Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

A Question of Career..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

The most important thing is to be a Plebeian with a strong agricultural focus. That's what I did. All this Big Four stuff is pure and utter nonsense.

Furthermore, I consider that Carthage must be destroyed.

Gotta deal with those pesky Etruscan's first!
    I'm aware this is After Hours which does open this discussion up to the more crass and flippant users on here but I'm gonna give this a go anyway.

Life philosophy time!

Work to live, not live to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Zorya wrote: »
    Probably not going to rank my advice as I have no clue what Big 4 even means, but why not travel for a while and see some of the world first? It gets more difficult later on with steady relationships and possibly children. With your German you could do some online translation work to get some funding, or work voluntarily and move about that way. Just even for a year or two, even to take a rest. School then college, then straight into full on work seems like such a hectic life to me - maybe I'm lazy, but I reckon its important to have time out too. I know young people can feel so serious and responsible and in a hurry, but let loose for a while. Get to know the world, get to know other people, get to know yourself, get to know where you might like to direct your energy in life. As Witchie said you could always work at one of these Big 4, whatever they are, for a year or so, while saving hard to fund travel. Life passes surprisingly fast. Money and career are promoted as being central and yet life will teach most of us that's an illusion, that there are far more important things.

Best of luck.

The Big 4 are Lions, Elephants, Hippos and Rhinoceroses , as far as I can recall, so i assume the OP is a budding Zoologist ( or a game poacher)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

Joe prim wrote: »
    The Big 4 are Lions, Elephants, Hippos and Rhinoceroses , as far as I can recall, so i assume the OP is a budding Zoologist ( or a game poacher)

you-are-fake-news-gif-7655534you-are-fake-news.jpg?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.breizh-info.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2018%2F01%2Fyou-are-fake-news.jpg&q=0&b=1&p=0&a=1

:p

The big five are: Lion, Leopard, Rhinoceros, Elephants and Cape Buffalo.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I'm aware this is After Hours which does open this discussion up to the more crass and flippant users on here but I'm gonna give this a go anyway.

Basically, I'm in final year of college and all I see is a life in the corporate world stretched out in front of me. I have interviews with the Big 4 and, despite the fact that I would rather blow my brains out than willingly work for them, I find myself preparing for the interviews even though I have no ambition or desire to pursue that career path.

For someone who despises the corporate world, what can they do in life? I'm studying Business & German so the degree is tailored for the corporate world and, being honest, I am dreading finishing college as I feel fairly lost about it all.

I've considered becoming a football manager as I do feel I have a talent for tactical analysis, scouting players and organisation in general. However, it's not exactly something you can just wander into and start work in and I can't afford to pay fees for another course in college.

I'm open to criticism, complaints and advice.

What exactly do you know of the 'corporate world'?

Probably not going to rank my advice as I have no clue what Big 4 even means, but why not travel for a while and see some of the world first? It gets more difficult later on with steady relationships and possibly children. With your German you could do some online translation work to get some funding, or work voluntarily and move about that way. Just even for a year or two, even to take a rest. School then college, then straight into full on work seems like such a hectic life to me - maybe I'm lazy, but I reckon its important to have time out too. I know young people can feel so serious and responsible and in a hurry, but let loose for a while. Get to know the world, get to know other people, get to know yourself, get to know where you might like to direct your energy in life. As Witchie said you could always work at one of these Big 4, whatever they are, for a year or so, while saving hard to fund travel. Life passes surprisingly fast. Money and career are promoted as being central and yet life will teach most of us that's an illusion, that there are far more important things.

Best of luck.

or real life.... not everyone has the means to be feckless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Guess who's going to be working with McDonalds...

Have you a bike? Deliveroo are recruiting, you
    could be a "Highly motivated, energetic and constantly forward moving human eclectic and multiethnic nutrition specialist, with a client base of several hundred personally attended to steakholders (sic).

Linked in loves that sh1t3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

lawred2 wrote: »
    or real life.... no everyone has the means to be feckless

Jesus, feckless?

feckless
    ADJECTIVE
    Lacking initiative or strength of character; irresponsible.

That's rather judgemental of you, isnt it. To travel and let loose a bit is not feckless. I've travelled and led a very responsible life, thanks, and have a great deal of initiative and strength of character, so take a running jump for yourself.

And I never travelled or lived on anyone elses means but my own - came from very low income background, never took a penny because there was none to have, so take another running jump after you have taken the first one.

Jesus, feckless?

feckless
    ADJECTIVE
    Lacking initiative or strength of character; irresponsible.

That's rather judgemental of you, isnt it. To travel and let loose a bit is not feckless. I've travelled and led a very responsible life, thanks, and have a great deal of initiative and strength of character, so take a running jump for yourself.

And I never travelled or lived on anyone elses means but my own - came from very low income background, never took a penny because there was none to have, so take another running jump after you have taken the first one.

pfffft

so have lots of people

You described leaving college into work as hectic. It's not. It's a necessary reality for most people.

The vast majority of those that travel after college (myself included) had to get out into the workplace first to fund those travels.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭victor8600

...I'm studying Business & German so the degree is tailored for the corporate world and, being honest, I am dreading finishing college as I feel fairly lost about it all. ...

Why did you go to study these specific subjects? Did your parents force you to take the course -- "Go study Business & German, oder ich scheiss dir eine Wendeltreppe ins Genick"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

OP I'd say give the corporate world a go.

You can always leave.

You might actually like it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Why not try a bit of blue sky thinking and combine business with football, Football is a business, after all, look up the board of director of say Liverpool FC they ain't ex-footballers or ex-managers they are business people.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Your Face wrote: »
    OP I'd say give the corporate world a go.

You can always leave.

You might actually like it.

This.

And save like hell, gain experience etc. Keep the bobs for your organic pop up pizza stall (not slagging)

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

My advice, learn Mandarin, move to China and take up football management there...

The often overlooked option.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Don't listen to anyone saying there isn't a route into football as a career. You have to be willing to leave the country though and start at a low level.

In lower league teams though the need for analysis and a team of coaches is there. You have to be smart though amd arm yourself with the skills such as analytical programs. In tandem learning the badges you will need and getting as much experience as you can.

Always seek to work under a successful manager no matter where you are. And if needs be do it for free, that's what it will take at times. You're building your value. Football is obviously everywhere so you have plenty of opportunity even if you don't fancy going into coaching, infact it's actually an area where you can work for Fifa, FA, Analytics teams, The press especially. So on and so fort though....it's a global industry you will be fine.

Honestly those talking about it as if it's not a feasable thing to get a good career out of football haven't a clue what they're talking about. But like anything you have to be willing to make the sacrifices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Surely the vast majority of managers are ex players. Mourino is an odd exception but then he did meet bobby robson. Benitez as well - maybe it’s more of a continental thing.

How many managers do courses at 21?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I got out of the corporate world recently. I moved from big firm IT to furniture restoration. I actually look forward to starting work in the morning.

I never considered myself as a hands on woodworking type, now it turns out that I'm quite good at it. Ok, so I found my dream job at 38, but I love it and my family is a lot happier because of that.

If you have treasured and/or useful furniture you want restored, give me a shout. North Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

I got out of the corporate world recently. I moved from big firm IT to furniture restoration. I actually look forward to starting work in the morning.

I never considered myself as a hands on woodworking type, now it turns out that I'm quite good at it. Ok, so I found my dream job at 38, but I love it and my family is a lot happier because of that.

If you have treasured and/or useful furniture you want restored, give me a shout. North Dublin.

Fair play chief.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭holy guacamole

It's not exactly coaching but Instat Sports have offices in Limerick and it sounds like a good starting point for someone who wants to make a career out of football.

https://ie.linkedin.com/jobs/view/football-analyst-at-instat-sports-co-853288064

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

For someone who despises the corporate world, what can they do in life? I'm studying Business & German so the degree is tailored for the corporate world and, being honest, I am dreading finishing college as I feel fairly lost about it all.

I'm open to criticism, complaints and advice.

Are you saying you can't teach German in Secondary School with this degree ?
    - I am sure teaching can also be satisfying, and you have longer hols

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

He'll need a desk for his new office.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭mistersifter

transition periods like this are always difficult and I completely get your feelings on the corporate world.

IMO you shouldnt go into the bank at all if you dont want to. Not even with the intention of saving up for a year or two and leaving. It's too easy to get stuck in that environment. That'll be where your experience lies and you'll find yourself preparing for interviews for promotion, just like you're preparing now for stuff you dont really want.

You dont wanna be Tim outta the office !! :D:D

Put your efforts into building a career in something you do like, now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

"So I was in my car, and I was driving along, and my boss rang up, and he said 'You've been promoted.' And I swerved.

And then he rang up a second time and said "You've been promoted again.' And I swerved again.

He rang up a third time and said 'You're managing director.' And I went into a tree.

And a policeman came up and said 'What happened to you?'

And I said 'I careered off the road.'

- Tommy Cooper

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

Hi everyone, OP here.

Some very interesting points made here, thank you all for the feedback.

To answer some queries:

No, my parents didn't force me to choose the course I am in, I picked in because I performed extremely well at those subjects while in school and wanted to play to my strengths.

I do have experience of the corporate world, although it is limited. I lived in Germany for a year and during my time there, I completed an internship in a fairly typical corporate environment.

I don't know a huge amount about the corporate world but my understanding of it as a final year university student is this: Every year, these corporate organisations come to colleges in Ireland and act like they are God's gift to us students. Every single bullsh#t application forms states rubbish like "Our people are extraordinary" or "We are different, unique etc." and they all request that you grovel at their feet by explaining "why you want to work for us". Anyway, they suck these final year students into this bubble of illusion by promising them a "rewarding and challenging career". And we buy the bollocks. We all seem to be buying it. Group think takes over as everyone hears about other people getting interviews and people start panicking and applying everywhere. They get an interview, then a job offer and they accept it. Then they're locked it. These companies pay 20 something grand a year and people shelf their lives' ambitions in order to pursue "a challenging and rewarding career". After they start working, they're locked in. It's difficult to break free, because we get comfortable receiving a wage every week. Your manager owns you and your coworkers are there simply to try and beat you to the promotion. Once you have children it's game over. That's my take on it anyway. It probably appears fairly cynical but it's also pretty accurate.

I simply don't believe that we were designed to sit in an office all day.

Side note - today i'm going to participate in a student based competition at a well known consulting firm in Dublin. Should be interesting to sample what bollocks they throw at us, I'll let ye know what they say.

mvl wrote: »
    Are you saying you can't teach German in Secondary School with this degree ?
    - I am sure teaching can also be satisfying, and you have longer hols

As far as I know, I cannot go into teaching as my course doesn't feature enough literature content.

It's not exactly coaching but Instat Sports have offices in Limerick and it sounds like a good starting point for someone who wants to make a career out of football.

https://ie.linkedin.com/jobs/view/football-analyst-at-instat-sports-co-853288064

Thank you for that, definitely going to look into this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Interesting post. I've worked in software development from the last ten years, from junior right up to lead level. I did well, got top marks in reviews year on year but on spending time with my father in hospital when he was ill, witnessing the work that the physio team did with him, it became clear to me immediately that it's what I'm meant to do. I've researched the area, playing with the idea of doing physical therapy or sports therapy instead, to gain certification as a physio and it's my dream job, without a doubt.

My wife is finishing off her training as a doctor and she is starting to make some decent money now, enough to enable me to go back to train as a physio. I'm in the process of getting my house in order to apply for a place in a degree course for the next academic year and I cannot wait to get into it. The excitement and anticipation that it brings does make the drudge of having to go into work as a software developer much hard though!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,087 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

OP, as someone who sits in an office all day rather than, say, a recording studio (where I'd happily sit all day), I feel your pain.

Having said that, just because you work in an office doesn't mean you suddenly become incapable of doing other things as well.

A good job often means good money which often means more opportunities to buy / do things.

The trick is to manage the work life balance and not to let work take over. And to avoid work related stress. You can be stressed out making furniture just as much as being an accountant.

My advice is to take the best job on offer, do it for a bit, make some cash, enjoy going on the p*ss every Friday after work, meet a nice boy / girl, have some good summer holidays, go on weekend breaks, buy some nice suits that will make you feel good when you wear them, and then see where you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

OP, as someone who sits in an office all day rather than, say, a recording studio (where I'd happily sit all day), I feel your pain.

Having said that, just because you work in an office doesn't mean you suddenly become incapable of doing other things as well.

A good job often means good money which often means more opportunities to buy / do things.

The trick is to manage the work life balance and not to let work take over. And to avoid work related stress. You can be stressed out making furniture just as much as being an accountant.

My advice is to take the best job on offer, do it for a bit, make some cash, enjoy going on the p*ss every Friday after work, meet a nice boy / girl, have some good summer holidays, go on weekend breaks, buy some nice suits that will make you feel good when you wear them, and then see where you are.

The work life balance aspect is becoming more of a problem though. The company I work for now expects people to live for the job. I don't partake in this myself, as I'm going back to study next year and I won't be looking for a promotion but the rest of work force have to play the game and they are answering emails at midnight etc now. The CEO who is championing this, was praising people who were answering mails whilst on annual leave last week.

Big 4 I guess in this context are the auditing firms KPMG, PWC, Deloitte, and Ernst and Young.

If you don't want to be an auditor don't be an auditor.
    If you don't know what you want to do there are worse things to than doing accounting exams and getting some experience. They take in a lot of people every year and churn them out again three years later. You won't be the only one.

I did a similar course to yourself many years ago and during an interview with one of the above firms in was asked why I wanted to be an auditor. I had prepared for the question but didn't have an honest answer for myself and said so in the interview - I didn't get the job.

If you do go corporate you don't have to all the hours etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,028 ✭✭✭COH

I found myself in a similar situation finishing college - so I gave myself a stay of execution and did a masters. Which didn't really help but it did help me do a PhD for another few years of procrastination.

By the end of all that I realised that I had little interest in academia as a career path, and still a little unsure about what other direction I could take I felt a little lost and demoralised by my lack of prospects despite a decent education. Now at the same time I had been working in a gym selling memberships, cleaning toilets, all the glamorous stuff as a means to pay my college tuition.

I looked around at the trainers and coaches and thought that might be a fun way to make a living, as I had been helping people train in a very ad hoc way so I got qualified/insured and started training a couple people each week for free until I became a recognisable trainer. That gathered momentum to the point that I quit my role working for the gym and started paying them rent to train my clients there instead.... fast forward about 5/6 years and I recently opened my own training facility in Dublin city center and will most likely never work for anyone in any capacity other than myself ever again.

Self employment is no walk in the park... however looking back my third level education equipped me with lots of transferable skills data analysis, project management, public speaking etc. that I didn't recognise at the time.

So chill out - you're in the same boat as most people your age - be patient and pursue things you are passionate about while earning enough doing the boring stuff in the trenches to keep a roof over your head. You have no idea what doors will open in the future but whatever you do in the interim should help you kick a few in too :)