Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Your favourite unsolved mystery?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,102 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The three assumptions the prosecution made about the jury were:
    1. They would listen during the testimony
    2. They would understand the testimony
    3. They would consider the testimony in rendering their verdict.

None of these happened.

Instead the jury were driven by preconceived notions and heavily influenced by the media circus going on. There was also the fact they probably fancied themselves as celebrities for being on the jury of the "trial of the century".

None of that is really relevant to what I posted.

But If the prosecution did make those assumptions then they are idiots and it is no surprise they lost.

beerguts wrote: »
    I would really love if Genghis Khan's tomb could be found. I have some suspicions that descendents of his still maintain the location of his resting place. The reason for this is shamanism is still practised in parts of Mongolia and he would be revered as part of this. That is my theory anyways.

His family at the time didn't know where it was. Everyone that did know was killed

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭beerguts

His family at the time didn't know where it was. Everyone that did know was killed

Yeah I have read that but I would love if there was a secret society in Mongolia dedicated to keeping his resting place secret. Hollywood has me ruined!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

beerguts wrote: »
    Yeah I have read that but I would love if there was a secret society in Mongolia dedicated to keeping his resting place secret. Hollywood has me ruined!!
    I remember reading that in my teens, in one of the St. Michaels books that used to appear in Marks & Spencers. Loved them...

Anyway, I have never looked it up since, I never remembered to.

I think it was something like this; The people that made the funeral wreaths/silk/planted trees or whatever was used and coffin etc. were killed after the funeral by the military that oversaw the funeral. Then they in turn were killed by the specialist army (Genghis' hand picked soldiers) and they all committed suicide after diverting a river over his burial area and then planting trees (or possibly before all the killings) where the river once stood.
    Must have a look for it tomorrow. A bit late tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 War ensemble

I am fascinated by the MH370 mystery. It seems almost certain that it was murder/suicide by one of the pilots. But why go to such great lengths and detailed planning to avoid detection.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭Corvo

I am fascinated by the MH370 mystery. It seems almost certain that it was murder/suicide by one of the pilots. But why go to such great lengths and detailed planning to avoid detection.

There was a great "long read" on something like the New York times about a man called Blaine Gibson who travels around Malaysia and other areas collecting pieces of the aircraft that eventually wash ashore. It starts with that but really deeply investigates the flight simulator that the pilot had at home and that he did his practice run on before the awful day he went through with it.

This man Blaine Gibson has been receiving death threats also, from who I am not sure, but really puts another interesting if horrific angle to the whole thing.

I'll try dig it out for you if I can somehow find it, but it has been a long time since I read it.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭voldejoie

Corvo wrote: »
    There was a great "long read" on something like the New York times about a man called Blaine Gibson who travels around Malaysia and other areas collecting pieces of the aircraft that eventually wash ashore. It starts with that but really deeply investigates the flight simulator that the pilot had at home and that he did his practice run on before the awful day he went through with it.

This man Blaine Gibson has been receiving death threats also, from who I am not sure, but really puts another interesting if horrific angle to the whole thing.

I'll try dig it out for you if I can somehow find it, but it has been a long time since I read it.

I think it's in The Atlantic :)

https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2019/07/mh370-malaysia-airlines/590653/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭Corvo

voldejoie wrote: »

Thats the one, thank you!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Suckit wrote: »
    I remember reading that in my teens, in one of the St. Michaels books that used to appear in Marks & Spencers. Loved them...

Anyway, I have never looked it up since, I never remembered to.

I think it was something like this; The people that made the funeral wreaths/silk/planted trees or whatever was used and coffin etc. were killed after the funeral by the military that oversaw the funeral. Then they in turn were killed by the specialist army (Genghis' hand picked soldiers) and they all committed suicide after diverting a river over his burial area and then planting trees (or possibly before all the killings) where the river once stood.
    Must have a look for it tomorrow. A bit late tonight.

Yeah, but the last one standing must have known that nobody but him survived to tell the tale. So he could have just lowered his hand, and carried on back to his remote village, keeping mum.
    I mean, even if I was a devoted soldier of Genghis, that's what I would have done. A suicide wish does not make a good soldier.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,527 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Apologies if this was mentioned earlier, but I came across this in another message board recently.

Three men:
    Gus Shanahan
    Mathew Carroll
    Des Walsh.

All worked as security guards for Dell in Limerick and went missing within two years of each other. Only Gus has been found and identified - and that was 18 years after he disappeared, despite the remains being found only after a year.

Hardly a coincidence?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Apologies if this was mentioned earlier, but I came across this in another message board recently.

Three men:
    Gus Shanahan
    Mathew Carroll
    Des Walsh.

All worked as security guards for Dell in Limerick and went missing within two years of each other. Only Gus has been found and identified - and that was 18 years after he disappeared, despite the remains being found only after a year.

Hardly a coincidence?

Crazy alright. Its possible though I guess. Dell employed 2000 people in Limerick, mainly young people at that time. 3 young lads, all out drinking, could've just told the wrong person to **** off one night? It happens.

The Nal wrote: »
    It happens.

In films.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,985 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Excellent article, definitely lays to rest the vast majority of mystery surrounding MH370, for me anyway

In films.

I know/know of a couple of people who were killed like that. Drunken argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Three men:
    Gus Shanahan
    Mathew Carroll
    Des Walsh.

Hardly a coincidence?

Three young men working in menial work, in a city with a reputation for being fairly disadvantaged and a bit grim (at least at the time) in a country with a reputation for having a mental health system that’s entirely unfit for purpose.
    Suicide in all three cases isn’t that unlikely is it?
    Also considering that they were near to the largest river in the country which has a reputation as a suicide spot

• Registered Users Posts: 4,870 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

punchdrunk wrote: »
    Three young men working in menial work, in a city with a reputation for being fairly disadvantaged and a bit grim (at least at the time) in a country with a reputation for having a mental health system that’s entirely unfit for purpose.
    Suicide in all three cases isn’t that unlikely is it?
    Also considering that they were near to the largest river in the country which has a reputation as a suicide spot

That's the most likely explanation. Suicides often occur in clusters.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

That's the most likely explanation. Suicides often occur in clusters.

Sadly I think so.

That was a very interesting read

3 young lads, all out drinking, could've just told the wrong person to **** off one night? It happens.

I know/know of a couple of people who were killed like that. Drunken argument.

Exceptionally rare and unlikely situation, so much so; it gets a mention on a boards thread about unsolved mysteries, as it's so unusual.. yet you know a couple of people who have been killed like that?

Yes I know a couple of people who have been killed after a drunken argument. I know a few people who have killed themselves while drunk too.

What part of this are you having trouble understanding?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,601 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Let's just say, I'd be very reluctant to take a job as doorman in that particular nightclub.

Jinx or what?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Between 1969-70 four Belfast schoolboys went missing in less than five months (two disappeared on the same day)
    "The four school boys who went missing are:

Jonathan Aven, aged 14y, from 21 Sydenham Drive, Belfast. He disappeared on September 20, 1969;

David Leckey, 12, vanished five d
    ays later on the September 25, 1969;

John David Glennon, 16, from Divismore Crescent, Andersontown Road;

Ronald Kirk, 16, from Barn Road, Carrickfergus. John Glennon and Ronald Kirk both disappeared on January 8, 1970.

'My understanding is that these boys still remain missing. I also am aware of at least one other boy that went missing in 1969 by the name of J.Lesithen.'"

https://www.reddit.com/r/UnresolvedMysteries/comments/8l51ui/between_196970_four_belfast_schoolboys_went/

Also the unsolved murder case of young Brian McDermott:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_McDermott_(murder_victim)

Also in 1974 Thomas Spence (11) and John Rodgers (13) disappeared on their way to school.

Lyra McKee was said to be writing a book about the latter cases at the time of her murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,568 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Long Island Serial Killer

What the fck was that all about.

From Dr Peter Hackett to Police Chief James Burke all shady as fck

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9203311/Disgraced-former-police-chief-shrouded-accusations-tied-Gilgo-Beach-killings.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

The unsolved murder of Penny Bell in 1991.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Penny_Bell

The disappearance of Peter Falconio. Too many things make the conviction dodgy. Starting with the initial description of the Murdoch (the man convicted) by the girlfriend that changed. The identification of Murdoch from mugshots after pictures of murdoch had appeared in the newspapers. The DNA evidence or rather that their wasnt much more of it. There are also two people who say they seen Falconio after the disappearance in a different part of austrlia.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,713 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I do find missing people cases interesting

Find it so eery looking at the missing people section on garda.ie. some people missing over 30+ years

It's both tragic and intriguing, pure speculation but with the amount of non nationals missing for years and years you would assume it may be a case of people trafficking. Another possibility for a few would be there simply lost in deep sea. So tragic and hard on familes and loved ones of the missing

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭Walking_Wolf

It would be strange to describe this as my "favourite" or anything like that, but the unsolved murder of Raonaid Murray is one that I think of every now and then. What are the chances that the person/persons who murdered her will be brought to justice all these years later. IIRC the Gardaí claimed that they found DNA under Raonaid's fingernails and that it was from a woman? Hard to believe it's been almost 22 years now. I hope whoever extinguished Raonaid's spirit is brought to justice.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Kurt Cobain’s “suicide”. In all likelihood, David Grohl had some goons do him in to further his own career. Nobody cares about the soppy drummer. He needed the spotlight on him. Or was it the wife? We need Dennis Farina on the case, but he’s dead too sadly.

Looks like we’ll never know for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

It would be strange to describe this as my "favourite" or anything like that, but the unsolved murder of Raonaid Murray is one that I think of every now and then. What are the chances that the person/persons who murdered her will be brought to justice all these years later. IIRC the Gardaí claimed that they found DNA under Raonaid's fingernails and that it was from a woman? Hard to believe it's been almost 22 years now. I hope whoever extinguished Raonaid's spirit is brought to justice.

Very sad case. I hadn’t heard that there was female DNA under Raonaid’s fingernails but one of the people investigating the case said that the angle and force of the attack, along with the size of the blade, pointed to a female killer. One “known” to the victim.

Unfortunately, whenever an anniversary comes around and interest is renewed the conversation gets “shutdown” fairly quickly once suspicion ultimately falls on a relation of someone, formerly, high up in the IRA.

Always found the repeated vandalism of the grave and the, seemingly coordinated, attack on the memorial website that was set up in her memory, which was then taken down, abhorrent. Really is sickening that a, mobilised, online group would stoop so low.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Very sad case. I hadn’t heard that there was female DNA under Raonaid’s fingernails but one of the people investigating the case said that the angle and force of the attack, along with the size of the blade, pointed to a female killer. One “known” to the victim.

Unfortunately, whenever an anniversary comes around and interest is renewed the conversation gets “shutdown” fairly quickly once suspicion ultimately falls on a relation of someone, formerly, high up in the IRA.

Always found the repeated vandalism of the grave and the, seemingly coordinated, attack on the memorial website that was set up in her memory, which was then taken down, abhorrent. Really is sickening that a, mobilised, online group would stoop so low.
    The assumption the case is stallled due to IRA Is bolox