Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Waiting Room - 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭banjoh_10

Feeling hopeful that Templemore wont have to be used as a temporary hospital. Might speed up the process of getting us started.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Johnmurphy321

What exactly are they using templemore for? Are the keeping covid 19 patients there?

I think if needed it was to be used as a temporary sanatorium

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭St. Westy

banjoh_10 wrote: »
    I think if needed it was to be used as a temporary sanatorium

i read somewhere that it being used as a army training centre , along the lines of that , now in saying that i dont even know if the army are involved in this covid policing after all the talks and fake messeges on wattsapp, have any of you seen army personnel on the streets/roads??

*posted on the Garda recruitment page on facebook*

When can the next Garda Recruitment campaign be expected?

This is a common question we have been receiving. As we are a private education company that specialise in providing preparation courses for the Garda selection tests, and are not affiliated with the official Garda recruitment process, we can only give general information.

Budget 2020 suggested that the force aimed to deliver up to 700 new Garda recruits in 2020. It was therefore anticipated that there would be a recruitment campaign in the Spring of this year (2020). Understandably however, the unfolding Covid-19 situation will likely have an impact on this. Unfortunately we do not currently have any information on when the next Garda Recruitment Campaign will take place.

However, for those interested in our preparation courses, our Garda Stage 1 online preparation course is currently available to book. This course includes all the Stage 1 Garda test styles that have been used in previous campaigns including the most recent campaign last year.

There is absolutely no disadvantage to advanced preparation and the current situation means that candidates booking this course now will likely have longer access than any previous campaign as the date / time frame of the launch of the next campaign is unknown. If you are interested in finding out more about this course please see here: https://careerservices...tage-1/online-course

In addition, we are still taking sign ups for our Free Job Alert Service which we will use to notify those on the list when we hear of a new campaign.

If you would like to sign up to this you can do so here: https://careerservices.ie/job-alert-service

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭cluedo123

Anyone hear anything about what the future is on recruitment? I can’t see anything in the FFG proposals about policing.

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭Stretch1432

Iv searched everywhere twitter Facebook internet and havent found anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Esso1991

The draft document published earlier today has the below wording.

"Build strong and safe communities in every part of Ireland, through continuing to expand the numbers and by implementing the reforms of the Gardaí."

I still think we are a long way off Templemore reopening, if it reopens at all. Encouraging to see it hasnt been forgotten about all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Gerty123

My guess is that there will be no more recruitment for the next few years. The country is going into recession again. The first thing the government will do is put a freeze on hiring across all sectors. I hope i am wrong but I am not keeping my hopes up.

the army has a new recruitment drive , keep the faith , if things were going to end, no form bs would have been sent out to recent successful phase 3's, they had to be filled by April 20th

I was out jogging and seen a checkpoint and just by chance i asked one of the guards do they know anything about when the recruitment process is going to continue. He said not to worry and that id be in Templemore before the end of this year so maybe this will all blow over in a couple of months and those of us awaiting vetting will get the call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭dublin2000A

Gerty123 wrote: »
    My guess is that there will be no more recruitment for the next few years. The country is going into recession again. The first thing the government will do is put a freeze on hiring across all sectors. I hope i am wrong but I am not keeping my hopes up.

according to an inspector in the headquarters they're going to continue hiring as there are over 1000 expected and eligible to retire between 2020 and 2021, (he also said there are over 400 on the injured list that can't work at the moment but that's a different story) also means a lot more Sergeant and inspector positions coming up for those already in the force, hopefully he's right

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭AF96DUB

I've to re-sit my medical in around June, got an email from HR this morning saying that my new appointnent will be issued to me soon. Looks like 2019 applicants are still being processed

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭cluedo123

AF96DUB wrote: »
    I've to re-sit my medical in around June, got an email from HR this morning saying that my new appointnent will be issued to me soon. Looks like 2019 applicants are still being processed

That’s good news. When did you last do your medical?

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭AF96DUB

cluedo123 wrote: »
    That’s good news. When did you last do your medical?

i done it in March, given 12 weeks for re-test

AF96DUB wrote: »
    i done it in March, given 12 weeks for re-test

Did you do your first medical in March 2019 or 2020?

Given that he/she said 12 weeks for retest, would suggest this year ? No ?

I got a phone call from district office saying the Super will meet me as soon as lockdown is over on May 5th. Passed medical in early March.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 4572h

Has anyone contacted garda appointments about their vetting clearance lately?

St. Westy wrote: »

I got that! I’m asking because why would they re-test so soon after just doing it if it was in 2020, I did mine in March 2019 and haven’t been asked to re-test yet

obviously failed a part , get weight down or the likes

if he failed that would make sense for a quick re-test, he didnt mention anything about failing so just wanted clarity. I've been told by HR that I WILL have to re-do the medical because its been over a year since my last one and that I may have to re-do the physical as well but no dates or further info given, Im from 2018 campaign so my medical and physical were in March 2019

I was september 2019 when i did medical. Its been such a long wait.

Are we actually ever going to be guards at this stage . Are they even still doing the vetting ? Would just like to know that at some stage we will be in Templemore after jumping through all the hoops. Id rather just be told no at this stage so i can stop putting everything on hold

I know how you feel, I never expected to be waiting this long for an answer, I speak to Hr often and the most promising information they could give me was that if at any stage my application is rejected throughout any of the vetting I'll be notified immediately, I tend to get the same guy on the phone often and he's really nice and patient etc and he's in a round a bout way saying to me just keep hanging in there your application is still valid and being processed.

The biggest problem the HR office has right now is Thurles (where a lot of the vetting takes place by the National vetting Bureau) is getting hammered by all these volunteers for Covid 19 and the focus is being put on them for vetting right now.

We gotta keep the faith as hard and frustrating as it is! we'll get there :)eventually

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Whatyagonnnado

I'm afraid Templemore is just not a priority at the moment. Probably appropriate considering the pandemic, don't you think?!
    We don't yet have an exit strategy for early stages never mind reopening colleges. We'll get there. I feel it's very positive people are getting emails about plans to reschedule medicals etc.

I'm afraid Templemore is just not a priority at the moment. Probably appropriate considering the pandemic, don't you think?!
    We don't yet have an exit strategy for early stages never mind reopening colleges. We'll get there. I feel it's very positive people are getting emails about plans to reschedule medicals etc.

its great that people are getting emails, at least we know something is happening in the background.

I agree that we don't have an exit strategy etc but I don't think the reopening of the Garda college is beyond the realms of Necessary . Colleges in general are not a vital contribution to safety and security of the public in a broad sense Nursing and vital contributory skill courses are obviously necessary and I'd like to think that AGS is considered in that format

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Frenchjoe87

I know how you feel, I never expected to be waiting this long for an answer, I speak to Hr often and the most promising information they could give me was that if at any stage my application is rejected throughout any of the vetting I'll be notified immediately, I tend to get the same guy on the phone often and he's really nice and patient etc and he's in a round a bout way saying to me just keep hanging in there your application is still valid and being processed.

The biggest problem the HR office has right now is Thurles (where a lot of the vetting takes place by the National vetting Bureau) is getting hammered by all these volunteers for Covid 19 and the focus is being put on them for vetting right now.

We gotta keep the faith as hard and frustrating as it is! we'll get there :)eventually

What would have to happen for an application to be rejected and to be notified immediately. I've heard they just keep kicking your application down the road so to speak until you get fed up waiting. To be fair it would be much better if they did notify you so you know where you stood or even set out guidelines before a Recruitment campaign so you had a fair idea what could cause a problem for you besides going through the whole Recruitment process just to get fobbed off time and time again

• Registered Users Posts: 14 jackhynes99

Hey guys Jack here. Just wondering is it possible to send in an application for garda recruitment at any time of the year? As working as a security officer atm

I'm desperate like a lot of ye to get a career an ags.

So can we forward applications anytime?

Regards

Jack hynes

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Whatyagonnnado

Oh, totally agree with you. Fingers crossed it will be sooner rather than later!
    its great that people are getting emails, at least we know something is happening in the background.

I agree that we don't have an exit strategy etc but I don't think the reopening of the Garda college is beyond the realms of Necessary . Colleges in general are not a vital contribution to safety and security of the public in a broad sense Nursing and vital contributory skill courses are obviously necessary and I'd like to think that AGS is considered in that format