Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Retail assault

• 28-02-2021 1:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6

Hello,

I am currently working in a supermarket,

Yesterday I was working in the self checkouts, a group of five travellers came through as usual with no masks on.

As they were purchasing alcohol I had to go over and approve the sale of the alcohol by scanning my card, I kindly asked them to step back so that they went on top of me, after a mouthful of verbal abuse from them, they eventually took a few steps back and I noticed that the self service checkout was also saying that the weight was off as all items placed in the bagging area after a customer scans them get weighed, long story short I saw one of them put a bottle of whisky down that hadn't been scanned when I asked them if they wanted to take it, I scanned it through and approved for the rest of the alcohol.

When I was approving it one of them came up behind me and started putting the money in the machine when I was still in the process of approving the alcohol, I again politely told him to step back both for his safety and my own personal safety. He gave me more verbal abuse then coughed at me.

We experience this abuse on a daily basis from anti makers and so on, a complete lack of regard for anyone else but them selves.

A colleague of mine refused to go over and approve their alcohol a day before and got into trouble with HR, I was just wondering if anyone has any advice in regards to our rights for refusing to serve any customers who don't follow social distancing.

I have no problem with people who genuinely can't wear a mask for certain medical reasons even though the majority of people who do have a legitimate do wear masks and even if they can't wear a mask will often wear a visor and socially distance if we have to approve their alcohol.

We are absolutely sick of the verbal and physical abuse such as being coughed on intentionally. Shoud I report this assault to the police and let them deal with it or should I speak to a manager first although after what happened to my colleague the other day it seems like management themselves have no respect for us employees who face such issues on a daily basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Have security stand there with ye

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Samantha0

Have security stand there with ye

He was already watching them, however he himself is fearful to intervene when there are 5 of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭dobman88

Call the Gards and report the coughing as an assault, because that's what it is.

People have been prosecuted for coughing in a Gardas face, a quick Google will throw up results to cases. Shop security are generally a waste of time and just looking for a handy number. Call the Gards asap and let them know so they at least have a record of it. Whatever about people being completely thick enough to not wear a mask, theres absolutely no reason to cough in your face, ever, and especially during a pandemic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Get manger to stand with

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Gardai, call them yourself, record if possible but depending on what employer procedure is, you can request the footage under gdpr and I'd go further with it.

Someone purposely coughing like that is now a big no no and you could make a statement to the Gardai....

It's shocking what they are allowed away with.

Disgusting human beings, nobody in any job should have to face that, security or you.

Your employer has a legal responsibility to protect you also, if you need more information don't hesitate to ask.

I would do as mentioned above.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,657 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

dobman88 wrote: »
    Call the Gards and report the coughing as an assault, because that's what it is.

People have been prosecuted for coughing in a Gardas face, a quick Google will throw up results to cases. Shop security are generally a waste of time and just looking for a handy number. Call the Gards asap and let them know so they at least have a record of it. Whatever about people being completely thick enough to not wear a mask, theres absolutely no reason to cough in your face, ever, and especially during a pandemic.

Have any travellers been prosecuted for any Covid19 related rule breaking?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

You need to report this to your employer and An Garda Síochána.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

Op, this was a problem of your making.
    You knew what you were dealing with and you're talking about politely asking them this and that. Hit approve and if you think they're robbing tell security.

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭jay1988

antix80 wrote: »
    You knew what you were dealing with and you're talking about politely asking them this and that. Hit approve and if you think they're robbing tell security.

Seriously, the chap has been assaulted at work and he created the problem? What world do you live in?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Cop on

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Have any travellers been prosecuted for any Covid19 related rule breaking?

Good one. I’ve seen traveller weddings and funerals with 100+ in attendance and gardai turning a complete blind eye to it.

Oh great one of those....

Seriously this mentality needs to stop, the op was going their job as directed, to be honest it gets to the point in these jobs you just get so use to asking.

Scum are scum and it was in no way the ops fault.

Victim shaming

• Registered Users Posts: 13,981 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

It’s only February but I think this could be a contender at the end of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Have to agree with you there Management says to approve it, just go over press the button get them out of the place as quickly as you can. If they take an extra bottle, that's security problem no point of being a hero on minimum wage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Victim blaming?

Wow didn't expect the reaction.

What i meant was.... With the upmost respect to the travelling community... Coughing at you was the least of what these people are capable of.

If management turned them away they'd end up paying them 5k a piece.

For the sake of a €20 btl of whiskey i'd double mask, say "you're over 18,lolz" and hit approve.

No assault. No tears. Nothing to me.

Wow didn't expect the reaction.

What i meant was.... With the upmost respect to the travelling community... Coughing at you was the least of what these people are capable of.

If management turned them away they'd end up paying them 5k a piece.

For the sake of a €20 btl of whiskey i'd double mask, say "you're over 18,lolz" and hit approve.

No assault. No tears. Nothing to me.

And then be questioned why you approved, why they were under 18 etc etc... Can of worms.

Just because one is a traveller doesn't mean then can do as they please....

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

And then be questioned why you approved, why they were under 18 etc etc... Can of worms.

Just because one is a traveller doesn't mean then can do as they please....

Well ......

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

No surprise your colleague got in trouble. I've seen plenty of shops that would rather their staff gets covid than lose even 5 euro worth of sales by falling out with a customer

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

No surprise your colleague got in trouble. I've seen plenty of shops that would rather their staff gets covid than lose even 5 euro worth of sales by falling out with a customer

With these boyd it's not the few euro of sales.

It's the massive claim x 5 they'll face in the coming months

With these boyd it's not the few euro of sales.

It's the massive claim x 5 they'll face in the coming months

That's the point.. One of the reasons they're so brazen. The other being they'll beat the **** out of you.

Look, I'm not that concerned about covid. If i were, i wouldn't work checkouts. But why confront 5 travellers and tell them to maintain a sicial distance. It doesn't make sense. The ppl op encountered were attempting to steal and intimidate. Is it really a good time to teach them social distancing etiquette?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,981 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

That's the point.. One of the reasons they're so brazen. The other being they'll beat the **** out of you.

Look, I'm not that concerned about covid. If i were, i wouldn't work checkouts. But why confront 5 travellers and tell them to maintain a sicial distance. It doesn't make sense. The ppl op encountered were attempting to steal and intimidate. Is it really a good time to teach them social distancing etiquette?

Why charge them for the items at all?

Dav010 wrote: »
    Why charge them for the items at all?

The company installed self service checkouts.. Ask them.

• Registered Users Posts: 376 ✭✭Warbeastrior

I just want to stay thank you to the OP for their steller work in this pandemic amidst very challenging working conditions.
    That is absolutely abhorrent behaviour and simply not on.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Victim blaming?

F me this chestnut. The poster offered solid real world advice and this muck is the response. It’s not like the Gardaí will be down in 2 mins and sort out the problem. I was told by a traveller I was refusing in a pub once that it was only a day out for him. The rest of us don’t want a day in court. It’s not about winning in these situations, it’s about cruising through the day with the least amount of hassle possible. There’s no medals for being right on.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,415 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Cops won't do anything to them turn a blind eye seen them walking around shops with no masks and the brazen look on their faces. OP shouldn't have been left in such a risky situation, security and duty manager should have been over to watch the but probably both frightened of them. I would have left them waiting the self checkouts wouldn't have accepted the cash as it recognise the extra bottle in the bagging area. Well done Enda Kenny for giving the travellers this kind of power to harrass businesses and their employees.
    If they come in again let theanafer and security deal with them if you're on the self checkouts

• Registered Users Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Esse85

I'd suggest reporting to the gardai and looking for another employer, one that puts its employee's health and safety ahead of company profits.
    Nobody should have to suffer intimidation like that during work and be expected to be cool with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Morathi

Samantha0 wrote: »

A colleague of mine refused to go over and approve their alcohol a day before and got into trouble with HR, I was just wondering if anyone has any advice in regards to our rights for refusing to serve any customers who don't follow social distancing.

This is terrible management tbh, and if they weren't wearing masks, your colleague needs to go complain higher.

In the current state of the pandemic in Ireland, forcing someone to deal with multiple people not wearing masks is literally forcing that person to knowingly put their own health at risk. If that was me, and I got sh1t from HR, I'd be going to my solicitor.

If your employer is not enforcing mask wearing, they're also putting their whole store at risk, employees and customers.

Tesco now let's cashiers approve alcohol remotely rather than from the checkout being used. They weighed up the risk of approving under 18s vs covid precautions.
    I'd nearly guess op worked in supervalu. Shambles of a self service checkout system there

• Registered Users Posts: 6,657 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Good one. I’ve seen traveller weddings and funerals with 100+ in attendance and gardai turning a complete blind eye to it.

Gardai are too scared of them to tackle them. The dogs on the street know they are a law unto themselves and can do anything they want. I sympathise with the OP but the advice of telling the Gardai simply wont go anywhere and they need to factor that into any action or shift in mindset they adopt.