Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things That Trialvilly Annoy You.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

My hands are sore and feel like sandpaper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

Sardonicat wrote: »
    My hands are sore and feel like sandpaper

Sometimes people make it too easy..

Watching the second Pirates of the Carribbean movie.. Disney + isn't too bad

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Sometimes people make it too easy..

What DO you mean?!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

TA'd about when you sit down to watch a programme on linear tv.

The first 2 minutes is a preview/montage of what you are going to see in the next hour (especially for documentaries but even for crime programmes).

I kinda know why they do it (to try to capture viewers attention) but it ruins any suspense and is effectively cheap padding to make the programmes (especially 30 minute) seem more substantial.

Its such a treat when you watch something off a DVD/streaming where you don't have the preview or can skip over it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Builders going into my neighbours house this morning, during the lockdown. 4 men, one of them must be near to 70. What the fcuk is wrong with my neighbours??? This is not the time to get your bedroom redecorated!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,664 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

bcklschaps wrote: »
    TA'd about when you sit down to watch a programme on linear tv.

The first 2 minutes is a preview/montage of what you are going to see in the next hour (especially for documentaries but even for crime programmes).

I kinda know why they do it (to try to capture viewers attention) but it ruins any suspense and is effectively cheap padding to make the programmes (especially 30 minute) seem more substantial.

Its such a treat when you watch something off a DVD/streaming where you don't have the preview or can skip over it
    A review of last week's sh1te.
    A synopsis of what you are going to see.
    The actual content, usually overly repetitive.
    A round up of what you have seen.
    What you are going to see after the ad break.
    Ad break.
    A round up of what you saw in the last part.
    A preview of what you are about to see.
    The repetitive content.
    A round up of what you have just watched.
    A preview of what will come after the break.
    Ad break.
    Rinse repeat.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 36,787 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Does anyone remember these?

Casio-Watches-W-59-1VQESfw920fh920.jpg

Well, I've been hearing a sound like the alarm from one of these from down the street at odd hours for some time now, waking me up. Seems to be some sort of bird and the sun rising earlier means the fecker is doing his alarm routine earlier as well. Sod.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 40,060 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

TA'd that I no longer have one of those cool casio watches.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭niallo76

Mollyb60 wrote: »
    Builders going into my neighbours house this morning, during the lockdown. 4 men, one of them must be near to 70. What the fcuk is wrong with my neighbours??? This is not the time to get your bedroom redecorated!!!

Covid-porn

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,829 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Ta'd at errors in particular Logical error that don't show up when debugging ☹️

• Registered Users Posts: 10,435 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

TA'd that I no longer have one of those cool casio watches.

The Casio F-91W was “favoured” by Al-Qaeda terrorists’ bomb makers.

Best not to be wearing one if travelling in the States.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 40,060 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The Casio F-91W was “favoured” by Al-Qaeda terrorists’ bomb makers.

Best not to be wearing one if travelling in the States.

I shall be sure to bear that in mind :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,206 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

I got an expected courier delivery just now. Driver knocked on the door, didnt wait, left parcel just outside the door. Could at least have tried ringing the bell!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Ronan Keating "hints that Storm has gone into labour". Last week he "had the virus". Would you ever just f*ck off. We are in the middle of a pandemic. Nobody cares about your wife going into labour. I normally welcome non-covid news as a distraction but I would actually rather read about the world's end than read about him and his wife and their reproductive status.
    Take your own advice as they say - you say it best when you say nothing at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    I got an expected courier delivery just now. Driver knocked on the door, didnt wait, left parcel just outside the door. Could at least have tried ringing the bell!
    Probably something to do with the virus-thingy and wanting to limit contact with others.

My trivial annoyance is my neighbour who's always inspecting things that are none of his business, especially my garden. Walking past, and stopping to have a look at one little area (and he isn't just admiring nature or anything like that).

I often notice things put into my bin that I know he has put in, even if it's with good intentions. For example, if he sees a bit of litter that's blown into my garden, he'll pick it up and put it in my bin (fair enough) but it's usually the wrong bin.

And I just know that he looks into my bin just to see what in there. He made a comment to me before, and it was inspired by something he had seen in my bin.

And no, I'm not being paranoid! (But I know that he's harmless.)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,783 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Fcuking knew I should have got my hair cut 2-3 weeks ago, before this thing escalated!!

Gonna end up like this soon;
    guys-bad-haircut-fix.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,990 ✭✭✭Be right back

Got a message from my hairdresser looking for my email address so they can send on special deals etc. Their email address was spelt wrong so had to go into their web page. Hope they copped it..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,990 ✭✭✭Be right back

Fcuking knew I should have got my hair cut 2-3 weeks ago, before this thing escalated!!

guys-bad-haircut-fix.jpg

Andy, I feel your pain. There is going to be loads with alternative hair styles in a few weeks!!

Nope they're all doing that...........just knocking the door or ringing the bell then immediately leaving the parcel at the door or outside. They're no longer handing them to people. To be honest I dont blame them at all, at least they're delivering the parcels and not bringing them back to the depot! They're doing a great job considering how many people have jumped to online shopping in the current situation.

Well done to all couriers at the moment (something I haven't always said :rolleyes:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

hairless cats

• Registered Users Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Human rights charity, Liberty. Odd TA, I know. They are complaining about the use of spit hoods.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/coronavirus-garda%C3%AD-to-receive-controversial-spit-hoods-during-crisis-1.4212183

I am all for human rights (obviously) and believe in the individuals right to choose in basically all circumstances, however...

If you have come to the attention of the Gardaí and are spitting/coughing/biting or threatening to do any/all of the above at this time, you not only deserve the hood, you deserve to have your hands tied and be dropped in the nearest large body of water. F*ck right off, Liberty.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,643 ✭✭✭storker

I think that's SOP if DPD was the courier. :)

3gvdgm.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

yeah my hair is terrible :eek: Its getting to bad to do anything with :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭TheDavester

On instagram those who insist on posting the last few days about how they miss the gym about 50 times a day.....think theyre saving the world by putting up your "improvisations" of doing gym work at home..no one bloody cares that you miss it.....Loving the gym is not a personality ye bland bores

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

I'm adhering to the social distancing guidelines - no problems there.
    However I just had the thought that my current social life isn't that different to before the social distancing.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,630 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Referring to someone's infant child as "baby (name)".
    It's as daft as calling someone "teenager Mary" or "middle aged man Joe".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

Your Face wrote: »
    I'm adhering to the social distancing guidelines - no problems there.
    However I just had the thought that my current social life isn't that different to before the social distancing.

I very much feel like I did before I got a job and started being an adult - being on the dole and sitting on my arse doing nothing all day. I actually look forward to putting on clothes to wash just so I have an excuse to go outside and do something.

Believe me, I love my video games, it's the one thing besides the wife that puts a smile on my face on a daily basis, and keeps me sane, but the desperation to just take a break and do something else - jesus, I wish something in the back garden would just break so I had something to fix.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,918 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Feck it, forgot to put out the bins:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

My TA is that working from home has somewhat diminished that Friday feeling.

• A small child being left unattended near a busy road. I was on the home stretch after a walk, a little girl bolted across the road out of nowhere. Traffic screeched to a halt in time, myself and a fellow randomer sprinted over at once. Brought the shook girl to nearest housing estate, a few doors up there was a woman unloading last of shopping. "I thought she was with my husband..." before breaking down. One couldn't remain angry at negligence after they were happily reunited, took a while for heartbeat to level off though.