Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSNI Recruitment - Stage 4 - The Medical

• 14-06-2008 2:02pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,631 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Post your experiences, questions or concerns for the Medical Examination in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭alanbelfast

just wanted to be the first ........apart from psni to leave a post hehe.

enjoy weekend peeps

Alan:)

Hi

It's actually quite sad that we are now all split up. I think we all bonded very well and now I miss you peeps. I think part of the fun was new comers with blind questions and great questions, Conflicting replies and Dogtanyon replies ! AND last but not least the everyday general good banter

We should all have a big MEET lol. All get together in a bar in town and have some crack. Best not call the night ' the psni chat forum meet' , well for obvious reasons !!

Alan

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,631 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Why not start a general chat thread then? That way, you can still talk to the people you know, and you can keep this thread clear for its intended use! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭given1

must agree with ya Alanbelfast it is quite sad to see the forum all split up, but im sure the craic will continue!:D

finally got a date for my medical the wednesday the 25th of june so have my fingers crossed, hpefully we get called for the september intake:) you all set and prepared, training payed of m8t?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 721 ✭✭✭goodcopbadcop

Frequently asked questions

Taken from OHW and summarised to answer some questions people always asked on the old thread

1.What information do I need to supply for the medical assessment?

You must complete your medical history questionaire, both carefully and honestly (this is sent out along with your medical date)

It has prompt or feeder questions which help you to give the detail needed in your answers.

Your GP who has access to your medical records needs to verify your answers and provide further information if required.

Additional information may include;
    1. Additional letters from your GP about your condition
    2. Letters or reports from medical specialists you might have attended
    3. Letters or reports from other practitioners such as physiotherapists, chiropractors, osteopaths, and community psychiatric nurses can all be of relevance to your assessment.

2. What Happens if I arrive at my medical appointment with an incomplete medical history questionnaire?

It is your responsibilty to ensure your MHQ is completed. This must be undertaken before you arrive at your assessment and have been signed and verified by your GP.

IF IT IS DEEMED INCOMPLETE YOU WILL FORFEIT YOUR APPOINTMENT AND INCLUSION IN THE CURRENT RECRUITMENT CAMPAIGN

3.What Will the medical consist of?

A hearing test, eye sight test, BMI measurement,Lung capacity,blood pressure measurement, heart rate, and some movements to test flexibilty of all the joints including the knee and balance. Hands will also we looked at for skin problems.

The assessor will also have a conversation with you about additional information you provided and you will be expected to talk about the condition to him/her.

4. How do I know what additional information to provide?

If you have a history of a medical condition you should expand on your answer in the MHQ, if you have had to have contact with your GP or other specialists, this is when additional medical information is very important.
    Discuss it when your GP and to ensure you have all the necessary letters or reports.

5. How long will my assessment take?

Approximately one hour. If you are late you will not be assessed.

6. Will I be told the result on the day?

No. The medical adviser undertaking your assessment are all fully qualified professionals, however they are not in a position to tell you your outcome.

Occupational health and welfare will write to you directly with the result.

note; A significant number of people need repeat urine or blood pressure measurements taken by their GP. If this happens you will be provided a letter explaining this to your GP. You should then have these repeated and sent back to OHW by you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭MrsGeneHunt

Best of luck for the medical. Let us know how you get on, we'll all be rooting for you.

exactly what MrsGenehunt said, wish ya the best of luck, all the hard work will pay of, be rooting for ya.

Well everyone

Did the medical this morning. Turned up 45 mins early! I am always early to everything as I think being late sets bad example and is a lil bit rude too.
    Anyway, Handed over med questionnaire and went threw things with the doc. Did the tests etc and doc said well no problems at all you fit for duty.............O my god the relief was immense. Went and treated myself to a nice shopping spree afterwards lol. Well it was all stuff I would need for G'ville ie suits shirts ties shoes etc etc, all the stuff that psni advised us on 'starting in garnerville'.

Guys/gals I am so so happy and wanna thank you all for the support and well wishing, It was mush appreciated and def does touch the heart.

Roll on the phone calls lol

Alan

Well everyone

Did the medical this morning. Turned up 45 mins early! I am always early to everything as I think being late sets bad example and is a lil bit rude too.
    Anyway, Handed over med questionnaire and went threw things with the doc. Did the tests etc and doc said well no problems at all you fit for duty.............O my god the relief was immense. Went and treated myself to a nice shopping spree afterwards lol. Well it was all stuff I would need for G'ville ie suits shirts ties shoes etc etc, all the stuff that psni advised us on 'starting in garnerville'.

Guys/gals I am so so happy and wanna thank you all for the support and well wishing, It was mush appreciated and def does touch the heart.

Roll on the phone calls lol

Alan[/quote

glad to hear m8t!! lol im sure it was one long sigh of relief:D did the nurse basicaly say that you had passed? i thought they might have sent the result out later by post! aye turning up early definatley gives the right impression!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭manaka

Well done in the ol medical Alanbelfast. Nice one. Im sure you were grinning :D when you got the word that you are fit for duty, duty, duty! We'll be 'seeing' less of ya now likely? Just saw today that the thread is split up! Nooooo!! Chin up peeps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 shivk

Are the PSNI as strict on eyesight as An Garda Siochana? Have been deferred for six months due to a lazy eye. Have perfect everyday vision though???? Any help would be appreciated.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,631 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

As per my PM to you, I don't know how strict An Garda Siochana are on eyesight but here is what the current standard is for Vision:

Binocular vision 6/6 aided or unaided (if visual aids are used must have 6/12 or better in best eye)

Unaided acuity 6/36 binocularly

Near vision N6 aided or unaided

Normal visual fields

Severe colour deficiency not acceptable

If your lazy eye prevents you from having a "normal visual field" in that eye, then I would imagine you would not pass the requirement.

On a side note, you don't have to send me a PM at the very same time as posting this with exactly the same question. Either one is fine, but no need for both.
    shivk wrote: »
    Are the PSNI as strict on eyesight as An Garda Siochana? Have been deferred for six months due to a lazy eye. Have perfect everyday vision though???? Any help would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 shivk

Sorry about that - already had it posted, then realised that maybe not everyone on the page would know the answer, so thought I'd PM you personally just to make sure. Thanks for your help. Again, apologies for the double mail.

Hi Given

Any word on getting a private consultant booked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭redsurfer

Hi all

to any med is is fun. i had a mess with the nurise;) and the doc was grand:), the only way it can go bad or be stressful is if you make it.

Hi Given

Any word on getting a private consultant booked?

sorry im only geting to sign on now, my pc crashed do wasnt able to post until i got it sorted!! havent yet alan, im not sure if i should go to thje ulster independant clinic or a independant who specialises in knees!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 shaz200828

Hi ppl,

I just joined today after finding forum by chance, i sent my vetting forms back last week and was wondering how long do you roughly wait on your medical date?

By the way this forum is great x

Depends on merit placing etc but last time round most people got it about 2 months after vetting. check the consensia website it shows the time scale for this campaign and its fairly accurate.

Hi Given

I am not sure if going private would mess up the NHS thing.
    All I know is that I would be up to do it private no matter what. I honestly don't think you can defer the medical review. I think they give you a certain amount of time to submit the further information requested, I think Psni might clarify this better mate.

Good luck with whatever you decide - Let me know how you get on mate.

Alan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭JVB

redsurfer wrote: »
    Hi all

to any med is is fun. i had a mess with the nurise;) and the doc was grand:), the only way it can go bad or be stressful is if you make it.

Mate did you have an afternoon in the boozer after your medical? That is one random message :D

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭Wanalaugh

LOL JVB, i thought that it was only me that thought that.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭owen1976

Maybe this has been answered in other threads, but are the medicals currently after vetting has been completed or while it is on going? I completed the process five years ago and at that time i had my medical while i was still waiting for my vetting to come back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭carlty888

owen1976 wrote: »
    Maybe this has been answered in other threads, but are the medicals currently after vetting has been completed or while it is on going? I completed the process five years ago and at that time i had my medical while i was still waiting for my vetting to come back.

I had my medical date in C13 about 2-3 weeks after I sent my vetting forms off. There's no way my vetting had cleared by that point. That's not to say that things will be the same in C14. The vetting forms have been sent out a lot earlier this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭JVB

owen1976 wrote: »

Hi Owen. The medicals are conducted for successful candidates following the AC and subsequent placement in merit order. Your vetting can take up to one year depending on individual circumstances so your are progressed through medical as a matter of course.
    Good luck :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭inspector71

does one have have to strip off in the medical?

yes you do, down to your boxer shorts, even the socks come off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭inspector71

yes you do, down to your boxer shorts, even the socks come off

cheers!

Down to the boxers isn't quite so weird I suppose!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭MrsGeneHunt

Why do you have to strip down? :eek:

As far as i can remember its just to take your blood pressure and to listen to your heart beat. Its only for the last 5 minutes of the medical you have to take your clothes off, you are fully clothed the rest of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Griffer2

So no skidmarks then? may be a bit tricky given then nerves :-)