Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
19-08-2014, 06:04   #31
tharmor
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,189
Anyone able to watch BBC iplayer on chromecast using the app ?
tharmor is offline  
Advertisement
19-08-2014, 11:45   #32
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by tharmor View Post
Anyone able to watch BBC iplayer on chromecast using the app ?
I'm not anyway, you need to mess around with your router which I can't be bothered to do.

Theres a good explanation of why you can't easily watch via Chromecast HERE on Reddit. Discussion of bypassing regional blocking isn't allowed here either unfortunately.
Dozen Wicked Words is offline  
20-08-2014, 15:37   #33
irishpancake
Registered User
 
irishpancake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by jozi View Post
Sort of. There are apps which you can download for movies, the app then uses something like allcast or toaster cast to play it on the tv. Orbyou can cast music or movies stored on the phone
or on any local Laptop or Server with media files, using Allcast (needs paid version) or Bubble UPnP, the free version of this is adaquate........and you can also cast stuff from Google+ and Google Drive.
irishpancake is offline  
20-08-2014, 15:40   #34
irishpancake
Registered User
 
irishpancake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by tharmor View Post
Anyone able to watch BBC iplayer on chromecast using the app ?
Yes....not sure how much more can be said, perhaps check out Smart DNS providers.

There will be instructions, your router will be involved if possible.
irishpancake is offline  
21-08-2014, 20:51   #35
gzoladz
Registered User
 
gzoladz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,909
Or watch it using the screen mirroring functionality.
gzoladz is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
21-08-2014, 20:56   #36
jozi
Registered User
 
jozi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,152
Does anyone find that the conenction to the router can be a bit iffy? I also sometimes cant connect.
jozi is offline  
24-08-2014, 13:16   #37
Xantia
Registered User
 
Xantia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 675
I have found that I have to turn up the power on the WiFi (Mikrotik) to get it to work but that could be a local problem, however the other devices on the WiFi work fine.
Xantia is offline  
24-08-2014, 22:28   #38
_Whimsical_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7,102
I find the wifi connection definitely iffy, mine won't play ball at all reliably unless I have my wifi extender plugged in.
_Whimsical_ is offline  
24-08-2014, 22:47   #39
_Whimsical_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7,102
You can root your chromecast now too if you're so inclined. It would allow some messing around with settings.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/hard...lease-t2855893

Pyro boy posted about it in another thread and said he'd report back if successful!
_Whimsical_ is offline  
Advertisement
24-08-2014, 23:05   #40
gerrybbadd
Registered User
 
gerrybbadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,600
What advantage is there to rooting the chromecast?
gerrybbadd is offline  
25-08-2014, 00:12   #41
_Whimsical_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerrybbadd View Post
What advantage is there to rooting the chromecast?
Changing the dns on it if you can't change it on your router.
_Whimsical_ is offline  
Thanks from:
25-08-2014, 15:11   #42
BionicRasher
Registered User
 
BionicRasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,570
Casting XBMC to Chromecast looks like just what the doctor ordered! - This may entice me to go and get one (and the current price of €29 helps too!!)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ci0e5guw71A
BionicRasher is offline  
Thanks from:
26-08-2014, 12:36   #43
SteelyDanJalapeno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12,972
Quick question,

Can I use Chromecast to extend my desktop display? as in use my TV as a second monitor when I'm on my Laptop?
SteelyDanJalapeno is offline  
26-08-2014, 12:39   #44
droidman123
Registered User
 
droidman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,836
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiltedBrain View Post
Quick question,

Can I use Chromecast to extend my desktop display? as in use my TV as a second monitor when I'm on my Laptop?
Yes you can,but you must be on chrome browser and get the cast extension.it works perfectly.
droidman123 is offline  
Thanks from:
26-08-2014, 12:50   #45
SteelyDanJalapeno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidman123 View Post
Yes you can,but you must be on chrome browser and get the cast extension.it works perfectly.
Awesome, I've been looking for this feature in any device for years
SteelyDanJalapeno is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet