Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Girls on steppers barely lifting their legs or making any effort whatsoever.

Girls reading magazines on the bike/treadmill.

People, usually women, strolling along slowly on the treadmill without breaking a sweat or out of puff; what's the point?

Girls wearing skimpy nightclub-style tops and loads of make-up...you look ridiculous.
    I felt baldy-eyed when I first went to the gym not wearing make-up but it makes sense not to; you're going to sweat and mascara running down your face is not a good look.

People who do five minutes on the bike, five minutes on the cross trainer, two minutes on the treadmill and then finish up.

Women yapping in the changing-room as if it's a bloody cafe.

Kids in the changing room staring at you cos your boobs are out.

People putting their bags on benches so you've no room to sit and dress or get your stuff together.

People who don't use locks on their lockers...when I go to the gym and it's busy, most of the lockers are being used so when I see a free one, I'm about to put my bag in, only to see it IS being used but they've no lock.

People not showering after their work-out.
    They come in all sweaty and horrible and just head back out
    I don't buy this "I'll shower at home"...bloody shower now and be fresh!

People wearing the same clothes two days in a row.
    Sweat smells pi**y when it dries so you can smell that a mile off...it's gross.

Girls who leave Tampax wrappers and sanitary papers on the bathroom floor when the bin is right beside them.

Pools of water in the changing room where some lazy bint decided to get herself dried on the bench, instead of in the drying area.

Posers in the gym who are just looking for attention, going around flexing and posing in the mirror.

A PT I know is forever posting selfies of himself on his FB page; big deal, you can lift, I don't need proof of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 New Ice Age

fussyonion wrote: »
    People not showering after their work-out.
    They come in all sweaty and horrible and just head back out

I do this! The gym is literally 3 minutes from where I live so I'd rather shower in the comfort of home. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,980 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Men who wear shorts and then leggings underneath them.....what's the point?

The leggings wick the sweat away, they help regulate my temperature, they protect my skin during deadlifts, lunges etc. The shorts are for the other lads. Nobody needs to see my sweaty sack in such detail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

The leggings wick the sweat away, they help regulate my temperature, they protect my skin during deadlifts, lunges etc. The shorts are for the other lads. Nobody needs to see my sweaty sack in such detail.

Amen.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

I know it's not behaviour seen purely in the gym, but one thing I've seen a lot of recently is lads who walk around tensing their lats permanently.

I know they're probably just really insecure, but I think they need to be told: 'No, your lats are not that big, you don't have a Dorian Yates back.'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

Only a small few pet hates for me, think they are pretty standard.
    -Being smelly, usually its bogging runners or re-used gear....fupping gross
    -Taking all day on equitment that is in short supply, I'm in a gym that is fairly limited(no squat rack, just 1 smith machine)
    -Exercising at the weight rack, get out of the way!

Nothing to do with me, but seeing people put in f-all effort I just dont understand. I notice people spend 20 mins on the bike at such low risistance or speed that its just pointless. Burn 50 cals maybe and wonder why its not working then.

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

Girl in glorified underwear at the weekend there was hanging 10 ft off the ground on the climbing frame doing bodyweight rows when there was trx hanging off the same bars that could have easily done the same job at a safe height.

The lads were not complaining and that was the whole point of it I suppose. No doubt it was really impressive but it was totally impractical and obviously just for show.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,001 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Girl in glorified underwear at the weekend there was hanging 10 ft off the ground on the climbing frame doing bodyweight rows when there was trx hanging off the same bars that could have easily done the same job at a safe height.

I'm trying to figure out how she was doing bodyweight rows 10ft off the ground, but I keep picturing her in the underwear and get distracted...:p

Mellor wrote: »
    I'm trying to figure out how she was doing bodyweight rows 10ft off the ground, but I keep picturing her in the underwear and get distracted...:p

Few lads went home with sore necks I tell ya

• Registered Users Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

This is directed to the guy I saw in my gym today.

You were using the Latt Pulldown and you continually slammed the plates down. I wouldn't mind so much if you were lifting some really heavy weights but you had 2 plates!!! Yes 2!!! Unless you are weaker than a kitten then you should be well able to let that down slowly without making much noise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

Anyone lifting more than me - that's really annoying

• Registered Users Posts: 24,550 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

tumblr_liw3tfSu8g1qcn6plo1_500.jpg

middle aged men who spend 100 minutes longer sitting alone in the jacuzi/steam room than they do in the gym/pool etc. leering at everything that goes by, either sex seems to be acceptable to them. I swear I've noticed this, creeps, usually big fat ones, hanging round elbows on the edge, staring into the gym area and womens/mens dressing rooms!!

also groups of Inian men who do the same but unashamedly are happy to leer close up!! I swear it beggers belief.. Nutjobs!

rusty cole wrote: »
    middle aged men who spend 100 minutes longer sitting alone in the jacuzi/steam room than they do in the gym/pool etc. leering at everything that goes by, either sex seems to be acceptable to them. I swear I've noticed this, creeps, usually big fat ones, hanging round elbows on the edge, staring into the gym area and womens/mens dressing rooms!!

How long before a middle-aged man posts here about how he can't leer in comfort because some dude is staring at him?

oh I got their number alright!!!
    nah it's just weird. in my old gym total fitness this guy regularly came into the sauna and would happily sit there' legs a kimbo. I think he got off on it TBH!
    If you want to socialise, meet friends or fall in love, the gyms a bad place to start ha ha ha ha.

I jest a little on my last point but it attracts some weirdos.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭gucci

endacl wrote: »
    Left field answer.....

Music selection. I'd rather listen to nothing, but I use an iPod to drown out the infinite loop of inanely shyte gym music. Honestly. Who would actually choose that cr4p? Anybody who would should be permanently banned from (a) the gym, (b) ever leaving the house, and (c) breeding.

And don't get me started on the 'shyte music to 11, when the spin classes start...

:mad:

There is a PT who does a Boxercise class in my gym once or twice a week. It seems like every week she has a constant battle with the music / PA system, her Ipod doesn't connect properly and she has to resort back to using a CD which then skips and repeats.....drives me fupping soft, and I don't even participate in the any of the classes!!

• Registered Users Posts: 39,001 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Anyone lifting more than me - that's really annoying

That is annoying alright.
    Almost as annoying at the people lifting less than me.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,489 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mellor wrote: »
    Almost as annoying at the weaklings lifting less than me.

Pff. You're supposed to give unsolicited advice to them and walk away, looking in the mirror while flexing

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭yoursaviour1989

The guy who took off his shoes and sock and proceeded to pick his toes and lick his fingers for 5 minutes whilst sitting on one of the machines.

was that the recreation room at arkham asylum or something?? FFS you have to be kidding me!:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭yoursaviour1989

rusty cole wrote: »
    was that the recreation room at arkham asylum or something?? FFS you have to be kidding me!:eek:

I'd imagine it was some sort of ear, nose, bellybutton, arse, toe circuit session that I only caught the end of

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

Women wearing loads of make-up.

THIS! ^^

And then by the time they're finished their makeup has ran down their face!

Like why even bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

lets stop and think about that one for a minute.

people are "annoyed" as a random female has make up on. How could this annoy you? does it effect your routine, get in your way, block you from using certain machines, smells?

dont think make up wearing women would annoy me tbf

• Registered Users Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭seanin4711

grunting and dropping weights like hot potatoes!
    mongs

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭Horusire

seanin4711 wrote: »
    grunting and dropping weights like hot potatoes!
    mongs

Why mongs? I grunt and drop weights when its appropriate to the exercise I am doing. Take yesterday a heavy deadlifting session. 1 x 2 then 3 x 8. Grunt on the way up, hit full extension (hopefully) then lower the weight to my knees where gravity takes over and it drops to the floor. Surely this isnt an issue?

Now i can see what you mean when people throw dumbbells down after a set of flat presses but there is a time and place for dropping weights and for grunting IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

fussyonion wrote: »

People putting their bags on benches so you've no room to sit and dress or get your stuff together.

This drives me mental...loads of locker available and they leave their bags on the bench and head out to the gym....big thick fecking eijits

• Registered Users Posts: 9,499 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Skateboarding and rollerblading on the treadmills. Very annoying, dangerous and very noisy when the boarders try tricks.

Move the bags to solve the problem.

I only know this because I saw a lad do it and win The Crystal Maze.

My gym has free lockers to use that lock using your membership card. They are great.

But lads still persist in bringing their gear bags out onto the gym floor. I defended them one day saying to a friend that they prob just have lots of workout related equipment they need i.e. bands, balls, chalk etc.

But realised it was just to save the 2 mins of locking their bag up.

that was banned in my gym before because small weights (hard to get ranges ) 1.25kg plates and small 1kg dumbells plus collars etc were disappearing like fook!

I have resistance bands, foam rollers, boxing gloves etc in my bag in my locker. as I finish one, I go back put it away and take out the next. I agree, bags on the floor should not be allowed.

My skipping rope went for a hop and Im convinced a little dirtbag who asked to borrow it once, stole it. haven't seen him or my rope since!
    he had a big bag with him.

de big bleedin hamburgler head on em!