Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
19-09-2020, 13:08   #16
dxhound2005
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj880 View Post
Ok I looked up my signal strength just now based on your PDF link and looks like I'm getting my signal from here:

HOLYWELL HILL Donegal Mux1: 22 Mux2: 25

Looks all good this morning so I re-scanned and all saorview channels are back.

Glad I posted in here though as I didnt know how to check my signal strength or that there were 2 signals that needed to be checked.
Looks like strong signals from an outdoor aerial. Can you get any Freeview? Limavady, high power and Strabane, low power have some footprint into parts of Donegal.

https://ukfree.tv/transmitters/tv/Limavady

https://ukfree.tv/transmitters/tv/Strabane
dxhound2005 is online now  
Advertisement
19-09-2020, 14:12   #17
jj880
Registered User
 
jj880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by dxhound2005 View Post
Looks like strong signals from an outdoor aerial. Can you get any Freeview? Limavady, high power and Strabane, low power have some footprint into parts of Donegal.

https://ukfree.tv/transmitters/tv/Limavady

https://ukfree.tv/transmitters/tv/Strabane
Yes I have a double aerial on the roof. I get 122 tv stations in total including the HD channels from N. Ireland. All good quality. There also quite a few radio stations on top of that. The aerial cost 300 euro in 2008 which I thought was a bit steep but it has lasted well.
jj880 is online now  
Thanks from:
19-09-2020, 16:20   #18
muffler
Moderator
 
muffler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by dxhound2005 View Post
Looks like strong signals from an outdoor aerial. Can you get any Freeview? Limavady, high power and Strabane, low power have some footprint into parts of Donegal.

https://ukfree.tv/transmitters/tv/Limavady

https://ukfree.tv/transmitters/tv/Strabane
Im in pretty much the same situation. I get Freeview form Strabane and it has been mostly off air all yesterday evening and last night. Havent checked it today yet. The mast is probably about 10 - 12 miles from me.

I get the Saorview signal from the Ballybofey transmitter which is less than a mile. A lot of those channels wee off air also.

I have a LG540V telly but i have no idea how to test signal strength or quality.
muffler is offline  
19-09-2020, 16:33   #19
jj880
Registered User
 
jj880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffler View Post
Im in pretty much the same situation. I get Freeview form Strabane and it has been mostly off air all yesterday evening and last night. Havent checked it today yet. The mast is probably about 10 - 12 miles from me.

I get the Saorview signal from the Ballybofey transmitter which is less than a mile. A lot of those channels wee off air also.

I have a LG540V telly but i have no idea how to test signal strength or quality.
My tv is Panasonic. I went to:

Menu >> Settings >> Installation >> Signal Information
jj880 is online now  
Thanks from:
19-09-2020, 16:35   #20
Elvis Hammond
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffler View Post
Im in pretty much the same situation. I get Freeview form Strabane and it has been mostly off air all yesterday evening and last night. Havent checked it today yet. The mast is probably about 10 - 12 miles from me.

I get the Saorview signal from the Ballybofey transmitter which is less than a mile. A lot of those channels wee off air also.
'Off air' makes it look like the transmitters are down; they're not.

BBC reception checker for Strabane advises that weather could be affecting reception. Obviously this also applies to reception of other services in the area.
Elvis Hammond is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
19-09-2020, 16:40   #21
muffler
Moderator
 
muffler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 37,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvis Hammond View Post
'Off air' makes it look like the transmitters are down; they're not.
Yeah, its just my poor way of describing it. "Not receiving" or "unable to receive" signals would probably be more appropriate but "off air" is shorter and easier to type
muffler is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet