Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Respawn Jedi Fallen Order

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Just finished it there, thats probably the best action jedi star wars game made yet (kotor was an RPG).

Tbh its not hard and the game wants you to be OP, the exploration side tracks you but ultimatley rewards you for it.

Very enjoyable game not too long and not too short but you are massively OP by the 5th chapter, its nothing like Dark Souls not sure where that comparison came from, there is a bit of Metroid about it and re traversing which is not boring.

Only gripe is certain "main" enemies are immune to certain OP moves.

MASSIVE SPOILER SERIOUSY MASSIVE
    At the end after I beat the 2nd sister for what felt like the 15th time and Vader shows up, I was like yeah I have 6 stims....i can take him :D

Respawn pound for pound the best developer active at the minute, 4 for 4 now * see OP for context.

I can't shake the comparison to Sekiro. Feels really similar in some regards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Doctor Nick

I can't shake the comparison to Sekiro. Feels really similar in some regards.

Sold! Will pick this up on payday. Between this, Death Stranding and Days Gone I should be good till Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭DarC_Kn1ght

Just finished this. Loved every second. Definitely GOTY contender.
    Recommend playing on jedi master difficulty.

Hmmm. I have a fair few issues with this game so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭nix

Hmmm. I have a fair few issues with this game so far.

Do tell :)

nix wrote: »

I'm trying stay positive as I really want to like this game! I'll write a quick rant in an hour or so when I'm free. I can't stop comparing it Sekiro which is definitely hindering my enjoyment.

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭Davy05

I am loving this game so far, but that's not to say it doesn't have it's flaws. I found the learning curve quite difficult at the start (i have never been a fan of Dark Souls/Sekiro.. with their extremist difficulty and misery porn checkpoints).

But I bit the bullet and swallowed my pride, and just switched to an easier difficulty and now i'm loving the gameplay and story. For me, it's just a simple fact of life now: I am no longer a young man who can prioritize a game over other aspects of my life. I know if i was 14 again i would love this gameplay mechanic and the sense of accomplishment of mastering it... but i just haven't got the time anymore. Now all i want is a good narrative, well written characters and a conclusion that makes the journey worth it. And on that front, so far this game is delivering for me.

However, one thing i wish they included was a fast travel system for getting back to the ship after completing the main objective. I get that not having it encourages exploration... but sometimes after a long session you just want to press a button to get out of dodge and onto something different ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

Davy05 wrote: »
    I am loving this game so far, but that's not to say it doesn't have it's flaws. I found the learning curve quite difficult at the start (i have never been a fan of Dark Souls/Sekiro.. with their extremist difficulty and misery porn checkpoints).

But I bit the bullet and swallowed my pride, and just switched to an easier difficulty and now i'm loving the gameplay and story. For me, it's just a simple fact of life now: I am no longer a young man who can prioritize a game over other aspects of my life. I know if i was 14 again i would love this gameplay mechanic and the sense of accomplishment of mastering it... but i just haven't got the time anymore. Now all i want is a good narrative, well written characters and a conclusion that makes the journey worth it. And on that front, so far this game is delivering for me.

However, one thing i wish they included was a fast travel system for getting back to the ship after completing the main objective. I get that not having it encourages exploration... but sometimes after a long session you just want to press a button to get out of dodge and onto something different ha!

Totally agree re the huge trek back to the ship after each objective, just feels such a waste of time to be going over old ground. Not a huge fan of the respawning enemies mechanic too if I'm honest. Overall I am enjoying it, just a few things stopping it being a top game imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I have Sekiro, never played it tho.

Combat seems miles away from Dark Souls.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Mr.Fantastic

I'm trying stay positive as I really want to like this game! I'll write a quick rant in an hour or so when I'm free. I can't stop comparing it Sekiro which is definitely hindering my enjoyment.

Any comparsion to Sekiro is a positive for me anyway.

Not to derail thread, but find the spike in difficulty associated with souls games is out of proportion.

Tbh the hardest game I have played in a while is cuphead find it way harder than any souls game.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭nix

I have Sekiro, never played it tho.

Combat seems miles away from Dark Souls.

I havent played this but Sekiro is a "parry" game, you need to focus on parrying more than hacking and slashing. So as oppossed to the block a little and then windmill in most would do playing dark souls, Sekiro is all about parrying/deflecting and then punishing with an attack when theres an opening.

This ame has parrying, but i dont think its as necessary as Sekiro, maybe on the hardest mode :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 826 ✭✭✭j14

Only just started on Saturday so I'm at the very start.
    I went to Dathomir and got the "thing"
    (can't use spoiler tags as I'm on my phone). Problem is the game glitched during the "thing" cut scene and I ended up without the "thing" and now I don't have it and I can't get it. Any ideas how to make the "thing" appear again?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭Cordell

I like it so far but nothing stands out as particularly well done, except, maybe, combat, but I've seen better. Good solid single player game, not exceptional but quite enjoyable.

nix wrote: »

It feels similar to Sekiro because they're both third person, both star a ninja like character with a bunch tricks up their sleeves, both have similar leveling systems and combat. If I'm being honest, Sekiro is superior in every facet. Sekiro is one of the few single player games I finished in the past few years. Most games cannot hold my attention until I eventually switch them off so I really did love Sekiro. Its the best From Software game imo.

Maybe it's rose tinted glasses but I kinda wish I was playing Sekiro at times. This feels far slower and clunkier. I did drop the difficulty out of frustration. The combat is very hit and miss if you want a challenge. Sometimes the block works, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes the finisher moves will rotate your character and camera 180 degrees which means your looking the wrong way all of a sudden. The camera can lock onto enemies as you're running around them causing you to run in the wrong direction. The sensitivity on looking around is far too slow to counter this (on a controller anyway, haven't tried kb+m). It strangely makes you stand still briefly after the finishers too which leaves you open to hits. Creature enemies are rather difficult to predict. Your abilities are rather sparse compared to Sekiro.

The movement feels slow. If you move the stick, your character will turn and move half a second later. This bleeds into every movement in the game. The platforming is a slog as a result, although 3D platforming is notoriously difficult to get right. I didn't enjoy it from the get go and it has barely evolved. There's too much platforming when pressing the jump button makes your character to jump half a second later. A game like Celeste introduces lots of different platforming mechanics throughout, mixes them and builds as it goes on. That game is sharp and punchy. The mechanics in this have barely changed from the intro. Acquiring force pull has eased the rope swinging thankfully. Some people disagreed earlier but the climbing is a chore. Pure busy work. I think this slow movement was done with an eye on how the combat will look. It looks great. Animations flow into one another quite well. It just doesn't play great. I'd way prefer a super responsive, fast footed ninja over this slower Jedi. That's where the Sekiro comparison is spoiling this for me.

The metroidvania aspect is okay because the movement felt off and the majority of the collectibles are cosmetic or small plot points. I really, really don't care about a hilt upgrade or a new colour for the ship. I prefer slow incremental power increases to reward exploration. I do enjoy the small plot points though. There are some upgrades to your force limit and health but when I've already dropped the difficulty, it becomes a bit pointless. Fast travel to the meditation points could have helped this but I'm not sure how that would fit in the Star Wars canon (is force teleport a thing?). I just got to a point where I have to climb to big tree in the distance and I sighed. I want to see what happens but it's becoming tedious. The map is pretty tough to read but I'm not sure how else they can represent a 3D environment like that. Maybe hugely simplify it rather than it being an accurate representation.

That said, its a decent game solid 6 or 7 out of 10. This being set in the Star Wars universe is a biggest thing it has going for it. Light sabers are good craic. Force powers are good craic. It's the best Star Wars game I've played in around a decade but that's not saying much. The plot is interesting enough. I do want to rush through to progress the story. The chatter from the storm troopers is great. I do enjoy some of the puzzles. Having a little dog-like side kick robot is great. You're better off avoiding the challenge and running around like an overpowered Jedi imo, which can be great. I think this game could have been 10/10 with a few of these things tightened up. It feels like a missed opportunity. Happy to have spent my money on it though to encourage such titles going forward.

Really enjoying it so far.

Only gripe is that the combat is just a little bit off, the camera is atrocious. In most of these games the camera needs a lot of manual adjustments mid-battle but this game seems to be really bad.

It's also very hard to time blocks since theres no noticeable hints/signs that an attack is coming.
    Sure you could just hold full block but again you've a bar that depletes so need to be careful.

But my biggest gripe is that evade and roll are the same button.
    I find myself constantly rolling even when I dont feel im double tapping and jump becomes a hinderance as I've been trying to get space in a battle and just jumping in the air.

Not sure why they couldn't have made that a bit better.

It's still a top quality game but the combat is a bit of a pain due to some small issues, I just had to drop back to normal difficulty as dying was too plentiful and the issues above were causing a lot of it.

It does feel a bit slow to me but not that slow, I'm playing with the wired Xbox One controller, I tried M&K and it didn't fell any slower, but playing with M&K is difficult and no real advantage as you don't need to aim.
    Auto lock can be disabled.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 50,801 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Are the metroidvania elements actual abilities or just glorified keys to open doors?

A bit of both.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 50,801 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Aw ok. Not a fan of just basic key gating.

Feels like each planet is a little bit better than the last, which is keeping my interest. Did the 3rd proper planet
    Kashyyyk
    last night, and even though I'd seen it on a few trailers
    climbing up and taking control of the walker at the start of the level
    was great craic. Also finding the mini bosses to be a decent challenge but not frustratingly so (which for me Sekiro was).

The overall gameplay reminds me a lot of Uncharted or Tomb Raider with the various climbing and puzzles. Not a bad thing for me as I enjoyed those games. Then throw in some Star Wars combat, especially
    blocking Startroopers' Laser shots with your lightsaber to deflect them back at them
    is highly satisfying! When it comes to facing other lads at close combat I find it easier to use dodge/roll rather than the parry system, which seems to be a bit hit and miss, although it could just be my bad timing.

As I mentioned previously, main negative to the game is you go over old ground a fair bit, but that's becoming more bearable (and easier to minimize) as I'm finally starting to make some sense of the map system.

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭goon_magee

Only on the first planet but I'm struggling to get into this somewhat. Game feels fine to play, but a far cry from the Soulsborne games I keep seeing it compared to (which I loved).

I'm hoping the environments pick up after this planet because it is legitimately one of the most bland and ugly in game levels I have ever had the displeasure of exploring.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,480 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Only a few minutes into the first planet but it looks and feels like a ps2/ps3 game solely because of how good death stranding looks and feels. I'm sure I'll enjoy it more when i finish DS and i read the planets get better looking as well. Quite enjoying the combat even though it does feel a tiny bit off like others said.

This thing is dropping serious frames on me. Playing on a One X.

I'm not usually sensitive to frame rate drops but the chugging here is seriously noticeable at times. You turn a corner, no enemies, literally just turning a corner round a building or corridor and the game becomes a slideshow at times. Seems to be more prevalent when entering a new part of the map.

Another thing bugging me is the fact that their attempts at mimicking the Dark Souls XP loss on death mechanic are completely pointless. Even if you die again whilst the enemy who killed you is is till n possession of your XP, you don't lose the XP permanently? Absolutely no point in including the mechanic when the XP has no potential to be lost for good, what purpose does that serve?

Edit: Apologies, I'm mistaken with the above. It seems you can lose XP.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Had a go at this around at a mates so only played a little bit but first impressions leave me rather conflicted about picking this one up. It's hard to put my finger on it but the melee combat seems a little off. The world design and environment graphics are amazing but the main character and the ship crew really look dated and last gen. One thing that really made me go wow, was when you squeeze through a gap in a wall or a passage, the animation and detail is just incredible. Think I'll be waiting for a sale.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Only a few minutes into the first planet but it looks and feels like a ps2/ps3 game solely because of how good death stranding looks and feels. I'm sure I'll enjoy it more when i finish DS and i read the planets get better looking as well. Quite enjoying the combat even though it does feel a tiny bit off like others said.

Console? Game is fairly stunning at 2k (unreal engine, not Frostbite). I couldnt get Ultra4k60 so went with ultra2k60, its a damn fine looking game even the 1st planet.

Death Stranding better be a damn fine looking game in 7 months!!!

Console? Game is fairly stunning at 2k (unreal engine, not Frostbite). I couldnt get Ultra4k60 so went with ultra2k60, its a damn fine looking game even the 1st planet.

Death Stranding better be a damn fine looking game in 7 months!!!

Ps4 pro. When I'm navigating the platforms, i just see the flat rectangles and squares underneath the graphics of the same recycled images that i have to jump from one to another. Reminds me of tomb raider 1 where the world was made of blocks. Might be very unfair but coming straight from DS where the graphics and movement mechanics makes you feel every rock and surface change, this just seems so basic. I can't even imagine how DS is gonna look for ye PC lads on high end machines, it's just a pity he have to wait till summer.

Can't get into this at all. Died twice at the boss on Zeffo and just couldn't be bothered making the trek from the last meditation point to the boss again out of pure boredom. The combat just isn't rewarding enough to keep me coming back like dark souls. I don't care about any of the things you find when you find a little secret area to keep me exploring. I'm way too early in the game to already be feeling burnt out.

Think I'll have to bite the bullet and trade in for as much money as possible while it's still new.

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Can't get into this at all. Died twice at the boss on Zeffo and just couldn't be bothered making the trek from the last meditation point to the boss again out of pure boredom. The combat just isn't rewarding enough to keep me coming back like dark souls. I don't care about any of the things you find when you find a little secret area to keep me exploring. I'm way too early in the game to already be feeling burnt out.

Think I'll have to bite the bullet and trade in for as much money as possible while it's still new.

Sold mine yesterday to CEX, 43 quid. There was some really good things keeping my interest early on, but the more I played the more the retrekking over old ground and rekilling the same enemies started to grate. Might give it another try when it eventually hits EA Access, but plenty of other games to be going on with for now. Excited to get back into death Stranding now

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

I get what you guys are saying, i suppose for me its probably one of the better star wars games in a long time.

I am still enjoying it but there is allot of repetition or i find i get lost when i have a short cut that could save time.