Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
24-01-2020, 14:31   #436
mayo.mick
Registered User
 
mayo.mick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gaoth Laidir View Post
Great job. Is it reporting station pressure because it's saying 1003 hPa, which would imply you're at about 175 m amsl? Is that right?
I need to check, might need to calibrate. I'm at 72m ASL according to google maps, but on one of the sites I'm uploading to, I put in my location on their map and they have me at 68m ASL (no wonder I do be dizzy ).

My next headache now is to get it uploading to my website. Years ago I had it reporting from wunderground I think it was, in a flash player iframe.
mayo.mick is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
25-01-2020, 08:48   #437
joujoujou
Registered User
 
joujoujou's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10,354
Cumulus can upload weather data to your own website via ftp, if set up to do so. However, if your website accepts only secure ftp connections, you must use third-party tools. I had that problem, so my own weather page data is uploaded by freeware WinSCP.

By the way, I think your weather station is the closest one to my own one at the moment.
joujoujou is offline  
Thanks from:
25-01-2020, 12:58   #438
mayo.mick
Registered User
 
mayo.mick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by joujoujou View Post
Cumulus can upload weather data to your own website via ftp, if set up to do so. However, if your website accepts only secure ftp connections, you must use third-party tools. I had that problem, so my own weather page data is uploaded by freeware WinSCP.

By the way, I think your weather station is the closest one to my own one at the moment.
Yeah, I'm not too far from you. Have been following yours when i set up mine originally around 2012/13!

When I decided to get my weather station back up and running again, I didn't expect this much hassle! I thought it would be more or less "plug & play". To the most part it is, bit time consuming getting set up and creating the different accounts for the station to report to.

I'd done a bit of research while I was waiting for my WH3000 SE to arrive. I set up the various accounts beforehand and even set up a twitter page for the station to automatically report to.

https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/ISWINE1

https://wow.metoffice.gov.uk/observa...4-0003ff59ab13

https://twitter.com/SwinfordWeather

I also found a plugin for my website that would work for my weather station and had some very nice page templates to use on my website. So far so good..... or so I thought!

Weather station arrived, got everything set up in place of the old WH1080. 1st difference was this is all worked on wifi. No usb ports, no need to connect to a pc. That ruled cumulus out. Everything is set up from an app you have to install on your phone. OK, download app and have everything set up pretty quickly and easily.

Now to set it up with my own website. The plugin I'd installed, needs to connect with Ambiant weather, the one service my weather station doesn't connect too.

Back to google I go (what did we ever do before google!) to see if I can connect wunderground data with my site. There seems to have been major changes there recently, but after a lot of research I've found that I can gather the data my station is uploading and show it on my own website through an "API".

This is a little beyond my skills so I've had to get the BIL involved. So now, he's developing a plugin that will pull in the data from wunderground and display it on my own website.

To be continued.....
mayo.mick is offline  
Thanks from:
30-01-2020, 16:56   #439
GolfNut33
Registered User
 
GolfNut33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by GolfNut33 View Post
OK, I've ordered the Froggit WH3000 SE from them directly. Strangely enough, they don't sell the mounting poles so had to order that separately from amazon. I'll let you know what I think of it once I get a play with it.
Ok, she arrived yesterday and working away very nicely and very easy to setup and understand.

What's the best app/site to upload data to?
GolfNut33 is offline  
30-01-2020, 18:28   #440
dolanbaker
Moderator
 
dolanbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24,710
weather underground is the site I use www.wunderground.com
I believe that many stations only allow one site at a time.
dolanbaker is offline  
Advertisement
30-01-2020, 20:26   #441
GolfNut33
Registered User
 
GolfNut33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanbaker View Post
weather underground is the site I use www.wunderground.com
I believe that many stations only allow one site at a time.
That's currently off line for adding new stations.
GolfNut33 is offline  
30-01-2020, 20:28   #442
mayo.mick
Registered User
 
mayo.mick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by GolfNut33 View Post
Ok, she arrived yesterday and working away very nicely and very easy to setup and understand.

What's the best app/site to upload data to?
I have mine uploading to

https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/ISWINE1

https://wow.metoffice.gov.uk/observa...4-0003ff59ab13

https://app.weathercloud.net/d2948079482#current
mayo.mick is offline  
Thanks from:
30-01-2020, 23:21   #443
GolfNut33
Registered User
 
GolfNut33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanbaker View Post
weather underground is the site I use www.wunderground.com
I believe that many stations only allow one site at a time.
Think they're having some issues.
GolfNut33 is offline  
30-01-2020, 23:46   #444
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4,403
I like the new weatherlink live device from Davis and the much improved App
Its pricey though but I'm very tempted

https://youtu.be/JA5mYuFSKno
Mortelaro is offline  
Advertisement
06-02-2020, 20:02   #445
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4,403
Ok I splashed out
You need pro about 4 euros a month to change the updates to everybody to 5 min intervals and to store your data and give everyone access to it

On your home wifi the app becomes like the console on your phone with 2.5 second updates on all data
You mainly notice this on wind speed

I've had a few issues which I'll be getting on to the place I bought it from tomorrow

For example theres no reset button and according to Davis no way to delink it from one account and add a different one
That cannot be true
I think I got a bad Davis webchat agent
The webchat service is dreadful bad

I'm attaching a screengrab of the main app page
This and the chart data can be embedded in your own website
Anything embedded will update every 5 mins if you have pro
But it can't talk to twitter
More later
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20200206-200223_WeatherLink.jpg (376.2 KB, 47 views)
Mortelaro is offline  
Thanks from:
07-02-2020, 17:37   #446
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4,403
https://twitter.com/KildareMet/statu...633763840?s=19
Mortelaro is offline  
(2) thanks from:
28-02-2020, 10:43   #447
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 4,403
Davis are horrendous bad at support for their weather stations since the company has been bought out
Their webchat is a joke and they will answer emails a week late and not follow up
Ring them in the United states and you are put on hold for Ages
Mortelaro is offline  
28-02-2020, 11:57   #448
garroff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 514
I agree. I have had a Vantage Pro for years. You are, effectally, on your own. And spares cost a leg and an arm
garroff is offline  
Thanks from:
30-03-2020, 16:36   #449
Marlow
Registered User
 
Marlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14,278
I bought 3x TP1080WC in Maplin or somewhere more than 10 years ago.

Had one running in the centre of Galway for years and there's still one in place, that is connected the Galway VHF Group APRS digipeater. (Ham radio gear, for those who don't know).

Well ... One of those was still on the shelf, never unpacked.

Spend yesterday unwrapping and assembling it.


Integrated it into my OpenHAB installation (using pywws and MQTT)


And added the configuration to export the data into a database


Calibration is done and it's now on the Weather Underground Wundermap.

/M

Last edited by Marlow; 31-03-2020 at 11:49. Reason: Calibration done
Marlow is offline  
(6) thanks from:
02-04-2020, 01:06   #450
mayo.mick
Registered User
 
mayo.mick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayo.mick View Post
I need to check, might need to calibrate. I'm at 72m ASL according to google maps, but on one of the sites I'm uploading to, I put in my location on their map and they have me at 68m ASL (no wonder I do be dizzy ).

My next headache now is to get it uploading to my website. Years ago I had it reporting from wunderground I think it was, in a flash player iframe.
Well, after 2 months, alot of head scratching and a bit of hair loss, i've finally managed to get my weather station reporting live on my own website!

A bit of a workaround, but its more or less what I wanted. I've a bit of dickying up but it will do for now!

https://michaelmaye.com/swinford-weather-station/
mayo.mick is offline  
(4) thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet