leg up (Little Green Cars, San Salvador, The Dynamicks - to name but a few), to the gig organisers and managers, everyone who was there to support and comment and sing along, our school, Deej's parents for putting up with the noise, the students in Dun Laoghaire college...there are far too many to list but thanks so much everyone.

Hopefully I'll have new recordings up in a few days - we're going to miss doing this like hell. I'm sure one final concert wouldn't be out of the question. In the meantime, watch this space and have a deadly summer.

Sorry,

Dock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Pawsome

Here lads don't give up on it, you gotta keep bringin the thunder!
    Find somebody newer and better to replace him and keep on rockin, yisser too good to let all that talent go to waste!

Our drummer left us too, so we're hunting down a new drummer to replace him, we're not just givin up like that, we're gonna keep on going strong, you guys gotta do the same and we'll go giggin at some stage and rock the house!

Paul,
    Prowler

Thanks a million man! That's the plan anyway, we're going to go recruiting over the summer, and yeah we'll deffo see you at a gig soon :) Good luck finding a drummer, look forward to rockin the sh*t with yous

Dock

Well, it's been a while folks but we've been traveling the length and breadth of South Dublin in search of someone to complete the triangle of rock that is Choke Hazard. I can now announce that said triangle has become a rockin' square because we not only came across a seriously kick ass guitarist in the form of Frank "the Tank" Chambers (that better catch on), but also the silky smooth keyboard wizardry and voice of Gaelen Britton. That's right, an actual girl. I think it's safe to say the album deal's in the bag now.

Anyway, we'll be doing Mighty Duck huddles and stuff over the summer getting ready to blow your brains out in September - keep an eye out for us and for God's sake wear a hat or you'll get sun stroke.

Dock