Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Colts Thread

• 19-09-2012 6:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Didn't know where to put this, but figured we've enough heads on here interested in the Colts to start a thread.

So anyway... after 2 games, our big trade of the summer, CB Vontae Davis (2009 1st round pick), has a perfect passer rating against him. Our defense is overall pretty bad, and he's not had long to adjust to our schemes, but that's a shocking stat considering the 2 QB's in question are the good, but not great Cutler and Ponder. He's given up receptions on 10/11 targets for 143 yards & 2 TDs.

I'd have hoped he'd step in and be one of the leaders in our D, and the guy deserves time, but c'mon man. Make some plays.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭McG

Unfortunately there's not much quality behind him so there's no choice but to give him time and hope he can raise his game.

Happy with the win at the weekend but felt that we almost threw it away by going a little too conservative in the 4th quarter.

Great opportunity to get to 2-1 this weekend. Gabbert had an awful game on Sunday (throwing 7/19 for 53yards!). Admittedly the Texan's defence is considerably better than ours but it's promising none the less.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Whilst Davis has been poor I think the real problem is a non existent pash rush! We made Cutler look like Tom Brady because he had all day to throw the ball! And the only sack I can think of off hand from last week was from Freeman who looked like he didn't know what was happening pre snap!!

This attempt at a power running game is a bit foolish!! We don't have the o-line to do it and whether ya think Brown is a bust or not he's not gonna make many yards between the tackles!

On the upside Luck looks every bit as good as we thought, and Reggie can still get it done!

Manning was well in situ by the time I started following the colts so it's gonna be real interesting watching this team grow up around Luck!

(oh and Pat Macafee can kick the ball a mile, and is also a very funny fella!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Yeah sunday would've hurt, had we lost. We were making a statement, then reverted back to the Caldwell days, lol.

Yeah the Defense is soft all over, Cutler can play when you let him. Was disappointed at how often Ponder was able to target Davis though. I thought we'd struggle against the run (what's new?) but might be able to put some pressure on the QB and force a few incompletions with our two CB's. Mathis seems to be the only guy enjoying this new system.

I'm guessing that well be looking to stop MJD the weekend so there may be a lot on powers and Davis the weekend!! Reading some of the analysis from the Vikings game it looks like Davis in particular was playing a long way off and giving up the short completions! Must have been because of some of the big completions against the bears!

Mathis does look nearly as good as ever and in fairness redding looked quite good the weekend! I'm looking forward to see Chapman getting on the field (I presume the earliest is after week 6, if at all this year?) If you follow him on twitter he talks a lot about stopping the run so hopefully he can back it up!

Yeah Chapman was one of my favourite draft picks this year. Finally someone who specialises in stopping the run. I don't think we'll see the best of him this year though. He's missed so much time that even if he does come back, it'll be hard for him to adjust.

I think we have to be favourites on Sunday. Jags are one of the worst teams in the league. We are too, but if we cant win this at home,\ we haven't got a lot to look forward to this season.

On Sunday, Andrew Luck was the first rookie quarterback to lead a game-winning drive in the final minute of the fourth quarter since Archie Manning in 1971.

This can't be right can it?
    Source: http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000064066/article/andrew-luck-a-work-in-progress-for-indianapolis-colts

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Ok, as Colts fans, can anyone tell me if Collie will see any action this weekend as he is finally passed fit, and if so, will Luck use him much?

curry-muff wrote: »
    Ok, as Colts fans, can anyone tell me if Collie will see any action this weekend as he is finally passed fit, and if so, will Luck use him much?

I can't see him being used much at all for the rest of the season. and I think he'll be traded next season. I feel bad for the guy, but he's one concussion away from retirement IMO. He's missed so much game time, not with a sore leg or a bad shoulder, but because his brain keeps getting bashed, and stays that way for weeks. Would you be the coach to put him out there every snap? Avery is playing quite well, and we've a few decent young lads in there. Collie will be used sparingly, and while wayne's on the field.

curry-muff wrote: »
    After the spanking you gave me last week ya can fek off if ya think I'm giving ya any advice !!!!!

On a serious note he's been a "late week" decision in all three game weeks so far, so he may not even be cleared to play this week - I think the Colts are not giving out any injury info this season! Hopefully for him if/when he does come back he's 100%!

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Craig Dowling

Freeney has been badly missed
    anyone know when he is back?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,589 ✭✭✭Tristram

Any Colt fans reckon Avery should be seeing more use this season?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭McG

Tristram wrote: »
    Any Colt fans reckon Avery should be seeing more use this season?

I'd expect him to after last weekend. Looks like a solid #2 WR

What a joke. I'm fuming at the Indy D, leaving a man wide open for that TD. They knew it was a throw, simple man to man coverage and the tackle would have been made.
    I mean, how sh!t is our D? We're playing our 2 best defensive players out of position. We change to a 3-4 D and are still letting 50+ TD's in. 2 in this game. It's pathetic. year after year, we fail to put together an even passable Defense, even with a complete change of personnel.

As for the ****ing Offense -- two weeks running we've made no impact in the second half. Until the other side are back in it. I feel bad for Luck because the kid is playing waaay above the level of a Rookie with no O-line, 1 receiver and no running game. It's actually laughable to write that, but it's true.

As for Adam V... I think the guy is in his last season tbh.

Even the '11 Colts beat the Jags at home. Maybe we can fall low enough to pick up a Solid Defensive player.

it was an absolute disgrace
    god damn our defence is horrific and the o-line are useless
    clay matthews will murder us in 2 weeks

Internet wasn't working so I had to watch (more like listen to) the game using 3G!

Yet another second half collapse!

Luck was very good again barring the pick! Hilton looked sharp! It appears Luck will throw to the open receiver, whoever that is! Impressed with Dwayne Allen, but Fleener has been mostly anonymous so far!

The defence.....stopping the run??? After two ok performances yesterday was terrible! Also that 80 yard TD at the end was criminal!!

I also can't understand why we're trying to play a game we plainly do not have the personell to play! This power run game is not going to work!! We don't have the o-line and Donald Browne is not a power back!! We should be using a gameplan that suits out players, not trying to impose one on them that is never gonna work!! Give the ball to Browne in space and let him make plays!!

Freeney has been badly missed
    anyone know when he is back?

Should be back for the absolute butchering we're going to take from Green Bay.

I'm actually worried about that game; our O-line is so poor, Matthews will have all day to feast on Luck. Let's hope he's as mobile as he has been in the last two games or he'll be sore after that game.

Collie out for season, aka forever, with a busted knee.

The guy obviously needs to hang up his cleats. This game isn't doing him any favours. I feel bad for the guy, but I'm sure he'll stay in the game -- find a position as a coach somewhere maybe, and hopefully he's made a few bucks over the last few years.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2012/football/nfl/09/24/indianapolis-colts-austin-collie.ap/index.html

So we just signed a CB that was cut by the Pats....I'm no expert but that can't be good, right?

with regards Collie it is very sad! To be honest I was surprised he came back from the last concussion! This does look to be the end now! Patellar tendon tear is particularly nasty!!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Lads, I'm in NY as you may or may not have noticed! Thinking of ordering stuff on the NFL site...if you want anything let me know...that said wont be back in Ireland till late November, no pressure or anything just if anyone wants to jump in on it!

kmart6 wrote: »
    Lads, I'm in NY as you may or may not have noticed! Thinking of ordering stuff on the NFL site...if you want anything let me know...that said wont be back in Ireland till late November, no pressure or anything just if anyone wants to jump in on it!

Im here myself. Thanks though, man. I'm not a big fan of jerseys - they ook silly on me, but will have to pick up some bits n pieces before I leave. Wil let ye all know...

http://www.indystar.com/article/20120928/SPORTS03/209280368/Ex-Indianapolis-Colts-receiver-Anthony-Gonzlaez-graduate-school

Anthony Gonzalez has done a reverso-Luck and gone from The Colts to Stanford. After the other night, i wonder will they try and convince him to play for the Cardinal. :pac:

Freeney and Angerer should be back next week. I'm not usually a fan of the early Bye-week, but it's helped us before, and looks to have come at a good time. Joe reitz should be back too (settle down guys). Hopefully the defense will improve to take the mittens off Arian's uber-conservative playcalling.

Chuck pagano has been diagnosed with a serious illness (possibly leukaemia) and is out for the foreseeable future! Arians is in charge for the interim!

Hopefully it is treatable as us being reported!

Horrible news. Best wishes to him and his family.

Looks like it's treatable.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Such an early bye will probably prove to be far from ideal from a team with young players, but they'll have to make the best of it...

Bateman wrote: »
    Such an early bye will probably prove to be far from ideal from a team with young players, but they'll have to make the best of it...

Looks ike it might have saved Pagano's life. Apparently he was waiting for the Bye to go in for tests.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 Tamoreit

I'm watching the stream on the Colts site atm. Thankfully the leukemia is treatable and the doctor seems to be fairly optimistic of a recovery.

heres hoping he makes a full recovery
    best wishes to him and his family

I heard he had been feeling tired and bruising easily since training camp!! Crazy that the manifestations of such a serious disease could be so innocuous!!

Seen this speech from Pagano on YouTube: http://youtu.be/8AZaQ0q8Hxo

It's not the rebel rousing high energy speech ala ray Lewis, but I have to say I've always been more impressed by the considered calm approach rather than the table banging type of inspirational speeches!! Pretty sure the corny music wasn't playing in the background either!!!

taidghbaby wrote: »
    I heard he had been feeling tired and bruising easily since training camp!! Crazy that the manifestations of such a serious disease could be so innocuous!!

Seen this speech from Pagano on YouTube: http://youtu.be/8AZaQ0q8Hxo

It's not the rebel rousing high energy speech ala ray Lewis, but I have to say I've always been more impressed by the considered calm approach rather than the table banging type of inspirational speeches!! Pretty sure the corny music wasn't playing in the background either!!!

Nice speech. Reminds me a bit of the Any given Sunday speech (corny music helps). Yeah, he's not a Colt that long, so haven't built up much man love for the guy yet, but by all accounts he was hugely liked and well-respected. Not just in Indy, but Baltimore too. Hope we see him back next year. I'd like to see him work with some cap space and see what he brings.