Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

DEPRESSION SUPPORT- Anonymous posting is possible, see note in post #1.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

reilig wrote: »
    This is a thread which will offer people some information and resources to help with depression.

Please feel free to add sensible stuff to the thread.
    Just a reminder as to the purpose of this thread.

• Site Banned Posts: 107 ✭✭big_joe_joyce

mf240 wrote: »
    No it's not it's a symptom of the disease.

True bravery is finding the courage to seek help.

i know thats the popular sentiment but i see little bravery in swallowing happy pills for the rest of your days or sitting on a couch ,spilling your guts to some well paid head doctor , some people are pride and perfer to deal with things on their own terms , its admirable

anyone who thinks a suicidee is not fully aware of the gravity of what they are about to do is naive on the subject

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

i know thats the popular sentiment but i see little bravery in swallowing happy pills for the rest of your days or sitting on a couch ,spilling your guts to some well paid head doctor , some people are pride and perfer to deal with things on their own terms , its admirable

anyone who thinks a suicidee is not fully aware of the gravity of what they are about to do is naive on the subject

Right, I can't hold my tongue any longer :mad:

I'll have to say your posts on this topic are ill informed, insulting to any person suffering depression and damn right unhelpful, except to publicise the ignorance that we as a society have to overcome!

For example above you have managed to demean and stigmatise counselling and therapy all in a few words.. You have no idea of the benefit this is and how hard it is for people, men in particular to give in and see someone for help..

People can be months building themselves up to admitting they have a problem and then opening up to a complete stranger about their innermost thoughts and problems... How dare you dismiss the bravery involved in this, its backwards attitudes like this that causes people to continue suffering, often in a never ending downward spiral until they can no longer tolerate the strain that their life has become... SHAME ON YOU ! If I were a MOD I'd be handing you a permanent ban from the forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

This is turning into a high stool debate.
    Of course we all have an opinion to which we are entitled but some comments and observations are not helpful or in keeping with the purpose for which this thread was created.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 cloverleaf

keep talking folks, we need to get the good information out there,. Last year a good neighbour ,only in his thirties, took his own life in the neighbours shed beside our farm
    entrance. A shock to the whole community and in hindsight, those of us close to him should have been able to help- if we had been aware of the importance of listening . plain and simple.... listen when someone is in trouble and not always come back with a cliche... "youll be grand" or "what about it others are worse off".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

There is a history of depression in my family. This last two years have been fairly tough on me with the legal wrangle with my family over the farm. I talk to my gp on a regular basis about my mental health. I have the wife told that if I get sick, get me in somewhere if need be. But the worst of the stress and worry is behind me.

I don't mean to oversimplify life or mental health, but every night, I try to watch comedy of some kind. It might seem stupid, but laughter is an excellent tonic.

On the issue of the family farm and what the neighbours think, tell them to mind their own business and phuckk off. Who are they to lecture or advise. Be loyal to yourself first.

Whatever works to make you feel better, do it. Whether it be watching a comedy, going for a walk on a beach or wherever, it doesn't matter how silly or simple it might be. If it works, it works.

Agree fully about the neigbours and the family farm. Let them go and f*ck. If that's their attitude, they're not really great neighbours imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Your post is so ill informed, it makes me very sad to think that some people in the world still have opinions like yours.

I've had depression for 20 years now. I take my happy pills. They keep me sane.

The rest of your post is complete tripe.

I have a very good job, have never been out of work, a happy home and family.

If you met me, you would have no idea I suffer from depression. But I do, horrendously sometimes.

It is an invisible illness. The more people that realise this the better. Your friends or family might need your help someday.

Please take time to educate yourself on Depression before you make such vast generalisations.

There is a great thread in After Hours called " Let's laugh at Depression"

Anyone who wants to understand this illness better should have a read.

To any of you who are feeling crap, please talk to someone.

:-)

the majority of people who suffer with depression grew up with uncaring and cruel parents , either that or they encontered nasty people in their life at important and pivotal points , no one gets depressed for no reason , their is a myth out there that it can arrive like a heavy shower of rain out of the blue

Jaysus, would you like to provide a link to back up that complete bollix you have posted?

Seriously you shouldn't be posting on this thread.

You have NO idea what you are talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭kerryjack

cloverleaf wrote: »
    keep talking folks, we need to get the good information out there,. Last year a good neighbour ,only in his thirties, took his own life in the neighbours shed beside our farm
    entrance. A shock to the whole community and in hindsight, those of us close to him should have been able to help- if we had been aware of the importance of listening . plain and simple.... listen when someone is in trouble and not always come back with a cliche... "youll be grand" or "what about it others are worse off".

I had a friend who took his own life a few years back, he talked about it, it did not come as a surprise he was young , he had every thing going for him,the girls were mad for him, he wanted out , he got some help i don't know how much, it was 20 years ago , but it obviously wasn't enough and i don't want any one telling me that i wasn't a good friend, when your 20 and enjoying life you don't understand .

To any of you who aren't feeling the best at the moment or are having a tough time this might help.

I copied the following from a post that is in another forum. I hope that it might be helpful to someone here.
    Please don't be afraid to talk to someone or to ask for help.

The first port of call should be to your GP, they will give you the time to listen and refer you to the appropriate health professional.

It's a five minute conversation that may well save your life. If you don't have the confidence just yet to speak with your GP, Contact any of the organisations listed below anonymously. Once you break the silence you may find it is easier to talk about it.

http://www.1life.ie/

http://www.samaritans.org

http://www.shineonline.ie/

http://www.suicideireland.com/

http://www.nosp.ie/

http://www.pieta.ie/

http://www.yspi.eu/

http://www.suicideorsurvive.ie/

http://www.jigsaw.ie/

http://www.teenline.ie

http://www.3ts.ie/

http://www.sosadireland.ie/

http://www.olagola.com/

http://www.console.ie/

http://www.aware.ie/

http://www.metanoia.org/suicide/

http://www.livinglinks.ie/

http://www.niteline.ie

www.mymind.org

http://www.headstrong.ie/

http://pleasetalk.ie/

You are not alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭MfMan

foxinsox wrote: »
    To any of you who aren't feeling the best at the moment or are having a tough time this might help.

I copied the following from a post that is in another forum. I hope that it might be helpful to someone here.
    Please don't be afraid to talk to someone or to ask for help.

You are not alone.

etc.

Well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭Conflats

On the Original subject of depression, a lot of people in rural Ireland especially farmers suffer from loneliness which doesn't help either.

Going to the mart even if not interested in buying or selling, or going down to the pub etc can also help just meeting people and having a conversation with someone.

Farming can be a lonely career where you can go a few days without meeting anyone if you dont have anyone around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

People say depression is selfish, but are they wrong?

Well this is rather a simplistic approach and attitude which maybe deemed inoffensive to some. But since there are no two cases the same, there can be an element of selfishness.

My own experience of depression concerns my father. He got sick and 'took to the bed' in the early 1970s. Now that's fair enough you may say, and I cant knock a man for that. We can all feel down. Bot when someone refuses to go for treatment after 6 months, it gets to be hard on the family. My mother, being the good Irish catholic wife, defended his inactions. But nearly 40 years later when he still hasnt received treatment, and refuses to talk about it, and still spends alot of time in bed, to me that is selfish. The impact that negativity has had on our family cannot be underestimated.

I suppose the point I am making is that sympathy will run out if you dont receive treatment. If anything, it may turn to resentment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

my dad has often told a story of a neighbouring farmer , when things would get tough around the farm he would sign himslef into the local psychiatric hospital and when we would come home his wife would have sorted the mess out, so this time he told his wife he was going to sign in , she said" hold on paddy my turn this time":D maybe it was easier years ago to be "signed in" ?
    As alot of posters have said people have to talk even a 10 minute talk with your gp will sort alot out, doesnt mean you need medication etc but sometimes it takes some one from the outside to make you see things clearer...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Someone on Ray Darcy the other day summed it all up nicely...

depression is an illness, not a choice

Muckit wrote: »
    Someone on Ray Darcy the other day summed it all up nicely...

depression is an illness, not a choice

But knowing you are ill and DECIDING NOT to seek help is a choice.

It's hard to be sympathetic when pride and stubbornness gets in the way.

But knowing you are ill and DECIDING NOT to seek help is a choice.

It's hard to be sympathetic when pride and stubbornness gets in the way.

Agreed. But how do you pin point what are the effects of the illness, and what is outright stubbornness/selfishness? Also to make things more complicated, inward thinking and focusing on oneself are traits of those with depression.

Muckit wrote: »
    Agreed. But how do you pin point what are the effects of the illness, and what is outright stubbornness/selfishness? Also to make things more complicated, inward thinking and focusing on oneself are traits of those with depression.

Because my father wallowed in self pity while my mother drew him in breakfast, dinner and tea for a long number of years, while refusing to go to a doctor. The elephant in the room was his choice not to seek help. I interpret this act as selfishness, and have no issue in saying it to people. Six months of wallowing is acceptable, and then go for help. Thirty years is not.

As I stated earlier, there are no two cases the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭varberg

A related piece by Seamus Hennessy Tipperary Senior Hurler:

http://seamushennessy89.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/i-get-by-with-a-little-help-from-my-friends/

"I get by with a little help from my friends.

Posted on January 21, 2013by fezfez121

On Friday last, I was lucky to catch a part of the Late Late Show ( it does sound slightly weird to say I was lucky to watch the Late Late!!) dealing with a very relevant but somewhat difficult topic to discuss: the whole area of suicide and depression. The piece on the show was promoting an event called Cycle Against Suicide, much more details of which are available here (http://cycleagainstsuicide.com/index.html).

Essentially the 14 day cycle around Ireland hopes to raise awareness of the supports available to people/families who suffer from depression, suicidal thoughts or who have lost a loved one through suicide.

You may wonder where my own interest comes from for such an area but unfortunately I lost my mother to suicide 12 years ago and as a result, suicide is something I have a binding connection to for life. It is not an experience one spends much time preparing for and the shock, hurt and grief you feel can last an incredibly long time, and for some may indeed never subside.

How I dealt with my own experience was made substantially easier by attending a Rainbows Ireland programme at the time. Rainbows provides a setting and a trained facilitator where children and young people can share and discuss their feelings among other children who have went through a similar experience. As I reflect, I cannot overstate its importance in helping me deal with the issues I faced at the time as it offered me a safe and confidential place to address and overcome these issues.

This reflection is the catalyst for me trying to make people aware of the Cycle Against Suicide and what it hopes to achieve. Suicide has become a major cause of death in Ireland and support agencies have far more frequent requests for help in the last number of years. The Irish Times reported on July 12 2012 that 525 lives were lost through suicide in 2011 ( 439 men, 86 women), an increase of 7% on 2010. The question I ask upon seeing these figures is how many of these people sought help for how they felt? Could professional help have reduced this number? I would certainly think so.

The rise in mental health issues from the fallout of the Celtic Tiger and the onset of the current recession has been dramatic. Many young men and women now find themselves unemployed or have had wages decreased substantially, are mired in mortgage debt and ever increasing tax hikes and see no way out apart from the ultimate way out, i.e. to take their own life. Times are very difficult but are they tough enough to warrant taking your own life and not seeing family, friends, or experiencing the endless possibilities life offers ever again? The rise of social media and cyber bullying has made us aware of harrowing stories of teenage girls taking their own lives as a result of online bullying and has now developed into an area that needs to be addressed rapidly in order to prevent further tragedies becoming commonplace in Irish society.

The whole area of mental health, depression and suicide is a taboo subject not often discussed enough as, I believe, many find it too difficult to speak about their own feelings for a multitude of reasons. It’s crazy in many ways. We get help through grinds if we struggle in the classroom, we get help from trainers in order to get fit, we consult Jamie Oliver books and the likes to cook that very important meal, and we get advice from any number of style magazines on how to look well. Yet when it comes to our thoughts and feelings on the inside, many go quiet and won’t seek help to overcome these issues. Instead they feel trapped and have no way out.

Depression and suicidal thoughts are such sensitive, individual issues that, in my opinion, one cannot actually overcome them alone due to their difficulty and complexity. Accepting that everything is not perfect and that help is needed is a big decision to make and requires plenty of courage. Seeking out help from friends, family or a trained professional is a great thing to do. Like exercise helps us stay physically fit, talking and sharing will help us stay mentally fit. Whilst nobody else might experience or feel exactly what you do, this doesn’t mean they cannot help you to overcome these feelings.

I am no expert in this area, nor ever will be, and many might disagree entirely with my views and that’s no problem but I do feel strongly about helping raise awareness of the Cycle Against Suicide and that is the main reason for this post. The less people who see reason to take their own life and the less families who have to question and grieve over why it happened makes the world a better place for everybody.

All going well, I hope to participate in some part of the cycle to lend my support to the cause. If this post helps in a tiny way to raise awareness, then it’s time very well spent.

Seamus"

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭Jack180570

micl wrote: »
    I know some of us feel caught... trapped.

We are told time and again to run our farms like businesses, but with 1 difference - we are never allowed sell.

We have seen the shame and genrations of tutt-tutting when "family ground" has been sold in the past, so even if we get the burdens of the land and have clear title, we don't ever feel like we own it. Ever.

That is heavy for me.

If we really ran our farms like businesses, we would be truly free to sell - and I mean to the highest bidder - as suits the business. No-one in a farming family should have a right to comment on anyone else in the family selling his or her own ground.

If you don't own it, you don't own it - leave us alone.

Excellent post ...

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Chisler2

It might be worth considering that all three perspectives being offered by posts on this thread so far - let's call them "pull yourself up by your bootstraps"/"find distractions/hobbies/alcohol"/"get expert professional help" - might ALL be useful, for different individuals, in different ways, at different times.

Speaking as a retired psychotherapist with experience of thousands of cases of depression, bi-polar, and anxiety disorders, these few comments might be useful to our debate here. This is NOT advice or direction to individuals, nor is it in response to any specific situation described in the posts. It is general and I'm interested in whether you think it would work, or why it might not.

Rural/farming life on a rain-lashed, windswept rock in the Atlantic carries particular vulnerability to mood-regulation ('affective disorders', the professionals call them). Since every human being has 'moods' which vary over days or weeks or longer, there is nothing 'different' or sinister about the individual who experiences a period of "depression". The only difference is that s(he) get's stuck in that mood, whereas others' moods move according to energy-levels, weather, good/poor diet, and (of course) on whether their human relationships - with friends, neighbours, spouse/kids, employers - are satisfying or upsetting.

Because farming is an occupation where you are 'never finished' and there is always something left to do, an individual in this situation might go on for longer than (for example) someone working in a city office surrounded by colleagues with whom s(he) interacts daily, before they notice they are feeling "flat" or "without energy"..............because s(he) has been "going through the motions" for weeks or months, ending up stuck in that particular mood - whether that's anxiety, or anger, or sadness, etc. It's the 'stuck' quality of it, rather than the mood itself, which matters.

So - what to do if you're in the middle of the Burren, or Clare, or Mayo, and the days are grey and wet, the work is endless, you are pee'd off with everyone around you (even/especially your family) and everything feels heavy and pointless? As many posters have suggested, social life and having a pint and 'solving the ills of the world' in the local are one way to balance things. So is having something apart from the 'day-job'......doing a course in something completely different (Mandarin Chinese, basket-weaving, European history) either on-line (if you live too far away from Centre) or in adult education, which nets you even more social contact, going for a coffee with other students etc. Someone mentioned comedy on T.V. There is MASSIVE evidence that laughter itself is therapeutic. It stimulates raises serotonin-levels and stimulates endorphins - neurochemicals which (literally!) make us feel good, more energetic and alert. Strange to say, so does simple, common-or-garden WALKING. Again, there is massive research evidence that a brisk 30-minute walk each day not only counteracts depression but staves off Alzheimers and contributes to healthy heart and longevity.

If farmers and rural folks do all of the above they are maintaining good health and keeping the ball in their own court. Some posts on this thread indicate that men, particularly, want to keep control. That's good. It is healthy to be 'captain of your own ship'. If you are using all these strategies of 'self-care' and STILL 'get stuck' THEN CALL IN THE CAVALRY!

Will there be health authority treatment - other than anti-depressant medication - on the Western seaboard? Scarce and difficult to access, I would think, as the 'cuts' in healthcare spending kick in. However now that most households have internet connection, there are fora (though be very very careful you don't join a group who just want to 'wallow'........you want to balance the difficult mood, not get 'more-of-the-same').

What constitutes 'the Cavalry' will be different for each person, in each case. One person is able to be honest and open with a spouse. Another might not want to approach anyone in the immediate geographical vicinity out of concern what s(he) considers highly-personal business will get out into the townland. In that case one strategy is to find someone outside of the immediate community - professional, friend, or one of the listed agencies - with whom you can be completely open and can trust. Even when the brunt of the issue seems to be resolved KEEP GOING, KEEP REFLECTING (I say 'reflecting' advisedly, as this work is different to 'talking about it' which can just have you chase your tail) for as long as you can after the worst of it has cleared up. This is not time wasted or misspent. It gets you back to a level of functioning where you can then maintain your good psychological health, including sufficient time off to relax, to take holiday breaks, to give the time needed to social relations.

Would this work? What do you think?

• Registered Users Posts: 2 green84

My mother suffers with depression she is 51yrs old. Seemed to start 4yrs ago for reasons I am not aware of. My siblings and I have been trying very hard to understand whats going on and how we can help. She did attend a counsellor over a year ago and she also attends Dr Harry Barry. I personally am of the opinion that Dr Barry doesnt actually care that hes just trying to sell books to the very vulnerable of which my mother has bought all four each no different to the first however that is just my opinion. What I really would like to know is if anyone can recommend a good counsellor in the Drogheda area either from personal experience or from word of mouth. This is tearing my family apart as we seem to be getting nowhere for the last 4 yrs. I appreciate any feedback.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

@green84:

It might be menopause setting in. Women suffer from it, and per my wife around 50 is about the age it happens. Depression's a common side effect, along with 'hot flashes' and others that the women on the board definitely will know better than me.

I would definitely seek medical attention from her gynecologist and possibly followup with a psychologist, not sure who Dr. Harry Barry is, but I doubt a 'self-help' guru would be of any help at this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 CJA James

Hello, I have not suffered with depression myself, but I suppose times things get me down but I manage to get by. I feel especially in rural area's depression is the taboo subject and from my experience people find it hard to admit they suffer from depression and seem to want to deny it. I have lived with a person with depression who progresed to such a level he could see not end to it and took his life by suicide. It was a long road and since his death it has been a hard road especially for the children. I have put my experience in a book and I self published and I am hoping it can and will help others who are trying their best to live with someone who suffers from anxiety and depression. I also found help very hard to get for the depressed person and I found that he was ashamed to feel the way he did, he felt he was a letdown to people which was not true but it was his feelings and I did everything in my power to tell him not to end it all but to no avail. My book is called Deadly Dilemma.
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Deadly-Dilemma-CJA-James/dp/1477230238/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1360261050&sr=8-1

green84 wrote: »
    My mother suffers with depression she is 51yrs old. Seemed to start 4yrs ago for reasons I am not aware of. My siblings and I have been trying very hard to understand whats going on and how we can help. She did attend a counsellor over a year ago and she also attends Dr Harry Barry. I personally am of the opinion that Dr Barry doesnt actually care that hes just trying to sell books to the very vulnerable of which my mother has bought all four each no different to the first however that is just my opinion. What I really would like to know is if anyone can recommend a good counsellor in the Drogheda area either from personal experience or from word of mouth. This is tearing my family apart as we seem to be getting nowhere for the last 4 yrs. I appreciate any feedback.

There does not have to be a particular reason for the onset of depression, that's what makes it a bitch!

You say she attends Dr. Barry, when did she last see him? Is she on medication for depression? I've read skimmed through his book, I suffer from depression, when I'm good I've no time or interest in books on depression. When I'm bad I've no interest in anything. So personally I think books aren't much help.

It's very hard on family members, I know my own family find it tough sometimes.

I would suggest maybe your mum to see her GP for a full check up. As another poster mentioned menopause.

Hormones messed up and depression does not bring fun of any sort.

Talk to your mum, tell her you are there for her and you love her, hugs are good. She might cry a lot when you say these things.

Try get het to see a doctor, counselling in my opinion will only work when the depressed person wants to go themselves, it can't be forced.

You and your siblings have a look at

www.aware.ie

All the best :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

i dont have time on my farm to get depressed. its just work on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

f140 wrote: »

I do think it's healthy to be busy but depression is not simply a malady of the idle.
    If you suffered from depression, busy or not, you'd know all about it.

I've enough time on me hands but I dont suffer from it, thankfully:cool:

f140 wrote: »

You're a great lad:rolleyes:

Stupid insensitive post.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 CJA James

Depression is a taboo subject especially in rural areas. First hand experience of that. Land, money and greed and then families tying to cover up if a member of the family suffering and will go to any lengths to hide it. I have written about this in my book I just published, fact is stranger than fiction.