Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Trouble on Tory Island...

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Are the Islanders not entitled to a decent boat whether tourists go there or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

hurler32 wrote: »
    Fine Gael are only concerned about the greater Dublin Area , if they could get rid of the islands boat altogether the money could go towards some rugby pitch in a South Dublin school ...

That's a load of bollocks. FG are trying to rollout fibre optic broadband to every one-off house in the backarse of nowhere, while they keep stalling on Dublin North Metro. They also built a dual carriage way to bypass Tuam which has a population of almost 9,000. The government are also building a bridge to bypass New Ross, with its population of 5,000. Considering this entire country is subsidised by Dublin and Cork, rural areas receive a hughly disproportionate amount of investment in their favour compared to what they put in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Odelay

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Had exactly the same thought myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Odelay

The British island of Lundy is served by a much older ferry, the MS Oldenburg. Built way back in 1958

Grand yoke. I never liked the idea of condemning a machine just because it's old

You and your common sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,981 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

511 wrote: »
    That's a load of bollocks. FG are trying to rollout fibre optic broadband to every one-off house in the backarse of nowhere, while they keep stalling on Dublin North Metro. They also built a dual carriage way to bypass Tuam which has a population of almost 9,000. The government are also building a bridge to bypass New Ross, with its population of 5,000. Considering this entire country is subsidised by Dublin and Cork, rural areas receive a hughly disproportionate amount of investment in their favour compared to what they put in.

it's not disproportionate, but in line with the ideals of bringing the country up to a high standard (for what it's worth, the new-ross bridge and tuam by-pass are a waste of money)

shut down alcohol action ireland now! end MUP today!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I think it all boils down to boat no 1, and its operator, and boat no. 2 and its operator.

It is all based on who you know and what you know.

The current operator missed out on the contract, so the Islanders are going mad with the new one.

Brave new operator there!

Anyway if they all moved to the mainland, good luck to them. I am sure they will have researched all the benefits from the taxpayer they will get for going on shore.

Load a bollix imv. But anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

I think it all boils down to boat no 1, and its operator, and boat no. 2 and its operator.

It is all based on who you know and what you know.

The current operator missed out on the contract, so the Islanders are going mad with the new one.

Brave new operator there!

Anyway if they all moved to the mainland, good luck to them. I am sure they will have researched all the benefits from the taxpayer they will get for going on shore.

Load a bollix imv. But anyway.
    id say that's fairly close to the truth and the boat is just being used as an excuse . Thats why it will be interesting to see what happens if the new boat is licensed or if the old one fails a survey

• Registered Users Posts: 15,720 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The leaving the island 'threat' is only bluff.

I don't know why that island wasn't evacuated decades ago like the Blaskets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

I’d say it’d save the taxpayer a fortune if they did. 5-10 board failte staff or seasonal staff could run the tourist part and make the island profitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Why would that even be a threat? I don't think I get it?
    What's supposed to happen? Are the powers that be supposed to start quaking in their boots that a strategic piece of coastal defenses will no longer be manned?

Sounds to me like if they did all choose to leave it would only save the government a great deal of money and hassle? Subsidized boat, flights and no doubt a great deal of other things?

Am I missing something?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,177 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Insular point. Very few people go to Tory in reality.

Aran Islands and CapeClear. fine. but that place up there along with Rathlin Island is really off the beaten track.

It is for a certain cohort of visitors for sure, and many people just do not have the time in their itinerary to include these offshore islands.

But good luck to them. It is not for me and never will be.

I've been twice. Have been meaning to go again. Any time I went the ferry was far from empty

Why would anyone live on an island 14km from civilisation? They must never get sick or need anything.

Ah I suppose we taxpayers pay a premium for all these insular people correct?

Tory is nothing like Aran Islands. That is their problem they need to market it, but there is no way I would travel that far to an outcrop in the Atlantic. Sorry there.

The threat is hilarious, well come back to Donegal mainland why don't you. Ridiculous threat really.

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

There was one on Tory for sale for 30,000 for quite a while. Might still be there. I must say I was tempted

• Registered Users Posts: 21,418 ✭✭✭✭Alun

wexie wrote: »
    Why would that even be a threat? I don't think I get it?
    What's supposed to happen? Are the powers that be supposed to start quaking in their boots that a strategic piece of coastal defenses will no longer be manned?

Sounds to me like if they did all choose to leave it would only save the government a great deal of money and hassle? Subsidized boat, flights and no doubt a great deal of other things?

Am I missing something?
    I agree, for a threat to be a threat, there has to be something bad happening if what is being threatened actually happens. I'm at a loss to understand what that "bad thing" is in this case. Like you say, if everybody did leave it'd save the government a load of money, so a win rather than a lose.

Why would anyone live on an island 14km from civilisation? They must never get sick or need anything.

Ah I suppose we taxpayers pay a premium for all these insular people correct?

Tory is nothing like Aran Islands. That is their problem they need to market it, but there is no way I would travel that far to an outcrop in the Atlantic. Sorry there.

The threat is hilarious, well come back to Donegal mainland why don't you. Ridiculous threat really.

It's not for everyone but then neither is the mainland. It's a really fun place and I'd recommend it to anyone

I've said before I find the Aran islands a bit posh and a bit too commercialised. Still good for a weekend but it's clear to see that they're just milking the tourists and there's throngs of them arriving on every ferry in the summer. I think it's great that there's people living on places like Tory and that they havn't been evacuated like the Blaskets, Inishark, Inishtrahull. If anything they should be bringing people back to these islands, restoring the old ruins to their former glory and so on. I don't think there's anything noble in the humdrum of modern society and if someone wants to live on an island like that fair fcuks to them, most people are too busy sitting behind their xbox to take up island life.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

There used to be one guard between tory and aranmore, with 4 pubs on the former and 7 on the latter. With recent garda cutbacks in north donegal, there is no station between milford and glenties anymore, barely a patrol car unless theres a callout.

Both places are absolute madhouses and have plenty of visitors to them, nowhere near the likes in galways, kerry or cork, but plenty busy in the summer

Alun wrote: »
    I agree, for a threat to be a threat, there has to be something bad happening if what is being threatened actually happens. I'm at a loss to understand what that "bad thing" is in this case. Like you say, if everybody did leave it'd save the government a load of money, so a win rather than a lose.

Loss of 'culture and music', and people to show the tourists around perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

We should build a giant prison on it. But rent the beds to oversees prisons. Imagine how much a foreign prison would pay to have a place to send the prisoners who are too much hassle for them. Places like gitmo. We could pass a law pretending that it’s an old Tory island custom to burn the feet of new visitors to check if they are witches and make it compulsory if they are to visit the non tourist side. The tourist side can carry on oblivious. The money raised might be enough to let them choose whose uncle gets the drive the boat.

It's not for everyone but then neither is the mainland. It's a really fun place and I'd recommend it to anyone

I've said before I find the Aran islands a bit posh and a bit too commercialised. Still good for a weekend but it's clear to see that they're just milking the tourists and there's throngs of them arriving on every ferry in the summer. I think it's great that there's people living on places like Tory and that they havn't been evacuated like the Blaskets, Inishark, Inishtrahull. If anything they should be bringing people back to these islands, restoring the old ruins to their former glory and so on. I don't think there's anything noble in the humdrum of modern society and if someone wants to live on an island like that fair fcuks to them, most people are too busy sitting behind their xbox to take up island life.

You live there all year round or just a visitor for the insular craic?

I personally would dislike the fact that everyone knows my business, I think living in a terraced house in somewhere like Cork or Dublin would be less nosey,

That is a No from me so.

I could see the appeal of a weekend visit in summer but to endure bleak fcuking winters, trapped there for days or weeks on end.... that's a big fat nope from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    We should build a giant prison on it. But rent the beds to oversees prisons. Imagine how much a foreign prison would pay to have a place to send the prisoners who are too much hassle for them.

What cause we wouldn't have enough of our own prisoners here like?

I like your idea but it lacks vision.

I've always said we should take one (or a few) of the islands and just make them prison colonies. Mine the beaches, make sure they can't leave.

Put webcams all over the place, drop in food and weapons once a week (or forthnight) and just make it a payperview event. Whole thing will pay for itself.

Once this is established....then we can start taking on foreign prisoners.

Kinda like The Condemned except of course we should only just actual baddies and perhaps not keep the production team on the actual island

• Registered Users Posts: 28,981 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the people of the blaskets requested to be evacuated from what i understand. the people on tory island haven't made such a request so there is no requirement for an evacuation.

shut down alcohol action ireland now! end MUP today!

I could see the appeal of a weekend visit in summer but to endure bleak fcuking winters, trapped there for days or weeks on end.... that's a big fat nope from me.

And a big fat nope from most people too I suspect. Including the Tory Islanders. Bleak is also what I think.

I don't know how they do it. But I reckon they are funded to either stay or leave to get a life/educated and so on. Do any of them return?

Sounds grim to me to be there but what do I know. I hold my hand up.

Nomis21 wrote: »
    Trouble on Tory Island...

I don't know about the rest of you but I'm transported back to primary school and start singing every time I hear of Tory island
    ...Báidín Fheilimí d’imigh go Toraí,
    Báidín Fheilimí is Feilimí ann.
    Báidín Fheilimí d’imigh go Toraí,
    Báidín Fheilimí is Feilimí ann.
    (curfá)
    Báidín Fheilimí briseadh i dToraí,
    Iasc ar bord agus Feilimí ann.
    Báidín Fheilimí briseadh i dToraí,
    Báidin Fheilimí agus feilimi ann.

The lovely Sinéad has even made a version of it:

You live there all year round or just a visitor for the insular craic?

I personally would dislike the fact that everyone knows my business, I think living in a terraced house in somewhere like Cork or Dublin would be less nosey,

That is a No from me so.

Don't mind your insular if you haven't been. Don't cod yourself into thinking nobody knows your business if you're inside a terraced house some place either. They do, and they'll cause you a load of grief if they don't approve of it.

I think I actually said that, but I can escape and go wherever I like too. It is life in the city.

Unlike the Tory Islanders who rely on a boat to leave. :cool:

Would they all be related on Tory I wonder.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

To be fair, how much taxpayer money should be used to facilitate such a small amount of people that choose to live on a tiny island?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

And a big fat nope from most people too I suspect. Including the Tory Islanders. Bleak is also what I think.

I don't know how they do it. But I reckon they are funded to either stay or leave to get a life/educated and so on. Do any of them return?

Sounds grim to me to be there but what do I know. I hold my hand up.
    To be fair, it's a way of life that works for some people and doesn't work for others.

Some people move into the country for a "slower pace of life" and to be away from the rat-race. If rural living is still too fast and manic for you, you head off to the islands.

There was a series on RTE last year or the year before about it, quite interesting actually. A fair number of people do move there, but mostly people who marry an islander or people returning home to take over the family business.

They're having trouble with populations now because their younger people are heading off to the mainland to go to college, and understandably they find the island life far too dull when they return. Whereas in the past someone who finished school would take up a trade or whatever and hone their skills on the island. So by the time they're 30, they're well settled into island living.