Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Are you taking part in any LGBTQ events for pride month?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,799 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Just to balance things up...an interesting article from the UK on discrimination against hetrosexual couples.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/world/supreme-court-victory-for-heterosexual-couple-in-civil-partnership-fight-851422.html

Whatabout whataboutery

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

To be clear and to not be misrepresented;

I believe there is no difference between heterosexuals and homosexuals apart from what they get up to in the bedroom.

I don't feel a need to celebrate their sexuality as it is a non issue to me.

I think being proud of your sexuality is a little odd but I understand that after years of oppression, you would want to celebrate it, therefore the pride festival, although something I wouldn't attend, is fair enough.

People get attacked for all kinds of reasons. It's abhorrent that a gay person would be attacked for being gay. It's equally abhorrent for someone to be attacked for the color of their skin/hair or their weight or their sight.

Bad people will hurt other people regardless and use hurtful names. It doesn't make it right, but it doesn't mean you are a perpetual victim.

I have been attacked unprovoked on countless times and had many insults and slurs thrown at me while I got beaten. One one occasion, I was nearly beaten to death. It's a horrible and frightening scenario and I genuinely feel for those who are in constant fear of it.

But when I am told that I am homophobic for refusing point blank to accept that gay people are victims and saying that this country offers more protections than most for these people then I get a little pissed off.

I'm not homophobic, I treat gay people as equals, not some precious and brave subsection of culture.

Most of the gay people I know appreciate that. Those who don't can continue to be victims.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Spleerbun

Please fvck all the way off, anyone and everyone using this as grounds for debate. You look like an idiot when you do it and it’s just so transparent it’s pathetic

Woah woah woah. Trans Parents are people too pal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

As I said, time for you to stop throwing the accusations when someone disagrees with you.

Just to balance things up...an interesting article from the UK on discrimination against hetrosexual couples.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/world/supreme-court-victory-for-heterosexual-couple-in-civil-partnership-fight-851422.html

Gays did not discriminate against that couple, it was other heterosexuals who set the law. Your anger is misdirected, that case was nothing to do with homosexuals at all, they do not set the laws. Heterosexuals set the laws for everyone!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

klaaaz wrote: »
    Gays did not discriminate against that couple, it was other heterosexuals who set the law. Your anger is misdirected, that case was nothing to do with homosexuals at all, they do not set the laws. Heterosexuals set the laws for everyone!!

The voting citizens of a country set the laws not just one section of that group
    Everyone is on about marriage equality for homosexuals. This was a case of marriage inequality for hetrosexuals. So much for being equal !

The voting citizens of a country set the laws not just one section of that group
    Everyone is on about marriage equality for homosexuals. This was a case of marriage inequality for hetrosexuals. So much for being equal !

Don't think you understand do you?

The vast majority of the country's population is heterosexual hence those elected represent heterosexual viewpoints. Those in power are vastly populated by heterosexuals, they set the laws hence they when setting that law in the UK "forgot" about civil marriage for heterosexuals. Nothing to do with homosexuals at all despite your stretch of the imagination.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Talking of absurd comments, equating Halloween and hetrosexuals with pride is just weird.

You don't see hetrosexuals having parades declaring their hetrosexuality.

If homosexuals want to be equal its time to behave as though you are instead of having a declaration of how different you are.

Hetrosexual couples get beaten up to. Time to grow up boys and girls. Play with the grown ups and stop throwing your toys out of the pram with accusations when someone disagrees with you.
    You don't get it at all. I was joking about halloween because of the comments about ass less chaps and gays expressing themselves by wearing sexy costumes in the street, halloween is a prime example of heteros wearing sexy costumes in the streets.
    Gay pride is a response to being shamed. People don't march in pride parades because being queer all by itself is an accomplishment, what people take pride in is what they've managed to do about their queerness despite the shame, hostility, violence, the judgement (see this thread for details), the religious condemnation. Real violence is done to queer people by their families, churches, governments, we have been/are still told that fact about us is sick and wrong and not something we should ever tell anyone about ever and yet we manage to find each other and we manage to find it within ourselves to reject the shame and the fear and despite violence live openly, proud of the history for example proud of people who fought for gay marriage in Ireland and legalisation of homosexuality in very recent times and to highlight oppression in other countries. Marching for many signifies how far we've come and we march in solidarity in a sense to make our own contribution. This year is also the 50th anniversary of the stonewall riots which marked one of the most successful movements for social justice in the last 100 years. That is worth marking. I'm sorry you don't get it and maybe that's because of the recent co-opting of pride by corporations I don't know but pride is much more than just a parade there is a lot going on in terms of events and a history behind it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I liked it when straight people were terrified of gay events.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Possibly?

Least he has the guts to protest against the gays to their faces rather than the insipid and relentlessly stupid keyboard warrior nonsense we see on here.

‘I have no problem with the gays BUT’

Please fvck all the way off, anyone and everyone using this as grounds for debate. You look like an idiot when you do it and it’s just so transparent it’s pathetic

So brave...

So brave...

Too right. Better to be brave than beaten to a pulp for being gay. (Yes it still happens in this country)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Lackadaisical

My only issue with Pride is that it should be more solidly political. I think there's been a wishy-washy commercialisation of what is still very much a live civil rights movement. It's been morphed into commercialised Mardi gras.

I'm not saying it can't be fun, but the serious message is being lost to many the more commercialised that the festival gets.

I'm fine with people being allies and companies being supportive but when you've an LGBT sandwich in M&S donating pennies to a charity and many companies just throwing an old rainbow flag in absolutely anything and everything without any commitment to anything at all you'd start to wonder about what's going on. That flag means something. It's not Christmas wrapping paper.

Yeah, things have finally radically improved in Ireland but you still have some issues and residues of homophobic stuff going on and globally LGBT rights aren't great at all and are even rolling backwards in places like the US. Even up North the whole marriage equality issue hasn't been processed at all.

I'm all for positive celebration but I don't think big commercial Pride festivals in places like Ireland are doing nearly enough to really hammer home those issues.

Pride has to be a serious event at its core or it just turns into nothing more than a street festival.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

What about a private inner pride to complement the public outer pride... or is that just stupid?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,197 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Pride!!! What for. Fu5k off.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,799 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    What about a private inner pride to complement the public outer pride... or is that just stupid?

Ye wha?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

Posted this in another thread so I hope it’s ok to post it here too as it’s relevant.

This is another example of why pride is important. Kids and teens live near this person and some may even attend his church.

How Christian of him

Tennessee preacher-cop calls for execution of LGBTQ people

https://www.cnn.com/2019/06/14/us/tennessee-preacher-cop-lgbtq/index.html

*checks map*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Der Stier

..and this is why pride parades are actually bad for the LGB community

https://youtu.be/_9Mbh0PsVw4

• Registered Users Posts: 9,336 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

Der Stier wrote: »

Almost nothing about the video is about pride parades. It starts off mentioning them sure, but then the entire video goes on a spree of tangents from there. Many of the tangents having nothing to do with LGBT at all, but just sexuality as a whole. And the only link between those tangents..... and LGBT or pride...... is they happen to have been put in the same video.

For example the video cherry picks sentences out of talks about paedophilia. Nothing to do with LGBT. Nothing to do with Pride. It was a video from a scholar that was discussed, and highly misrepresented, here on boards.ie before.

In fact by the end of the video the speaker is ranting about abortion and male gender roles and his problem with mini socks or no socks on men. And vegans. How the hell has that got anything to do with Pride? Some dude who obsesses over socks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

That video is a like a parody of the alt-right... it's completely incoherent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Is there any pride events that would be suitable for a thirteen and a nine year old girl, my daughter has said she would like to attend but I'm not comfortable at this age to allow her to.

From what I've seen over the years from working in the city, there seems to be a lot of under age drinking, and lewd behavior at it which I don't want to expose either of them to.

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Is there any pride events that would be suitable for a thirteen and a nine year old girl, my daughter has said she would like to attend but I'm not comfortable at this age to allow her to.

From what I've seen over the years from working in the city, there seems to be a lot of under age drinking, and lewd behavior at it which I don't want to expose either of them to.

Not gonna lie. The past three or four years Pride in Dublin has seen a rash of underage kids coming into town and getting into awful states.
    That changed last year when it was moved to Smithfield and a confined big space with proper supervision and security and volunteers. Nobody was allowed in with alcohol or if they were messy drunk. They have implemented steps to stop that now.
    Bear in mind, each year pride gets bigger. Look up the arrests for drunk or lewd behaviour. For the last ten years even. There are none.
    As to lewd behaviour, there is none. It’s grand. Your daughter will see far worse in a Beyoncé video. There’s Gardaí all along the route but somehow people think there’s orgies happening in the parade. There isn’t. Nothing even like that.

Bring them in and take part. You’ll all have a great day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Thanks, we're all rockers so Beyoncé disgusts all of us in more ways than one!

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Thanks, we're all rockers so Beyoncé disgusts all of us in more ways than one!

Ah Brillo! Not even going to lie. It’s just a fun day. You go along in the parade. People standing on o Connell st and dame st cheering and whistling. It’s a fun harmless day out full of colour and music and celebration. That’s basically all.
    You’ll see a drunken idiot. You’ll see a drag queen on stilts. You can ask a Garda to get in a funny selfie with you. But you’ll hear amazing stories and speeches and see how Ireland has changed. And if your two little ones are going, be brilliant to let them see that and know it’s all open and there for them and it’ll inform their mindset as they grow up.
    No harm in that at all. Trust me. It’s grand

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭EICVD

Ah Brillo! Not even going to lie. It’s just a fun day. You go along in the parade. People standing on o Connell st and dame st cheering and whistling. It’s a fun harmless day out full of colour and music and celebration. That’s basically all.
    You’ll see a drunken idiot. You’ll see a drag queen on stilts. You can ask a Garda to get in a funny selfie with you. But you’ll hear amazing stories and speeches and see how Ireland has changed. And if your two little ones are going, be brilliant to let them see that and know it’s all open and there for them and it’ll inform their mindset as they grow up.
    No harm in that at all. Trust me. It’s grand

Sounds boring

• Registered Users Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Meesared

*sees its a Paul Joseph Watson video*

EICVD wrote: »
    Sounds boring

Why? It’s not the bacchanalian anything goes sex fest you read about on here? From posters who have never attended?
    It isn’t. Sorry about that.
    It’s a family day open to all.

*and corporations have taken it over and you just know they don’t want their brand associated with any kind of debauchery or anything ‘lewd’. That it had been taken over by them tells anyone doubtful about it that it’s goihg to safe and free of any and all lewdness.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭branie2

No.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Almost nothing about the video is about pride parades. It starts off mentioning them sure, but then the entire video goes on a spree of tangents from there. Many of the tangents having nothing to do with LGBT at all, but just sexuality as a whole. And the only link between those tangents..... and LGBT or pride...... is they happen to have been put in the same video.

For example the video cherry picks sentences out of talks about paedophilia. Nothing to do with LGBT. Nothing to do with Pride. It was a video from a scholar that was discussed, and highly misrepresented, here on boards.ie before.

In fact by the end of the video the speaker is ranting about abortion and male gender roles and his problem with mini socks or no socks on men. And vegans. How the hell has that got anything to do with Pride? Some dude who obsesses over socks?

Thank you for watching that so I don't have to. You took one for the team there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Is there an irritating voice competition going on with rightwing youtubers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Lackadaisical

Not gonna lie. The past three or four years Pride in Dublin has seen a rash of underage kids coming into town and getting into awful states.
    That changed last year when it was moved to Smithfield and a confined big space with proper supervision and security and volunteers. Nobody was allowed in with alcohol or if they were messy drunk. They have implemented steps to stop that now.
    Bear in mind, each year pride gets bigger. Look up the arrests for drunk or lewd behaviour. For the last ten years even. There are none.
    As to lewd behaviour, there is none. It’s grand. Your daughter will see far worse in a Beyoncé video. There’s Gardaí all along the route but somehow people think there’s orgies happening in the parade. There isn’t. Nothing even like that.

Bring them in and take part. You’ll all have a great day.

EVERY event in Ireland has the tendency to go that way. From Pride, to Patrick's Day to major music festivals, there's an element who will just get off their faces and go crazy.

I don't think it's anything Pride specific but more a reflection of a tincy issue we have with binge drinking and drug fuelled unplesant behaviour.