Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post here when you buy a new game

• 09-09-2011 1:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

To try and get some discussion going here I thought we could steal the arcade and retro forums idea. Every new post need not be a new purchase but some discussion on what others have bought etc..

To get things started I'll post my latest game still sitting on the table in it's shrink wrap after a courier surprised me with a drop off (the postie had already been and gone).

Dominant Species
    pic784193_md.jpg

This game has flew up the boardgamegeek rank breaking the top 20 and earning a great review from my go to Tom Vasel. I still have my reservations though. The OH is my main co-gamer and is not one for long drawn out rule explanations (this has killed Dungeon Twister and Twilight Struggle) and also it's game lenght is a bit scary. With that said I was leaning towards Survive! and she pushed for this so here's hoping eh :D

I have another game on the way, hopefully here next week of the second hand (and ever so slightly) retro column.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Pandemic! Hoping to play it next weekend

Pandemic_game.jpg

Pandemic is based on the premise that four diseases have broken out in the world, each threatening to wipe out a region. The game accommodates 2 to 4 players, each playing one of five possible specialists: (dispatcher, medic, scientist, researcher or operations expert). The game is unlike most boardgames as the gameplay is cooperative, rather than competitive. Through the combined effort of all the players, the goal is to discover all four cures before any of several game-losing conditions are reached.

(Text from Wikipedia)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I have it. It's a great game and it's a different feeling when you as a team are screwed over by the game but it always remains playfully fun. I will say like most co-ops it runs the risk of someone becoming a vocal team leader and making other's decisions for them.

Got my first game of Dominant in over the weekend and I recommend it. It's not nearly as heavy as I thought and the OH seemed to enjoy it. It helped that I only built up a nasty lead at the end too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I have it. It's a great game and it's a different feeling when you as a team are screwed over by the game but it always remains playfully fun. I will say like most co-ops it runs the risk of someone becoming a vocal team leader and making other's decisions for them.

Got my first game of Dominant in over the weekend and I recommend it. It's not nearly as heavy as I thought and the OH seemed to enjoy it. It helped that I only built up a nasty lead at the end too :D

This used to be me :o Now I bite my tongue and keep schtum while my friends make completely illogical moves ;)

Same here :D It's tough when you've played enough to have a better idea. Nowadays I think it's best to explain that the team will probably loose once or twice while everyone gets to grips with the game on their own.

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

Pandemic! Hoping to play it next weekend
    /QUOTE]

Love Pandemic, it's great!

Great idea for a thread! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

Shooter, can you write up a quick review of Dominant Species when you have given it a go?

Not bought anything in ages myself, I need to go shopping =)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭brianon

A few things arrived this week after a long drought.

But before that...
    Dominant Species (1 play): Can't say I was a huge fan of it tbh. Huge downtime at times BUT would like another go before a final judgement.

Pandemic (multiple plays): Very good game. Had the expansion also but traded them both away.

Just arrived.
    rune-age-box.png

the-lord-of-the-rings-the-card-game-the-hunt-for-gollum-400x400.jpg

Got Stronghold in a trade last week also for Pirate's Cove (good game).
    stronghold-board-game_1_1.jpg

Next up... Blood Bowl Team Manager (in October I think).

Oh and last week I got Go from adverts.
    300px-Go_board.jpg

Out of interest guys, where do ye normally order from?

oeb wrote: »

ebay mostly. Then BoardGameGeek marketplace and trade games there also.
    Adverts sometimes has some good stuff. In fact LOTR War of the Rings is on adverts for 40€ (I have no connection with that sale) and that is a serious BARGAIN. I have the game (its wonderful and it cost WAY more than that normally.

Shooter, can you write up a quick review of Dominant Species when you have given it a go?

Not bought anything in ages myself, I need to go shopping =)

Will do. Only had one game and would like to give it another go now we know what we're doing first.

Ebay (mostly IGUK and Celestial Games) but always have a gawx into the BGG page to see what it's selling for. You can pickup many a game from Europe shipped for the same as the UK. I got a German version of Carcassone the city it it's lovely wooden box from there pretty cheap.
    brianon wrote: »
    ebay mostly. Then BoardGameGeek marketplace and trade games there also.
    Adverts sometimes has some good stuff. In fact LOTR War of the Rings is on adverts for 40€ (I have no connection with that sale) and that is a serious BARGAIN. I have the game (its wonderful and it cost WAY more than that normally.

Feck that's tempting. I really shouldn't...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭ObeyGiant

Dixitgame.jpg

Finally picked up a copy of Dixit (and the expansion pack) after watching Robert Florence gush about it on Downtime Town. Looking forward to bringing it out after a few drinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

brianon wrote: »
    Next up... Blood Bowl Team Manager (in October I think).

One of the lads got this in Gencon this year. Played it a good bit since then. Superb game and well worth the pickup.

ps Skaven are the nut high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Ankh-Morpork.

Just got delivery of the new T. Pratchett novel 'Snuff'. Was flicking around and saw some stuff about this game - I'm a massive Pratchett fan and just pushed the button to buy the Collector's edition.

I don't think I'll even find anyone to play it with to be honest - any groups going at the moment playing this ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Reloc8 wrote: »
    Ankh-Morpork.

I'm a massive Pratchett fan and just pushed the button to buy the Collector's edition.
    Me too,but looking at the reply I got it will probably be mar next year,before my copy is ready,that's if there are any left.Not really big into his books,but the game looks pretty good.I think the review I seen was on dicetower or boardgamegeek.

Sorry it was'nt the collectors edition,it was the Delux edition...thats why theres the long wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Well, Ankh Morpork got here and I've played a couple of 3 player games - its great fun altogether. One of our players was not a Pratchett fan but this didn't affect him at all. Really nicely put together enjoyable little game - and if you are a Pratchett fan, it gets the 'vibe' of the books very well.

Having returned to boardgames after so long, I've just ordered a copy of Axis & Allies...thinking myself and the brother might have a go over christmas. We used to play loads of that kind of stuff as kids although we never had A&A - but you know the kind of thing - map with a billion hexes, 000's of little cardboard counters...I remember a Napoleonic one in which the introductory/tutorial Austerlitz scenario took 12 hours to play !

pic333964_md.jpg
    Bought a copy of this last week.Considered a "Gateway game" ,but IMO it will appeal to seasoned gamers as well.Its very easy to learn/play ,yet has lots of ways to win.
    Players use up to 10 tribe members each in 3 phases. In the first phase, players place their men in regions of the board that they think will benefit them, including the hunt, the trading center, or the quarry. In the second phase, the starting player activates each of his staffed areas in whatever sequence he chooses, followed in turn by the other players. In the third phase, players must have enough food available to feed their populations, or they face losing resources or points.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭osh

Just purchased the collectors edition of Discworld there yesterday. I'm a fan of the books so hopefully it's good :)

Have Stone Age, it's a fun game, and as you say it's easy to pick up and play.

It scales really well with different numbers of players too which is handy if there's less than 4 playing.

Reloc8 wrote: »
    Well, Ankh Morpork got here and I've played a couple of 3 player games - its great fun altogether. One of our players was not a Pratchett fan but this didn't affect him at all. Really nicely put together enjoyable little game - and if you are a Pratchett fan, it gets the 'vibe' of the books very well.

Got my copy today,hope to play a few games the weekend.
    Same as the collectors edition apart from the pieces.

pic1125221_md.jpg

Got this a couple of weeks back. Great game and can be played solo with a little imagination.

http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/102652/sentinels-of-the-multiverse

sent.jpg

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Bought this for himself for Christmas (we're on a Holmes kick at the moment). It's one of those rare games that allows 2 players. No such restrictions last night when we cracked it open with the in laws.

You're basically traveling around gathering clues about a case and when you feel you've worked out the details you go back to 221b to declare it. I found it really enjoyable, I always fancied myself as an amateur sleuth :pac:

1157.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 14,715 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

There are something like 40 cases in the basic set. You can get expansion cases if you get through all 40 cases and feel like you want to play more. I think there are 8 in total and 20 cases in each.

Yay It's January when all of the extra barwork over the christmas is squirreled away for the quiet months ahead splurged on board games!

First up (pics to follow tomorrow) is the 1980's German copy of Atlantis which I broke out yesterday. Plays pretty quickly and the OH seems to enjoy it so it looks a winner.
    Few more arriving soon...

I did a tiny bit of board game shopping yesterday :P

Dominant Species
    A Game of Thrones (Second Edition)
    Agricola

All three have been on my wish list for a while, now I just need to learn them so I can teach the rest of the group! I think Game of Thrones will be first.

Dominant Species
    Agricola

All three have been on my wish list for a while, now I just need to learn them so I can teach the rest of the group! I think Game of Thrones will be first.

Sadly I havent gotten Dominant to the table again but hopefully soon... I like me Agricola but it frustrates me that the game ends usually just as you are getting in a good position. I know that's the point but I'm a completionist and I'm never happy with my farm at the end :)

Since I posted last I have picked up Eldar Sign (yay solo games) though I'm not sure how I feel about it yet. I like solo games to immerse me and it's pretty stripped down to mechanics.
    I also got blood bowl and I enjoy it's hectic-ness but only played 2 player so far and can't wait to try out a game with 3 or 4.
    And (yes I did splurge that xmas money) I got Rivals for Catan which I and thankfully the OH have fallen in love with. My only tiny gripe is Mayfair games replacing two wooden tokens the KOSMOS version came with with crappy plastic ones. I really need to learn more German and then force everyone I know to learn it too...
    And... :) on it's way from the UK (thanks to the angry video game nerds videos strangely) I have a copy of the classic game of "strategic flicking" Loopin Louie.
    As much of a nerd as I am and as tempting as it is to take you up on a long ass trip to Kerry for a game of TI:3 I still have a soft spot for silly fun and I haven't been this excited about a silly game since Cash n Guns (which I love)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭seagull

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I also got blood bowl and I enjoy it's hectic-ness but only played 2 player so far and can't wait to try out a game with 3 or 4.
    I haven't played blood bowl in a good while, but always enjoyed it. I don't know if they ever made their way into the official rules, but one issue of White Dwarf had a set of rules for a ref. It added to the mayhem. Included was the option to foul the ref.

So, have any of ye played "A game of thrones" by FFG? I picked it up there at the weekend, it looks pretty great and we are hoping to give it a run with 5 or 6 players on Saturday. (The game requires 3-6)

It reminds me a lot of Diplomacy, players make their orders for the turn in secret (Using face down tokens, rather than writing the orders down as you do in diplomacy). Players can make one of 5 order types. Raid which can be used to remove some other token types or to steal counters (Influence I believe they are called) from other players (Influence are used to bid on certain other in game mechanics). March is used both to advance into unclaimed territories or to invade inhabited ones. Defend generally gives a small bonus to troups that you think may be attacked this turn, Support allows your territory to lend it's troop numbers to an adjacent March or Defend action (Even to other players), and Consolidate is used to gain Influence from a current (Influence producing) territory that you control.

Combat is dice-less, it's all based on the numbers. Attackers + any support + the house card (Commander) you have chosen for this battle Vs Defenders + any support + their house card. If attackers are greater than defenders, the defenders retreat, and have to move into an adjacent, friendly, territory. If they can not, they are destroyed. (Losses can be also be caused by various mechanics available on the house cards, but regularly, retreats will be loss-less). If the defenders win, the attackers are routed and stay in the territory they came from.

The territories on the map can also contain little icons that dictate what they provide you. Little barrels represent Supply, supply dictates how large your armies can be (I'll go into that in a second). Little crowns represent Influence, which is used with the raid and consolidate actions to decide how many influence tokens you gain. Territory's can also contain Ports which produce boats and can produce influence (Through trade with the Free cities that lie somewhere off the map), or Stongholds/Castles which produce troops. Some contain more than one kind, some contain none.

One of the particularly neat things about how the game works is the turn structure. At the start of each turn, three cards are dealt from a set of numbered decks, these cards dictate a number of important actions that may be taken that turn. For example, Supply forces everyone to adjust their supply. They count up the number of little barrels in their territories, and this dictates how many armies they can have, and how large they can be. Your armies then have to be reconciled immediately. This leads to a number of interesting scenarios. A formally powerful player has lost a lot of territory, but he still keeps his army limits until the supply card comes up, then his army desert him. Or an up and coming player takes a bunch of land, but finds himself waiting for the supply card with thinly spread forces so he can consolidate his takings! In a similar vein, the Mustering card needs to show up before you can train new troops at any stronghold.
    There are also cards that do things like forbid certain action counters from being played, or invoke other infrequent mechanics.

Overall, I am very much looking forward to Saturday. This game looks like it will be a very interesting mix of strategy, bluffing and diplomacy. (I have by no means covered all the mechanics here, for fans of the books (Like me!) the game also includes mechanics for things like Wilding attacks, the game of thrones (Based around a bidding mechanic and 3 influence tracks, that grant specific bonuses), neutral territories (That contain armies of their own, for example, the vale) and more)

So, have any of ye played "A game of thrones" by FFG?

I have this, played five turns of it recently, it was very good, once we got the hang of what orders were bests etc. Nice mechanics, lovely board. Can't wait to play a full game of it.

Got a copy of Discworld - Ankh Morpork for Christmas, looks a very tidy game, and also looking forward to having some free time to give it a run.

Dominant Species
    Agricola

I was looking at Dominant Species recently, but I couldn't justify the price tag (have no time to play games at the moment). Let us know how it plays :)

Got a copy of this last week.So far I have played it about five times ,with three players.Great game IMO,I can see myself playing this one on a regular basis.

pic1202331_md.jpg
    In Lords of Waterdeep, a strategy board game for 2-5 players, you take on the role of one of the masked Lords of Waterdeep, secret rulers of the city. Through your agents, you recruit adventurers to go on quests on your behalf, earning rewards and increasing your influence over the city. Expand the city by purchasing new buildings that open up new actions on the board, and hinder – or help – the other lords by playing Intrigue cards to enact your carefully laid plans.

http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/110327/lords-of-waterdeep

2nd expansion for Ascension arrived yesterday :)203039.jpg