Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Mechanical engineering

Options
  • 29-01-2019 11:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭

Hi, I’m a plumber thinking of going back to school at night and studying a branch of engineering. I have some college since my young days in an unrelated field I have no interest in.
    I believe with the plumbing (level 7? Fetac) I can skip a year or so in a degree.
    What’s stoping me is money and the fact I havnt really got a clue how the college system works. I’m full time employed so not sure I can avail of any grants or what not.

It’d be great if somebody would adopt me for a week or two then tell me to turn up at trinity on wednesday to start my studies but any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    I’m mid 30s if that matters.

Comments

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 5,374 Mod ✭✭✭✭aido79

Hi, I’m a plumber thinking of going back to school at night and studying a branch of engineering. I have some college since my young days in an unrelated field I have no interest in.
    I believe with the plumbing (level 7? Fetac) I can skip a year or so in a degree.
    What’s stoping me is money and the fact I havnt really got a clue how the college system works. I’m full time employed so not sure I can avail of any grants or what not.