Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Dog sh*t

• Registered Users Posts: 13,734 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

boombang wrote: »
    Recently moved from Pearse Street, Dublin 2 to Dún Laoghaire. There must be 10x the amount of dogs being walked near where I live now, but 1/10th the amount of shíte. People are definitely the problem.

Pearse st and its surrounds houses loads of irresponsible scumbags. Litter everywhere too. I always see dogs on the balconies around there too, you shouldn't be allowed keep a dog in a flat ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,170 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

This is a problem in Ireland, we never call anyone up on anything, littering, smoking on buses etc. I noticed when living in London that people will start shouting at people if they drop litter or stand in the way on an escalator or even cycling through red lights.
    People get away with more here because we aren't confrontational.

I know what you are saying but ... Who cares about this behaviour as long as it doesn't directly effect us. That may sound self-serving but such is life.

Like I could be walking down the road and if someone litters? So be it. I'm not the litter warden. I'm not their ma or da or a Garda.
    I know some are gonna say how that's a terrible attitude B.A. but it's not. Mind your own business.

Besides let's say you did pull someone up over it and they say sorry and bin it. What's gonna stop them the next day etc from littering again? Except this time maybe they'll look around first?
    People are gonna go what they want to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Seanachai

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Have I missed something or has an exemption being granted for dog owners to pick up their dog sh1t?

Loads of it all over the place atm.

Vermin.

This has been an issue for a few years now, the footpaths in Drumcondra/Glasnevin are basically mottled with dog s**t. The owners mustn't be the type of people that are bound by social norms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Rub their nose in it.

The dog owners, not the dogs. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,848 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Garlinge wrote: »
    A bit of a powerwash by council would be nice....

What would be nice if people took responsibility for their animals.

Councils can’t be expected to power wash every footpath on a regular basis.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,826 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

What you're seeing is the result of people who never walk their dog now needing an excuse to get out of the house.
    This!
    I walk my dog 3 times a day I have never once left a poo. I have never seen so many dog owners come out of the woodwork at my local park the past few weeks.
    No surprise that crappy dog owners won't pick up crap.
    There were something like 3 fines in the whole of Dublin last year.

I know what you are saying but ... Who cares about this behaviour as long as it doesn't directly effect us. That may sound self-serving but such is life.

Like I could be walking down the road and if someone litters? So be it. I'm not the litter warden. I'm not their ma or da or a Garda.
    I know some are gonna say how that's a terrible attitude B.A. but it's not. Mind your own business.

Besides let's say you did pull someone up over it and they say sorry and bin it. What's gonna stop them the next day etc from littering again? Except this time maybe they'll look around first?
    People are gonna go what they want to do.

I hate litter, it's disgusting, it upsets me to see it, so it affects my quality of life. That's why I care about this behaviour.
    If people were pulled up on this more often, I would think many of them wont litter as much. Some will continue to do so of course as they are beyond reproach.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Cat sh1t is 10xtimes worse if you get covered in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,957 ✭✭✭✭bnt

dublincelt wrote: »
    Worse still are the idiots that bag the dog dirt and leave it on the ground. What is that all about!???
    If some of the stories I’ve heard are true, it’s not just dog dirt. If you’re a cab driver, taking a toilet break might cost you your queue spot at the taxi rank ... :eek:

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

hawkwing wrote: »
    Cat sh1t is 10xtimes worse if you get covered in it.

I’ve never seen a cat take a dump on the footpath or grass verge.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,866 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The dog owners, not the dogs. :)

Yes, thought that was obvious :)

Life ain't always empty.

I hate litter, it's disgusting, it upsets me to see it, so it affects my quality of life. That's why I care about this behaviour.
    If people were pulled up on this more often, I would think many of them wont litter as much. Some will continue to do so of course as they are beyond reproach.

I agree that littering is not right however it effects your quality of life? :pac:

Don't you think that's a little over dramatic? Lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

That’s the rub isn’t it.

Ideally, we’d like to make these people go down on their hands and knees and lap it up but end up bearing the brunt and walking it into somebody’s carpet in the middle of a house party and *bam*! Insta bad-guy.

I agree that littering is not right however it effects your quality of life? :pac:

A little over dramatic yes but I find it hard to relax in places covered in rubbish, which is most of Dublin!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Effects wrote: »
    It's not just bad areas. I've noticed a huge increase in people picking up their dog's shít with a doggy bag, and then throwing the filled bag on the street when they are out of view.

Maybe the owners should be made eat it instead :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

It’s a real issue in shïthole parts of Dublin like East Wall, Ringsend, Finglas, Ballybough etc. The semi-feral Jackeen shouldn’t be allowed own a dog.

Thing is Johnny, yer semi feral dub usually keeps domesticated,and not semi feral dogs. Nice doggies. Friendly for the most part. Dogs outside the pale are cūnts,you have to keep an eye on them. Nature or nurture I dunno.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

You might have a different point of view if one of your children fell in it, rubbed their eye, got toxocara and ended up losing their sight.

Ush1 wrote: »
    You might have a different point of view if one of your children fell in it, rubbed their eye, got toxocara and ended up losing their sight.

But we can all use extreme edge cases to validate our point.

Sure I could say, I dunno, someone shouldn't let their kid ride a bicycle as they'll get hit by a car. If I posted that in the cycling forum I don't think it would go over too well ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Mark Twain on his love of cats:

"If man could be crossed with the cat, it would improve man, but it would deteriorate the cat."

Is there anything worse than cleaning dog crap off your shoes with boiling hot water and a sharp object?

But we can all use extreme edge cases to validate our point.

Sure I could say, I dunno, someone shouldn't let their kid ride a bicycle as they'll get hit by a car. If I posted that in the cycling forum I don't think it would go over too well ;)

It's legal to cycle a bike, it's not legal to let your dog sh*te on a path.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Good for you

It's legal to cycle a bike, it's not legal to let your dog sh*te on a path.

You really didn't get the point I was making, right?
    I'm starting to think engaging in a conversation with you might be a bad idea :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Time to start issuing restricted number of dog licences under strict criteria.

People would have to do a multi day dog handling and responsibility course done and if they are caught not picking up after the dog or not regularly exercising them they would lose the licence, dog seized.

You really didn't get the point I was making, right?
    I'm starting to think engaging in a conversation with you might be a bad idea :pac:

No I got the point you're making, it's just a stupid point to honest.

If everyone threw their crap everywhere on public roads, "quality of life" would deteriorate.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

bnt wrote: »
    If some of the stories I’ve heard are true, it’s not just dog dirt. If you’re a cab driver, taking a toilet break might cost you your queue spot at the taxi rank ... :eek:

Ah! So that's what all the empty Lucozade bottles in the rear footwell are about.
    Handy shape I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Captain Flaps

Pearse st and its surrounds houses loads of irresponsible scumbags. Litter everywhere too. I always see dogs on the balconies around there too, you shouldn't be allowed keep a dog in a flat ffs.

Bought a house in 2018 but prior to that we lived in a duplex apartment in Finglas. We adopted a terrier who got a walk every morning, then another as soon as we got home from work, then a bathroom break before bed, plus occasional trips out at lunchtime when my partner was able to get home on her lunchbreak (she worked about 15 mins drive away). He was happy out and very rarely soiled the gaff. Conversely the complex was full of scrotes who left poor creatures on cold balconies yapping their heads off for the whole day.

You can keep a dog in a flat/apartment but it has to be the right type of dog and you have to be a responsible owner (I pick up after my dogs, always).

• Registered Users Posts: 33,866 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Time to start issuing restricted number of dog licences under strict criteria.

People would have to do a multi day dog handling and responsibility course done and if they are caught not picking up after the dog or not regularly exercising them they would lose the licence, dog seized.

Bit harsh.

For a first offence you could just clamp the dog.

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

So I spotted a woman picking up a dog poo on the street earlier, kept an eye on her, and when she got to my house she threw it at the bottom of my hedge, thinking she was out of sight.
    Gave her a small bollicking out the window and she picked it up, claiming she had no choice as there's no bins. Posh Clontarf accent on her as well.
    The scumbag then just dumped it on the street again when she got further away and thought she was out of sight.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Nothing to add other than I ended up with cat shít on my hands working in the garden the other day. Wasn’t fupping happy.

First they came for the socialists...

No I got the point you're making, it's just a stupid point to honest.

If everyone threw their crap everywhere on public roads, "quality of life" would deteriorate.

People don't care about your "quality of life" - or mine - or anyones. Only themselves or those closest. That's life and applies to everything.

Wake up to that. Sure take what Effects just posted. Same woman would call someone a cu*t if they threw the same in her garden. No one cares.