Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things said in Ireland that no one says in England

• 19-09-2014 9:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

Living in England, I've noticed things I say that no one in England says. Here are a couple of examples.

What They Say: Cupboard
    What We Say: Press

What They Say: Pub Quiz
    What We Say: Table Quiz

Anyone who's lived in England notice any other examples?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,132 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Irish call a swede a turnip! A turnip is a different vegetable entirely!

"out the gap" for leaving somewhere..(i think)

topper for a pencil sharpener

you Irish are weird :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭is mise spartacus

Family says bacon, I say rashers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

I was saying goodbye to an English person recently and I said "good luck". He looked genuinely perplexed and said "why, is something going to happen?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

sammyjo90 wrote: »
    Irish call a swede a turnip! A turnip is a different vegetable entirely!

That's what makes them so bloody hard to find in Tesco.
    "out the gap" for leaving somewhere..(i think)

I've never heard that before. Where was the person you heard using it from?

My brother in law says it. He's from atymon in county galway

• Registered Users Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

Out the gap. One of the lads at work uses that a lot. Hes from the Mayo\roscommon border. "Well get this **** done and then out the gap"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

They say: Empire

We Say: Oppression

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

roadsmart wrote: »
    I was saying goodbye to an English person recently and I said "good luck". He looked genuinely perplexed and said "why, is something going to happen?"

That's gas altogether

Yup that's it exactly pix!

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭The Gibzilla

"I will, yeah" in a certain tone in Ireland translates to "No, not a chance."

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

Irish person: What's the craic?

English person: /looks at ceiling " I think there may have been a leak at some point"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

"Are you going to the ploughing this year?"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

A school teacher friend let slip the word "copies" when referring to "workbooks" in a class of 12yr olds recently. . .he was met with dumb silence.

One I have only discovered recently and I don't know how far reaching it is but I told an English friend that the score of a match was "nil all". It took him a minute to cop what I meant and then he said, "oh you mean nil nil".

Where I would say something was "at home", they would say "in doors".

Too tired to think of any more just now. . .

• Registered Users Posts: 11 rachiedee4298

I lived over in UK for over ten years..other words or sayings I've come across:

We say: Cop on
    They say: Pack it in

We say: that's bold
    They say: that's naughty

We say: tea or coffee?
    They say: brew?

Also the English for some reason can't say the name Cathal correctly - pretty amusing. Comes out sounding like Karl

We would use numpty for an idiot..i don't hear that over here so id guess that's an English thing, or a my family thing anyway!

theteal wrote: »
    A school teacher friend let slip the word "copies" when referring to "workbooks" in a class of 12yr olds recently. . .he was met with dumb silence.

I work in a school, and have said copies before. I try to say 'exercise books' by copybooks slips out sometimes.

Comes out sounding like Karl

thats how ye pronounce carol over here though! My mother got very annoyed at first when we moved over!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

Hot press, the looks you get when you say hot press!!!!!!!

Airing cupboard is apparently the English translation :):):)

Layinghen wrote: »
    Hot press, the looks you get when you say hot press!!!!!!!

Airing cupboard is apparently the English translation :):):)

that's a good one! I had forgotten that

• Registered Users Posts: 11 rachiedee4298

thats how ye pronounce carol over here though! My mother got very annoyed at first when we moved over!

Oh yeah, I didn't even realise that. My English friends used to tease me when I would say salt..they said it sounds like I am saying assault

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

Sorry about these being so obvious,but anyway:

Eejit - Idiot
    Stephen's Day - Boxing Day
    Soccer - Football

Do they say "spuds" in England?

Ah it goes both ways..we cant say anything like half(harf) grass(gr-arse), four( foor) without getting the piss taken out of us!

the letter H... Dunno if its all of you but most irish pronounce it hay-ch

Most Irish do, but plenty of English do as well.

I personally pronounce it 'Aitch', but that's because I teach English and that is technically how it should be pronounced.

Damn..erase that so haha

ohh..Wisht!
    Never heard of that till i came to the west!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭lulu1

I work in a school, and have said copies before. I try to say 'exercise books' by copybooks slips out sometimes.

I would always say copy why can it not be used in the classroom

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

They call Ireland Island, America is Americur. They call the ground the floor, they still can't distinguish between outdoors and indoors :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭lulu1

Did anyone ever notice when they go to stay with friends/family in england that they would drink tea all day and nothing to eat with it..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Also the English for some reason can't say the name Cathal correctly - pretty amusing. Comes out sounding like Karl

being one, Karl would be better than most of the mangled oral atrocities visited upon my name when abroad or dealing with non local clients.