Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Is Boards.ie complicit?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Wibbs wrote: »
    You have the hard neck to conflate Boards as a platform with that atrocity? Christ. You're not the only one, Dav3 did the same. That's a pretty bloody repellent tactic. like all ideologues you see anything that doesn't agree with your position as wrong and worthy of censure. Never mind that if your position is so strong, inherently right and "correct" it's odd that you're not so great at arguing it, instead you need to wheel out odious comparisons like that in the hope that you won't have to argue it.

You can't be so out of touch that you don't see any similarities in posting style between the far-right extremist terrorist and some posters on here? You can't be so out of touch that you don't believe this forum is being monitored because of it. It doesn't just apply to this website. If website owners pander to hate speech and the normalisation of hate speech wrapped up and disguised as freedom of speech, then people will step in. As with most things, if people don't do their job properly, someone else will step in and do it for them, you included.

It's a Saturday, it's 16th March, I had absolutely no intention of posting in this thread until one of your friends took the cowardly route and called me out. Was there really any need for you to mention my name in your post apart from trying to score cheap points on the internet with your friends? I'm sure you can make your point without harassing people. You've been sinking to new lows lately, it's very disappointing to see.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The modern internet equivilant of ‘reds under the bed’. Labelling everyone who has centre left to centre right views as being ‘alt-right’.
    Yep and with bugger all to back up their nonsense. QV...
    Please show me where posters in After Hours have said they agreed with any of the above. Any examples will do. Thanks in advance.

Again please show me where any posters on this site have condoned these acts. Any examples will do. Thanks in advance.

Silence.... Douze Points for wild (and nasty)accusations, Nil Points for actual bloody evidence. #slowhandclap

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

dav3 wrote: »
    You can't be so out of touch that you don't see any similarities in posting style between the far-right extremist terrorist and some posters on here?

It's an internet forum. Of course there will be some people like that, but it's arguably a very small number. You'd swear there was some dramatic shift happening.

What should boards.ie do to combat these few people, who may not even be Irish? I reckon it's easier for people to grow thicker skins and realise that things are grand. Ireland is grand. This site is grand. There just happens to be more fữcktards given a voice, and I'd say half of them are trolls anyways.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,424 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

dudara wrote: »
    Pssh

Double Pssh :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

You can't be so out of touch that you don't see any similarities in posting style between the far-right extremist terrorist and some posters on here?
    Yep nazis, nazis everywhere. IE anybody who questions your position.
    You can't be so out of touch that you don't believe this forum is being monitored because of it. It doesn't just apply to this website. If website owners pander to hate speech and the normalisation of hate speech wrapped up and disguised as freedom of speech, then people will step in. As with most things, if people don't do their job properly, someone else will step in and do it for them, you included.
    Oooooooo. More of the "you're being watched" threats eh? It's almost totalitarianism you have the horn for.
    It's a Saturday, it's 16th March, I had absolutely no intention of posting in this thread until one of your friends took the cowardly route and called me out. Was there really any need for you to mention my name in your post apart from trying to score cheap points on the internet with your friends? I'm sure you can make your point without harassing people. You've been sinking to new lows lately, it's very disappointing to see.
    Friends. :pac: Your name had already come up so... Never mind the first person "called out" and by one of your "friends" was myself. Difference being I didn't engage the knicker twisting response. And as usual you've nothing actually substantive to post save for wild accusations, wilder comparisons and wilder threats of censure by *spooky music* "people who will step in".

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

im on my first and only username. way too lazy to rereg and couldnt care less anyways:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

im on my first and only username. way too lazy to rereg and couldnt care less anyways:)

I'm on my third :o The first name began with A, the second with M, when I picked this one I thought, Hmmm, I started at the beginning of the alphabet, then hit at half way through it and now I'm on the last letter, so if this on doesn't work out, there are no more letters past zed. Better not say anything that makes my neighbours cop, That's that so-and-so from up the road!! I always thought she was a fierce quiet person :D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Yep nazis, nazis everywhere. IE anybody who questions your position. ...

;) Got that on the first page. Attempted censorship by various alt left extremists here is not only bizarre but genuinely deranged imo ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

You can't be so out of touch that you don't see any similarities in posting style between the far-right extremist terrorist and some posters on here? You can't be so out of touch that you don't believe this forum is being monitored because of it.

I've a roll of tin foil here if you want to reseal that hat

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭RandomName2

This is indeed the issue. Boards is becoming the platform of choice for the alt-right agenda - the agenda that lead to the killing of 49 people yesterday in Christchurch.

Part of the reason that Peter Casey got double actual national vote in the Boards.ie exit poll is that boards.ie is becoming the platform of choice for the alt-right here.

The alt-right agenda is also the reason for the high rate of homelessness, climate change, Brexit, and the excessive cost of the childrens' hospital. I'm glad you're taking a stand against them.
    Peter Casey got double actual national vote in the Boards.ie exit poll. Boards.ie is becoming the platform of choice for the alt-right here.

So, going by that presidential election, 23% of the Irish population is alt-right? We have our work cut out for us. At least we can use boards.ie as a means to narrow down the profile of what an alt-righter is.

*narrows eyes*

Are you an alt-righter? You're using boards AndrewJRenko.. don't think I don't have my eye on you and all your massacre plans. Oh yes, attacking alt-righters was a clever way for you to deflect attention away from yourself, but I can see through you and your subterfuge.

Also Sinn Fein tends to poll stronger on boards.ie than in elections (for instance https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=98592184 or https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=70284344). Is there a connection between Sinn Fein and the alt-right? Well your logic has been pretty sound so far, so I'd say there isn't much doubt in that.
    What's repellent is allowing boards.ie to become the platform of choice for the alt-right in Ireland.

wah wah wah I don't like what people are saying so I'm going to call them names wah wah wah

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭Tacklebox

Lovely part of the world Lahinch. Have happy memories of the place as a kid on summer holliers there finding fossils in the cliffs. :) I'd say it's brass monkey weather there now mind you. Good for getting yourself looking all windswept and interesting though. Not the same if you're sitting in a car though you wuss. :D

Technology is great though isn't it? Here we are chatting at opposite ends of the country.

It's quite windy and cold, doesn't help when I recently chopped my mop.

There's a few surfer's in the water, all the seagulls have migrated to O'Connell Street Dublin, so we only have crow's here today.

Heading to Liscannor for a coffee, Egan's is a lovely bar, nice and cosy.

I might tog into my wetsuit at 6 wet the hair, swallow some flood water.

Interestingly when it rains a lot theres so much fresh entering the ocean you can't taste the salt some days...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

One problem with Boards, or more specifically After Hours, is that one person posts a controversial viewpoint and some posters just can't let it go. The thread gets dragged off topic until the original point of the thread is completely forgotten before the thread is closed. It just takes one poster saying something along the lines of "black people aren't very intelligent" to drag a thread about an actual Irish news story completely off topic. I'm a terrible bastard for thinking this though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Well we did have a hotel burned down twice at the mention Muslims were going there

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭RandomName2

One problem with Boards, or more specifically After Hours, is that one person posts a controversial viewpoint and some posters just can't let it go. The thread gets dragged off topic until the original point of the thread is completely forgotten before the thread is closed. It just takes one poster saying something along the lines of "black people aren't very intelligent" to drag a thread about an actual Irish news story completely off topic. I'm a terrible bastard for thinking this though.

****posting is endemic in social media.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

One problem with Boards, or more specifically After Hours
    One good thing with Boards, or more specifically After Hours, is the relaxed moderation.
    This means everyone gets to speak, from extreme left to extreme right. But mainly it's slight left vs slight right, trying to label each other as extremists.
    I see as many alt right posts as I see "Tumblr Left" posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I think the most ridiculous viewpoint I'd seen up to now was that everyone who didn't like that Gillette ad was as bad as a scumbag that had killed a teenage girl. That's now facing tough competition from the posts saying that Boards caused a terrorist attack in New Zealand.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,984 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

You can't be so out of touch that you don't see any similarities in posting style between the far-right extremist terrorist and some posters on here? You can't be so out of touch that you don't believe this forum is being monitored because of it. It doesn't just apply to this website. If website owners pander to hate speech and the normalisation of hate speech wrapped up and disguised as freedom of speech, then people will step in. As with most things, if people don't do their job properly, someone else will step in and do it for them, you included.

this is a reds under the bed type post. there is nobody serious monitoring this forum.
    the site owners are well aware of the various potential legal issues that may effect the site. they have access to legal services. if there really is an issue or potential issue like you claim, you can be sure they are on top of it. genuine hate speech is removed when found, so if there is any that has been missed, then the report post function is your friend.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Saying Boards is complicent in this atrocity is one of the more bizarre things I've seen posted here.

Makes Alex Jones seem like a sensible fellow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

5uspect wrote: »
    Some people seem desperate for Ireland to have an alt-right movement to rail against when all we have are a few edgy keyboard warriors and one or two irrelevant columnists. Over on /r/Ireland you’d think boards was some socialist hivemind.

Ireland's subreddit compared to here is really interesting actually in this respect. Generally speaking it is notably to the left of After Hours in my opinion, but while boards.ie is too small of a target for organised troll farms like seen leading into the the 2016 US elections, whenever something like our own presidential election last year arises, they get a huge-yet-temporary influx of new accounts with far far right opinions on /r/ireland that you would very rarely if ever come across anywhere from Dublin to Donegal to Dingle, and which pushes further than After Hours both for prominence on the forum and probably for extremism of their views too. Their moderators even put up warnings about this around the time of said election.

It's worrying but fascinating, try to keep an eye for it leading into the next GE if you remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Ridiculous thread title tbh

It's the re-regs that grind my gears but as someone pointed out on the NZ terrorist attack thread, you can spot them a mile off eventually and this site is not alone in having to deal with them.
    Alt-right trolls:
    Repetition, repetition, repetition.
    YT video, YT video, YT video.
    Never any direct racism, just subtle repetition of the theory that non-whites are less this, less that.
    A bit of humour or false condemnation of atrocities thrown in.

Their bedfellows, the extreme woke left are easier to spot - deplatform! deplatform! depaltform!, idiot arguments which leave zero room for discussion and very big on labelling if you are not 100% agreeing with them.

They feed each others shít and both must be defeated!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Since when have travellers got anything to do with the alt-right?

"You don't agree with me?" You're a symptom of the Alt-right.
    Never mind accusing anyone who doesn't agree with his and his ilk's position is an alt right fascist aligned with arsonists and mass murderers.

I've been called a Nazi and a snowflake liberal on the same thread before. These buffoons deal only in absolutes.

And the irony of branding people fascist whilst arguing that they should be silenced because of their opinions.

Someone else put it well on some thread recently.. The left used to fight for free speech and the right opposed it, but it's turned into the opposite. "Oh. but they use similar language to a mass-murdering terrorist in New Zealand." What.

Omackeral wrote: »
    "You don't agree with me?" You're a symptom of the Alt-right.

I've been called a Nazi and a snowflake liberal on the same thread before. These buffoons deal only in absolutes.

Only a sith lord deals in absolutes.

I heard that on starwars, there's probably some truthful connotation about that...

May the force be with you :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,526 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Nonsense stuff really. But some sections of boards users can be quite sensitive and intolerant of your own viewpoint.

Point out that bootcut jeans are a crime against fashion and suddenly every bootcutter comes out of the woodwork spiting bile.

You’d think people who look so ridiculous wouldn’t take themselves so seriously.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Tacklebox wrote: »
    Only a sith lord deals in absolutes.

I heard that on starwars, there's probably some truthful connotation about that...

May the force be with you :D

You rebel facist scum.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I've a roll of tin foil here if you want to reseal that hat
    How many times do I have to warn people ?

Tin foil hats amplify government signals
    For all helmets, we noticed a 30 db amplification at 2.6 Ghz and a 20 db amplification at 1.2 Ghz, regardless of the position of the antenna on the cranium. In addition, all helmets exhibited a marked 20 db attenuation at around 1.5 Ghz,

Omackeral wrote: »
    You rebel facist scum.

Palpatines theme playing in the background....

Check out palpatines teachings by John Williams...

It play's well with when a board's thread goes all evils... Ahhhhhhhhhhhohhhhhhhahhhhhhhh daaaaannnn deeeennnn tnnnnnn ahhhhhhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

this is a reds under the bed type post. there is nobody serious monitoring this forum.
    the site owners are well aware of the various potential legal issues that may effect the site. they have access to legal services. if there really is an issue or potential issue like you claim, you can be sure they are on top of it. genuine hate speech is removed when found, so if there is any that has been missed, then the report post function is your friend.

I think you are over estimating their access to legal advice.

emo72 wrote: »
    If the left wasnt so overbearingly pontificating these days there would be no right.

The left is even pushing lefties to the right.

Happy Saint Patrick's Day everybody!

And if some people could realise that Liberals and the Left are not the same thing, unless one is accepting the rightwing dichotomy that has been imported from the US in the past 10 years, they might realise that the economic right are their enemy, not the economic left which to all intents does not exist in modern Ireland. The main so-called "leftwing" party here, Labour, is far more liberal, rightwing and conservative than it is leftwing, while the vociferous but politically insignificant 'Left' of Boyd Barrett and Murphy represent a welfare class rather than a working class constituency.

Alas, as the defining feature of people who blame "the Left" for everything is abject and staggering stupidity regarding the bigger picture of who the winners are from globalisation, we'll be waiting a long time before these dupes cop on to the fact that mass immigration is supported by the economic right because it keeps the native plebs - i.e. themselves - undercut by cheaper foreign labour. But successfully blaming "the Left" for a western world that is now smothered in neoliberal free market fundamentalism is yet another success of the economic right, and for that they deserve huge credit. Screw a section of society, and convince them that another section is responsible. Genuinely impressive.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

I think the most ridiculous viewpoint I'd seen up to now was that everyone who didn't like that Gillette ad was as bad as a scumbag that had killed a teenage girl. That's now facing tough competition from the posts saying that Boards caused a terrorist attack in New Zealand.

Who's spouting that ****e though? Does the community* need to start calling out bull****?

*One problem boards isn't a community, it's a business.

First they came for the socialists...