Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Machinery Photo/Discussion Thread II

• Registered Users Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Base price wrote: »
    Thanks lads but tbh I didn't think I'd have to spend that sort of money - I'm not saying he's not worth it but I reckon he/me will manage swinging outta the 5' scaffolding bar for a another few years.
    If ye have less expensive birthday present suggestions then please let me know cause I'm running out of ideas.

On the flip side, I might just buy him a fly rod and teach him how to fly fish although I reckon the fish will stay safe enough in the lake rolleyes.png

I know little of mechanical things - but the swinging off the bar make me think of one them torque multiplier yokes... Seen a lad use one here to take off a wheel off, when I was expecting the scaffolding bar treatment... :)

I’ll put it out there and let other say whether they’re any good or not...

Like this (I dunno if this is a good brand or example now or not)
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hardcastle-Torque-Multiplier-Wrench-Set/dp/B011P3QQBW/ref=asc_df_B011P3QQBW/?tag=googshopuk-21&linkCode=df0&hvadid=226613731662&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=2604959948953197973&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=m&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=20475&hvtargid=pla-711440882584&psc=1

• Registered Users Posts: 11,132 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I know little of mechanical things - but the swinging off the bar make me think of one them torque multiplier yokes... Seen a lad use one here to take off a wheel off, when I was expecting the scaffolding bar treatment... :)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hardcastle-Torque-Multiplier-Wrench-Set/dp/B011P3QQBW/ref=asc_df_B011P3QQBW/?tag=googshopuk-21&linkCode=df0&hvadid=226613731662&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=2604959948953197973&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=m&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=20475&hvtargid=pla-711440882584&psc=1
    Thanks, tbh I've never seen one of them used but it looks like a cheaper option. As you said, see what the other's say about them as I don't have a clue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Advice please :)

OH's birthday is coming up soon and I was thinking of getting him a impact wrench/driver thingie as a present. I reckon either a half or three quarter inch drive would suit as it would be used mainly to open wheel studs, nuts and bolts on the tractor/digger/machinery instead of swinging out of a bar with 5' of scaffolding tube at the other end.
    Would a pneumatic one work off the air compressor outlet on the lorry as it's piped for a drag trailer or should I look at a battery one. Also how much would one of them cost.

Thanks in advance.

https://www.toolsense.co.uk/dewalt-dcf899p2-18v-brushless-3-sp-high-torque-wrench.html

This is an affordable bit of kit. Only sorry I didn't buy one sooner. Can expand tool kit by buying bare units, eg cordless angle grinder. If you have a VAT number you can use it when ordering online, Does it have to be your own VAT number?

If you want a cheaper present a torque wrench or cordless battery angle grinder.

Tools are 20-30% cheaper ordering from UK, even more if you have a VAT number.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,957 ✭✭✭emaherx

Thats a better option than a cheap air impact gun. I bought one a few years ago and have yet to find a stud it wouldn't crack, and much better than the scaffold tubes. The cheap air gun is usefull then for spinning of the nut once the nut is cracked open.

I know nothing of the brand in the link, but any I've seen have been unknown brands anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

emaherx wrote: »
    Thats a better option than a cheap air impact gun. I bought one a few years ago and have yet to find a stud it wouldn't crack, and much better than the scaffold tubes. The cheap air gun is usefull then for spinning of the nut once the nut is cracked open.

I know nothing of the brand in the link, but any I've seen have been unknown brands anyway.

That's good value, the few sockets in the box would be a tenner each around here. I use one but you need space to work it, a cordless would be lighter and tidier.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2380057.m570.l1311.R1.TR8.TRC2.A0.H0.Xtorque+mul.TRS0&_nkw=torque+multiplier&_sacat=0
    Look at the price of the 9th one down:P

Another great option for a pressie is a Leatherman multitool if he hasn't got one already. Wouldn't open any wheel nuts though.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭charlesodowd

Advice please :)

OH's birthday is coming up soon and I was thinking of getting him a impact wrench/driver thingie as a present. I reckon either a half or three quarter inch drive would suit as it would be used mainly to open wheel studs, nuts and bolts on the tractor/digger/machinery instead of swinging out of a bar with 5' of scaffolding tube at the other end.
    Would a pneumatic one work off the air compressor outlet on the lorry as it's piped for a drag trailer or should I look at a battery one. Also how much would one of them cost.

Thanks in advance.

Is he set up on a cordless platform?

i.e. Does he have batteries and a charger for a particular brand?

If so check out that brands offering in impact wrench, 1/2 inch 18V would suffice for most routine farming work.

If not then I wouldn't buy one as you'd be tying him to that brand (plus you'd have to buy batteries and charger which could easily run a few hundred euro)

I picked up a Makita DTW285Z recently for around the 150-200 mark, able to do all I need it to.The other tools linked here are for what one would consider semi-professional or professional use. Unless you are making money using them, it's a significant inventment.

A set of deep sockets also a must, if using impact wrench.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Yeah they will only do 20k but can be towed behind a jeep. I have a demo booked in for this winter I've a very narrow passageway here 9'9" and I reckon that's the narrowest machine out there.

I think the next model up is it the 5522? is 6ft wide as well but can lift the 2 tonne? May be worth a look at if in budget as the extra tonne capacity can make a difference even safety wise

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Mooooo wrote: »
    I think the next model up is it the 5522? is 6ft wide as well but can lift the 2 tonne? May be worth a look at if in budget as the extra tonne capacity can make a difference even safety wise

The 4512 is a full foot narrower than the 5522. If I thought I could get away with it I'd go with the bigger one. I've attached a pic as you can see theres not a whole lot of room to work with.

She's tight alright! Have a 12 ft passage here and find it a pain with an old jcb 412.

12 ft would be like feeding in the yard here. We had to adjust the pillars when we bought that tractor as the joiners at the top were hitting the top of the cab on the right hand side.

I think the 4512 would have enough lift capacity it's more than the loader has atm at 1.2 ton and the idea of a euro hitch so no adapter plate would keep the weight down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

12 ft would be like feeding in the yard here. We had to adjust the pillars when we bought that tractor as the joiners at the top were hitting the top of the cab on the right hand side.

I think the 4512 would have enough lift capacity it's more than the loader has atm at 1.2 ton and the idea of a euro hitch so no adapter plate would keep the weight down.

Would you be better going with a articulated loader like a JCB 220 or the equivalent Wiedmanan or Schaffer?

Those smaller artics would turn on a sixpence

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

A pivot steer is what you need, I've a weidemann 5080t, I've a narrower passage than your 1 and it's no problem to use, no need to sprong any silage either, just push it in with the grab or bucket

• Registered Users Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭X6.430macman

9t from chandlers?

9t from TNS... Manns brought out an 8800 yesterday for a couple hours, had a Macdon style flex head. 7xl auger on the claas which looks insane behind the combine, Both machines well able to move along in wheat, sounds like the guys were more impressed with the ideal

• Registered Users Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Stumbled across this video today while looking at something completely different. Brilliant 18 minutes spent looking at the work. And as a man with a Nuffield it made me even more engrossed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A pivot steer is what you need, I've a weidemann 5080t, I've a narrower passage than your 1 and it's no problem to use, no need to sprong any silage either, just push it in with the grab or bucket

I've been looking for a handy telescopic loader for a while now but I was seriously impressed with a few that had crab steer so I moved away from looking at the pivot steer models.

I may live to regret saying that now:D

I've been looking for a handy telescopic loader for a while now but I was seriously impressed with a few that had crab steer so I moved away from looking at the pivot steer models.

I may live to regret saying that now:D

Kramer are a brilliant loader anyway, looked at one here before we got the Weidemann, but four wheel steer pushing up silage would have been lethal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Kramer are a brilliant loader anyway, looked at one here before we got the Weidemann, but four wheel steer pushing up silage would have been lethal.

She'll only be feeding and cleaning here. The contractor has better machines for silage than I'd be able to afford.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭9935452

blue5000 wrote: »

That's good value, the few sockets in the box would be a tenner each around here. I use one but you need space to work it, a cordless would be lighter and tidier.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2380057.m570.l1311.R1.TR8.TRC2.A0.H0.Xtorque+mul.TRS0&_nkw=torque+multiplier&_sacat=0
    Look at the price of the 9th one down:P

Another great option for a pressie is a Leatherman multitool if he hasn't got one already. Wouldn't open any wheel nuts though.

+1 on the torque multiplier.
    Ive a few of the inch drive ones that came with the 6 sockets. All the common sizes in one box.
    Very good value .

How do you find the weidemann? What size shear grab have you on it and what can she lift?

Brilliant, it'll go place you'd never even dream of getting a tractor or even a bigger loader, the shear grab is 5'2 but the reason for that is the narrow passage, it'd handle a bigger one no problem, the most I've ever lifted was a pallet of fert, so 2 tonnes.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Borrowed one of those torque multipliers lately
    to take the back wheel off a tractor, a super job. It was a 1 inch drive, think the ratio was about 1:56. You'd be looking at about the 250 mark for a good one I'd say

• Registered Users Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Stumbled across this video today while looking at something completely different. Brilliant 18 minutes spent looking at the work. And as a man with a Nuffield it made me even more engrossed!

Youtube is great for stuff like that alright. I'm sure there's another one on potatoes with Nuffields

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭9935452

raypallas wrote: »
    Borrowed one of those torque multipliers lately
    to take the back wheel off a tractor, a super job. It was a 1 inch drive, think the ratio was about 1:56. You'd be looking at about the 250 mark for a good one I'd say

Ive a cheap one for years and never had an issue with it . It cost 50 euro
    They wont get used a huge amount.
    Only if the inch air gun fails to open a stud which is extremely rare . I have a selection of cp guns on a compresser running 140 psi.
    The other time its used is changing wheels in the field where no compresser is available .

I saw a 5080t in Wilson's the last time I was up in Ballymena and I had ruled it out as it looked too big on the ground. I'll have another look and see if I can get one on demo. You see the odd pivot steer second hand too which could be a cheaper option.

Yeah getting a demo is your best option, even the smaller pivot models would be a good bit more powerful than the 4512, only thing is their hard got second hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭josephsoap

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/video-dramatic-scenes-as-tractor-overturns-in-wexford/

Did the driver pull the hand break which might have led the tractor to overturn ?

I wonder did the pin come out between the break pedals maybe and only breaked one side going into the turn?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

josephsoap wrote: »
    https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/video-dramatic-scenes-as-tractor-overturns-in-wexford/

Did the driver pull the hand break which might have led the tractor to overturn ?

Looks like there was some sort of grid that caught the left front wheel which it pushed in front of it and automatic four wheel or three wheel drive kicked in. It'd kick in anyway when the brakes are applied and combined with that grid and the turn spun it around and over.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

car up the hole
    so didn't want to slow down enough to take the turn correctly
    ended up cutting the corner
    front left wheel sinks a bit
    pushes the rear of the around and over she goes.

thats my summary of it

• Registered Users Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ganmo wrote: »
    car up the hole
    so didn't want to slow down enough to take the turn correctly
    ended up cutting the corner
    front left wheel sinks a bit
    pushes the rear of the around and over she goes.

thats my summary of it

And the loader up high just helped flip her over