Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

About them vegans lads

• 12-06-2019 7:44am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

What a bunch of opinionated vegetable eaters

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

What a bunch of opinionated vegetable eaters

I see you have a strong opinion on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

I see you have a strong opinion on that.

Can't spell opinion without onion

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

We don't need your luuurve. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Didn't we do this last week? You need to catch up, NL.

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

Can't spell opinion without onion

I assume you eat vegetables too, just not exclusively.
    So vegetable eating itself isn't the problem.

It's the anti-carnivore preaching.

• Doubt they are any more opinionated than meat eaters like us really. We just have the privilege of being the status quo and hence have to express our opinions less often - or less vocally - or less noticeably.

Alas their opinions seem quite limited. I have tried to open discussions with them often as to why - morally speaking - I should not be eating meat or using animal products.

Instead they answer the same way pretty much every time - by showing issues with current farming practices. And I entirely agree with all those points! We need very much to improve that.

But issues with how we produce animal products - and issues about the use of animal products itself - are two different things. So every single time they are answering a question I have not actually asked.

So I continue to happily eat meat and use animal products - I just source those products as ethically as I possibly can while doing so.

You eat fruit and veg too!

Instead of focusing on our differences lets focus on our similarities.

Lettuce and ....Getting drunk and high on cocaine!

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,247 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I'd struggle to eat a whole vegan.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Instead of focusing on our differences lets focus on our similarities.

Lettuce and ....Getting drunk and high on cocaine!

On that would you not consider the yeast microbes as a living organism, also water isn't vegan cause fish have sex in it

Zaph wrote: »

I'm pretty small and tender ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

I had a vegan sausage roll last week, feckin thing tasted like it was made from real vegans.

water isn't vegan cause fish have sex in it
    eeeewww

I had a vegan sausage roll last week, feckin thing tasted like it was made from real vegans.

LUKE YOU ATE MY FATHER!

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭Tornaxx

On that would you not consider the yeast microbes as a living organism, also water isn't vegan cause fish have sex in it
    ...And mushrooms are closer to being animal than plants.

I've heard of yeast microbes killing off the odd orgasm.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Generally I hear meat eaters give out about vegans way more than vice versa. Some people are weirdly obsessed with them.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Tornaxx wrote: »
    ...And mushrooms are closer to being animal than plants.

FUNKY ! THEY ARE FUNKY!

Zaph wrote: »

Not as much as a vegan would struggle eating you. They don't have the jaw strength you see.

A few more vegan facts:

Vegans are all left handed, the lack of left handed cutlery is actually what turned them vegan in the first place.

Vegans are usually named Karl or funnily enough, Kobi.

Vegans will only walk on the cracks in the path on 3 out of the 7 days.

Vegans always greet one another by raising the big toe on their right foot but you cannot see this unless they are an extremist vegan who would usually be barefoot or wearing disgusting hemp sandles.

Not as much as a vegan would struggle eating you. They don't have the jaw strength you see.

A few more vegan facts:

Vegans are all left handed, the lack of left handed cutlery is actually what turned them vegan in the first place.

Vegans are usually named Karl or funnily enough, Kobi.

Vegans will only walk on the cracks in the path on 3 out of the 7 days.

Vegans always greet one another by raising the big toe on their right foot but you cannot see this unless they are an extremist vegan who would usually be barefoot or wearing disgusting hemp sandles.

Oh my god i am left titted.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭joe40

I'm certainly not a vegan, a confirmed meat eater I am. But I do find it strange that meat eaters can be so fussy about the animals they get their meat from. For example would anyone here eat meat from a dog or a horse.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Feisar

GLaDOS wrote: »
    Generally I hear meat eaters give out about vegans way more than vice versa. Some people are weirdly obsessed with them.

My only gripe is the "saving the planet stuff".

Surely locally grown/harvested would be better for the planet than quinoa and avocados being shipped to Ireland?

First they came for the socialists...

joe40 wrote: »
    I'm certainly not a vegan, a confirmed meat eater I am. But I do find it strange that meat eaters can be so fussy about the animals they get their meat from. For example would anyone here eat meat from a dog or a horse.
    Mines mostly from the butcher.

For example would anyone here eat meat from a dog or a horse.

:(

For example would anyone here eat meat from a dog or a horse.

Of course, of course.
    Feisar wrote: »
    My only gripe is the "saving the planet stuff".

Surely locally grown/harvested would be better for the planet than quinoa and avocados being shipped to Ireland?

I always though eating local and in season was a part of the vegan ethos. Of course it won't be if you're talking about the bandwagon jumpers who are vegan except for the odd doner kebab.

When dog tastes like a dry aged rib eye fido is getting fecked!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

GLaDOS wrote: »

Nope. That's an urban myth tbh. Way more the other way around here. For a bunch that don't eat meat - they are weirdly obsessed with it and spend their time giving out about meat and farming.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,440 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Have eaten both.
    Horse is so similar to beef hence the horaemeat scandal from few years ago.
    Dog on the other hand was poor quality and not something I’d try again.

In Ireland we have a terribly narrow selection of meats we eat. Go on the continent and they eat a wider variety and more of each animal too.

Of course, of course.

I always though eating local and in season was a part of the vegan ethos. Of course it won't be if you're talking about the bandwagon jumpers who are vegan except for the odd doner kebab.

Draw a 20 Kilometer circle around your home, I'd say it'd be hard maintain a balanced diet with food grown within it excluding meat.
    I'm from Mullingar so it's beef to the heels around here!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,440 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Vegans are anti farming rather than anti animal cruelty.

Have you ever seen them protesting at a halting site where horses are raced to death regularly. Or at puppy farms where family pets are reared. No they are just anti farming.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

gozunda wrote: »
    Nope. That's an urban myth tbh. Way more the other way around here. For a bunch that don't eat meat - they are weirdly obsessed with it and those who choose a normal balanced diet and spend their time giving out about it ...

Well I can only speak anecdotally, but the vegans/vegetarians I know only mention their dietary choices when actually eating or if asked directly. Conversely, they get smart comments on their diet all the time out of context from people who eat meat.

I eat meat myself, but what is it to me if other people don't want to?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test