Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Motorbike insurance - tell us your quotes

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Green_Martian

A bit of haggling would have probably gotten it down to €300 even. What was the price 12 years ago can you remember?

Originally wanted 350 I think, rang them and they dropped to 324.

Jaysis I can't remember what I did last week never mind what insurance was 12 years ago haha, well over a grand on a Bandit 600 form what I can barely remember, might even have been near 2k

Cienciano wrote: »
    I was over 40 at the last renewal

Ah I guessed that from what you put up, I was just taking the mick :D

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭wallpapers123

Planning to get a new STriple, booked one last weekend and trying to get a quote on the insurance, all of the providers have such pathetic policies in place. Principle won't quote unless I hold a full license for a whole year, Carole Nash won't quote for 0 NCB, Liberty won't quote till I get a full license, won't even considering hypothetically that I have a full license just to get a quote.

PS: I am 28 Years old and have been riding since the last 5 years or so.

Thinking to consider buying a different bike now.

Any thoughts..?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

To be honest, it's not a good 'profile' of a risk when you're looking to get Insured on a relatively new(2013+ from your other thread) model bike. The value of the vehicle itself would be an issue, that tied in with the fact you are on a learner permit and have no documented experience on bikes(no NCB).

Your best bet is doing the test and getting the full license before planning to buy any bike, is there any reason you haven't done the test?

I've only been riding bikes since February last year, I was 30 with TPFT insured on a Honda 2003 Varadero 125cc with no NCB for €320. Changed bike to an 2008-600cc after getting my full license and for the remaining 7 months it was an extra €230 and the cover upgraded to full comp.(Carole Nash)

To be honest, it's not a good 'profile' of a risk when you're looking to get Insured on a relatively new(2013+ from your other thread) model bike. The value of the vehicle itself would be an issue, that tied in with the fact you are on a learner permit and have no documented experience on bikes(no NCB).

Your best bet is doing the test and getting the full license before planning to buy any bike, is there any reason you haven't done the test?

I've only been riding bikes since February last year, I was 30 with TPFT insured on a Honda 2003 Varadero 125cc with no NCB for €320. Changed bike to an 2008-600cc after getting my full license and for the remaining 7 months it was an extra €230 and the cover upgraded to full comp.(Carole Nash)

Actually I have ditched the plan of getting a used bike. I'll get a new one instead:D, but the insurance is turning out to be such a pain. I will give my test in coming month (hoping to get the benefit of the 6 month rule). Hopefully will get the full license soon after that.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,101 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Jaysis I can't remember what I did last week never mind what insurance was 12 years ago haha, well over a grand on a Bandit 600 form what I can barely remember, might even have been near 2k

I can remember my first insurance in 1988.
    £214 and tax and license were £5 and £6 or vise versa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

blade1 wrote: »

Jaysus blade1 you’re going right back :pac:

My first insurance was on an X8R was €750 TPO

:eek::eek::eek:

Jaysus blade1 you’re going right back :pac:
    :eek::eek::eek:

16 years of age.
    That's what most lads did in my area.
    I'm the youngest of 4 brothers and they also would have been on the road at 16.
    As would most of my mates and my brother's mates.
    We'd all gather at weekends and head off together.
    We were cool as fùck :pac::pac:

16 years of age.
    That's what most lads did in my area.
    I'm the youngest of 4 brothers and they also would have been on the road at 16.
    As would most of my mates and my brother's mates.
    We'd all gather at weekends and head off together.
    We were cool as fùck :pac::pac:

Was it just a case of pass the eye sight test and buy the provisional licence?

4 brothers all pulling up together on their bikes? I'd say ye were the envy of the locality especially as it was a different country back then.

What was your first bike out of curiosity? Probably bikes from that era that i never even heard of :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭BaronVon

Just getting quotes there for my first bike:

2004 Honda VFR VTec 781cc, value €3500
    • 39 years old
    • Full A for 5 years
    • 0 NCB
    • Commuting
    • Mileage 10k km
    • Stored in Wooden Shed
    • Secure parking in work.

Carole Nash
    TPFT €410 Excess €250
    Comp €524 Excess 250

AON/Axa
    Comp €330
    Only took brief details, so might come in higher/lower

Principal
    Comp €693 including helmet and leathers cover, excess €350
    Reduced immediately to €486, excess €400 without helmet and leathers cover on hearing of other quotes.

MCE
    Comp €741, excess €575, including cover for gear

Liberty
    Online quote of:
    Comp €626
    TPFT €482

Carole Nash agent told me to come back with other quotes and they could make a better offer, reckoned around €100 saving.
    MCE were well off the mark. Overall, I would be happy with fully comp for around €400 as I have no NCB, but certainly all cheaper (except MCE) than the car insurance!

Was it just a case of pass the eye sight test and buy the provisional licence?

4 brothers all pulling up together on their bikes? I'd say ye were the envy of the locality especially as it was a different country back then.

What was your first bike out of curiosity? Probably bikes from that era that i never even heard of :o

Yep just eyesight and buy licence.
    Having older brothers with bikes meant I was fairly seasoned when I reached 16 :pac:
    Always was fascinated by bikes from the time I was a toddler.
    First bike: the mighty Honda 70.
    Cost me £550 and I only had it about 2 months

2em3j94.jpg

Then I moved up to a Suzuki TS100 which I paid £460 for.
    At 16 and 1988 in my area this was like driving around in a Ferrari!!! Babe magnet!!!:pac:

2hzqop0.jpg

And from that a Yamaha RD125 which I think I paid £800 for.

kec5nd.jpg

And from there the list goes on and on!!

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭shuyin1

Lads stay the fudge away from the honda monkey 125 if you're a learner. Caused so much grief trying to get insurance.

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Insurance for a 2001 Yamaha XVS 125cc dragstar
    MCE 1262.44 euro third party fire and theft (750 euro excess)
    Provisional licence held for 5 months
    17 years old 0 year NCB
    Kept in concrete shed at home and at work
    I went with them imo it was fair enough all things considered

AXA wanted 2300 for third party only:eek:
    Carole nash was 1491 TPF
    Liberty was 1734 TPF

• Registered Users Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭ZX7R

17 years old 0 year NCB

Carole nash was 1491 TPF
    Liberty was 1734 TPF

Thank god I am old,my first instance was with p.m.p.a
    £150 Irish Poud fully comp

Jesus they really don't want young lads ladies too Start biking FFS

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

ZX7R wrote: »
    Thank god I am old,my first instance was with p.m.p.a
    £150 Irish Poud fully comp

The way car and bike insurance has gone i thought 1262 was reasonable:D
    Once i get a few years NCB piled up itll get cheaper:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭shuyin1

17 years old 0 year NCB

Carole nash was 1491 TPF
    Liberty was 1734 TPF

That's not too bad.

Myself
    Honda monkey 125
    Liberty/Principal wont insure unless full license
    MCE 700 TPO
    CN 600 TPO

Learner License, 30's.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,878 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

ZX7R wrote: »

For most it's far better now than it used to be.

When I started in 1995, NU had a monopoly, I paid £1000 TPO on a 100cc and I was well into my 20s!

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,906 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

For most it's far better now than it used to be.

When I started in 1995, NU had a monopoly, I paid £1000 TPO on a 100cc and I was well into my 20s!

I remember NU well. I also remember that they had a rider policy which insured you to ride a motorcycle....

CJhaughey wrote: »
    I remember NU well. I also remember that they had a rider policy which insured you to ride a motorcycle....

Yeah we were discussing that last week, it appears NU morphed into Hibernian who morphed into Aviva

• Registered Users Posts: 702 ✭✭✭rowanh

Bizarre reversal of the last few years this time..

03 CBR600F, 37, full license 4 years and 5 years ncb. Living in D8 with bike parked on street.

Carol nash renewel 536

Axa 830
    Liberty 650

Principal 336

Carol nash requote 375, reduced to 353 when i said can you not just match principal. Then I asked them about switching to a 2012 versys 650 and they said it would be 600 euro!!!

MCE 337 but with a 1500 euro excess!!! 211 for third party.

Principal and MCE were always the most expensive, seems they are desperate for new business..

A bit of confusing scenario....
    I tried getting a quote for a new STriple on a learners permit from Liberty insurance a couple of time via the online portal and on call... I was declined saying I have 0 NCB or I don't have full license.. But was on call with them just now and they gave me a quote (A high premium) but they're ready to insure me on the same bike nonetheless..
    I'm confused.. is it some blunder at their part or is it too good to be true and such things happen all the time.

2019 Triumph Street Triple 765cc
    0 NCB
    1 month learner's permit (A Cat)
    28 Yrs age
    IBT Complete
    Liberty Assessment Level 2 Complete
    Quote: 2091 EUR Comprehensive

A bit of confusing scenario....
    I tried getting a quote for a new STriple on a learners permit from Liberty insurance a couple of time via the online portal and on call... I was declined saying I have 0 NCB or I don't have full license.. But was on call with them just now and they gave me a quote (A high premium) but they're ready to insure me on the same bike nonetheless..
    I'm confused.. is it some blunder at their part or is it too good to be true and such things happen all the time.

2019 Triumph Street Triple 765cc
    0 NCB
    1 month learner's permit (A Cat)
    28 Yrs age
    IBT Complete
    Liberty Assessment Level 2 Complete
    Quote: 2091 EUR Comprehensive

What’s this assessment like that you’ve completed?

It was just a basic assessment by a certified trainer.

What was involved? Duration,cost etc?

Reason i ask is the topic has come up on this thread in the most recent comments.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057154990&page=367

What was involved? Duration,cost etc?

Reason i ask is the topic has come up on this thread in the most recent comments.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057154990&page=367

It was done by my IBT Instructor who also happened to be working for liberty insurance. Nothing extra was assessed. Just a normal assessment done during IBT.
    Cost me 120 EUR.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Just bashing some numbers into Liberty and for a 35 year old male with a learners permit with zero NC it doesnt seem matter if I go for a 125cc or a 250cc. Looks like I will go for a 250cc in that case :)

What sort of prices are they giving you? Is it FC/TPFT/TPO?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

As a learner with a 125cc and 30 years old no ncb CN quoted me €320 TPFT. May be worth giving them a shout, Liberty were around €550 for TPO.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    525e TPO which to me seems quite good.

I'd try CN as IGR suggested or even Principal.

I'm a few years younger than you and my circumstances were identical on the DL650/Aerox, my quote was €400 FC for both of them, i'd imagine you'd get it cheaper.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭emo72

has axa got a regular landline number? 1890 number and holding for ages doesnt seem fair.