Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's Who.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭stapeler

Hello.
    Stapeler here to introduce myself..Glad I stumbled across this board, everybody has lots of ideas and experiences. I'm in the electronics business but would much prefer to be in the timber business. I have a workshop which is my hideout and I keep buying toys to fill it up, Biscuit joiners, sanders etc. I enjoy making furniture of all sorts. Started using oak recently which gives good results. Lots of experience laying floors, building cabinets etc. Im also well equipped for metal work and I like to combine timber & metal for different projects. If I can be of any help to anybody with my advice please ask...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Desk life

Me, I make living as a software engineer in Cork. I fell into an IT college course after school "to do something" and it served me well for the past 15 years. But at this point I am waiting for the "supposed to be coming redundancy" as my gateway to a career change into woodworking from my workshop at home. One way or another I am in my last 5 years of software, or should I say politics here, we seem to do less work and more politics with every passing year and if I never see a desk and PC again I would not be too dissapointed !!

In the mean time my workshop is fairly well setup at the end of my house, just a larger lathe required, well wished for more than required !

I like working on hardwoods, and making custom built furniture, but I have being side lined re-building my home for the past 2 years and only getting to the furniture making section of that now, so it is getting more interesting. Kitchen is next on the list which will be of traditional farm house design since I am in the countryside, and solid wood in the main, though my wife is talking about painting the face of it and leaving the insides wood, so we will see, I am not fussed really for some reason.

I am on the look out for a lathe upgrade from my Nova 3000, which is an excellent lathe indeed and never have had a complaint with it, but I want larger capacity so I am not sure where to go for this, I have being researching it and so far the following is the status

Poolwood is probably the best value for a big lathe but not exactally whet I am looking for.
    Stubby 750 with an extended bed the most suitable for my needs, excellent large bowl turner with good between centeres setup also.
    VB36 the most amazing, but not sure with the between centeres setup of that one.

Also the VB36 and Stubby are so expensive I don't know about yet another loan !!! I will see with more research, but I am tired of these constant 5 grand loans to furnish the workshop becasue one loan would be just about complete and I take out another one for something else !!!

Workshop consists for a Felder combinatin machine, Felder band saw, felder dust extractor, a router, jigsaw, SCMS, ROS, biscuit joiner, dovetail jig, compressor and spray gun and a Nova 3000. That is about it except for a few hand tools, chisels, planes, scrapers etc.

It is funny that my favourite machine the Nova 3000 lathe is the only machine I want to change.... on capacity grounds only, it is a wonderful lathe I think and my brother is always begging to buy it from me. If I find an ideal machine to upgrade to I may do so, if not I will stay put with it as I am not caught on capacity that much but it would be nice to have more.

Oh I do have a 6 year old daughter that has her own workbench and glues up everything in sight, and a dog that takes and chews everything else !

That is about it from the rebel county.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,404 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Desk life wrote:
    It is funny that my favourite machine the Nova 3000 lathe is the only machine I want to change.... on capacity grounds only, it is a wonderful lathe I think and my brother is always begging to buy it from me. If I find an ideal machine to upgrade to I may do so, if not I will stay put with it as I am not caught on capacity that much but it would be nice to have more.
    I have the Nova 3000 as well ... what capacity is it that you're running up against, between centres or diameter? If it's between centres, you can just get a bed extension, if it's diameter, then you must be turning some pretty big stuff to be limited by the 29" limit using the swivel head and the outrigger.

Have you seen the video they send you if you're interested in the VB36? I have, and it's awesome ... soft porn for woodturners :)

BTW, I'm ex-IT myself too ... seems to be a trend :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Desk life

Okay you got me, capacity was probably the wrong word... more (as my wife says) as the boys get bigger the toys get bigger and more expensive. The bigger machines make turning the large pieces a pleasure. I do a lot of large lamps which I can do on the Nova, but I know they would be much more comfortable to do on the big lathes.

Also firing up and working on one of these babies is like sitting in a fancy new car and saying I don't need this but it would be amazing.... but there is a big difference in the price of a fancy new car (30,000) and a fancy new VB36 though, it will be about 10,000 euro I think by the time it is in the workshop, hich is too much really. Also I will do as much between centers as bowel work and this is mainly designed as a bowel turning machine.

I have seen the VB36 video and actually got to use one at a local wood turners one Saturday afternoon 6 months ago. They are amazing, though I still question the tail stock setup on the round support bar. The guy I was at did not use the tail stock much at all, so all he was able to say that so far it has being fine for his minimal use.

I also used the Stubby on my travels to Australia a few years ago and that was mighty also. It used to be cheaper than the VB36, though I can't find a price/dealer for them at the moment.

I have not had a car loan or change of car in 7 year solely to fund the machines in have in the workshop..... just maybe one more greedy purchase before the car falls apart and I am there... maybe :D

A spanking new Nissan Micra or a spanking new VB36, it is a no contest to me but I am married and we should take a holiday this year, so maybe no upgrade till I have the cash, or 2/3rds of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,404 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Desk life wrote:
    Also I will do as much between centers as bowel work and this is mainly designed as a bowel turning machine.
    Sounds painful :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 1,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭karltimber

Hi ,
    I had an Axminster M900 which was a perfect starter lathe but capacity and speed control where the biggest reasons why I moved to a Poolewood Euro2000. Its an absolute pleasure turning on it. When roughing out fresh timber - the motor just powers along with shavings you could make pens out of !!!! :) .

Desklife - hope you find the tool that will suit you.

karl

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭eddiej

Hi lads,

Novice woodworker, havent got a clue what ye are all talkin about half the time but good craic to read some of the threads all the same. Oh ye and abit of a thick s**t when it come to viewin the boards only discovered today all the other threads i.e. the ones posted more than 1 month ago ah well.

My aims, to build some nice furniture and stuff, what I will achieve probably have ye laughin yer heads off at the hash I make of things and then come runnin for answers.

Whey hey the chisel!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 CONGER - The Ir

Greetings from the Land of the Hun.

I am located in the the south of Germany.

I am a sw. engineer (27yrs. experience - mostly here).

I use w-working as a balance to a stressy job (deadlines!!).

I work with hand tools (afraid of the machines, and besides which they are too noisey!), although I do have a TS and a router table (BASIS system from FESTOOL).

I work almost exclusively with solid wood (no man-made boards), and I use only natural glues and finishes. I like to carve (relaxing pastime when sitting outdoors)... I carve spoons, mostly because I am not artistic enough to do anything else (I am an engineer!). I collect wood roots and branch joints and dry them out for carving.

All my projects are 'show' projects; you see the wood, you see the joints, you see the marks of the hand tools, you see the finish, and you even see the mistakes!

I love using exotic woods; these I bring home with me when I travel abroad. I have some beautiful andaman padauk (Pterocarpus dalbergoides). Some lists have this as NOT protected... and some do... I follow the rules where ALL the lists categorise a wood as protected. I am lucky that my colleagues in Australia put wood packing (at my request!) for the equipment they send back to my employer for repair.

I am building a table and frame for a large bronze gong (Thailand) out of the andaman padauk. Other current projects include a barrel-top blanket chest in pear, and a table in the shaker style in american cherry.

I am interested in using bog oak from Ireland; I have carved a few things from bog oak, but the quality is mostly too poor for any reasonable results.

I go to 'school' occasionally here: http://www.kurswerkstatt-muenchen.de/

I like to follow the message traffic here: http://www.woodworking.de/index.htm
    ... and also here: http://www.woodcentral.com/newforum/handtools.shtml

Bye for now! -g-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Jim_Hal

just joined the group. I'm an enthusiastic amatuer - did a few night classes, made a couple of unstable tables, improved a bit, started a home workshop, improved a bit more, built a large deck, radiator covers, discovered a Router (great tool), can actually use it now etc...

Jim

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭Fingalian

Howdy Gang,
    Fingalian here.Amateur/Hobbyist/second unpaid job in woodworking,did woodworking up to the 'Inter'in school years ago, had a really good teacher.Mostly self taught since then,through reading books / mags and building stuff. Have an old house which we are slowly renovating/extending so most my woodworking is geared towards that at the moment.I make stuff like free standing wardrobes, beds, chairs,lockers, gates,mantlepieces,doors...whatever needs to be done and whatever I think I can save a buck on by making/doing myself.We have champagne taste on a beer budget.Hopefully in about two years or so I can switch back to more 'artistic' stuff, I've a hankering to make a rocking chair like one of those really graceful ones made by George Nakashima and maybe a display cabinet a la James Krenov, I like their philosophy towards wood as well as their design skills and methods of work.Have to build a better workshop first ;-)
    I have a decent bandsaw, router table, pillar drill and a bunch of drills, planers, jigsaws,Skilsaw, loads of handtools and my trusty workmate(what a great invention) and tons of clamps. Could do with a decent bench, planer/thicknesser, morticer, maybe a tablesaw and a good extraction system.
    I find woodworking quite relaxing though it can be frustrating when THINGS GO WRONG. You see something and think 'hey I could make that or improve it', spend some time mulling it over, roughing it out in your head ,putting it on paper and then selecting the timber , marking it out , cutting it, making the the joints , dry assembling and then hey presto its done. I hate glueing up though!Glued up something last night, sweating like a carthorse, went out for a smoke came back in and 'ah jaysus its glued in the wrong way round! f**k and doubleF**k"
    Felt like burning it afterwards, depths of Gloom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 cranbrook2

hi everyone ,i am john from cranbrook ontario can.i have 25 yrs experience in new home construction.everything but the brick work.i also built a lot of decks and fences.i am now semi retired due to a bad car accident.now i spend most of my time building extreme birdhouses.probably the worlds largest .:D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

Hi Cranbrook 2,

Welcome to the forum. Your bird houses are extreme indeed, they look great.

I was impressed with the one that looks like a log cabin construction, seems to be very large, must be some big birds in Canada. What size approximately would that birdhouse be.

kadman:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Threw in the odd post here, so I might as well introduce myself proper and come out of the shadows :D .

Ehh, well I guess Im nutty about all things wood related, I'm only 22, but have been interested in wood and making things for as long as I can remember. I think its something you born with, sure anyone can do it, but to really love it it has to be in the blood, right? :rolleyes:

I guess my favourite area of woorworking would have to be carving, the feel of a razor sharp chisel slicing through the wood, the smell, ah, you cant beat it. Its something that a book cant really teach you, its a matter of trial and error and as the saying goes:

"A good woodcarver doesnt make mistakes....Only adjustments"

I live by that one, lol.

I have a fairly decent shed, well stocked and increasing, size is a bit of a problem, so for the time being its only smaller bits and pieces that I'm making. At the end you'll see a picture of my last project, its carved from red oak and its my pride and joy, anyone recognise what it is or where its from?? :D

Anyhoo, thats me, good place here, hope to learn a bit here and maybe help someothers in need of help or advice.

Until then........

CroppyBoy1798

Picture142-rss.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 20,788 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Nice one Croppy:)

How tall is that???

Can we get a Gallery Sticky here perhaps?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Good idea Cormie, I'd love to see some pics of other peoples work. The piece is 610mmX410mm (at the widest point)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 MeHal

Hello I am living in Kildare and looking for a cabinet maker to put in two units in my sitting room, I have designed them myself, very simple mainly for storage space. I am new to the area and no clue where to look, tried some kitchen co's and they said 6 months....

Would greatly appreciate it if you could pass on any names or what direction for me to go...

MeHal

• Registered Users Posts: 689 ✭✭✭JoeB-

Hi

My name is Joe and I've been working now making cabinets for a good while. I make cabinets on a completely commercial basis so I'm less of a hobbyist but I choose this path because it's hugely enjoyable and very satisfying.

Like everyone else I love the tools and using tools... mostly power tools it has to be said but the occasional handtool... I have a large workshop (1,000 sq Feet) and most of the tools required, but no lathe or bandsaw but I plan to get a bandsaw... any advice?

I also have a great 1970's stationary Trend-Elu combination router / spindle which takes 1/2 inch router cutters. Cast iron construction, total workhorse, 2,000w, 220V, single speed at 18,000 rpm, rated continous duty.... it also has a great fence incorporating dust collection... the router motor can be mounted above or below the table, the upper part can be lowered with a foot pedal for plunge routing, I have inserts for the table hole which are used for pin routing for template work... I also have power feed on it which is great, it gives complete consistency... I basically use it to make five piece, rail and stile, cabinet door frames... and also for the interior raised panel (for the doors).
    http://www.eccabinets.com/Images/router.jpg

Another amazing tool is the Mafell DD40 dowelling machine. This is a handheld dowelling machine which drills two holes spaced 32mm apart, totally adjustable and very versatile... if used properly it can cut in half the time taken to make custom cabinets... that's incredible for a single tool but it's true in my case. It's not that cheap though but it's fully industrial, check it out on Google... the Irish supplier is Exaktool or something similar...

There's a bit about vacuums recently, I thought I'd mention the Record Power RSDE1 dustbin extractor, I'd highly recommend it, it's designed for woodworking, very easy to use, 100mm inlet, 1,100w, available for about €170 from McQuillans... this compares very well to other woodworking extractors as it can collect extra fine MDF dust or coarse planer shavings equally well, this might require extra filters with other systems... apparently most typical bag systems are cyclonic whereas the dustbin works by vacuum, this affects the way the suction changes when the 100mm diameter inlet is reduced to, say 50mm for a tool, apparently the vacuum doubles while the cyclonic halves, anyone have any thoughts? My dustbin has huge amounts of suction and can't be beaten for €170 in my view.

As I said, I'm commercial, I have a website to promote my products, I feel some of my best and most detailed work is at

http://www.eccabinets.com/Custom-Dressers.php

I'm only giving this link so people can see the type of stuff I want to make, not for business, I notice that everyone seems to be mad about lathes and not so much about cabinetwork or glasswork...

There's also spraying and finishing to consider, do many people have experience using polyurethane sprays for example?

Anyway so that's a few thoughts...
    Cheers
    Joe Ballantine

• Registered Users Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Hi

I'm john, just buying an old house at the moment so there will be quite a bit to be done there, although relatively boring by some of your measures, used like carpentry a lot as a kid, kinda got sidetracked by computers during college, now I work in IT (26) spent the last few years mucking about on cars and metal fabrication in general, only getting back to wood this year when my sister bought a house.

I have mostly generic DIY tools, plus pillar corded and cordless drills, and a DA sander. oh and an aldi chop saw, which is the best use of forty euro ever.

I'm looking at getting a router and circular saw once my house comes through, the saw for cutting sheet, and the router for making skirtings and reveals, I hate the normal mouldings and would much rather for a skirting to just have a simple board with maybe 30 degree angle to the top of it, more traditional, simple skirtings.

I reckon the price of the router and bits will be more than saved in that one job alone as most of the skirtings are gonna be replaced.

I'd hope to be able to make the router table myself from either aluminium or stainless so that I can easily and consistently run lengths for skirting.

Wouldn't say no to an electric planer either, aldi had em before chrimbo and i didn't buy, no idea why

anyway I'll stop rambling.

Hi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 dsmyth

My name is daniel.

newish to woodworking, did a little for the leaving cert and now that i have a small shed of my own have done a few small and simple projects. Plan to move forward to bigger and better projects as the budget allows.
    Mechanical Engineer by profession so its nice to work with wood, it has a bit more character than aluminium and polymers.
    Nice to see an active and friendly forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Hi
    I am Andy and have being on here for year,s helping anyone that needs it never have i not helped anyone who pm me BUT until Kadman and roofer quy is back on here my little thing to help them is i am not giving out any advice on woodworking now i had my little moan you nice people can get on with your day

Carpenter wrote:
    Hi
    I am Andy and have being on here for year,s helping anyone that needs it never have i not helped anyone who pm me BUT until Kadman and roofer quy is back on here my little thing to help them is i am not giving out any advice on woodworking now i had my little moan you nice people can get on with your day

Hi Andy ,

The old saw is going great, but i think you been out in the sun too long my friend:D :D:D

You are among members of the brotherhood, woodworking crafts men, like yourself. You must have been in the wars , and suffering from "post traumatic stress disorder";)

Come on in and chill for a while, and check out the gallery. Cool stuff there.

I cant stay long , when I do , threads tend to get locked :p:p

kadman

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Hi kad
    I was not out in the sun and i do not want to chill there is to many people pushing there weight around you know what i mean talking about things they no nothing about ( wages carpenter,s union rate ) and i for 1 am sick of it so i stand over what i say and i am glad the saw is going great i have the bits for you if i had it now i would cut my laptop in half with temper

Carpenter wrote:
    Hi kad
    I was not out in the sun and i do not want to chill there is to many people pushing there weight around you know what i mean talking about things they no nothing about ( wages carpenter,s union rate ) and i for 1 am sick of it so i stand over what i say and i am glad the saw is going great i have the bits for you if i had it now i would cut my laptop in half with temper

Hi Carpenter,
    I know how you feel buddy, and I know exactly what you're talking about.

But you could always put in for the mods job here......:D :D:D

There are a lot of experts around on the boards alright....but we know the experts that matter. As i said you're in the good zone here. Crafts men one and all, they know their stuff, same as you.

So chill, and enjoy.

You're so far off topic here that I could ban you ....I could....yes I could,:D :D:D:D I will ,,,so I will.

Strange no one has been banned , binned , locked or moved on this forum.
    See we really are friendly ,, mods as well.:p :p

kadman

• Registered Users Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Hi lads. I've been tinkering with woodworking/turning for a few years now although I have to admit I'm fairly crap at it. My biggest downfall is measuring, I somehow manage to make stuff that just doesn't quite fit together. I enjoy the effort all the same.My next effort will be a wardrobe, actually a clone of a shop built wardrobe that I have at home so I may be looking for some advice in the future.I've been using boards for a while but only noticed this forum tonight, I'll be back.
    Dubtom

Hi Dubtom,

Welcome,
    Making the effort , is half the fun of woodwork. Realising you could improve after every job undertaken , is the other half.

We are all learning here, pro's and novices too. We all have stuff to learn , and advice to give. So just ask

kadman:)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

i have a small joinery workshop, mainly specialising in Stairs and Mouldings windows and doors, so if anyone wants advice on any of the above , i'll help if i can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭carpainter

Hi everbody, I've just signed up today so I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm an amateur woodworker (although I prefer to think of myself as semi-pro!). I work as an architectural technician in the building industry and I find that woodworking helps to keep me sane in what can sometimes be an otherwise dull office environment. I started getting interested in actually working with wood about 7 years ago, although I always loved wood and detailing in wood before i took some practical steps to worth with it. It started when I was trying to give up the smokes and I thought it might be an incentive to put the money saved towards building up a decent kit. That and a basic night class got me started. To date I've fitted my own kitchen (well, units were supplied by C&C Kitchens), built and fitted a traditional shopfront, made bookcases and other furniture for the home and kitted out a pretty decent work area in my father's workshop. I've got all the usual power tool kit: 1/2" router and table, circular saw, jig saw, biscuit jointer, drills, power planer, chop saw etc. I've a particular love of good hand tools so I've built up a good quality kit, with Clifton, Lie Nielsen, Record and Stanley planes and the like. I've got access to a SCM saw table, Scheppach surfacer/ thicknesser and an air compressor. I love working with wood as my hobby but I often wonder would it lose its appeal if I were trying to make a living from it?

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Droileen

Would anyone know of a good cabinet maker who would make customised bookshelves / bookcases in the Carlow area ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭boysie39

Hi all, just to say I,m a compleat beginner at Woodworking and Coumputers.
    I,m in my eight decade now and only got the Wood bug some two years ago.
    I,ve done the obligetery birds houses and feeders, and I made some ADIROANDACK CHAIRS WHICH TURNED OUT REALLY WELL.supprise supprise.
    Some people asked me to make some for them. AnywayHer Indoorsis so impressed she bought me a new BOSCH 10" table for this Christmas. Like someone wrote in his intreduction I have some nice machines.I suppose the reason for this is I never learned to use hand tools, and my MENTOR & COACH the one and only NORM doesent use too many either I look forward to learning a lot through this forum. My biggest problems are winth joints I never learned how to make them hence all the power tools, . I think I have gone on long enough I can tell this by the pain in my fingure.God bless all it's never too late to learn I hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 turnertina

I am a qualified carpenter. I did site work 1st and 2nd fix for 7 years, some joinery experience, then took time out to reproduce!!. (I bet you havent met many pregnant carpenters!!)
    During my time at home playing mother, I built my own workshop and over the years have filled it with machinery, power tools and hand tools. All of my family have helped through gifts at birthdays and christmas. I didnt go back to the sites and spent a few years laying wooden floors.
    Now I do woodturning, woodcarving and discovered the pleasures of sculpting bog oak.
    I teach locally on a part-time basis, mainly general carpentry skills, and the odd small project. It is a very rewarding job.
    I am intersted in swapping stories and techniques and I am a book junkie in any area of woodwork.
    I dont pretend to know everything about anything, I find that I am discovering every day.
    That's me in a nutshell
    Jac;)
    (turnertina refers to female woodturner, not my actual name!)