Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 6) *Read Mod Note in Post 1* Revised 13-01-19

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

Have we established that McGregor can read?

Zing. I wouldn't like to be Conor right now...

• Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I'd like to see him enjoy his wealth and young family, and disappear now.

Didn’t you claim he already had disappeared?

This after he had publically been in a number of cities in the United States promoting his whiskey, attended a concert in the Staples Center, and a few hours before took the field at the stadium of one of the most famous and popular teams in world sports?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

Paully D wrote: »
    one of the most famous and popular teams in world sports?

The Dallas Dolphins wasn't it? When was the last time they even won the NBA championship?
    Who cares about American Football that much outside of Americans?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Not because it was Conor, personally I don't really give a toss about him. But I was glad and always will be glad to see someone who carried on like that suffer an absolutely humiliating defeat.

Insert any name but anyone who has carried on like that to a run up to a fight deserves the beat down CmcG got.

I agree with this in principal but I think history will be kind to McGregor (dependent on his actions and fight results over the next few years, he is skirting a fine line currently). Look at the things Muhammed Ali done and the adoration her holds in general public opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

If you though Joe Brolly was bad then i would advice people not to listen to Ewan MacKenna interview on Dunphys podcast.

Some ****e spouted about Mcgregor and the sport

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

ricero wrote: »
    If you though Joe Brolly was bad then i would advice people not to listen to Ewan MacKenna interview on Dunphys podcast.

On the other hand Dunphy had Philip O'connor on last week who did a great job of representing the sport. I wish I was that eloquent when my Co workers ask me about it!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,733 ✭✭✭ASOT

Two clowns they are, there twitter replies to people boil my blood.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,061 ✭✭✭RoryMac

The only fights! hahaha

Only!

This thread is amazing!

McGregor is in nothing but epic fights and getting paid vast sums of money.

You'd think he was on the undercard!

Has a great trilogy to complete and another crack at the belt.

Money is the motivation now! Hasn't got the hunger anymore. Let me get the violin out!

That's all he has left!!!!! hahaha

What are ye like!

Ok so who else do you realistically see him fighting? Is he going to start fighting guys like Lee or Barboza?

He'll probably fight 2 or 3 times more and I'd expect Khabib & Diaz to be 2 of them.

Of course he can fight anyone & make big money and could if he wants fight another 10 times but I don't see that happening, do you?

Whelo79 wrote: »
    Look at the things Muhammed Ali done and the adoration her holds in general public opinion.

What did he do?

RoryMac wrote: »
    Of course he can fight anyone & make big money and could if he wants fight another 10 times but I don't see that happening, do you?

I completely understand the work that goes in to building his business and brand, but I think that takes away from what he needs to compete like he did at his peak.
    I can't see him with too many more fights but I don't think he'll want to end it being beaten by Khabib as his final fight. Nor will he take an easy fight just for the win.
    I'm not mad into seeing him against Diaz anymore but I'd love to see him and GSP have a fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,495 ✭✭✭✭walshb

derfderf wrote: »
    "Why do you have a schoolbag Floyd? You can't even read" was pretty funny.

I don't find that funny.....more "cruel." Low cheap shot.....selling a fight or not I didn't laugh at it....

That's just me...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,061 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Effects wrote: »
    I completely understand the work that goes in to building his business and brand, but I think that takes away from what he needs to compete like he did at his peak.
    I can't see him with too many more fights but I don't think he'll want to end it being beaten by Khabib as his final fight. Nor will he take an easy fight just for the win.
    I'm not mad into seeing him against Diaz anymore but I'd love to see him and GSP have a fight.

I'm not too pushed on the Diaz fight either but to fight Diaz & hopefully win would be a good leadup to the Khabib rematch. A final fight against GSP would be a great way to finish his career.

He won't be fighting mid-ranked guys(Diaz aside) to stay in contention for title shots and I doubt the titles are a motivation for him now unless they introduce a 165 title. For his last few fights I expect he'll be picking fights based on money he can make and fair play to him if he does

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

dulux99 wrote: »
    On the other hand Dunphy had Philip O'connor on last week who did a great job of representing the sport. I wish I was that eloquent when my Co workers ask me about it!

Phillip is sound as, and has some real passion for alot of sports and deep knowledge of them and the ability to go back re-watch and learn then educate others whilst speaking so well.

Brolly in my opinion is still just a narky **** that hasnt got a clue about anything other than GAA, as ASOT said **** about GAA, talking about GAA, and then crying into a pillow

#hatefilledangerwank

Atleast Mckenna recognizes it as a sport, and does admire Conor as a fighter, but some of the conclusions he jumped to where miles away from reality. Black wrap culture of ALL Conors fans, that the large majority of Conors fans spent the weekend doing MDMA and sniff, going backwards down escalators. Im not saying some can be **** but i hate that lads here or elsewhere who went to watch a spectacle are lumped into that bracket.

And i cant the whole Rory Mc ****e was annoying, he doesn't like golf cause its high brow and Rory played a round with Trump bla bla bla

But Eamon who i enjoy, always have, and enjoy his podcast, for the life of me cant understand how he can have Phillip O'Connor on expaining the history of MMA and fight culture, the Joa carvallo death etc one week, then when speaking to McKenna says ''Didn't someone die in the cage in Ireland last year''

Joe Brolly, Ewan McKenna, Eamon Dunphy, like to be controversial for that sake of it cause it sells, and they get paid handsomely for it, remind you of anyone.

The bang on hypocrisy

Phillip is sound as, and has some real passion for alot of sports and deep knowledge of them and the ability to go back re-watch and learn then educate others whilst speaking so well.

Brolly in my opinion is still just a narky **** that hasnt got a clue about anything other than GAA, as ASOT said **** about GAA, talking about GAA, and then crying into a pillow

#hatefilledangerwank

Atleast Mckenna recognizes it as a sport, and does admire Conor as a fighter, but some of the conclusions he jumped to where miles away from reality. Black wrap culture of ALL Conors fans, that the large majority of Conors fans spent the weekend doing MDMA and sniff, going backwards down escalators. Im not saying some can be **** but i hate that lads here or elsewhere who went to watch a spectacle are lumped into that bracket.

And i cant the whole Rory Mc ****e was annoying, he doesn't like golf cause its high brow and Rory played a round with Trump bla bla bla

But Eamon who i enjoy, always have, and enjoy his podcast, for the life of me cant understand how he can have Phillip O'Connor on expaining the history of MMA and fight culture, the Joa carvallo death etc one week, then when speaking to McKenna says ''Didn't someone die in the cage in Ireland last year''

Joe Brolly, Ewan McKenna, Eamon Dunphy, like to be controversial for that sake of it cause it sells, and they get paid handsomely for it, remind you of anyone.

The bang on hypocrisy

Great post mate spot on.

To be honest, the Joe Brolly article didn't really bother me too much. When I saw Joe Brolly had written article on MMA I knew what it was going to be like.

He's not to be taken seriously, ever. I imagine there's probably a few MMA fans who read it who aren't familiar with his punditry in general, he's always been a sensationalist wind up merchant.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

dulux99 wrote: »
    To be honest, the Joe Brolly article didn't really bother me too much. When I saw Joe Brolly had written article on MMA I knew what it was going to be like.

He's not to be taken seriously, ever. I imagine there's probably a few MMA fans who read it who aren't familiar with his punditry in general, he's always been a sensationalist wind up merchant.

Ive always known what Brolly is but it still angers me.

People say Conors antics, the post fight brawl, the pre fight verbals etc: set the sport back.

Id argue that the likes of Brolly and McKenna lumping everyone into the same crowd will set the sport back and only in Ireland. There are still people who respect idiots like them and would shelter the children from i what would be a learning experience in a martial art that with dedication could be a career.

Dunphy also knows what he is doing, but that mans days of sniff and lilly bordellos benders wasnt spoken about till he mentions it as a badge of honor as and when he see's fit.

This post was brought to you by Tesco finest, cause Tesco believe the finest conversations deserve the finest food

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

I don't ever remember the mcgregor cavalcade getting a police escort to the arena before. I also noticed they where checked for bombs under the car.

And dare I say, mcgregor looked completely disinterested in the dressing room. Granted, there's probably a mere 30 seconds of that footage, so I'm more than likely reading too much into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 lesliescott586

Heard Michael Bisping on Joey Diaz's podcast saying he heard Conor's whiskey is terrible. Haven't tried it myself, seems to be selling well. Anyone here know what it's like before I buy a bottle for 230?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

Heard Michael Bisping on Joey Diaz's podcast saying he heard Conor's whiskey is terrible. Haven't tried it myself, seems to be selling well. Anyone here know what it's like before I buy a bottle for 230?

Most reviews say it's a standard 3-year old whiskey. It's not a high-end whiskey. It's whiskey for the masses - not an aged whiskey that will blow your mind with flavours and is smooth. It's only just off the market. It's not going to blow you away and it won't kill you either. But don't take my word for it, listen to people who know their whiskey:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yzpv3V0jnCs&t=483s

It's selling very well I'm the airport, been sold out both times iv been there in the last month.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

With whiskey, like almost everything, it's all about the target market. 95% of this whiskey will probably be drank with coke and ice in a pub/club/predrinking and for that it's A+.

It's actually gonna do very well with a younger demographic than it's whiskey competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭ Harper Crooked Season

When you hear a whiskey reviewer say it'll be nice as a mixer, then don't spend €35 on that whiskey.

That said I understand that €5/$5 from every case sold will go to a local charity, which is admirable so I'll eventually buy one on for that reason alone. And I suspect it'll be the last one I'll buy as I like my whiskey's and would never considering murdering one, esp at a price tag of €35 by pouring a coke over it.

Realistically €35 for a bottle of paint stripper is extortionate.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Ya but think of the college lads all pre drinking before going out, shirts off scraping with each other, smashing up their student accommodation, Fook the deposit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

When you hear a whiskey reviewer say it'll be nice as a mixer, then don't spend €35 on that whiskey.

That said I understand that €5/$5 from every case sold will go to a local charity, which is admirable so I'll eventually buy one on for that reason alone. And I suspect it'll be the last one I'll buy as I like my whiskey's and would never considering murdering one, esp at a price tag of €35 by pouring a coke over it.

I don't think its fair to call it paint stripper. That's what I'd call a €14 bottle of Tesco value whiskey.

When you put aside the people who make it painfully clear they want to smear it simply because of who's promoting it, it gets fairly OK reviews.

It is what it is - a €25 whiskey being sold for €35, but it's not terrible nor is it paint stripper......the same could be said for a few overpriced 'trendy' brands of Gin/Vodka too.

I'm not even a big whiskey fan but it irritates me when I hear people reviewing it like it's being marketed as a high-end aged whiskey.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Naos

Good name choice for a whiskey though considering it will be mainly consumed with a mixer.

"Can I have two Proper Cokes / Proper 7Ups / Proper Oranges". It's... nice and flowy.

If you're reading reviews of whiskey then this is not the whiskey for you full stop. It was never going to be for the whiskey connoisseurs. It's for the college demographic wanting to look cool in pictures with the bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭ Harper Crooked Season

I don't think its fair to call it paint stripper. That's what I'd call a €14 bottle of Tesco value whiskey.

At least they're honest with their product.

I drink Lidl's & Aldi's spirits so I'm hardly a snob. When I shop in Tesco's I'll buy Jameson or Powers, they're a decent and well established whiskey so I'm fvcked if I'll pay an extra €10 for Proper 12.

But then I'm not the Tapout wearing UFC/CmcG fanboy its aimed it.

Right, I'm off out for a bottle of Lidl's Shiraz wine for €5:50 :D

*** Late edit

Lidl's Shiraz is on special for €4:99 this evening lol

• Registered Users Posts: 7,809 ✭✭✭cletus

At least they're honest with their product.

I drink Lidl's & Aldi's spirits so I'm hardly a snob. When I shop in Tesco's I'll buy Jameson or Powers, they're a decent and well established whiskey so I'm fvcked if I'll pay an extra €10 for Proper 12.

But then I'm not the Tapout wearing UFC/CmcG fanboy its aimed it.

Right, I'm off out for a bottle of Lidl's Shiraz wine for €5:50 :D

*** Late edit

Lidl's Shiraz is on special for €4:99 this evening lol

I think its been established a number of times on this thread that the whiskey is a three year old Bushmills. Hardly turpentine

• Registered Users Posts: 12,696 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

JJayoo wrote: »
    Ya but think of the college lads all pre drinking before going out, shirts off scraping with each other, smashing up their student accommodation, Fook the deposit.

Can’t you just see them, with their McGregor type beards, suited up, standing in a circle “WAR MCGREGOR” before they let the shots off