Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Ossory Road - Crosbies Yard - How safe?

• 29-11-2012 1:56am
    Registered Users Posts: 3 turneep

Hi guys,

Basically I am looking at an apartment in this complex which I thought would be perfct but after doing a bit of research of the surrounding area I have read some real horror stories and am now second guessing that it may not be the best idea.

Had a look about on Google street view and the surrounding area does look a bit dodgy but that's old and looks can be deceiving of course. Im just wondering what people think of the surrounding area? Would my girlfriend be safe walking around on her own at 9 or 10 at night? I really dont want to be in an area where she would be intimidated walking home at night.

Thanks alot.

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

turneep wrote: »
    Hi guys,

Basically I am looking at an apartment in this complex which I thought would be perfct but after doing a bit of research of the surrounding area I have read some real horror stories and am now second guessing that it may not be the best idea.

Had a look about on Google street view and the surrounding area does look a bit dodgy but that's old and looks can be deceiving of course. Im just wondering what people think of the surrounding area? Would my girlfriend be safe walking around on her own at 9 or 10 at night? I really dont want to be in an area where she would be intimidated walking home at night.

Thanks alot.

Tell your girlfriend to go everywhere in her pyjamas and they will think she is a local and leave her alone! Seriously,that area is a kip and that development has a lot of issues as well.Do yourself a favour and avoid the whole area.I am from the northside of Dublin myself and have worked in that area so I am not being a snob.Nobody would leave their car parked down there at 9 or 10 at night, let alone their girlfriend

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

There are 'safer' areas about town alright to be fair.

Your main concern though should be the fact that there's a rail yard literally sharing a wall with the complex.

If you enjoy your lie ins that will definitely put paid to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭thesiren

Hi turneep, I'm actually looking at apartments in the same place - they're gorgeous, very affordable but I've been wondering how safe an area it is too, so it's a bit disappointing that there do seem to be such obvious downsides as the noise from the train.

Does anyone else have any advice/views?

• Registered Users Posts: 22 mirkomar

thesiren wrote: »
    Hi turneep, I'm actually looking at apartments in the same place - they're gorgeous, very affordable but I've been wondering how safe an area it is too, so it's a bit disappointing that there do seem to be such obvious downsides as the noise from the train.

Does anyone else have any advice/views?

Yes, prices are now interesting but there must be a reason for this and all the things said are a summary..
    I would be interested as well, but reading the comments from Neighbours.ie I am quite perplexed

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

pithater1 wrote: »
    There are 'safer' areas about town alright to be fair.

Your main concern though should be the fact that there's a rail yard literally sharing a wall with the complex.

If you enjoy your lie ins that will definitely put paid to that.

This is the only founded advise present in this thread. Having lived in the complex myself personally the rail road is a nightmare. I know some who still live there and have gotten used to it, although I supposed they weren't living in the apartments right facing the rail track and believe me you do not want to move in that side!

As for the "locals" in the complex, you will find a mix between very European and other ethnicities and certainly not the oul reliable unfounded "pyjama" wearing that muppets use to generalise all people that live in the city centre radius. You might get a bit of hassle off the lads around Church St but ffs people, we need to see people on here manning the fúck up because it is nowhere near as bad as some would have you believe. Particularly those passing through pretending to know a lot about the place! Ossory Road is practically dead at night, although you might want to make sure you lock your old car up to deter opportunist car thieves passing along! The other thing I would mention is that things can get very loud if you're sitting in your sitting room in the evening and parties are going on on other's balconies as the sound just echoes and it's a bit of a nuisance.

Jay D wrote: »
    This is the only founded advise present in this thread. Having lived in the complex myself personally the rail road is a nightmare. I know some who still live there and have gotten used to it, although I supposed they weren't living in the apartments right facing the rail track and believe me you do not want to move in that side!

As for the "locals" in the complex, you will find a mix between very European and other ethnicities and certainly not the oul reliable unfounded "pyjama" wearing that muppets use to generalise all people that live in the city centre radius. You might get a bit of hassle off the lads around Church St but ffs people, we need to see people on here manning the fúck up because it is nowhere near as bad as some would have you believe. Particularly those passing through pretending to know a lot about the place! Ossory Road is practically dead at night, although you might want to make sure you lock your old car up to deter opportunist car thieves passing along! The other thing I would mention is that things can get very loud if you're sitting in your sitting room in the evening and parties are going on on other's balconies as the sound just echoes and it's a bit of a nuisance.

I was not "passing through" as you call it.I have attended that complex in relation to a very serious incident which resulted in a fatality.There are at least 2 escorts working out of the complex in question.I have worked that area for close to 20 years so I am not "pretending" to know anything.There is not a laneway,street or complex in a 2 mile radius of that place that I have not been in,usually at hours of the night when the likes of you are in your bed.If you consider "locking your old car" as a deterrent to thieves who steal from cars you are mistaken.Regarding your "manning up" comment,the OP was asking about his girlfriends safety,not his own.It is dead at night, you are right.The member of the Gardai who was shot on Ossory road was shot during the day!"nowhere near as bad as some would have you believe",yeah right

The likes of me? Can you please explain how the likes of me are usually in bed at the times you were passing through? What is my job exactly?

The shooting incident you refer to was not a group on that street was it? It was in fact certain people who happened to be stopped on that street, genuinely could have been anywhere really. It was actually in the morning. Locking up your car will actually deter car thieves to some extent and although thieving is lesser when goods are not left on display I appreciate it can still happen.

Like you, I have also been through every passage around the area, over the last 20 years and it's not that bad. Show me a new development in Dublin which is escort free these days...

The likes of me? Can you please explain how the likes of me are usually in bed at the times you were passing through? What is my job exactly?

The shooting incident you refer to was not a group on that street was it? It was in fact certain people who happened to be stopped on that street, genuinely could have been anywhere really. It was actually in the morning. Locking up your car will actually deter car thieves to some extent and although thieving is lesser when goods are not left on display I appreciate it can still happen.

Like you, I have also been through every passage around the area, over the last 20 years and it's not that bad. Show me a new development in Dublin which is escort free these days...

Early hours of the morning so most people are in bed.The group of low life that shot the member of AGS were in THAT area for a reason.If you walk to the top of Ossory road you can turn left towards town and walk by the druggies at the clinic beside the garage,you can turn right and walk past the post office which has a permanent group of 3 to 8 junkies who hang around it or you can cross the road and walk by the cider drinkers on the canal.Not exactly great options are they?There are developments in the city that are not used as knocking shops

In all the years I've been there, I have not once saw them junkies you refer to constantly hanging around outside the post office. Not once, that's just waffle as far as i'm concerned.

Amien St is quite a distance when you consider the amount of life in between there and Ossory Road what with the North Strand, North William St, Larkin House and you've to go all the way down there to find some junkies who by the way I have never seen bother anyone around there. Certainly not something I'd like to have on my doorstep but it's not on the doorstep of Ossory Rd really is it?

As for those alcos along there, well they have come and gone over the years. I remember one such man years ago who used to always talk to the kids around the areas saying things like fúck the Pa*is, ni**ers and Chin*s. Quite vocal actually, I'm not pretending that sort of thing doesn't go on in an urban area but again I've not seen them interfere with anyone so what's the big deal? I remember early to mid 90s there been a bit of a problem along the North Strand with youths from further afield robbing from stalled traffic going up the bridge but that sort of stuff is long gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Generalisations will not be tolerated, bans will follow, no warnings

As for Junkies hanging around outside the post office, I have never seen it, I'd pass it every day.

In all the years I've been there, I have not once saw them junkies you refer to constantly hanging around outside the post office. Not once, that's just waffle as far as i'm concerned.

Amien St is quite a distance when you consider the amount of life in between there and Ossory Road what with the North Strand, North William St, Larkin House and you've to go all the way down there to find some junkies who by the way I have never seen bother anyone around there. Certainly not something I'd like to have on my doorstep but it's not on the doorstep of Ossory Rd really is it?

As for those alcos along there, well they have come and gone over the years. I remember one such man years ago who used to always talk to the kids around the areas saying things like fúck the Pa*is, ni**ers and Chin*s. Quite vocal actually, I'm not pretending that sort of thing doesn't go on in an urban area but again I've not seen them interfere with anyone so what's the big deal? I remember early to mid 90s there been a bit of a problem along the North Strand with youths from further afield robbing from stalled traffic going up the bridge but that sort of stuff is long gone.

Junkies and winos don't have to bother anyone to make an area bad.Their mere presence puts most people,including myself ,off. Thats why people call them "undesirables".If you don't mind looking at them,thats fine. Each to their own.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Paralysis

So... Would it be unsafe for 3 young women (18-22) to live in this complex? Travelling by car and bike mostly, and possibly at odd hours due to work - v. early mornings and late nights. Seriously considering buying an apartment but don't want to live in a dodgy area!

Paralysis wrote: »
    So... Would it be unsafe for 3 young women (18-22) to live in this complex? Travelling by car and bike mostly, and possibly at odd hours due to work - v. early mornings and late nights. Seriously considering buying an apartment but don't want to live in a dodgy area!

No it wouldn't be safe.Try and get something further out of town if you can.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Paralysis

repsol wrote: »

Ah, well I maybe should have said that I'm choosing between Crosbies Yard, the IFSC and Temple Bar. Out of town really isn't an option! How would it be compared to those areas?

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭Dubwat

What would put me off about Ossory Rd is that there is nothing within walking distance. You either have to go up onto the North Strand or go over to Church Rd (not St). E.g. getting a pint of milk late at night, watching a soccer match in the pub on a Sunday afternoon, walking for a pizza or chips (yeah, I know, who walks anymore!).

As well as the rail line, there's also a small industrial estate opposite/beside the apartment complex.

If it were me, I'd go a bit further out and look at places on the Malahide Rd/Howth Rd. It would add 10mins (?) to your commute but chances are you'd be using the same bus routes and you'd get a better class of pub/chip-shop/Spar etc...

Edit: just saw the OP wants to stay close to town. I'd avoid Temple Bar - just visit it at 4am at the weekend... IFSC is dead at the weekends but it is on the LUAS line... If you have the budget, maybe look on the southside over at the Grand Canal Docks area?

Ah, well I maybe should have said that I'm choosing between Crosbies Yard, the IFSC and Temple Bar. Out of town really isn't an option! How would it be compared to those areas?

Temple Bar is not an area I have worked to be honest. IFSC would be safer than Ossory Rd as there is more cctv and some blocks have security on Segways to deter riff raff. In spite of all that there have been spates of phone snatchings,mainly during daytime.One of the large businesses down there had plain clothes security employed to try to catch the thieves.I would have thought IFSC was in a totally different price bracket to Crosbies.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Main thing would be to rent and not buy for the moment IMO but that's another day's argument. All 3 locations would be as safe as the next really, so you'd need to look into what you have nearby and how loud the area might be among other things.

Crosbies Yard: Isolated, industrial estate and rail yard nearby.
    Temple Bar: Central, pubs and nightclubs all around you though.
    IFSC: Central enough, nothing that would make too much noise at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Out of the three, I'd choose the IFSC. Everything on your doorstep, close to the city centre, apartments are pretty nice for the most part.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 mirkomar

Crosbies yard apartments are a joke...
    I visited them and believe me when I say thay are not worth both for quality and location
    In any case... on north strand, just behind the corner, a guy was pissing daytime on the front of a pharmacy
    Wtf is this.. I did not give a **** at that time, but this should not be tolerable in a civilized area.. I vote for south dublin a million times... hey nothing personal, but if you tolerate this **** out of your door.. well, good luck!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

There's an old thread on boards about Crosbie's yard..the area sounds like a nightmare,badly built,terrible noise pollution from other apartments and seem to be full of tenants from all over who dont give a **** about the place.

To my mind that area will never be enetirely safe,even during the day..if you're gonna buy somewhere buy a house in an established area and forget about flimsy apartments taht will end up as ghettoes in a few years.

Just my two cents worth.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,215 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'd go with IFSC in a heartbeat out of those 3.
    Temple bar might sound great, but I'd say it's a poxy place to live. IFSC is a good central location and has a bit of space around there (quays, georges dock).

Coming from a person who lies to back up points :rolleyes:
    you can turn right and walk past the post office which has a permanent group of 3 to 8 junkies who hang around it

I would say the IFSC too though out of those 3. It can be a bit of an earache listening to the kids shouting for their Maaaaaaaaaaaaaa's on the balcony in some of the complexes but it's not that bad and otherwise fine.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Having lived in Temple Bar for over 2 years I would agree that it is not a nice place to live. The main issue is with the street "musicians" or for want better word noise makers. Having an amplified concert outside your window most nights is desperate and the Gardai in most cases won't help (although Temple Bar is apparently a "no amp zone" now, I'm not sure if that makes much difference). It's a handy place to live and you have plenty of shops/public transport/tesco near by, but the disadvantages far outway the advantages imo.
    The noise from the drunks and pubs isn't really that bad funnily enough, as most apartments there have double glazed windows. It's the amps that will drive you crackers though, Imagine not being able to talk to someone in the same room, listen to the TV or radio I found it was that bad

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

always google "place name + the accused".

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Savs17

turneep wrote: »
    Hi guys,

Thanks alot.

@turneep I realise this is an old thread but as this is the first thing that comes up when you google "crosbies yard" I really felt I had to correct some inaccuracies in this thread . As someone who has LIVED in crosbies yard for almost ten years I find a lot of what has been previously said in this thread to be grossly exaggerated and down right offensive . I bought this apartment with my then boyfriend almost 10 years ago (during the boom 😢) we have since married and had two kids . Our apartment is spacious and built to a good standard and the common area s are well kept and very clean . Our neibhours are a mix of ethnicities with a lot of Eastern Europeans and Irish professionals , none of the pajama wearing stereotype that some idiotic snob said earlier. We do not have a parking space and I have parked outside the complex for the past 8 years ( even after 10 at night shock horror ) I have had 1 incident about 7 years ago when a group of youths smashed the wing mirrors of mine and a couple other cars , that could and does happen ANYWHERE . As far as being safe I walk to the shops often at night and have NEVER had a bad experience . That being said we are in the city centre and you are going to come accross all sorts of people including junkies etc but that is not down to the apartment s and you would see that no matter where u lived in the city! For me it's a case of weighing up the convenience of living so close to the city with the draw back s such as this. I do eventually hope to move out of crosbies yard due to wanting my kids to have a house and a garden but for that reason only . Crobbies yard is ideal for a couple or working professionals and has an amazing rental yield for investors as it is so central . It's worth mentioning that I live on the block facing the river so do not hear the trains at all however this might be different in the block connected to the tracks . With regards to the escort rumours I have heard these but never seen anything to back it up , it may well be true but again it would be true of any apartment complex in the city and it's unfair to give this complex alone a bad wrap because of it . With regards to the guard who was shot on ossory road - that happened 10 years ago , was an isolated incident and he was followed there and shot by men not from this area . As a resident I'm happy to answer any questions anyone might have on the complex so feel free to PM me .

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭subpar

Savs17 wrote: »
    @turneep I realise this is an old thread but as this is the first thing that comes up when you google "crosbies yard" I really felt I had to correct some inaccuracies in this thread . As someone who has LIVED in crosbies yard for almost ten years I find a lot of what has been previously said in this thread to be grossly exaggerated and down right offensive . I bought this apartment with my then boyfriend almost 10 years ago (during the boom 😢) we have since married and had two kids . Our apartment is spacious and built to a good standard and the common area s are well kept and very clean . Our neibhours are a mix of ethnicities with a lot of Eastern Europeans and Irish professionals , none of the pajama wearing stereotype that some idiotic snob said earlier. We do not have a parking space and I have parked outside the complex for the past 8 years ( even after 10 at night shock horror ) I have had 1 incident about 7 years ago when a group of youths smashed the wing mirrors of mine and a couple other cars , that could and does happen ANYWHERE . As far as being safe I walk to the shops often at night and have NEVER had a bad experience . That being said we are in the city centre and you are going to come accross all sorts of people including junkies etc but that is not down to the apartment s and you would see that no matter where u lived in the city! For me it's a case of weighing up the convenience of living so close to the city with the draw back s such as this. I do eventually hope to move out of crosbies yard due to wanting my kids to have a house and a garden but for that reason only . Crobbies yard is ideal for a couple or working professionals and has an amazing rental yield for investors as it is so central . It's worth mentioning that I live on the block facing the river so do not hear the trains at all however this might be different in the block connected to the tracks . With regards to the escort rumours I have heard these but never seen anything to back it up , it may well be true but again it would be true of any apartment complex in the city and it's unfair to give this complex alone a bad wrap because of it . With regards to the guard who was shot on ossory road - that happened 10 years ago , was an isolated incident and he was followed there and shot by men not from this area . As a resident I'm happy to answer any questions anyone might have on the complex so feel free to PM me .

Fully endorse all of the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

IFSC OP, the tracksuit/pyjama clad brigade only like or understand their own kind, you'd be as much a foreigner to them as a law abiding Dub from a decent family as you would be as a continental European, simply not worth the risk.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 frankzappa

Resurfacing this blog post after a number of years.
    We are viewing some apartments in Crsobies Yard and evaluating a potential buy.
    Anybody currently living there? Would you recommend it ?
    We are a couple, both working professionals and looking to buy our first property. I read some mixed reviews so i was thinking if the situation improved in the last 4/5 years and if you have any feedback on the quality of the building/construction itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

Two friends of mine sold their apartments there last year. Finally had enough of the place after living there since they were built.
    Lots of issues with prostitutes working from various apartments.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

They seem very dear for what you get.

I was looking at buying a house not far from there in 2015 - universally warned off the area.