the deleted information was stored on the separate server, no one had access to it. With the database merge complete, the information has now been permanently removed.
In other words, your "deleted" kits can't be accessed easily but we have them under lock and key.....for a few years, until such time people forget about them and we can then sell them on.
"the information has now been permanently removed"
but you will note the email does not state they have been DELETED from ALL severs just REMOVED from the live site sever. They still have them on another hidden sever..........
This is all very disappointing, I trusted the site when I uploaded kits a few years ago and I even encouraged other people to do it. But at the same time I dont believe its only gedmatch, I believe it would be common practise and all the other dna sites to behave in the same way. Once they have your dna, they always have it even if you delete it.
Now, I am not a person that really cares that they are hoodwinking us all like this and I am not going to delete my kits. What I am worried about is that we will most likely over a period of time see less and less people doing dna and so for people like myself that love researching dna matches - we will hit a wall. Although, I believe it has already started, dna has hit its saturation point.