Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Guess the Village/Town/City Thread 3 (read post 1)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Guill wrote: »
    Hollywood?

No.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Windgap?

Close, but no cigar.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Dufflecoat Fanny

windy arbour

To me this answer sums up the true spirit of the thread, totally wrong but a great answer.

Can I just add Dufflecoat Fanny, that I hope you get it right the next time.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,470 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Looks like a Met Eireann station there....

blackwhite wrote: »
    Looks like a Met Eireann station there....

I would not be too sure about that to be quite honest about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Newtownmountkennedy?

Ah Jaysus lads,

Elton John huge hit,

Breadmaker

John Wayne?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Newtownmountkennedy?

Funny!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Dufflecoat Fanny

brennanstown has to be

• Registered Users Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Could we have a zoomed out image perhaps as the cryptic clues don't seem to be working for us?

To thine own self be true

brennanstown has to be

Afraid not, but good effort Dufflecoat Fanny.

Could we have a zoomed out image perhaps as the cryptic clues don't seem to be working for us?

No can do.

No can do.

Rules say you should post another photo if it is too difficult

bubblypop wrote: »

The rules can say what they want bubblypop but I ain't posting any more pictures because that's the only picture I have.

[mod]in which case either post a streetview image of a nearby building or reveal all![/mod]

bubblypop wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus lads,

Elton John huge hit,

Breadmaker

John Wayne?

Have to work from the clues so,

Elton John ; candle, wind, Norma, Jean, Baker, Marilyn, Monroe?.....
    or different tribute iconic huge hit song.
    Breadmaker ; baker?.........
    John Wayne; Duke, Marion ?........
    add your own words and maybe mix and match .

Have to work from the clues so,

Elton John ; candle, wind, Norma, Jean, Baker, Marilyn, Monroe?.....
    or different tribute iconic huge hit song.
    Breadmaker ; baker?.........
    John Wayne; Duke, Marion ?........
    add your own words and maybe mix and match .

Correctamundo.

Back to yer churches and google maps and rules now with ye.

(not you chooseusername, you rock.)

there are instructions how to post a streetview if you can't do it......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Oops!

Ya... This one is kinda going off the theme of the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I'm confused.. Have we got an answer yet or not??!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I'm confused.. Have we got an answer yet or not??!

I've searched every Monroe on Google Maps and none are a Village or Hamlet so I'm none the wiser...:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Be right back

There is a Monroe townland in Westmeath and Kilkenny.

It's Monroe, Fethard, Co. Tipperary.

Sorry for any confusion, I found the picture on my phone and the phone gave the location as Monroe.

• Registered Users Posts: 584 ✭✭✭niley

Sorry for any confusion, I found the picture on my phone and the phone gave the location as Monroe.

https://www.google.com/maps/@52.4657591,-7.6991913,3a,23.8y,345.55h,84.87t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sVhLhZ3dFPiSyZ-pV1ZL9Kw!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

So what has 'breadmaker' and John Wayne got to do with Monroe:confused:.
    I can't claim this one as all I put up were Names and words in answer
    to the clues.
    So as punishment Rows Grower you have to put up again.:p

So what has 'breadmaker' and John Wayne got to do with Monroe:confused:.
    I can't claim this one as all I put up were Names and words in answer
    to the clues.
    So as punishment Rows Grower you have to put up again.:p

You answered that in your own post, Elton John's hit Candle in the wind was about Marilyn Monroe real name Norma Jean Baker, just now realised that I f8cked up with the John Wayne clue his real name was Marion not Marilyn.

I'll throw up another one there in about an hour, I'm off out the door to go fishing so I'll take a picture in the nearby village.