Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Share your photos or videos!

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Poster King

This is Val d'Isere a few years ago up on the Pissaillas Glacier, makes me laugh everytime I watch it. It's a mate of mine landing on his snot attempting some air.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EtmJCZavo8Q

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭paulharte

pic i put together from last years champs

n656130927_2058024_8840.jpg

I'll try and put up a few pics from my exploratory mission to l2a for the champs in october, first runs of the season

• Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Static M.e.

@paulharte

Slightly off topic.. but how do you do that with a camera?!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I've done that with photoshop.
    Take a multishot (tech terms are not my thing) and then layer them over each other, need a tri-pod to keep it still enough, so it is the same picture, just with the boarder in a different position.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,043 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I've got myself one of these, which the plan is to then be able to create a tripod type thing by wrapping it around my skis and then try for some fancy shots like that with my DSLR. I just have yet to lug all my kit up a mountian on a fine enough day and find a decent spot to do such things yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

I use my phone.............

Maybe I should try harder.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Static M.e.

Same as I'm getting a Olympus mju 1030SW from Santa. The nice lads in the photography forum helped me pick one

Actually there was no tripod involved, just my brother and his nikon digital SLR, and a very steady hand!!

Once you have the shots you can stitch the shots together using layer masks in photoshop, there are loads of tutorials online about this, just google it.

The hard part is finding a camera that will shoot burst shots fast enough, most point and click cameras are way too slow

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

Went to Bansko in Bulgaria back in March. Good times:)
    l_aa5d4dade5c2816c8c12c0a5042a5fee.jpg

Me after falling
    l_871cd5cf6f23629d2dd5efa5dc36525c.jpg

And havin' some fun...
    l_a423f45c319f12b575492c893abc5f42.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭paddyb

just back from the Cairngorms in Scotland

DSCF2895.JPG

DSCF2888.JPG

DSCF2886.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

paddyb wrote: »
    just back from the Cairngorms in Scotland

DSCF2895.JPG

DSCF2888.JPG

DSCF2886.JPG

Its looks like those slopes would tear your ski/board to bits.

the rocky bits are not on the slopes. slopes were not bad. the previous day there was a fresh snow but it was a white out so i have no pics

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭La La

the first two are from January 2007. i went up to Beijing for about 5 days (i was living in Hong Kong at the time) for a Burton jam. got to ride with Wang Lei, Burton-sponsored Pro. awesome week. Man-made snow in Nanshan was pretty sweet, as was the park.

2121908822_3f5a025b7a.jpg?v=0

2121133021_c19026a1d8.jpg?v=0

lift and matterhorn porn from Zermatt, Dec '06 (actually about 2 weeks before Beijing!)

2122515562_a3f48de7c2.jpg?v=0

2120694140_4ba8d8a73e.jpg?v=0

and here's me building a kicker at a public park in toronto about 2 weeks ago. (we had been at mt st louis moonstone the week before, were due to go to horseshoe that day, but were denied entry on bus cos boards weren;t in bags. :( we made our own fun though :)

kicker2.jpg

kicker3.jpg

boards of canada (;) the burton troop is my baby. arent the travis rice lib techs only goy-jiss?)

boardsofcanada.jpg

parry sound

DSC_0174.jpg

DSC_0191.jpg

DSC_0268.jpg

sorry for the inundation. i've none from my seasons in NZ sadly but am loving browsing through all the stuff that's been posted here so far. keep it up :)

Just realised I never stuck up pics of my time in NZ (thanks for the unintentional reminder La La!)
    n746660721_4042599_2292.jpg
    The life of a liftie! That's my friend who's job I took over when he left. Taxing stuff! :D

n746660721_4042602_3332.jpg
    Scary day coming home. That was off the mountain! Four wheels with chains and still sliding all over the gaff!

n746660721_3987215_6644.jpg
    Bluebird at the Remarks! No pics from The Stash! I will next time! Me jumping the roof or something! :D

n746660721_4180941_8214.jpg
    Finally after days of no snow it started! I was happy, as you can see!

n746660721_4042603_3686.jpg
    Not a bad view from the office eh?! :D It was heading towards the end of the season at this stage and sad to see that snow line creeping up closer to us every day!

Don1 wrote: »
    Just realised I never stuck up pics of my time in NZ (thanks for the unintentional reminder La La!)

oh man i love love LOVED my time out there! i was in queenstown for winter 03 and 04.

is that first pic up Treble Cone? i have alot of love for wanaka. Remarks (and homeward/outward bound in particular) is such a fun hill on a bluebird powder day, isn't it?

good times.

I hear you on homeward bound, great run on a good day. Lots of fun to be had

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

winter 08-09 052.JPG
    Just home from a great holiday.... I have to figure a way to move to the snow.
    ( i still don't know how to post a picture instead of a link :(, maybe someone can)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,043 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

[img ]https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/91880/70903.JPG[ /img] That without the spaces should work for you. Probably a bit on the large size though.[/img]

La La wrote: »
    is that first pic up Treble Cone?

Remarks (and homeward/outward bound in particular) is such a fun hill on a bluebird powder day, isn't it?

good times.

nope, first pic is Coronet, where The Big Easy finishes at the Magic Carpet.

As for Remarks, didn't make it over too often and any day I did, either I wasn't up for it, through injury or the conditions were too crap for the homeward bound.
    I was there when I was just getting to what I would consider a "good" and enjoyed the parks, but broke ribs so wasn't able to enjoy it any more!
    Didn't hit Wanaka at all!

Don1 wrote: »
    nope, first pic is Coronet, where The Big Easy finishes at the Magic Carpet.

ah yeah i recognise it now. i only ever rode up coronet at night time. and at night, it truly lived up to its concrete peak nickname. that said, it was always heaps of fun. i'm getting all nostalgic now!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Andorra 2004 (ish)
    andorra2%20031.jpg

The far (cold) side of Font Romeu

Font%20Romeu%20B%20%2818%29.JPG

Freezing rain and hail start coming down
    Font%20Romeu%20C%20%2810%29.JPG

The last morning - low temperatures, low visibility and high winds, not the best end to the trip
    Font%20Romeu%20D%20%281%29.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

Not really skiing related, but here are some photos of the snow we got last year here in the south of Norway, this was the day we were leaving to go to Saalbach, Austria on a ski holiday. Then when we got to Saalbach the snow conditions weren't great ha!

Take into account in one photo you see me in snow up to my shoulders, im 6ft 2! Damn that was hard work digging out the drive.

photo.php?pid=2161807&id=664430798

n664430798_2161807_4687.jpg

n664430798_2161809_5376.jpg

n664430798_2161810_5699.jpg

n664430798_2161808_5031.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

Here's a few pics of my trip to Oberstdorf last week.
    This is my g/f boarding down Sollereck

n738835061_5817868_5667.jpg

n738835061_5817870_6178.jpg

n738835061_5817876_7754.jpg

How did you enjoy the place..... I am going back again on Saturday:D

Excellent as always. :)
    The blue on Sollereck that goes along by the gondel is great. My g/f really liked it.
    I liked the reds too but the long drag lift back up wasn't nice.
    We spent 2 days on Fellhorn and 4 on Sollereck. Great weather!!

Next time ye will conquer "The Nebelhorn" it is the most difficult of all 3, you can ski all the way into the village, its my favourite run.

ah, I'm sure I'd manage it now but I'm usually boarding with a few beginners (no that I'm a pro or anything...) so I stick to the easier slopes. As soon as my g/f gets comfortable carving her way around the place, then we'll venture further afield.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1vF0uoZZTI

Me heading down part of a blue in st anton. Was the second last day in my first week ever skiing, so don't expect much carving / parallel skis :D

Some pics from my tour of Hokkaido, Japan:

P2170213.JPG

P2200290.JPG

P2210310.JPG

P2210312.JPG

P2220319.JPG

P2200285.JPG

P2210304.JPG