Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Lack of Security at Pope and Irish Safety from Terrorism in general

• Registered Users Posts: 32,975 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Its good to know we have people like you keeping us safe by knowing when terrorists will "be @rsed" killing people.

So many morons on this thread ****posting because something didnt happen.

Get a sense of humour would ye!

• Registered Users Posts: 400 ✭✭mickmac76

In fairness there would be no point in scanning the tickets as they were free and anyone planning an attack could have gotten as many tickets as they wanted before the event. And as for checking peoples bags well they were expecting up to half a million people on the day. That's about six times as many people as use Dublin airport on your average day. Checking the bags of that many people would have led to huge delays and backlogs. An airport is designed to check people and the security area is designed into the airport but the Phoenix Park wasn't designed for that. Besides that the terrorists would simply detonate their explosives in the backloged crowd long before the security screening which would have caused just as many causalities. I'm sure the Gardai have an idea of potential terrorists in the country and they would be monitored during the build up to the visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

NIMAN wrote: »
    Get a sense of humour would ye!

If thats what you call humour

It would have been stricter but everyone was on the lookout for lovelife92's missing wallet.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,354 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

My main security issue was the ridiculous notice sent by OPW/Gardai to people in Church St that they could only have four people in their house and these needed to be registered in advance.

It was ridiculous because there was no way they could enforce it. They can't enter any house just to check who's there, and they can't limit the number of people in any house - it is literally none of their feckin business.

https://twitter.com/NewstalkFM/status/1032451109212827648

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭gem112

It will happen one of these days.....it is only a matter of time....