Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Milk Price III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

• Registered Users Posts: 29,078 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Who supplies the milk for Danone products? Was in shop this morning and apparently there's a shortage of Danone products atm?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

whelan2 wrote: »
    Who supplies the milk for Danone products? Was in shop this morning and apparently there's a shortage of Danone products atm?
    Mm...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Various coops, dairygold, glanbia, arrabawn I think anyway. Danone and Pfizer both imported a **** load from Europe last year as well

Just a quick note for Kerry suppliers. The figures being talked about for the shortfall in payments in milk is something like

2015..0.73c
    2016..1.7c
    2017..1.8c
    2018..2.2c
    2019..2.3c

No idea as yet whether interest is due on those figures and they are subject to change depending on what agreement comes about. Failing an agreement, the parties involved will go back to the arbitrator again and he will make a determination then.

Also, think twice about fixing milk in the scheme starting on Tuesday as any milk in the fixed price schemes don't seem to be eligible for any top up payments at the minute. So you would seem to be needing in excess of 31.8c/l @3.6/3.3 to match the current base price?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Just a quick note for Kerry suppliers. The figures being talked about for the shortfall in payments in milk is something like

2015..0.73c
    2016..1.7c
    2017..1.8c
    2018..2.2c
    2019..2.3c

No idea as yet whether interest is due on those figures and they are subject to change depending on what agreement comes about. Failing an agreement, the parties involved will go back to the arbitrator again and he will make a determination then.

Also, think twice about fixing milk in the scheme starting on Tuesday as any milk in the fixed price schemes don't seem to be eligible for any top up payments at the minute. So you would seem to be needing in excess of 31.8c/l @3.6/3.3 to match the current base price?

Meeting tues night in ballyroe presume there will be more information provided on the night as to where is everything is at at the min....?

Yeah, a bit more detail will be given at that alright. Iirc, they have till Monday to come to an agreement between the Co-op and PLC before it reverts back to the Arbitrator.

There's a few lads on here that have stopped milking since 2015 so they will be getting a bit of that top up as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

2015..0.73c
    2016..1.7c
    2017..1.8c
    2018..2.2c
    2019..2.3c

Has that meeting been notified somehow?

Not yet, seems word of mouth so far but I imagine you'll be notified before the meeting in your area.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,927 ✭✭✭alps

"At least milk price is good"

How can this delusional comment be doing the rounds?.hearing it from reps, lorry drivers, landlords and even farmers..

Here's our Aug and March milk price for last 3 years...were falling way behind the other Europeans.. something is seriously wrong

Mar Aug
    19 33.96 32.35
    18 34.93 36.49
    17 33.83 40.48

8c/l down on '17..look at the normal lift in price between March and August..

Markets have not weakened like that..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,877 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I'm wondering are the processors realising that as beef is unprofitable, new entrants galore they can reduce price as options for current dairy farmers are limited. Maybe we are becoming like the beef men, price takers. Worrying the next few years especially if world production ramps up

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I'm wondering are the processors realising that as beef is unprofitable, new entrants galore they can reduce price as options for current dairy farmers are limited. Maybe we are becoming like the beef men, price takers. Worrying the next few years especially if world production ramps up

World production down atm supposedly

Ireland would be the odd man out. Production up here from 5.3B litres to 8.2B litres since the ending of quotas.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭mf240

Ireland would be the odd man out. Production up here from 5.3B litres to 8.2B litres since the ending of quotas.

Irish farmers are special. Can't be stopped. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 29,078 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

How much of our product is exported? No justification for price drop for August imo

Over 90% exported. It's hard to justify especially as price drops fast but rises are extremely slow.

We do need a bit more transparency in pricing, I think, similar to what's being looked for in beef.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭roosterman71

How much milk is used in baby formula here? Noticed the last couple of weeks that the Aptimal powder I buy is up €1

• Registered Users Posts: 4,927 ✭✭✭alps

From the journal...some committing to end of cuts..

What’s the short-term milk price outlook?

Arrabawn chair Edward Carr: “That’s the end of the price cuts unless something happens we don’t know about. Butter and other market signals have improved.”

Glanbia chair Martin Keane: “It’s a wait and see for our business and another month will tell a lot. There is still a lot of uncertainty out there. Consumer sentiment is still that bit flat and it’s an unreceptive market.”

Dairygold chair John O’Gorman: “I expect that we are close to bottoming out. We are investing heavily so like all businesses we have financial commitments. I can’t guarantee anything, but I agree the market looks like it’s improving.”

Lakeland chair Alo Duffy: “Brexit is the big unknown but we are hopeful we will get a deal. Our value-added component is helping us. Butter was the concern, but the market seems to have stabilised.”

Aurivo chair Pat Duffy: “The sentiment is positive. Yesterday’s New Zealand auction result helped. The oil attack this week will probably hike processing costs, but, in time it might also help product price.”

Kerry spokesperson: “Global demand and pricing remain under pressure. Market expectations are for a gradual recovery through 2020.”

Carbery chair TJ Sullivan: “We’d be confident that the market is improving, but we have to qualify it as 31 October [Brexit] is coming, and there is no solution on the table just yet.”

• Registered Users Posts: 3,244 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

alps wrote: »
    "At least milk price is good"

How can this delusional comment be doing the rounds?.hearing it from reps, lorry drivers, landlords and even farmers..

Here's our Aug and March milk price for last 3 years...were falling way behind the other Europeans.. something is seriously wrong

Mar Aug
    19 33.96 32.35
    18 34.93 36.49
    17 33.83 40.48

8c/l down on '17..look at the normal lift in price between March and August..

Markets have not weakened like that..

I’ve posted before that the price you’re getting is not credible. The markets are bullish for quite a while now and prices have been upwards only for a long time.

We got our minimum prices for the next three months a couple of weeks ago. I’ll post them when I get back.
    I do know that we got an extra 1.5cpl (over what was guaranteed) for August and September.

My biggest concern is that milk seems to be getting overpriced...

Time for a milk plan?
    OR
    The returns aren’t there for base commodities?
    If it’s the latter, I’d be getting concerned...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭mf240

Playing devils advocate, but brexit is not helping our price

• Registered Users Posts: 6,877 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Glanbia chair really playing down, suppose ye can't bite the hand that feeds you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Over 90% exported. It's hard to justify especially as price drops fast but rises are extremely slow.

We do need a bit more transparency in pricing, I think, similar to what's being looked for in beef.

There is 1 major difference Buford between milk and beef that we, as dairy farmers, need to wake up to.

On the beef side us farmers are selling our product to Larry and Co, which are independently owned companies. As such we have no real power or control over them and there is no obligation on them to disclose to us how they run their business

But on the milk side it is our business, we own the coops, and farmers need to remember that employees of the coop are employees of the farmers. In my opinion the coops have been given too much of a free leash and seem to think they can do as they wish. Farmers need to get back into a position of control, we need to rigorously question Coop management on their actions and get them to justify their actions.

Cutting milk price is the easy option when you are badly managed

• Registered Users Posts: 6,456 ✭✭✭jaymla627

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Glanbia chair really playing down, suppose ye can't bite the hand that feeds you

He”ll definitely go another cent, if other co-ops hold the glanbia board cant really go any lower, with share price after tanking and no carrots left to dangle re spinouts it wouldn’t take much of a push for management and farmer elected board members to start getting a big backlash

• Registered Users Posts: 21,113 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Panch, two problems with board members, firstly most are, yes men. Secondly, they don't have the ability.

Water John wrote: »
    Panch, two problems with board members, firstly most are, yes men. Secondly, they don't have the ability.

I don't think that's fair on Board members, John. Their responsibility, on joining the Board, becomes totally to manage and enhance the business. They can push milk price to a certain degree but not to the degree where they put the business at risk.

However, in a situation where there is free movement of milk supply from one processor to another paying a better price, they have more ability to push for a rise to cater for retaining/building supplies.

Long milk contracts, and the contracts themselves, remove a lot of power that suppliers should have to enhance their milk price by putting their processor on notice of their willingness to move.

Buford, fully aware of the balance between milk price and coop profitability. It's more about competent management and a Board holding them to account.
    Management have often prioritised their own renumeration and pensions than fullfiling their jobs. The era of quota and intervention made them especially lazy.
    Make a commodity product and feck it into intervention.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Water John wrote: »

Thirdly they are smarter than guys who are not there......only joking

I'll just put this here from the 2015 Accounts of Drinagh Co-op.

Board Member
    Patrick Burke (to June ‘15)
    Richard Connell
    David Connolly
    Derry Connolly
    Jerry Hegarty
    Mary Hayes
    Ian Kingston
    Michéal Leahy
    Patrick McCarthy
    Donie O’Donovan (from June’15)
    James O’Donovan
    Jerome O’Mahony (from June’15)
    John O’Mahony
    Jerry O’Neill (to June ‘15)
    T.J. Sullivan
    No. of Meetings

Also a Member of:

Audit Committee to June ‘15
    Audit & Remuneration Committees
    Investment & Remuneration Committees
    Audit & Remuneration Committees

Investment Committee
    Audit Committee

Remuneration Committee

Audit Committee to June ‘15

Sorry this didn't copy right but shows the Total Board Renumeration as €36,282.
    Directors in most others Co-ops would have a good bit more, Each.

BTW, who would you like to be supplying milk to?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Fyi
    Strathroy down 0.5c @29.52 + 0.5 quality bonus