Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greta and the aristocrat sail the high seas to save the planet.

• 14-08-2019 9:43am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Climate saint Greta Trunburg is settling sail for UN climate talks in New York to demand that governments socially engineer and tax the little people into oblivion to save the planet. Accompanied by her film maker father who lives vicariously through her, a filthy rich aristocrat from Monaco and some German bloke the trip will no doubt vastly increase the wattage of her halo before she lectures us all about impending climate Armageddon in New York. Hopefully snaps from the trip will make it into Hello! Magazine.

• Greta is receiving ferocious criticism, which means a nerve has been struck. The personal attacks from some quarters highlighting her autism are unwarranted. I don't doubt her sincerity for a minute. Good luck to the young woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭MontgomeryClift

As someone on Twitter said this morning, it's like a woke remake of The Omen.

grta.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

Climate saint Greta Trunburg is settling sail for UN climate talks in New York to demand that governments socially engineer and tax the little people into oblivion to save the planet. Accompanied by her film maker father who lives vicariously through her, a filthy rich aristocrat from Monaco and some German bloke the trip will no doubt vastly increase the wattage of her halo before she lectures us all about impending climate Armageddon in New York. Hopefully snaps from the trip will make it into Hello! Magazine.

Should do it via video link if they were serious about it

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Greta is receiving ferocious criticism, which means a nerve has been struck. The personal attacks from some quarters on her autism are unwarranted. I don't doubt her sincerity for a minute. Good luck to the young woman.

I don't doubt her sincerity but I do doubt the motives of some of those latching onto her crusade. This latest event is laudable in that it's absolutely consistent with her beliefs but still a gimmick in the real world.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Feisar

As long as she sails back.

First they came for the socialists...

There’s no toilet on the boat.

How is crapping in the sea good for the environment?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Should do it via video link if they were serious about it

This kind of comment always reminds me of this:
    https://thenib.imgix.net/usq/8688038d-f99b-4224-872b-b8dd626f868c/mister-gotcha-4-9faefa.png

There's a reason she's doing it in an odd, possibly even grandiose way. It's making a statement.

A single ship sailing to New York does not matter to climate change in the grand scheme. It's not hypocrisy to do this when the purpose is to try and instigate larger-scale change.

If she was just some girl making video calls to world leaders, nobody would hear about it. Her message would go unheard by the public, and therefore ignored by politicians.

Instead she's making a grand statement, accompanied by a media circus. In order to make the public listen. Because if the public isn't listening, the politicians don't care. The more pictures in Hello magazine, the better.

You can call her an attention seeker all you like, because that's the whole damn point.

Yes, we all as individuals need to make an effort to do our part, but we also need change to be insitigated and enforced from the top down.

Everyone and everything has to change if we're to save our species. It's not "someone else's problem", and whinging about taxation and pointing at corporations makes you part of the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Aegir wrote: »
    There’s no toilet on the boat.

How is crapping in the sea good for the environment?

It's vegan crap. The boat has been stocked with freeze dried vegan meals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

She has asbergers, and as such is above criticism.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,848 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Greta is receiving ferocious criticism, which means a nerve has been struck. The personal attacks from some quarters highlighting her autism are unwarranted. I don't doubt her sincerity for a minute. Good luck to the young woman.

I get a very disturbing vibe from people like the OP and loons that show up ranting about her in any climate change threads, not suggesting paedophilia, but it's just bizarre that a young girl with an interest in environmentalism or politics triggers such intense negative feelings in so many adult males, this isn't just 'oh Leonardo DiCaprio or Al Gore are at it again', they're literally foaming at the mouth over it and flinging slurs at her and her family. Why? Something definitely not right about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭MarquisDeSad

Fascinating to see the emotive ire she's receiving.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

seamus wrote: »
    There's a reason she's doing it in an odd, possibly even grandiose way. It's making a statement.

Thats a fair point I did initially think the closest to emission free would be a skype call, but you are right it is about getting the media attention.

Not sure I really agree with her statement "it’s absurd that you have to sail across the Atlantic Ocean like this to get there with no emissions", its a big bloody journey. If you want to get there with any sense of speed it is going to take a chunk of energy that is very hard to supply emission free.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Why does the media not care about Boyan Slat ?
    someone who is doing something, not some spoilt **** having a hissy fit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Nermal

Because it's obvious she's being deliberately built up by the media.

The attention she gets is not 'organic', it's orchestrated. It helps the media in getting clicks from supporters and from detractors, and it helps manufacture consensus for an environmental agenda. It's transparent manipulation. Of course that will make people mad!

It's a bizarre phenomenon. Since when did we value the opinions of children?

Nermal wrote: »

Because it's obvious she's being deliberately built up by the media.

The attention she gets is not 'organic', it's orchestrated. It helps the media in getting clicks from supporters and from detractors, and it helps manufacture consensus for an environmental agenda. It's transparent manipulation. Of course that will make people mad!

It's a bizarre phenomenon. Since when did we value the opinions of children?

Again fascinating. It's almost if people are ignoring what issues she is directly pointing at and just pointing at her.

Why does the media not care about Boyan Slat ?
    someone who is doing something, not some spoilt **** having a hissy fit.

Who's ignoring boyan slat? He was featured on BBC quite recently.

Sounds like your emotions about Greta are very strong. What is it that makes you so afraid of Greta?.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Must be a slow day in Moscow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Mancomb Seepgood

I honestly don't get why a small group of people are getting so upset about Greta Thunberg."Manufacturing consensus":the scientific consensus is that the climate crisis we are already witnessing is caused by human activity.That being the case,why attack a young person who is genuinely concerned for their own future and is trying to put forward the case for immediate action.

It's a definite trend on Boards: activism on any issue gets written off as "virtue signalling".Bonus points if the activist is female.

Thargor wrote: »
    I get a very disturbing vibe from people like the OP and loons that show up ranting about her in any climate change threads, not suggesting paedophilia, but it's just bizarre that a young girl with an interest in environmentalism or politics triggers such intense negative feelings in so many adult males, this isn't just 'oh Leonardo DiCaprio or Al Gore are at it again', they're literally foaming at the mouth over it and flinging slurs at her and her family. Why? Something definitely not right about it.

I think it's strange that grown adults put such stock into what a child is saying.
    I'm not sure why everyone has to jump on the Greta bandwagon because she is a child who clearly has someone pushing her from behind.
    Why take anymore notice of her than the Las that lives next door? Why can I not have an opinion about her because she is a child? If she is adult enough to preach to the world & world governments then surely she can also be criticized.

I don't feel too strongly about her either way, but don't get the mass love for her. I'd prefer to listen to a scientist Tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

I'm not getting particularly angry about her. I actually never heard about her until this thread. Fair play for pursuing her convictions.

However there is something disturbing about the super rich dictating public policy to the extent that a 1 percenter child, with fairly simplistic positions, outweighs the views and opinions of millions of us normies through an elitist stunt. The media hype around this is similarly disturbing.

Lastly it's unsettling that any criticism of this is dismissed and vilified as (just taking the first page of this thread) paedophilia and sexism.

Again fascinating. It's almost if people are ignoring what issues she is directly pointing at and just pointing at her.

What's particularly fascinating about people looking at the story behind the story?

If I see a story getting a lot of coverage, I ask: who put it there and why?

I don't just take it at face value.

Nermal wrote: »

What's particularly fascinating about people looking at the story behind the story?

If I see a story getting a lot of coverage, I ask: who put it there and why?

I don't just take it at face value.

What is she pointing at though? You haven't acknowledge it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭two wheels good

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I'm not getting particularly angry about her. I actually never heard about her until this thread. Fair play for pursuing her convictions.

However there is something disturbing about the super rich dictating public policy to the extent that a 1 percenter child, with fairly simplistic positions, outweighs the views and opinions of millions of us normies through an elitist stunt. The media hype around this is similarly disturbing.

Lastly it's unsettling that any criticism of this is dismissed and vilified as (just taking the first page of this thread) paedophilia and sexism.

Really? And yet you're so quick with your considered evaluation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Really? And yet you're so quick with your considered evaluation.

I don't understand what you're trying to say here, can you be more clear?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,389 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There are UN climate change talks happening in New York.
    Is she somehow going to contribute something useful with this stunt that none of the participants are? Is she the chairperson???
    The UN talks are what the discussion should be about, this isn't a bunch of people meeting in someone's gaff. It's the UN.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

I honestly don't get why a small group of people are getting so upset about Greta Thunberg."Manufacturing consensus":the scientific consensus is that the climate crisis we are already witnessing is caused by human activity.That being the case,why attack a young person who is genuinely concerned for their own future and is trying to put forward the case for immediate action.

It's a definite trend on Boards: activism on any issue gets written off as "virtue signalling".Bonus points if the activist is female.

Classic Hegelian dialectics in play. The problem is offered up to us. Propaganda is used to garner support and get the desired reaction from the public. Once the public is softened up enough by the propaganda then they will accept the solution. Get poor and loose basic freedoms to save the planet, that's the solution. That doesn't apply to the aristocrat from Monaco though, the real "climate sacrifice" only applies to the little people.

• Registered Users Posts: 905 ✭✭✭mikep

I think she is to be admired for this as this is not the type of boat for an afternoons easy sailing around dublin bay..It's a full blown ocean racing yacht..also it does have a toilet..

It's like a 16 year old non driver hitching a lift on an F1 car going full tilt around Monaco..

Check it out here :https://team-malizia.com/en/boat/

If she raises more global awareness, good on her...

Easy for people to knock it..

What is she pointing at though? You haven't acknowledge it.

Climate change. But the fact that she's pointing at it is not particularly interesting in itself, no matter how much I'm told otherwise.
    "Manufacturing consensus":the scientific consensus is that the climate crisis we are already witnessing is caused by human activity.

I don't mean it in that sense - I mean consensus would have to be manufactured to make people to accept a lower standard of living to mitigate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

With chunks of ice breaking from the Arctic ice sheet is it too much to hope for Titanic 2??

odyssey06 wrote: »

There are UN climate change talks happening in New York.
    Is she somehow going to contribute something useful with this stunt that none of the participants are? Is she the chairperson???
    The UN talks are what the discussion should be about, this isn't a bunch of people meeting in someone's gaff. It's the UN.

Are you going to pay attention to the UN discussion or are you just going to point at her?