Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wrestling Podcasts

• Registered Users Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Granny is a legend. That is all.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,013 Mod ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I guess it comes with the territory, like Alvarez has a grating high pitched voice but u can get used to it. As with their style of reviewing, it's funny but you couldn't actually get a proper run-down of the show. Granny's awesome too.

The worst I find is Bryan & Meltzer talking. Meltzer always tries to catch Bryan out and make him look stupid/himself smarter. Makes him sound like a real insecure arsehole. It's like he's in highschool or something!

God Diabhal, myself and the OSW lads aspire to be as good as John & Wai, i'd hate to find out what you actually think of us! lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

jaykhunter wrote: »
    The worst I find is Bryan & Meltzer talking. Meltzer always tries to catch Bryan out and make him look stupid/himself smarter. Makes him sound like a real insecure arsehole. It's like he's in highschool or something!
    l

Not really get this to be honest.

Bryan can be on autopilot some times yeah. But Dave being cruel or mean isnt really something I associate with him with doing.

i'll have to go back thru my tweets as i listened to a free show a couple of weeks back, and after a couple of instances of Dave badgering Bryan I actually had to tweet Alvarez about it. Meltzer doesn't do it on the LAW (and I haven't heard him talk to anyone else) so from my perspective it's a Dave-Bryan thing.

You might be but there seems to be a weird delay on Bryan's setup where Meltzer always seems to be interrupting Bryan or the guest they sometimes have on the line. You are right it never happens on other radio appearances. Dave is on Konnan's podcast on Monday which should be gas. Konnan and Dave have been friends for donkeys:

HORRIBLE quality and total earphone jobby but this is from 1996 Dave looks like such a douche hanging from that bar and chewing gum. Also features a coy Mike Tenay who was a WCW employee at the time who is standing there as Konnan buries everything. Tenay and Meltzer are childhood friends and went to L.A. wrestling together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

God Diabhal, myself and the OSW lads aspire to be as good as John & Wai, i'd hate to find out what you actually think of us! lol

Yours is very good. Even shows the actual thing so the jokes are far better.

wowsherri.jpg
    Episode 41 – Remembering Sensational Sherri (February 8, 1958 – June 15, 2007)
    featuring Bill Apter, Candi Divine, Marianne Ryan, Lexie Fyfe & “The Million Dollar Man” Ted DiBiase

Five years ago today, the wrestling world became a little less Sensational as Sherri Martel passed away at the altogether too young age of 49 years old. On the occasion of the fifth anniversary of her passing, we decided to try and pay tribute to this most memorable of performers by gathering together some of her friends and colleagues to share their experiences and memories. On this very special podcast you’ll hear legendary wrestling journalist Bill Apter, who knew Sherri throughout her entire professional career; friend and rival (and multiple time former AWA Women’s Champion) Candi Divine; non-wrestler friend, confidante and travelling companion Marianne Ryan; veteran wrestler Lexie Fyfe and one of Sherri’s most famous managerial charges, Ted DiBiase – a Hall of Famer in his own right, and the man who inducted Sherri into the WWE Hall of Fame in 2006. A big thanks to all our guests and those people who helped make the show possible. You know who you are.

http://ringbellesonline.com/2012/06/15/wow-podcast-41-remembering-sensational-sherri/

Haven't listened yet but obviously a lot of work went into this and I general like this podcast series.

I'll give it a listen! Couldn't find it on iTunes. Bummer. Gotten spoilt with downloading podcasts via iPhone/iPod :p
    Aftermath is very Pro WWE and positive about a lot of stuff whereas Review a Raw tends to be more negative towards it so they balance out!

I love ur username! I do like Arda & Jimmy but when I found out they were on the Score & so is WWE, so they can't actually speak ill of WWE, I went off them a bit. Was their name change (from Right After Wrestling) due to WWE not wanting them to have the acronym RAW? I do like their positivity but much like WWE Anthology releases, I'm hyper-aware of an almost 'this content has been pre-approved by WWE' label. I like that they don't crap on the product but I hate that they can't. Ask the Ref is def. still worth a listen for some insider tidbits & fun anecdotes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

I love ur username!

I am waiting for a Van Dulet Industries thread

• Registered Users Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

There used to be a radio show over the pond that did shows after PPVs, is that gone? I think it was The Score.

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    There used to be a radio show over the pond that did shows after PPVs, is that gone? I think it was The Score.

Em, well Aftermath (Arda Ocal & Jimmy Korderas) does post-RAW & PPV podcasts, they're currently on The Score radio; also Live Audio Wrestling (Agnew/Lovranski/Pollock/Ting) (who are on....TSN?) and pay-site Wrestling Observer (Alvarez/Meltzer & others) do podcasts.

They'd be my first port of call for weekly new content :)

AOW 100: Colt Cabana Hosted by CM Punk

CM Punk, WWE Champion, hosts the 100th episode. Punk takes over all of the duties including plugs and upcoming events. Punk sits down and has a conversation with his best bud Colt. Listen to the usual Colt and Punk hijinks as they talk about their lives.

http://tsmradio.com/coltcabana/podpress_trac/web/281/0/show100.mp3

I am going to have a listen to the final episode of Wrestlecrap radio for old times sake.

Richard Herring's Edinburgh Fringe Podcast

2012 #7: Dude Love - Mick Foley and Gavin Webster. Wrestling legend Mick Foley is coming on to the tiny Stand wrestling arena and Richard is determined that only one of them will leave the stage alive. Which is probably foolish of him. But he's had a good life. Rich has some predictions for the Scottish Premier League title and some stuff to say about partisan football supporters and there's a chance that he might be ripped apart before Foley has even arrived. But together Foley and Herring can take on all the Scotch and will mispronounce city names as much as they want. What you gonna do about it? The chat is mainly about wrestling, from Big Daddy to Stone Cold Steve Austin, ripped off ears, teeth in noses and how many explosives you need to put on top of barbed wire to make a really exciting pretend fight. Foley has swapped the ring for the stand-up stage, a much more dangerous place. Stand-up from Gavin Webster, who has a broken wrist which would seem impressive on any other day, but it's hardly competition is it?

http://www.comedy.co.uk/podcasts/richard_herring_edinburgh

John & Wai review the classic SummerSlam 92 PPV

Download the show at http://fightnetwork.com/data/podcasts/1207/2012-08-15.mp3
    Featuring
    **John Pollock and Wai Ting review WWF 'SummerSlam' 1992 from Wembley Stadium
    **Bret Hart comments on the match with Davey Boy Smith
    **Harry Smith joins us to discussing being in attendance for this show and going back to NJPW

Couldn't help thinking of Charisteas during when the topic/anecdote about 93,000 came up!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Couldn't help thinking of Charisteas during when the topic/anecdote about 93,000 came up!

jqfO0.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

BUMP

Any fresh suggestions for good PW Podcasts. Need something to distract me while working out.

I've downloaded an ep of the Review A Wai one to see what its like (the Summerslamn 92 one actually)

Particularly interested in ones that discuss old school/classic wrestling and puro. I have a sub to the Observer site so I'm already familiar with all the stuff on there. Meltzer and Bryan are grand but its hard to listen to them after a while when you kinda get the impression they almost hate wrestling at this stage. The Dr Keith show is good for the overwhelming enthusiasm and positivity more than anything.

Roger

• Registered Users Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

BUMP

Any fresh suggestions for good PW Podcasts. Need something to distract me while working out.

I've downloaded an ep of the Review A Wai one to see what its like (the Summerslamn 92 one actually)

Particularly interested in ones that discuss old school/classic wrestling and puro. I have a sub to the Observer site so I'm already familiar with all the stuff on there. Meltzer and Bryan are grand but its hard to listen to them after a while when you kinda get the impression they almost hate wrestling at this stage. The Dr Keith show is good for the overwhelming enthusiasm and positivity more than anything.

Roger

For old school, give a listen to OSW Review by PW mod, JayKHunter. It's up on the Botchamania website as well so you know it's good if Maffew put's a link to it

I will have more of a think later but can't recommend Wrestling Culture enough. Primarily it is classic Wrestling discussion however done discuss with a more intellectual bent (sorry Jayk ;)) on a bunch of lesser discussed topics.

You can find it on iTunes. The hosting site they use gives little info on individual shows so I am linking to the main show thread:
    http://board.deathvalleydriver.com/index.php?showtopic=57145&st=0

Typically excellent but this episode is my favourite as it was so leftfield as nobody talks about the Montreal territory despite it being bigger than Stampede Wrestling:
    Please listen to Episode 23 of the Wrestling Culture Podcast as Dylan and I are joined by a great man in Pat Laprade to talk the history of Montreal wrestling. It may be a long episode but I feel it is the best we've done. Pat's book "Mad-dogs, Midgets and Screw-Jobs" co-authored with Bertrand Hébert will be released by ECW Press in February 2013 and looks to be a must-read.

Edit: Joe vs the World is still the WIRE of Wrestling podcasts: http://www.thecubsfan.com/cat/joe-vs-the-world/

http://fightnetwork.com/news/33461:review-a-wai-baywatch-bash-at-the-beach/
    John Pollock and Wai Ting review a 1996 episode of 'Baywatch' featuring Hulk Hogan, Randy Savage, Ric Flair, Big Van Vader and Kevin Sullivan.

Jeez, thanks rovert.

And an actual thanks to D2D for the plug! Happily surprised that the botchamania fanbase like our show, so Maffew picked us up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

rovert wrote: »
    I will have more of a think later but can't recommend Wrestling Culture enough. Primarily it is classic Wrestling discussion however done discuss with a more intellectual bent (sorry Jayk ;)) on a bunch of lesser discussed topics.

You can find it on iTunes. The hosting site they use gives little info on individual shows so I am linking to the main show thread:
    http://board.deathvalleydriver.com/index.php?showtopic=57145&st=0

Typically excellent but this episode is my favourite as it was so leftfield as nobody talks about the Montreal territory despite it being bigger than Stampede Wrestling:
    Please listen to Episode 23 of the Wrestling Culture Podcast as Dylan and I are joined by a great man in Pat Laprade to talk the history of Montreal wrestling. It may be a long episode but I feel it is the best we've done. Pat's book "Mad-dogs, Midgets and Screw-Jobs" co-authored with Bertrand Hébert will be released by ECW Press in February 2013 and looks to be a must-read.

Edit: Joe vs the World is still the WIRE of Wrestling podcasts: http://www.thecubsfan.com/cat/joe-vs-the-world/
    Thats the kinda stuff looking for thank you.

Lidtened to the Review a Wai show. Was good but id like a little more insight than just being told what happened in a match tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Cannot recommend Joe vs the World highly enough. Legit the best thing I've ever come across on the internet and it is a timeless classic. If you hate dull podcasts then this is for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

Ahhh you beat me to it so! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,347 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Review a Wai this week is Chyna's new prono film :S

• Registered Users Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

I've watched some of it, plenty of wrestling references.

Jay Hunter shouted out on a porno podcast. :D

It's an excellent listen. Their absolutely disgusted comments were hilarious. Clicky the link or the awesomely creepy photoshop i made

http://datav3.fightnetwork.com/blog/33559.mp3

394344_439483429423312_222412171_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭BohsJohnny

just finished it now one of their best ever wai nearly getting sick was gas.